Rent NASCAR 09 for PS3
view large frontback

NASCAR 09

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360, PS2
GF Rating
6.0

1448 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nascar 09

posted by fan1970 (ALBERT CITY, IA) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I bought this game soon as it came out, and was kind of disappointed at first, but quickly changed my mind. It didnt have alot of the "extras" that I always enjoyed such as starting out in modified series and working your way up, or owning your own team or even racing several different series on same race weekend. But what it does have is a far better Nascar experience form the very advanced car set up to a far more realistic driving experience. The only reason I didnt rank higher was because of constantly being black flagged for rough driving. Hopefully that will change as my drivers rep. goes up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gaming was good, but freezing bad

posted by lbz999 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Game in general is good. The paint booth is a nice touch to help customize your car.

Playability is much improved over last year when it seemed like everytime you pressed the gas, you spun out.

Major bad for me was the game constantly freezing. It usually happened after the session was over or between online events.

One last thing, EA continues to amaze me on how cruddy the mic can be on their games. It is better than last year, but you still cannot hear everything people say. Too bad their mic software cannot be as good as cod4.

Overall, would rate higher if it did not freeze so often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent, But Where's The Split Screen?

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Jun 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

14 out of 21 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fellow Gamers-
One thing I was looking forward to was the classic split screen setup, which this doesn't have for some stupid reason. When playing online against other players....beware. I could barely get a full lap in without someone trying to run me off the track...?? It's not demolition derby! (Although that would be AWESOME for PS3 if they made one like the PS2's Destruction Derby). Graphics are pretty darn good, which it better be, gameplay is much better than 08 version. It's actually driveable this time without the wheel. The other thing that bothers me is how many times I got black flagged for too many bumping. BOO!!!
Cmon, it's a video game, no one's perfect! I just don't think it will be easy to complete 200 full laps, let alone 100 laps without either getting black-flagged. Overall, a decent game that may NOT be worth the full price of $59.99.
Rent this one and see what you think before you buy.
Game-on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

09 is a baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa- aaad game

posted by bigfoot12 (NORTH EAST, MD) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

when i bouhgt nascar 09 i was expecting a game that i could not win or finsh last in 25 races NO and NO on easy i won 20 races in a row and well, you know the rest. I hated the black flags and no multiy player,GIVE ME A BREAK another nascar flop by ea sports.(very,very few good things)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Improved but still not a good game.

posted by LordMerlin (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Better than last year, but thats not saying much. EA needs to sell their contract to papyrus so we can finally have a decent console racing game.

Online is horrid, and the basic gameplay leaves alot to be desired. Also, the sound is pitiful. The cars sound nothing like a real race car.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Better than last few years but not the best

posted by Nascar9Fan (STAFFORD SPRINGS, CT) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Fellow diehard nascar fans this years game is good compared to the last few installments but not even close to thunder 04 or dirt to daytona, ya the grahics are better these days and technology is great but tellin the truth the back in the day games were just the best. this year ya they got the paint booth witch i think is the best thing they did sence thunder 04 and i hope they keep it. you got to be kiddin no car manufatures, dissaponting. Ea i thought you wanted the game to be more relistic like you are in the race for real. but let me see you can olny pick form 100-199 for you car number, thats not fun double digits would be nice. if ur gunna have the truck series have more reilistic drives than than just like 3. another thing not even real driversanother dissapointment. this is a bad one ya here i am racein goin into the corner let off alittle bit and roll in and there i am gettin passed every time. you might wanna work on that. dont kno y u took out team control that was a good thing. modifieds was good but no challage u could win like every race. i would reccemend dirt cars in dirt to daytona instead of mods.wats up with signing of the sponsers u dont even get money when you win, isnt that the whole ponit of sponsers. when you win it should show you in victory lane with the trophy celibrating. you should be able to get money for winning like in thunder 04 and spend it on cars and team like in 04. in my mind 04 was the best game you got to buy equiptment for your garage, got to buy engines, bodys, chasis, you were able to rehaul you engines and others listed signed your pit crew depending on the money you had thats wat racings about and it would make a great simulation game. if i was Ea sports i would get me fingers out of u kno, spend a few extra dollers and make the game worth 59.99 or let some one else make it. to make 2010 the best so far they shoud add some things from 09 and just bring thunder 04 up to date, dirt cars and call it a success. u agree,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NASCAR 09 is this thing broken???

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

alright i love nascar and i still believe the best nascar game to date was nascar 98. this year ea has put in a create a car feature that allows you to put what ever you want on it. so if you wanna make the number 8 with budweiser on it you can. so here is my brake down of the game.

GRAPHICS-9 (better but a still not as good as they could be)
PYHSICS-5 (didn't no that i could do 4 barrel rolls and land on my wheels and still win the race)
GAMEPLAY-5 still same horrible handling cars as always, no matter what you do you can't get a good car)
SOUND TRACK-8 (AIRBOURNE IS THE BEST PART)
ONLINE-1

the online in this game absolutly sucks. now saying that here is why. the servers absolutly suck, the cars appear and disapear. the new create a car that the box says you can use online.....forget it your the only one who can see it, to everyone else your a primered car. also if you actually could fiNnd a good car setup in the offline mode the same set up WILL NOT work the same in the online at the sam e track. and finally the AI is brain dead. every race i've tried the winner is usually the guy who qualified first. the cars magically spam on top of each other and cause caution after caution, till the race is over or you take too much damage and/or get black flagged for rough drivin. this game could really benefit from a rival game the way madden did from 2k5. the game is still to based for hardcore gamers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

for some time

posted by madden11 (SANFORD, NC) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i liked it because i can turn auto braking off and all of that but now all of a sudden when i hit session info after a race it freezes up and i have to restart it and i wish you could simulate a race for once in offline mode but no i have to run at martinsville wher eim terrible at but apart from that great game but the offline drivers are terrible resarts are asy im 43rd to begin a race and once i get into turn 1 im already like 15th and its on hard with addaptive strength on but no multiplayer offline is bad but ill give it a 10
EA SERVERS FPR THIS GAME ARE SHUTTING DOWN IN OCTOBER 2010

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of Time

posted by caseyth (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nascar '09 was an utter waste of time. This is by far one of the worst driving games ever created. The visuals are ok, but they are a generation old. The gameplay is boring, unchallenging, and completely uninspired.

There are two game modes. The first is literally designed for 3 year olds, and consists of pressing the button for the accelerator while occasionally using the stick to steer while the computer automatically adjusts your car's speed. There is no chance of losing a race, or hitting the wall.

The more advanced game mode is not much better with only having a slightly higher chance of hitting the wall through turns.

This game has virtually no race mechanics built into it, and will be a dramatic disappointment for Nascar and race game fans alike. The ability to visually customize your car is pretty solid with lots of options. Too bad they devote that much time and effort into the gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever!!!

posted by usafpol (FORT WALTON BEACH, FL) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was the worst nascar game ever. The gameplay was so stupid easy i just cant play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

10 mins gamefly wont give back

posted by milesb1 (CRAMERTON, NC) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok i like nascar and such but this game is garagbe dont belive me rent it ok i played this game for 10 mins put it back in the envlope ran down the street to the post man sent it back......... and so we begin a new

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pro Driving? Not so much...

posted by jj27ea (IRVING, TX) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Winning the Daytona as a rookie, in your first race, and winning by more than 30 seconds, on veteran with pro driving is not exactly what you want in a racing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

lets go racin' boys

posted by thtkid (LANCASTER, CA) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

EA sports did a pretty impressive job on this game even if you cant go 3 wide at daytona without getting forced below the apren This game you can race easily because ea put pro driving style (raceable and fun) and normal driving style (not as fun ) it is not as fun beacause it brakes for you and takes the fun out. the online mode is fun and you are able to get the race done without a 8 year old spinning you out cause hes not winning. the carrer mode is fun while you make your own ride and race it. the graphics are amazing and the racing is fun too. so go out there and race fair - or not. Gental men! Start your engines!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Racing is ok but

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

The Racing is ok in carrer made but some of the challenges are so hard to do that they are virtually impossible to do. this game only deserves a Fair rating because it is niether a Simulation nor an Arcade style racing game it tries to be both and in doing so it fails to deliver much on either it is an ok rental but only if your a real big NASCAR fan the kind that would spend a few grand to go to a race with tickets that are the worst ones to be had or where the race is sure to be rained out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Racing Game

posted by Games2000 (JAMESTOWN, NY) Oct 16, 2011

Member since May 2010

I hadn't played a racing game in years so it took some time to get use to. This is a good game with good graphics and good game play. I raced for a full season and it was alot of fun. If you are a Nascar fan give this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS GAME BLOWS

posted by Justin2911 (DEKALB, IL) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

If you want a racing game, do not rent this! Try Gran Turismo. This game is not realistic at all. It is not even enjoyable. I hope the new one is better than this. And you wonder why they stopped making this game for 2010!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not fun

posted by ethegreat (LUTHER, MI) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

the last time I played nascar was like 1995 or so on ps1 and it was lame well it hasent changed much its pretty much the same game as it was 15 years ago lame never again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

werd and retarted flunks!

posted by butoxcasey (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

this game does not have multiplayer. i rented the same 09 game at family video and it was way better and differnt. it had multiplayer. it was not 08 or 07 it was 09. nowone even goes online.and plus you cant cross of the black flag. and its exacully like 08.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nascar 09

posted by Gustav (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Ya know Ive been playing the Nascar series ever since Papyrus started putting them out on the big floppy discs and I cant say any of them have been as disappointing as this one. First theres no real feeling of speed to it. Theres no split screen. It just seems slow.I found myself yawning after about 30 mins of play and shot it back into the sleeve for the next days mail.
EA should stick to what they do best. Madden and thats it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Racing Simulation!!

posted by Truestar (BRONX, NY) Mar 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game is super realistic. I was blown away by the car details and visuals. Excellent Driving controls. Smart AI. I really have no complaints at all for this game except. It's just a beautiful racing game.. I think it's the most realistic racing game I've ever played! Playing this game under hard seems to be extremely difficult. The drivers will leave you in the dust which is makes this game very challenging. A must buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good name for what it is

posted by DeltaRebel (DELTAVILLE, VA) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Has to be one of the best Nascar i have every played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad

posted by SidJacks (GWYNN OAK, MD) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

The last NASCAR game I played was 2006 on the PS2. Maybe I didn't give this one a chance but I think I preferred the older one better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Master baiter Simulator.

posted by EAking720 (MORRISVILLE, NC) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Very hard to enjoy any non multi player sports simulator. I shipped this back the very next day after searching long and hard for a split screen multi player option. Haven't even considered playing a Nascar game since Nascar 98 on N64 and will probably not give this a try for another 10 years unless i dig out the old top loaded cartridge console. I don't have a PS3 to to play with myself. Video games should be a social experience, especially sports games, and i dont mean muffled conversation through a bluetooth headset between people with numbers in their names.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Real Bad

posted by Domino1337 (BLAINE, WA) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This game was horrible do not rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by marc37 (MORRIS, AL) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This is a great game i played this for hours on hours online and off i give it a 10+ thanks again gameFly Keep up the great work Marc N. from Alabama

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse