Rent NASCAR Unleashed for PS3
view large frontback

NASCAR Unleashed

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, 3DS, Wii
GF Rating
4.9

214 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad!!

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Nov 25, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I didn't know what to really expect when I placed the disc in my PS3. Then the opening cinematic pretty much explained it all! It’s a fast paced wacky arcade racing game.

First off, real time physics do not apply to this game. At times you'll find yourself spinning out or flipping out of control without even hitting anything. Usually this happens after a jump but the game is forgiving! The AI will always slow down when your in the back of the pack. Easy and normal are pretty easy but Hard does deliver a challenge when you need to place in the top of the pack. At times it can get frustrating when your near the top then spin out just to find yourself in last place. A tip I can give is save your boost towards the end stretch.

As for the cars pretty much all your favorite drivers are included. All the cars body designs are exactly the same with the exception of paint jobs that you unlock by earning career points. Be prepared for lost of smashing! The more smashes you make the more points you get.

The majority of the time your goal is just to place in a certain position to advance to the next race. Each race gives you 2 challenges to complete to gain more racing points. Also during the race your given more challenges but you have to complete them under a certain time. The racing position is your main goal, the challenges are just for getting extra points so you won’t get penalized for missing any.

Track designs are pretty nice, some of the tracks almost remind me of SF Rush. Some take you up the side of buildings and others have some huge jumps.

The only multiplayer offered is 2 player split screen.

Complete playing time for this game is very short. It took me about 5 hours from starting to getting the Platinum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alot better then i expected

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Nov 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty fun to play, i like that the tack went from flat tracks to the city, to the desert, to the beach, kinda cool. The gameplay was pretty smooth and the graphics were good. I actuall raced like 10 races back to back once i started playing. I was just excited to see what the next track would feature. The boost wasnt wat i expected, the car seemed to not do well when the turbo was hit, but maybe that was what it was supposed to do.
Overall it was a fun rent, but i probably would not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok

posted by dcw90 (JOPLIN, MO) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was fun but not at all what I was expecting. I wasn't expecting to have to crash other cars but still fun for me and my fiance` both.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

awesome game

posted by southman (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

awesome game with a fun experience with lots of fun and play like bumper cars with nitrous . is a total different experience than the previous nascar titles which is more fun and easier to control cars . if your a diehard nascar fan you might be put off by this since its not your typical nascar game this year they shied away from it . so that be said if you a diehard fan dont buy rent and for all else id definitely say rent and buy if you like it .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What

posted by Hollywood247 (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

how did this title even get into my cue?! I thought id give it a shot. What was i thinking? LAME WHACK PURE BS waste of time! Stay away from this title!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

if this game is not hard vote down

posted by ahmad9 (SUWANEE, GA) Aug 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

if it is hard vote up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The dumbest Nascar Game

posted by xp8explorer95 (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

If I wanted a racing game that I had to beat up other cars, drift, and hit oil slicks, I would have rented something else. Activision has ruined this Nascar game. I rented a Nascar game for just that, Nascar. Im not sure what they were thinking with this one, maybe the intent was to add more excitment to a Nascar game, however this was not the way to go about doing this. This game was horrible. I can not stress that enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Realism is Lacking

posted by slevel (FORT SMITH, AR) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

What NASCAR game developers need to realize, is that the people who buy games like this want realism. Not only do the cars look nothing like real stock cars (more like my 2 year-old's toys), but you actually get a bonus for slamming into other vehicles. This game is nothing like any of the other NASCAR games, and that is not meant to sound like a good thing. The tracks are wrong, the cars are wrong, and the fact that you must hit other vehicles to gain a bonus makes this possibly the worst game I've played in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

"NOT WHAT I EXPECTED!"

posted by rezervoirdog69 (CHINLE, AZ) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Hi I didnt like the game because,First of all there is no online multiplayer.Second of all it looks like a reproduction of "Hotwheels".Just noww sent back game.gonna go back too nascar 2011 on game fly and purchase at a great price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No online multiplayer

posted by dtigertron (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

Racing games are repetitive already, add that you can only play split screen with one other person at home, and this is a game I thank god I only rented. Sent back next day. Should have looked harder for a preview before renting, but I have been pretty busy with new job. This game should be a 10 dollar download from PS Store at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »