Rent NBA 08 Featuring Games of the Week for PS3
view large frontback

NBA 08 Featuring Games of the Week

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
5.5

573 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated title

posted by 2pill9 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 4, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

October 2nd 2007 was the day i was waiting for. The new basketball video games were out and i was going to walk away with one of them. Most people say that nba 2k8 is the best basketball sim out there, but that game has flaws. They have no real moves that you can make(DRIBBLING OR HANDLING THE BALL). The graphics are good but what PS3 or Xbox360 title doesn't? Worst of all the players on NBA 2k8 have bobbleheads. Now I was a fan of NBA Live but 06, and 07 were terrible and unrealistic and that franchise is headed in the wrong direction. In Live 07 I had Manu Ginobili score 60 and Ray Allen score 70, I mean this game was terrible. So there is this new kid on the block. NBA 08. The graphics are great. This is the only basketball game that runs at a smooth 60 frames per second. This is the only basketball that runs at 1080i for High definition support. The gameplay is solid, much more realistic than its counterparts. The only thing holding this game back is a franchise mode, and that will be on there next year. They didn't throw a bunch of features on a bad game. They started out with a solid game and they are building on that. This is a very solid game I suggest you pick it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nba 08

posted by bcrazy28 (BEAR, DE) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game and its gameplay is not good.. If u want to go with a good basketball game for playstation3.. play nba live 08.. Don't waste ur money on this game.. Its not worth it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game overall a good rental,

posted by damoneyman (MCHENRY, IL) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The online was kind of lame but overall great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better than 2K8 and Live for sure

posted by Scaaat (FONTANA, CA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm not a huge fan of sports games but I LOVE basketball (go lakers!) so I downloaded all the basketball demos and this one was by FAR the best so I went out and bought it. I read other reviews and a couple of them I was thinking.. did we play the same game here or what? Yeah, hands up in the air.. it's called defense. I didn't think it was slow at all and I love the six axis integration. The best part is the season feature, my friend and I always play the days game before watching it on TV.
The only think that sucks... and it really... REALLY sucks is only having one profile at a time... what is up with that? I can't even find how to delete or remove it without just deleting the game save from the PS3 menu. Hopefully they'll make available a patch that will allow more profiles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cant believe no one likes this game.

posted by BarSippr (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

I will look for future releases of this game. I think it is a touch of both powerhouses (2K and EA). It appeals to me with the simplicity of button controls, great defense and nice motion capture moves. Its not nothing to knock you out of your seat, but will keep you in it. There are no multiple seasons or even focus or player editing, but that is made up for with the replay challenges and managing of you created star player. The post game is nice. Great moves in the paint.

There are some things that would be a great addition like the aforementioned, Multiple seasons as well as trade restrictions. I like the fact that you can adjust the cpu starting rosters which is good if you keep up with real time injuries and so forth. I am sure graphic will get better in the future, but not that bad to begin with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NBA Live 08

posted by gooster (MODESTO, CA) Jun 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

NBA 08 is a good game to play with friends and family. The game play aspects of it, was slow and basic. The difficulty setting were very off. I liked all the awards to build points for your personal character, but were to easy to obtain. The players and graphics were excellent, but you have to have a love for NBA 08 to keep it around after you obtained all levels and awards. So basically its way to easy on rookie level and way to hard on any level above rookie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

EA sports all the way

posted by kiloonthel (POMPANO BEACH, FL) Apr 29, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

i tried this game out because i read the reviews for nba live for EA and they said it was not very good, so i got this one. i played this game for 1hr and got sick of it the players making all sorts of crazy shots the players run all strange, and the game play is not very good to much like an arcade game. If i could pick between the two pick EA NBA LIVE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow!

posted by lex27nia (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

Wow! This game sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GrEaT GaMe

posted by milymilz (WATERBURY, CT) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

this game rocks
looks great handles well
only one bad thing about this
game is the commentary SUCKS
I just lower down the commentary
and listen to the crowd and
the man on loud speaker. its
way better trust me. makes you feel
like if your in the arena.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nba 08

posted by hype18 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

hands down a terrible game, terrible game play, artificial mannerisms, slow game play, poor design, get nba 2k8 , great game, i figured i am new to the ps3 so why not give their title a chance. bad idea

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Basketball Game Out there

posted by Jarulara (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

Talk about garbage.. I got this game put it in.. thinking wow I'm about to have some fun... I put it in created a player when they asked..then looked...no franchise but a garbage 1999 season mode... No create a team or player... No custom soundtrack... Overall its garbage..if you looking to pick up the sticks and play fine this is for you but if your looking to have fun at all..do not buy or even rent.. I sent it back on the same day...to get 2k8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dissapointing.

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Being published by Sony for the ps3 you would expect a masterpiece. This game is far from that. Being positive, it is very pretty and has fast, arcade style game play. The ability to play games of the week is very interesting and ads lots of replay value. The main drawback of this game is its almost sloppy gameplay. The computer can be fooled into passing the ball where it gets intercepted way too easy. Bottomline: Check out nbalive08 for arcade gameplay and 2k8 for the best simulation ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dull and Boring

posted by tcs2g7 (STUTTGART, AR) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This game just plain stank. You can only have one profile in the game, one season going on at a time, and in the gameplay when on defense and you have control of a player he runs around waving his hands in the air like an ape.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

nba 08

posted by pointgame (FARMINGVILLE, NY) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

for something that is on the playstation 3 this game is horrible. its slow the players are running all over the court with there hands up as if they are being held up. I would rather play a basketball game on a sega dream cast then to play this game on ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Are you Kidding Me?

posted by GarKeith (CLARKSBURG, WV) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This is a horrible game. I cant belive sony is presenting this as a next generation basketball game it is sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »