Rent NASCAR 2011: The Game for PS3
view large frontback

NASCAR 2011: The Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.0

1596 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

On the right track

posted by cardon (PRESTONSBURG, KY) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I'll admit, this game has a few flaws, but they're moving in the right direction. When Eutechnyx set out to make this game, their goal was to fix the actual racing and make it more realistic. They succeeded for the most part. The biggest problem I see is in the caution flags, but, name one NASCAR that has been released since 2004 that doesn't have the cautions messed up. There are a few things that this game lacks on the side like the intimacy of the carreer mode that games like 2005, but it's obvious that Eutchnyx has brought the franchise back from the grave. It may still have one foot still in the ground, but they're getting there.

What I'd like to see in the next game:
-Driver Creation
-Fixed Caution flags
-Driver interviews
-Sponsership intimacy
-Whelen, Truck and Nationwide Series
-Easier to follow career mode
-Dumber AI Drivers (I mean seriously, how come the other drivers never make any mistakes on any NASCAR games?)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Racing Games Still Need Repairs

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Number One, In creating my own driver I want to have a choice of a female! I am so so so so so so so so so sick and tired of all the gender bias in racing games.

Number Two, the graphics were awesome!!! Beautiful game and great artwork.

Number Three, Good job with selecting race length and when to have normal or shorter times to need to pit. I like games that are real-life sports to be as authentic as possible.

Number Four, In crashes I still get the short end of the stick. All racing games do that. In a crash, my car flips and spins and does all sorts of fancy acrobatics. Other cars just brush it off and leave me behind like I am riding a child's tricycle.

Number Five, It's good that other cars do indeed crash when I am nowhere close to them. Many race games make opposing drivers way too perfect! It's like racing God!

I had a love-hate time with this game. It was fun, but needs some work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Middle of the pack

posted by Tre1984 (CARTERSVILLE, GA) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game could be so much more than what it is. You cant skip ahead to other races in career mode. The car damage is very disproportionate. The CPU cars, when they wreck dont have so much as a dent when they hit the wall at 180 mph. If you scrape the wall, there goes your front fender. We all know about the caution flag issue. For example while raving the monster mile, 3 laps left, huge wreck on the back stretch..NO CAUTION!!! I had to keep driving through what turned into a parking lot. They can definitely do alot better than the product brought before you today, and hopefully 2012 will show that improvement. The game is just bland, and i,m a huge Nascar fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Expected so much more

posted by MEddy777 (CHANDLER, AZ) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall - this is a good rental to waste some time.

Graphics were solid, looked really nice
Sound could have been better.....
Gameplay was good (except for the Caution Flag glitch which is mentioned in almost every review) A major problem I had was during Daytona, set it to run 75 laps or so. I was leading with ten laps to go when I was getting ready to run out of fuel, had to pit, no one else (AI) came in, went from front to back, why was my fuel so low but the AI cars had enough to finish the race?

My biggest complaint....ONLINE Racin' (which is why I wanted this game) is terrible. First, had problems connecting to a lot of the tracks or timeout while waiting. My First race, a couple of the guys in front of me wrecked, I could not avoid contact and got spun from behind, when trying to turn around and get going again I was booted from the game with a warning that I was banned for reckless driving? Really? Hey Activision, there is a thing in NASCAR called a Black Flag, Use it....and not on someone who is trying to turn around and brushes the wall on a tight track....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by bogut319 (HARTLAND, WI) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I've played about 5 races in the career mode and the first thing I noticed is that you start out directly in the Sprint Cup Series. What happened to the old style Nascar game where you started out below the truck series and had to work your way up to the Sprint Cup? Secondly, the damage is so unrealistic. The only way I can see going out of a race is by blowing your engine or a tire. Whatever happened to critical damage forcing you to end your race? Plus in a pile up situation, it looks like a bunch of hotwheels smashing into each other. The graphics and sound are good at best. Overall, I think there needs to be a developer willing to spend the money and time working on a great Nascar game. Cuz this just doesn't cut it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but needs a lot of work

posted by ndnoutlaw (Oktaha, OK) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

You can tell they hurried this game to get it out but it's still better than any nascar game that EA put out! Now they need to take their time and make improvements to this game instead of going a completely different direction like EA would do all the time. The game play and graphics are great, everything else needs worked on. I think Activision is going in the right direction just got in a hurry to put this out. Now make it better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just okay

posted by JuMum (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game has great potential, but the system doesn't call cautions at the right times. IF a caution is called, and the player hasn't yet crossed the finish line, then they become a lap down...which is not the way NASCAR really works.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I like it but it needs work

posted by puppy123 (VICTORVILLE, CA) Jul 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

for 1st reason after you finsh your career for the 1st time you will have to restart it don't go into a new seeson. for a 2nd reason these no practice mode in quick race. for a 3rd reason they don't throw out cautions when you crash they only throw out cautions when cpu crash. for the 4th reason they don't have craftmens truck series. for the final reason is that nationwide and sprint cup is togerther in the same series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game needs work

posted by NBA6HEAT (PANAMA CITY, FL) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

i like the old nascar games and was so happy when i seen this one but it needs lot of work the cars and track look so real but the crashis needs work they dont call the yellow flags at rit time all in all it needs work and i hope it gets it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NOT IMPRESSED AT ALL!

posted by wildcatfan (FLATGAP, KY) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Ok,i'm a huge nascar fan,and i'v been playing nascar games eversince the very first nascar raceing back on the ps1. i'm not going to get to deep into it it does have good graphics.for me that was the only good thing career mode seems to suck i'm only one race in and am already going to send it back.car handles very badly,can't hardley stick to the bottom,keeping and getting sponsors are semilar to the way it was on the old nascar raceing game EA came out with really to me game play not very good at all caution flags don't come out when they should its actualy easier to damage your car on the game than it is in real life,i mean don't tag the wall it'll tear your frontend off.Computer AI sucks as well they don't reallybattle each other really they just wait for you to pass them and maybe they might give you a challenge i mean i know its a game but this is ps3 not the original NES, use some of that technology on some good computer AI.
All i can say rent it and be the judge for yourself,i'm just glad i rented this game before i bought it otherwise i would have probably shot myself!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dont buy it its not really good to rent

posted by Gamer2013 (SHEPHERDSVILLE, KY) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Ok it might just be me but this game did NOT live up to the rep that was put behind it!

PROS: Mulitiplayer
Graphics
Tracks look good
Has Kentucky

CONS: Caution Flag doesn't come out on time of wreck or ever
Career Mode is NOT fun
Certain drivers have has an (a) after there number
Paint Booth isn't good at all
Drivers do back flips like Carl Edwards as a celebration
Commentary are not the ones seen on TV
Bump Drafting does NOT work like it does in the real race
The game is set up like an Arcade Game!!

I hope this patches they are working on helps because this game SUCKS! and the only reason i'm keeping it is because my Girlfriend wants to play it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair

posted by nbiii9773 (WASHINGTON, DC) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2003

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

All I have to say is that this is a renter game. I purchased it and I feel let down. The hype was all there. I love nascar racing and alot of thing are missing in this one. They should have took more time in making this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

online

posted by ChefBoyRDiesel (BRYANS ROAD, MD) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok game but, one would think since 09's server crashed that you would try to make this one better. This could have been way better. The creators of the game should feel ashamed to have such a piece of garbage be considered as a game to release. P.S. it felt like a beta game.

Sincerely, ChefBoyRDiesel

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

sub par

posted by skr8outtapc (POLK CITY, FL) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

not the greatest nascar game i have ever played. to me it seemed too easy. i took off all driver assist and i was still blowing away the field. looked for opitons to bump up AI but none to be found. only way i found to make harder was to race more laps. who actually wants to race 500 miles??? graphics pretty good but damage very unrealistic. you can have no front end on the car and still keep up and win at daytona. let my 8 yr old play and car just keep running no matter how many times he hit the wall. but dont run out of gas or your day will be done. makes no sense.. also there is no repair damage in the pits. speaking of pits stops they are no good, goes to cutscene deal and just looks and sounds dumb. lots of work for the creators to fix on next game. if your a nascar fanatic you might get some enjoyment out of this game but more than likely you will be putting back in the mailbox the next day!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nascar The Game 2011

posted by tposey (LEWISBURG, KY) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the worst nascar game EVER. I played it for 5 min. The previous nascar game was 1000 times better. This game looks like it came from the early 90's gaming era. Don't waste your time or money on this one.
I was so pumped about purchasing it on the day it came out. However, I was reading some of the reviews and decided to rent it first. Thank God I didn't waste my money. All the hype and build up for this, is serious a hugh dissappointment.
I suggest that if you are wanting this game rent it for one night only. I believe that will be enough for you to get a serious feel for actually how lousy this game is.
I have played all the previous nascar game and this one is a FLOP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible job by the programmers!

posted by BlackTipGP1200 (LUCEDALE, MS) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game certainly has issues. The first race in career mode, 10 laps into the Daytona race a caution comes out. Then the camera never comes off of the wrecked car. I waited about 5 minutes for it to get everyone back in line to restart. Never happened. It looks like someone hired some programmers with "bachelors" from University of Phoenix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst nascar game ever

posted by peedogg (FALL RIVER, WI) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

7 out of 24 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

activision should be imbarressed,i know nascar will b. the online lobbys r a joke they arent even lobbys where u can chose the race u want its horriable. if u r looking for good racing on line in nascar play gran turisimo 5 yeah daytona is the only track worth racing but at least u can join a full room and have fun. lets just hope activision doesnt make a second game, and hope ea makes it again but goes back to how the game was on ps2 that was good racin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NASCAR 2011

posted by Trouble717 (LANCASTER, PA) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This years version is awsome, way better than previous years. I love the atmosphere, its like your really at the track in the garage area. It was well worth the 3 year wait :o)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Review

posted by Kallon2012 (COLON, MI) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

this game is terrible...the game freezes every few minutes ...I will never rent nor buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great nascar title

posted by alin0s (PALATINE, IL) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Graphics - 10 They are photo realistic representations of everything! The crowd isn't perfect but big deal.
Gameplay - 10 Easy controls, Great adjustability of difficulty and races, Great tracks, makes it a great game
Frustration - 0 There's no getting frustrated on this one!
Overall - 10 This is one stunningly well made game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game, good graphics

posted by papaloc (WESSON, MS) May 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I'm really glad that they bought a NASCAR title back to console gaming. This was an antisipated game for me but, found the game to be a bit to easy, even in harder levels. This is a great out of the box game for those who are not real good at a driving game. But for me it should have been made alittle more difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nascar Review

posted by Almightyeddie (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) May 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I got the game to crash into people and troll but had a very hard time getting into matches online. If you want to play online then goodluck with that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nascar 2011

posted by Msweet (HERCULANEUM, MO) May 1, 2012

Member since May 2012

Game was fun, but not a lot of options. Game is a great game for family racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by eturnl2009 (HARRISON, AR) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game was one of the worst games I have ever played. Have not played Nascar in many yrs, thought I would give this game a try. It was not worth it. NEVER RENT THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nascar 2011

posted by bradpike5171 (GREENVILLE, MI) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

No depth to career mode. Cautions come out after leader comes around and crashes into cars that already wrecked a lap ago. Poor Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse