Rent NASCAR Kart Racing for Wii
view large frontback

NASCAR Kart Racing

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.6

1001 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Nice Racer With Interesting Kinks

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 25, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NASCAR Kart is an overall good racing game with tight steering, nice slides and a team mate mode for obtaining boosts that simulates the co-operation needed in the real thing.

The Wiimote is held sideways as in most racing games and tilted to steer left or right. It is responsive and very well graduated to the level of tilt - the essential for any race game.

Co-operation comes in by staying close to your team mate - when a little lightning bolt connects the two cars you will see your boost meter fill up, to a max of three boosts which are used with A.

You can also fill this meter at the start of a race by pressing the 2 button repeatedly just before the flag goes down - if you are fast enough you can get 2 boosts before the race starts this way.

The real key to doing well is to slingshot when your team mate is in front of you. Do this repeatedly and you start a sort of yo-yo effect that results in faster boosts each time.

Pickups for destroying and wrecking the oppositon are fairly standard stuff - rockets, oil, dynamite - and work just like you would think. A Free Pass will usually boost you to the guy in front and needs to be used with more care than the others.

Comparisons with Mario Kart are inevitable. Any good racer on the Wii is probably going to share something with Mario just by nature of the hardware limitations and the fact that it was implemented so well - and so is this game. In the end though NASCAR Kart is different enough to carve out it's own personality with the co-op boost.

The worst thing about the game is what most racing games suffer from - even Mario Kart - and that is the limited amount of tracks. I've come to expect this on any racer so I don't really think that alone should mark the game down too far.

To sum up - rent it, try it and you may keep it. I'm sitting on it for a while to see whether it may be a keeper as multi-player is definitely fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Solid 8

posted by hobieone (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 13, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is over all fun but at first one can think its to easy due to the default skill level is rookie but increasing that take care of that minor issue:)

there are really two things that i can say that this game can compare to mario kart. one is go karts the other the power ups which face it is typical that you'd find in these types of games. but the tracks are definitely unique and have their own challenges. and playing as team with the ai or another player with the sling shot boost makes it unique.

Graphics on this game were pretty good but not the best I've seen on the wii. and having you choice for controls to use is a definite plus for any racing game i think. only thing holding this game back from being a 9 or 10 is lack of online multiplayer.

if you like racing games or a racing fan this game is definitely worth buying!

like others i hope ea releases an officially licensed nascar game for the wii. wouldn't mind seeing an updated version of dirt to daytona with online multiplayer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun, especially if you like nascar

posted by gamequeen7 (SARONA, WI) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

We played it for hours, its fun and pretty easy to beat. If your into racing games its worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

"NASCAR Kart Racing": Cheap Mario Kart Wii

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 19, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The people making this game must have thought about all the money that Mario Kart Wii got and said, "Hey, let's make our own version of that game and get some of that cash."
How else can you explain the similarities between NASCAR Kart Racing and Mario Kart Wii: there's the boost pads, the power ups, the three lap race tracks and the twelve racers.
But there are differences. NASCAR has the field split into six teams of two. When team mates are close to each other, they get a boost gauge filled up. Depending on how much of the gauge is filled from his/her partner, the driver can have 1,2 or 3 boosts of speed.
This team work concept is much needed for NASCAR as everything else in the game play feels like it's been taken right out of Mario Kart Wii.
What doesn't work in NASCAR is the fact that when the game's first played, you can only play four of the twelve tracks. Why lock up so much content?
To unlock these tracks, you have to slog through a long championship mode that gets bland very quickly.
Adding to the misery is the fact you or your team mate have to win all of many, many races to unlock those tracks.
And my biggest complaint about Mario Kart Wii is repeated here: the power ups are just too powerful. You can get the best driver and still lose when you competition blows you away with rockets and zips past you with the "Free Pass" power up just as you're ready to finish the race. It's very infuriating.
Still, NASCAR is a fun driving game and people who love Mario Kart Wii should give it a try. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

To be honest

posted by 35yrgamer (CLIFTON SPRINGS, NY) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being a new Wii owner I am having trouble adjusting to the graphics. I am used to smooth, clean and crisp xb360 HD stuff, and this game is in stark contrast. I am running the Wii in 480p, but this game has very bad(complete lack) of AA, in other words it looks all jagie when playing. If you can get used to the graphics the rest of the game isn't too bad.
Sure its Mario Kart with Nascar faces, but its fun. The talked about tag team zone stuff works nice, the power ups aren't as drastic as in Mario Kart. The Karts control nice( I like the fact that I can use my old GC controlers). The power slides work well. And very little can be found wrong with the game. Draw backs(besides the god aweful graphics), would be lack of an online mode, too few tracks, bland track design, not enough nascar drivers, and chopy four player split screen play. I think the game makes a nice rental, we enjoyed it for a few days - beyond that? Milage may vary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Basic game

posted by dirkster67 (LEICESTER, NC) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's not for die hard Nascar fans wanting the typical Nascar game from EA Sports . It is very fun though . Easy to play, easy to learn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game for family

posted by allanburnz (MONETT, MO) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Our favorite game in our family is Mario cart. This is a similar game but...but their are differences with the Nascar bits that we find appealing. My 5 year old is our best player in Mario Cart and he is(was ) addicted to that...but once I showed him Nascar kart this game within minutes became his favorite and now will choose this over evey game he has ever owned. maybe that will last maybe not but ...the game is a very fun game and as an older player I find this easier to play than mario kart. You cnat go wrong with this game and should find some great qualities in the game play that make it worth re-playing day after day. I personally like the drafting feature in the normal NASCAR sim games and they did a neat thing in adding a variation on that when you race with your teamates in this game. You have to play to understand. Give this game a spin and most should like it ....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dissapointing

posted by Jambots (OAK PARK, CA) May 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I was expecting NASCAR. Instead I got a Mario Cart wanna be. If I wanted Mario Kart, I would have rented Mario Kart. What a shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FUN!

posted by Sirobone (AUBURN, WA) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Very fun game... The courses are a blast! Better then Mario kart for sure! (and i love that game... Classic) Anyway... Rent it or buy it... you wont regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wii - NASCAR Kart Racing

posted by Walkndude (MOLINE, IL) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I thought this game was going to be fun and it was not. One of the strangest moments was listening to the characters talk. The words were not real so it made no sense. You have to be able to read (kids) in order to understand what it going on.

The main feature or trick to this game is being able to "hook up" with your partner and then use the slingshot technique to keep your two cars slinging around each other in order to get to the front of the pack and win the race. If you do not win, you have to repeat the race until you do win or else you cannot proceed.

I was disappointed and so were the kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Excruciatingly bad

posted by cluebcke (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

I didn't make it more that 5 minutes. The gameplay model is forced and restrictive, and the mumbly character voices, a knock-off of the much funnier ones used in the Lego games, were migraine inducing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too Simple and Stupid

posted by ChrisinWBG (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This game is simply put STUPID. I tried the game once without learning the controls and got 5th. When I looked at the controls, it was first from then on. They don't use speech but rather that annoying Wii genric mumbling which compounds the irritation of this game. The graphics aren't even arcade quality. This game could have been done way better than it delivered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Much harder than it appears

posted by gavnone (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Maybe it was just me, yet I was completely unable to understand the "slingshot" method of passing your team member's karts and, as a result, ended up finishing dead last in every race I tried (about 5 races). After 5 races of finishing dead last, I decided that no game should be this frustrating to play - consequently, I ended up sending it back to Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

too boring

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

You only get 4 tracks to start off with and I wasn't able to open up any new tracks. I didn't play it very long either as I found it too boring for my taste and lost interest in it rather quickly. It's a Mario Cart wanna be and it's most definitely not this. I love Mario Cart as you change characters and play mini games too in addition to the tracks. I much prefer Mario Cart over this game. I did find it easy to control and figure how to weapons. Having to stay linked or trying to anyway with your partner to be able to do the slingshots was dumb. I was able to do this but didn't get why this was part of the game. If you want a fun racing game stick with Mario Cart and just skip this one. I guess it's worth a rental to try but I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Expected More

posted by Rustyfan (WONDER LAKE, IL) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I was expecting a game similar to Mario Cart, boy was I wrong. From the forced Peanuts voice over and the uninspiring game play, this was returned the same day we received it. Definite pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nascar Racing A-OK

posted by DramaKong (MADISON, WI) Jul 9, 2009

Member since May 2009

This game was fun for a while. Not as addicting at Mario Kart, but still better than the average rating it has received. It is not difficult to advance and open new tracks, challenges. Just maybe there aren't enough of them. The race play itself is very fun and team work is rewarded. The rivals aspect I don't really get, but it did allow new characters to be added. All in all it's a worthy rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game! Loved it!

posted by FanofSox (ROCHESTER, NY) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This is a great game. I dont usualy play or watch NASCAR, but after playing this game, I think that I will. The game features drivers from NASCAR and after playing it I now have a good sence of some of the drivers around the sport. The game has multiple courses to race. The gameplay is easy and the power-ups give it a fun twist. I also enjoyed teaming up with a driver. During a race when you and your partner are close to each other a lightning bolt will connect you and eventualy you will be able to get a power boost as a result of it. This is a great game and i suggest that you give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

overall the game is ok

posted by Meekson (LOUISVILLE, KY) May 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

I would only recomend this game if you are a nascar fan, otherwise you are better off going with mario cart wii. The two games are very similar and in my opinion mario kart is the better of the two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nice game, but not a keeper

posted by jasonw754 (CONROE, TX) May 7, 2009

Member since May 2005

My son loves NASCAR and I thought this game would be perfect for him, but he lost interest after a couple of days. He was frustrated almost to tears at the slingshot mechanic that makes no sense. He couldn't get it figured out, while the AI had no problem shooting right past him with it. It just wasn't compelling enough to keep him from gravitating to the realism of NASCAR 09 on my XBox 360. For someone who absolutely loves NASCAR to choose Mario Kart over this game when given a choice just goes to show that this game is pretty much a miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This was ok.

posted by wen5454 (BALDWINSVILLE, NY) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

i am a big NASCAR fan, however this game did not go FAST enough for me. I have played the Mario Cart and that is faster. Graphics were great. Weapons were hard to figure out on the controller as well. Took me awhile to figure that out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Go, Gordon, Go!!

posted by JDigitty (BLYTHE, CA) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game is fantastic. I love everything about it. The control is the best, the cars steering is accurate and responsive. The graphics are excellent, every detail is nicely done and visually beautiful. The game play is great, you can race in tournaments, one-on-one, multiplayer, etc., you get to unlock characters and tracks. It carries the Nascar license and features real drivers like Jeff Gordon, Jimmy Johnson, Dale Jr..

I recommend this game to everyone, and the "wheel" acc. is an absolute must - it makes you steer better. I am going to purchase this game, using the "keep it" feature, when I get the money. Thanks Gamefly, you're the best!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

really boring

posted by climbbike (Lake Tapps, WA) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

All I can say about this game really, is that is BORING. I'd skip it for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not NASCAR

posted by JamesE (HILTON, NY) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Rent it ONLY............DON'T buy it. A very weak attempt at copying Mario Cart. Not nearly as smooth or fun to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nascar Kart Racing

posted by maxamillio (MADISON LAKE, MN) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I did not like this game at all, it was too easy. I thought it would be an actual NASCAR game And I love those games. This game was just depressing. And the way they had the people talk it got so anoying that I had to mute my T.V..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »