Rent NASCAR 09 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NASCAR 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2
GF Rating
6.4

2584 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Much Improved

posted by moseley360 (VINCENNES, IN) Jul 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

nascar08 was a huge let down for me but nascar09 has made up for that the have corrected lot of the handling problems that made 08 so frustrating if nascar08 scared you away let 09 bring you back the only thing i still don't like is the fact that you are driving your own car with a # that has to between 100 or 199 they should let you have any #that isn't in use for your respective league i would like to have a choice whether or not i want to drive my own car or one that has been offered to you thru a contract with whatever company if you were looking for a sprint cup contract there should be the chance to drive any car that has an open seat or if you out rank the current driver of that car it would make for a little more exciting game with more to reach for in the season mode than just winning

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A step up from 08

posted by frog0311 (COSTA MESA, CA) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

21 out of 28 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I am not a Nascar fan, so I can't tell you how realistic the game is. What I can tell you is that it's a solid racing game.

That being said it's not for everyone. The racing can get boring especialy if your in the lead with no traffic. Also gainging atributes for you car is not what it should be. I would have liked to see a reward system that rated how you raced and gave you experiance or points based on that, to level up your car. Instead the points are given to you after completing sponser/team objectives such as placing in the top 20, or completing races, and through the spring challenges which are not as fun as they are frustraiting. And the last ding in the bumper is the road tracks. You can tell very little was put into these even though they contain famous tracks such as Watkins Glen and Infinion (sp?). Why Nascar thinks these tracks should even be included I have no idea, these cars are not the kind of cars to be racing on those tracks. The fact you had to cut Watkins Glen just to get cars to run on it should tell you something.

As for the multiplayer I found it really difficult to race being a first time Nascar racer. I race on the hardest difficulty in the single player and place in the top 10, yet I'm getting lapped within about 20 laps of Daytona? That tells me there is a lot about the game that is not explained well enough for the casual Nascar racer to be decent at it. Could be the games I played, but out of 10 games I took second to last once and called it a triumph, so expect to put in some time to get that online achivment for winning a race. Had EA put in a way for you to specify that I was a total noob, and let me play with other total noobs, I would have had a much better time. A total Moto GP experiance.

So those are all the bad things about the game, for those of you still intrested download the demo and race 1 race for at least 100 laps. If you had a good time and can ignore above you can get your money's worth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

keeps getting worse

posted by biggpimpin (DELTAVILLE, VA) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the goods:
-graphics
-addition of black flag
-realistic pitting
-career mode
-skill challenge

the bads:
-no more teamates
-to easy to get a black flag
-career mode gets boring really fast
-can only have a car number from 100-199

really need to go back to the old stuff

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OLD IS NEW

posted by BigDip803 (COLUMBIA, SC) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I own nascar 08. plain and simple it sucks worst nascar i have ever played but nascar 09 was much better. its a good game to pass time because online if you have no clue how to tune a care you will get laped 100 times before the end of the race. but my advice is go get nascar 07 for the playstaytion 2 or xbox honestly the best nascar game i have ever had. they need to take nascar 07 and put it into a new version of nascar because every attemt to make this game "better" and "more realistic" Fails but if u cant get 07 09 is your best bet because dnt waste your time on 08 i picked itt up used for like 3 bucks and only played it like twice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NASCAR -- Hitting the skids?

posted by Troimerc (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to say that after the '08 fiasco, I wasn't going to play EA's NASCAR any more. But, I gave it a try, and found that EA sure hasn't improved the game much. Things like controlling the speed of the car in the pit lane; or still not being able to control the pit crew. Also, this thing with not being able to use a number below 100. Also, you kind of wonder how much effort they really put into the game: Why can't they use the ablility to get sport rosters over the internet, to update the drivers, the sponsors and other ablilities? I'm just disappointed again....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Huge jump From 08

posted by Nascar2403 (HANFORD, CA) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

You know I was really Impressed with the leap and bound that 09 has brought to the table. I mean if you are not a race fan you can jump in there and RACE and if you are then HARDCORE BABY!!!! But the bi step was no wake draft to block your view and the graphics are way up this year. The ONLY thing and I mean ONLY I would still like to have pit road control when entering PIT Road. But as game play goes it is Way more fun this year. Oh and by the way My Driver is on the COVER GO Jeff Gordon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Get back to the roots of racing

posted by Thr04car (Puyallup, WA) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I think they really need to go back and keep some of the things they had in the earlier games; Creating a driver look and profile, the victory lane celebration, building your team from crew chief to crew members, using your winnings to purchase your own team and make the choices, building your car up (engine, tires, chassis). They need to make it more realistic as far as earning your way into the big show. It think they should start you out as a local driver in a street stock with options on car and sponsors. Then get an offer for Late models (Nascar West, South, and East series)and then to trucks and so on. Making it more of a career. They need to add local tracks and racing leagues. EA should look me up if they want to make an OUTSTANDING racing game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

down hill from early versions

posted by FourFifth (South Yarmouth, MA) Aug 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the only versions of this game I played were 2003, 2004, 2005 and simRacing

2009 is worse than all of them, you can expect better graphics and updated rosters in exchange for massive gameplay, career mode is very boring. I might just go rent heat 2004 right now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

one player????

posted by Bump36 (CAMPTON, KY) May 2, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Over all I really liked the game. However I was extremely dissappointed that the game was only one player, I never imagined. Kinda silly to make a game like that one player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not So Great

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Nov 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Perpetual left turns was fun at one time. The 2009 version feels like more of the same old thing. I didn't like it.

Win 8 cups? Puh-lease, I would rather stick a fork in my eyes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

snooze

posted by L1U3K7E (TONEY, AL) Oct 6, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Extremely boring! Thats all there is to say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I wouldn't even waste my time!

posted by captchaos (OWEGO, NY) May 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I usually don't rent race games and know I remember why. This game is extremely boring. You can spend more time setting up you car than actually racing. As someone else put it in their review, if you use the basic driving you can't lose. If you use the pro driving, you can't hardly win.

I can wrap up this review with one word - BORING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One player?

posted by tmacandash (EVANSVILLE, IN) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am very disappointed in the game mostly due to the fact that split screen 2 player is gone. Why?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

nascar racing 2009

posted by impala323 (SOUTHINGTON, OH) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is not realistik at all and the car is impossoble to control and the other cars are way to fast to keep up with

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nascar '09 continuing to fall

posted by pocroc (WAUKESHA, WI) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Since the '07 Version of NASCAR on Xbox, I have been truly disappointed. Granted more of us gamers utilize the online play, but being a father of little gamers myself I truly miss the 2 player option. I liked being able to sit down with my son and enjoy racing each other. I hope in the future NASCAR will see the error of it's ways and bring back this option. If not in my opinion the games are lacking the dynamics they used to hold and will continue to fall in the ratings

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I'm Making A Left Turn!

posted by Juggalo78 (BOISE, ID) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Where shall I begin on rating this game? How about with the guide of the game, Jeff Gordon. Don't get me wrong, Gordon's had his time in the sun(more often than not). So why did NASCAR 09 go with Gordon and not someone like Danny Hamlin or Martin Truex, Jr.? I would've much rather seen one of the young guns as the play-by-play, instructor of this game than Gordon. But all that aside, NASCAR 09 is limited in what it can do. There's no 2 player option for this game. And if you're thinking of renting this one weekend and hooking up woth some friends online, forget it! Yeah, you can play online but it'll be by yourself. There's no feature that allows party play. And whatever happened to the realistic car crashes? They're gone! Instead, when your car or truck gets damaged, you see pixelated pieces fall off. I.e. it looks like candy glass. This game wasn't inovative in the least. And all the great features of the past NASCAR games has obviously been thrown out the window. Electronic Arts needs to go back to the drawing board. This game isn't worth paying full retail price for, nor the rental fee's at your local game store.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Broken...

posted by RavenDMC (WILLIAMSON, WV) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I love NASCAR. And in so many ways, this game seems to surpass last years version. The problem is, this game is so glitched.

Graphics, controls and career were all upgraded in this years version. Unfortunately, you'll not really appreciate it since in the two copies I've had from Gamefly, I've experienced lockups (about once every 2 or 3 races, sometimes more) to major glitches (corrupt profile which cost me about 14 hours of gameplay time).

Overall, unless you want to get turned against NASCAR, I'd steer clear. As good as the game SHOULD be, the major glitches keep it from living up to it's potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Broken in Too Many Ways

posted by AWEDaniel (TRENTON, FL) Aug 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is badly broken. There are so many glitches which cause the game to crash. The most widely know glitch happens during career, where the game will freeze and corrupt your save game data, and all progress will be lost. There are lots of other glitches, menus freezing, custom cars not downloading etc. The online play has lots of glitches in it too. Routinely when you choose to pit during a caution in online play, some cars will not pit until they have taken a full lap around the track, which makes you wait, and is horrible when you are racing at a super speedway like talladega. With 11 members in the room this was happening every caution, and the cautions are frequent (no fault to the game, just bad drivers). If the pitting glitch happens to you and you are up front, you will end up behind the drivers that did not encounter the glitch. Add to the fact that when the glitch doesnt happen, after the computer takes over driving into the pits, the computer will spin out, sending you to the back. Also the EA website is mostly broken where only a few people can link their gamertag to the site to upload custom cars to their locker for others to download. The driving is 10x better than in 08, but there are too many glitches that kill the game. The online play was 30 seconds of driving, 5 minutes of caution. The only way to counter this is to go with no cautions and no damage and no wear, but then its not Nascar is it?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nascar 09

posted by racer113 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 14, 2008

Member since May 2008

6 out of 27 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Nascar 09 is the best Nascar game ever. It is so realaslistic. This game blows Nascar 08 away. But the one thing I dont like is when you get bumped into the aprin you spin out and crash. So that is why I gave it a 9. I truly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SUCKKKKKKKKZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ HARD

posted by jordanm11 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

WHAT
WHAT
LAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The realist nascar game ever

posted by GODALLAS13 (LANCASTER, CA) Jun 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 36 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I play the game on xboxlive about a week ago. I loved it i play it 5 to 7 times best raceing game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nascar '09

posted by cooldude_123 (JACKSON, GA) May 11, 2012

Member since May 2012

I absolutely loved this game. I love NASCAR. This game is pretty good, but some things do bother me. The steering of the car is heavy, so if you try to make any fast turns, your probably going to hit the wall. Plus, it is either too easy or too hard. Its not like you win a little lose a little. I think this game is surely worth the rental, though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nascar 09

posted by guser76 (MOUNT WOLF, PA) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

I liked it very much it was like being in the car

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gotta know your setups

posted by agedgamer (CRAIG, CO) Dec 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Unless you know intricate details on how to set up cars(rebound, compression, gear ratios, tire pressure, etc)this game will be impossible to win anything. Sure, you can slam and slide your way around, but what fun is that? I love driving games but I hate the ones that you have to take days setting up a car to perform properly for a race only to have to do it again for a different track or condition, to me that is painfully boring. Maybe I'm just getting old but what happened to games that had three or four setup options....and then you could have fun?
If I wanted to spend all day adjusting tire pressure by 1/4 of a pound or spring return 1 tick at a time to keep me out of the wall or from creaming a "car low", I would invest in driving and racing a real car and pay someone else to worry about the technical details.
I loved the "Dirt to Daytona" game but the NASCAR '0whatever seems to just get more and more difficult each consecutive year.
I am a NASCAR fan through and through who roots for Earnhardt Jr. all the way each and every race despite the slump he seems to be in. I also know driving games very well and have spent the last 10 years playing almost all of them, until a hole forms in the disc.
Don't let my review stop you from trying it out, by all means play the game, have fun and enjoy gaming in the 21st century.
We could still be playing pong you know......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Race On the Way

posted by opsGamer (CARBONDALE, PA) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This was one good Game graphics were good steering was exceptional. The one problem I had was i kept getting yellow Flags and i would only tap the car not hit it. But i would recommend this game to anyone it is good i give it a 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse