Rent NASCAR 2011: The Game for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NASCAR 2011: The Game

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii
GF Rating
6.1

2573 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Great first effort

posted by mud97 (CAMERON PARK, CA) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

32 out of 34 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game has some glaring issues. Caution flags seem to rarely come out, even while a wreck is in progress. Online servers also appear to be having issues.

If your an offline player like myself then this is a great game for the NASCAR fan. It's far from perfect, but very fun. The cars handle like you would expect, very heavy and you really have to slow down for the corners early.

Career mode is fun and allows for a variety of different ways to run the races with different lengths, pit stops, cautions, etc. The cut scenes before and after races are pretty cool as well.

There is a lot of things it did miss the mark on, the AI seem to always stay in big packs, the drafting is a bit overdone on smaller tracks, etc, but overall if you enjoy NASCAR you will like this game. It's a great first effort even if it is far from perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A NASCAR Game; Very Surprising!

posted by DUDE51298 (WESTFIELD, MA) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As I was awaiting for for NASCAR 2011: The Game, I was fearing that the simulation of the previous NASCAR games from EA Sports would completly dissapate. The game seemed "sketchy" to me, but I was confident that it would be a great game; and thats what I got!

NASCAR 2011: The Game packs a great punch for NASCAR video games! Especially its graphics; WOW!!! A very good change was that they acually put the real manufacturers on the cars like Ford, Chevy, Dodge, Toyota, YEA!!!! Overall, Nascar 2011: The Game was very suprisingly AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lack of Muti-player / Game Updates!

posted by dragonslayer007 (ACWORTH, GA) Jul 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am very disappointed that the muti-player has never been updated, or the whole game for that matter. $49.95 for what? I really like the graphics and game play but the muti-player needs to be updated and opened up for real racing!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth it!

posted by lachuladepapi (LANCASTER, PA) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was so excited for this game to come out for my husband. Come to find out there so many problems with it. We were told that the problem would be fixed by May 9th, but the game still got stuck, too many glitches. Not really worth it. My husband owned the one for playstation 2 and that one was really good. It's a shame that this one for Xbox360 came out to be such a bad game. Good thing I didn't buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Waiting for next year

posted by jgh (SOUTH BOSTON, VA) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I have to say this game is lacking in many areas but it isn't all bad considering this is the first NASCAR game for these guys. Its lacking in many areas. You can't check the grid during a race, the cautions lag, its hard to have enough time to make your changes during a pit stop, and a few other minor annoyances and aggravations in race. Also, I have yet to find any use for xp. Theres no point at all to leveling up. Sponsorship are just as useless. By completing in race acomplishment you gain sponsorships which get you...guess what...more xp! Its just pure racing which wouldn't sound like a downfall but is. There is no depth at all to this game. At the beginning of your career you start with a car that is equal to everyone else. There is no making your car, driver, or team better or working your way up from a start up nascar team to having a great team.

Like I said, its not shabby for a first installment but hopefully they make next years game way better. I'm not asking for all the series and such of the past couple EA NASCAR games. I just want a deep and fulfilling NASCAR experience. And I wish game makers would realize catering to the casual gamer leaves a lot out of the experience for the true gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointment

posted by THEROOSTER (HIRAM, GA) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was pretty excited about this. They didn't put one out last year, so it felt like this one would be a huge step up from 09. It isn't. I like the simulation aspect of NASCAR rather than just picking my favorite driver and racing a race. I liked to try to get a good rep, race my way through the series, hire crew members, etc. You can't do any of that anymore. Even painting your car is kind of inconvenient.

I will admit that the graphics are the best of any NASCAR game yet. But, I feel like they left so much on the table, that could've made this game amazing. They didn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tina's Review

posted by shadowsgrl11 (JAMESTOWN, NY) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I think this game was cool. It's kinda hard, but that's what makes it fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not at all What I expected

posted by michael339 (FORT PLAIN, NY) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I am not sure If I am the only one that thinks this,because I have not read anyone else's reviews.The game is just another EA knock off.The previews showed sparks and black smoke and parts falling off the cars in a wreck and the game itself lacks that.You have very little sparks and black smoke and rarely do you see parts falling off the cars.I would like a game that does the exact same damage as if I were to hit the wall at 200 mph in real life.Is that too much to ask? And the spotter gets very annoying after awhile..If I am way out in front of the pack,he constantly says Clear,Clear,well no kidding dummy their is nobody near me.Then he throws some random statement in their about his french fries, or how hot it is up their.The custom car part of the game is confusing,I lost the numbers on my car when I repainted it and could not find how to get them back.Want my opinion the game is not what I expected it would be.Very disappointed!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good start

posted by Foehammer111 (OAK LAWN, IL) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge NASCAR fan. I've been playing on the consoles and PC for about 15 years now. Although nothing will top NR2003, this latest product from UK developer Eutechnx is a good reboot for the series after a decade under EA.

Everything that you'd expect from a new developer is here. It's got a career mode covering all 36 races of the 2010 season, all the full time drivers, plus some big name Nationwide and Truck series drivers that were bumped up to Sprint Cup to fill out the roster. There's also online play for up to 16 players, local split screen, and some arcade style races like eliminator, and hot laps.

The racing does a nice job balancing between casual and more hardcore racing fans. If you're an experienced racer like me, you'll want to bump the difficulty up to legend, and crank the AI to hard. The racing feels great on both ovals, and road courses. There's even a hardcore mode, but sadly a bug has this disabled currently on the 360.

Speaking of bugs, there's a lot of them in online play. Caution flags wont be thrown, random crashes when forming up for a restart, and connectivity issues to name a few. The good news is that a patch is being worked on to address these issues, and should be out in early May. Although the game is based on the 2010 season, a free DLC update is planned for May that will update the schedule and drivers to the 2011 season.

If you go into this expecting it to be like EA's last game, NASCAR 09, you'll be disappointed. Extensive career options are missing, as well as overall polish. But NASCAR 2011 nails some things on the first try that EA never got right in a decade. The major thing being the feeling of the sport. Pre-race intros, post-race celebrations, no fictional drivers, great looking visuals, tons of tuning options, etc all make this better than anything EA has offered lately.

Overall, this is a fantastic reboot for the series. If you can live with a bare bones career mode, there's lots to like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

childish in my opinion

posted by Stretch1 (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is to childish in my opinion. To user friendly. It isn’t for hardcore NASCAR gamers. And yes the cosmetic damage is way to unrealistic, bump drafting usually results in the front end of your car getting shredded. The weather is never different, no overcast of any sort. The difficulty also needs to be improved, it is way to easy to move through the pack. Also, I haven’t seen an option to repair car damage when pitting…???…. not that it really matters because a damaged car runs just as fast and well as a car in good condition. The menu is also trickey to navigate. The graphics are nice though, kudos there. Overall… worth a rent at best, definately wait till next year. Until then, I will keep playing NASCAR 07 on the original xbox to fill my NASCAR craving. =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NASCAR 2011

posted by KajunGoat (SAINT AMANT, LA) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was a awesome game to play,it was almost like you was actually their in the car driving it yourself. I recommend this game to anyone who is a speed junkie like my self who loves driving fast. Thumbs up on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game for true fans, for the rest of us...

posted by pcornwell86 (PINSON, TN) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My mother is a huge NASCAR fan and when I was younger she would buy me the games to try and convert me. Now out of college I thought I would try this game for nostalgia's sake. The game easily reproduces the environment and feel of NASCAR without being cheesy. With this in mind, I started my career and customizing my race car. All of this was fun, but I quickly found the career mode boring since you literally go from race to race with no extra content. Compared to games such as Madden and NBA 2k11, this is simply not acceptable. The game quickly became boring as the racing was no longer fun nor engaging due to the bare bones menus and game. This is a great beginning to a franchise but it will need several versions to become a top notch game. With that said, this is a great game for fans who are itching to enjoy the high speeds of Daytona or the claustrophobic environment of Bristol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The First of New Nascar

posted by Lutzalec (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Well.... how to start this off. I have played a lot of Nascar games. From Nascar '96 to 2011. Its nice to see that EA lost the rights to it. We didn't get a game last year but since this is Activision's first Nascar game I will give them a benefit of the doubt that they did really good with it. I have not had any online problems yet. Though I have heard of lag problems with the game, but what game doesn't have lag problems? They don't have much to choose from like the old EA games but at least you can take a sharp turn at 30 MPH and not see your car flip wildly. [Cough] Nascar '09 [/Cough]. I also wish you could qualify online as well.

I wish we could finally get a Nascar game that allows 2 Player offline that has more then 20 Cars on the track.

Graphics = 9/10
Controls = 8/10
Sound/Soundtrack = 8/10
Online Play = 7/10
Replay Value = 8/10
Overall Score = 7/10

TL;DR: The game is fun. Needs more activities. Online play is better then EA's. 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by justin812 (MURPHY, NC) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is AWESOME!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dissappointed

posted by Profetj187 (BALLWIN, MO) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Well I was expecting so much more. For, how long I have been waiting for them to comeback with a Nascar game they failed. The career is just horrible, online play is laggy and framerate freezes constantly, Nascar XP is just there no real reward for leveling up which makes absolutely no sense what so ever. nice try, but next time send out a better product it was a waste of a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sux

posted by BryceCo8 (EVANS, GA) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game flat out sux i sent it back within 30 minutes, painting ur car sux, racing has literally no cautions, career sux you dont get to race up the different series. IT JUS SUCKS ( SUX!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

We've waited 2 years for this?

posted by Huppydog (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Online was lagged and disconnected constantly. Kurt Busch is still driving #2. And that was my first impression. All my online friends left after talking me into going to the store so we could race. I wish we could have finished a race. We couldn't! So I tried offline. I set up a quick race. I was doing fine, back of the pack at Bristol, where they started me. I stayed back of the pack since I'm new. They crashed up ahead. I wasn't involved at all. I got a pop up saying I got a penalty for pit road speeding. I waited two years for something worse than what they gave us before? I want a refund so bad I can taste it, but what I want more is for them to listen to us and fix this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by filter2700 (SAINT PAUL, MN) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you like nascar you'll enjoy going in circles over and over, the game is easy to play and isn't fun. I like racing games like forza, dirt, nfs, etc. This game looks great and works well, but it's so boring going in circles. If you like nascar you'll like this game, but if you want something with more action don't waste your time. I rated it a 4/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What a joke..

posted by shadyupsman (KUNKLETOWN, PA) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I believe that these companies who make NASCAR games have never watched a full race. Why does it take a 15 car pile up to bring out a caution but if you spin out and are sitting in the middle of the track the race stays green? They are never up to date we are still racing with last years cars and last years rules. Stop making the emphisis on the wrecks and make it more realistic. Only real Nascar fans are buying these game and we don't just watch for the wrecks. Please, Please watch at least three races next year before even attempting to make 2011.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boringgggg! :)

posted by raider35th (NICEVILLE, FL) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This Game is so, uhhhh not cool. By By Now. ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BLOWS!!!! BIG TIME..

posted by omacs88 (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

GOOD THING I DIDN'T BUY THIS GAME.THANK GOD.. IF IT'S EVEN A GAME . EVERYTHING SUCKS. CAN'T DO ANYTHING YOU COULD DO ON THE PREVIOUS GAME. NO FLAGS NO CUSTOM PAINT NO PUSHING DRAFTING NOTHING GAME TOTALLY NOT WORK IT. WHY EA DID YOU STOP..
SENT BACK SAME DAY AS RECIEVED.. DON'T WASTE A SPOT IN YOUR QUE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nascar 11

posted by kasd (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

10 out of 52 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

this game a great in career mode it will let you pick any person or own self to be in this game i get it i love it and in career mode watch your back cause when you starting winning races the other guys will put you in the wall and i am 25 in the game i love racing dale jr. he is the cool as life he will make you work that race and ps do not make them mad at you numbers 18,88,24 they will kill you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by DudTPrix (BONNEY LAKE, WA) Aug 2, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

If you like getting in a wreck every 5 seconds and a caution not coming out until your in last place then this game is for you. However if you like being able to do more than get angry and come in last every time I suggest a better game. Top speed is only 175 in a NASCAR game it can't be great. Save your time and get NCAA Football 14

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nascar 2011 the game

posted by primalcreature (ASTORIA, OR) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

the game will not play and it pisses me off that u guys sent it to me anyway

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nascar 2011

posted by sharpshotwiley (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This was a great game besides the point that it only took me like half a day to beat the game I liked it and would play it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse