Rent NASCAR 08 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NASCAR 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2
GF Rating
4.9

2632 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but not Great

posted by RCOldMan (RIVERSIDE, NJ) Aug 6, 2007

Member since May 2006

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Well.....after playing a quick race and reading the reviews buy others, I sat down to really give this game a once over.
The game play itself is AWESOME! This is the most real nascar game yet. YES you have to turn right to stay straight, NASCAR tracks have banking and you have to keep your car on the banking. The speed is realistic and much better that of the '07 game. They got rid of the stupid team control from '07 and replaced it with better telemetry. The game play itself is the only thing lacking. You have to go through a TON of levels to get to actual racing your own car. All in all this is better than '07 but not as good as '06.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not What I expected.

posted by Captain11 (CAPE CORAL, FL) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

24 out of 30 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

After reading some of the critic reviews of this game I was very eager to play this game, as I have been a fan of Nascar and their games for a long time now. I went ahead and bought this game and now feel a little of the buyers remorse. Graphically this game looks great but the lack of ability to steer the car in traffic makes this a waste of technology. After an almost 2 yr wait for nascar on the 360 I was rather upset but the lack of control. I dont know who tested this game for EA but they should be Fired and soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

EA DID IT AGAIN!

posted by JawFish (OSGOOD, IN) Jul 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

34 out of 45 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I could not wait for this game but I am extremley dissapointed. EA has ruined another great possibility, much like the madden franchise. Not all Nextel Cup drivers are available...no Carl Edwards! Major glitches (cars going through the track during crashes), online lag (surprise for EA?). No career mode, very very few different paint schemes. The car will NOT drive in a straight line, this can be adjusted, EXCEPT on the challenges. Trying to drive the car is terrible because the rear end is always too loose no matter how you adjust it. Graphics are ok but not next gen.EA had 2 years to work on the 360 release of this game so my hopes were high and I am very upset at this "game". I am a huge NASCAR fan but not for the 360 this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Black Flagged for Rough Driving

posted by RavenDMC (WILLIAMSON, WV) May 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

As much as I want to love each and every NASCAR game that comes out, it seems that each and every year for the past several, EA has brought out the red flag.

Although there is much to enjoy with the features in this game, even the diehard NASCAR fans will be put off by the twitch controls. My understanding is controls are slightly better with M$'s wheel, but I haven't tried that myself, and you should'nt be forced to buy a $130 controller to play a game anyway.

Achievements are done very well, although the poor car control will make them a bit harder to get than they should be, but several easy ones somewhat make up for this. Keep in mind though that 500+ of the games 1,000 achievement points require lots of driving. One requiring a total of 5,000 miles clocked around the tracks.

Graphically, the game isn't anything special. Tracks, although better looking than last gen, still seem a bit bland trackside for some reason. The cars though, do look much better, even if the damage effects are poorly and overly done.

Gameplay is what you would expect from a NASCAR game, although the bad controls hamper the enjoyment and for some reason, AI cars don't bump draft, they slam into you, taking away a vital aspect of the sport for fans.

If you're a fan of NASCAR, I'd recommend renting this instead of purchasing this year. Hopefully next year EA drops the green flag and the cars will be drivable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game stinks

posted by cl0ckw0rk (BRONSTON, KY) Jul 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

ok the racing in this game is ok but the fact that you can be doing really well and then the AI comes out of nowhere and does you over with a small hit to your rear makes this game one of the most annoying games for the 360. and not only the AI is the problem it seems if you take a turn wrong in this game that you automatically spin out which makes this game even more aggravating then what it already is. :x

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Good

posted by coop8643 (GLENSHAW, PA) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

15 out of 22 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

I wasn't really planning on writing a review on this game, but after reading a few of them in here I felt obligated to give you a real one (in my mind lol)

People are complaining about how hard the controlling the car in this game is, well it's really not all that bad once you get used to it, but the key fact is realism in the driving. I think EA really wanted to make it feel like you were driving a Nextel Cup car with a controller. If you think its too hard just go to your options and change the sensitivity if you enjoy making perfect turns when actually you probably screwed up the turn pretty bad.

Graphically it's awesome! It has the most realistic wrecks in a racing game I have ever seen!Also I enjoy watching the very real looking smoke and dust caused by your tires.

I didn't really enjoy the chase mode in which you have to go through 10 mini games to earn license's, contracts, and ownerships. They are fun until you have to do them all six times... But hey it's better than 07's work your way from nothing into a great Nextel Cup driver!

And yes the online play is so far very poor, most of the time EA's servers are down, in which I am hoping they are making patches for an update.

Overall this is one of the best NASCAR games that EA has produced. So if you are looking for the closest thing to actually being behind the wheel of a Nextel series car this came is definitely for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not too bad

posted by Melloman16 (DINGMANS FERRY, PA) Sep 25, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I first got started playing this game I was tossed back by the graphics. The game looks, feels and sounds real. If you're a sore loser do not play this game, until you get a feel for the game you'll be all over the track. The biggest disappointment in my eyes is the lack of multiplayer options. The game is one player! (unless you play on line) How can you have 40 cars on a track and no multi player option! If you like nascar and live by yourself check out Nascar 08

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent for the Sim Racer,but not without bugs

posted by Bandit79 (PELZER, SC) Jul 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you are a PC Sim Racer then this game is for you.However the game does have it's share of bugs.The AI are inconsistent and this is noted in several Online game reviews,just beware when buying.But the Online Racing is excellent so far,but be forewarned this game almost screams that you have a Steering Wheel controller.The car control is much better with the Steering wheel in "Hardcore" mode.Any true Sim Racer would never race with any kind of assists.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Even hard with a steering wheel

posted by starsrule (WEATHERFORD, TX) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Well I guess I am like every other Nascar fan, I have been waiting since the 360 came out and this game is bad. If you are thinking about putting this game in your Q don’t waste your time. I bought a steering wheel just for this game. It is so hard to keep the car in the groove it’s unbelievable. It’s even harder with a controller. I put this game in the easiest mode and it was hard. All of the cars put two the left really bad. The graphics are really good that’s why it’s a 2 not a 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BETTER EVERY YEAR

posted by charliedog (BOONTON, NJ) Jul 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First of all this game is awesome. All the other people who reviewed and complained about steering are gamers who expect every game to be easy. Well I have news for them, NOT ALL GAMES ARE EASY! What is the point of having a very easy game. Where's the challenge in that?

More about the game. The graphics are pretty good, but it wouldn't make that much of a difference in the game if they were better. I own every one of the NASCAR video games since 2002. I can honestly say that like most games, NASCAR gets better every game. Another good thing about this game is that once you get used to it, it never gets boring.

You have to have a personality for this game. If you are patient then this is a great game. Like I said, you have to get used to it. If you don't like waiting, then get NASCAR 2005,2006,or 2007. In these games it is easier.

NASCAR 08 ROCKS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just learn to Steer, Then it's a Blast!

posted by KMurda (ROSWELL, GA) Jul 27, 2007

Member since May 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Alright, I've been playing this for a couple hours. I gotta say right off the bat this game has a HUGE learning curve, but at the same time it's highly rewarding. I saw no IGN review was up. So I'll tell you guys what my impression was.

Presentation:Menus are well done. They get the job done. Tutorials are easy to understand and straight forward, but the music in this game makes my brain hurt. Country... Country... Country... if you like country you'll LOVE it. If your like me... not so much. I turned down the music quickly so I don't have my brain combust from sheer pain. So no wow factors here, but it's all good.

Graphics: The graphics in NASCAR 08 are incredible. They are huge step up from last gens NASCAR title. Wrecks are great to watch because they particle based and never are the same. Lighting is awesome. Tracks look great. Cockpit view rocks... if you want to suck. Graphics are great addition.

Game-play: So this is really where the game lies. Controls are touchy and aggravating. It will take you a good hour to get the steering down so you don't wreck within 5 seconds. You'll realize quick with 43 cars on the track there isn't much free roam. You better keep your line, you'll be rolling. You'll notice quick your car pulls slightly left, which is true to the sport so you can take turns quicker, but it's annoying on a straight away you gotta slightly pull it right. There is just down right high learning curve to this game. This is no pick up and play game. This is splitting hair game-play. You mess up once your going from 3rd to 30th in 2 seconds.

Replay value: It will give you plenty of hours of replay, but it will take you a good week till your controls are down. It is a biotch to learn, but it has a great reward. It's fun to race online. Season mode is a blast. The Chase is aggravating, but it's a great game when it boils down to it. There is just no other place to get 200 mph turns then in NASCAR 08.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Steering? No Problem

posted by UGADTdawg (MCDONOUGH, GA) Jul 26, 2007

Member since May 2007

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

After seeing all the reviews complaining about this games steering, I just wanted to remind everyone how realistic this actually is. Former NASCAR games were not realistic in handling at all, you could shoot up and down into different grooves in the middle of turns with no problem. Racing three wide at Daytona, offers NO room for error, so slipping, or jarring your car is going to cause you to wreck. For a simple solution, Use the left stick as if it was also a gas, pushing forward the whole time. As you begin to turn, slightly turn while still holding forward, which will make for a smoother turn, and allowing you to make small adjustments. Overall graphics were great, a few missing drivers was the only problems I found.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

EA Monopoly affords to do this

posted by samypr (APO, AE) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Sep 2004

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

#1 If anyone is able to figure how to drive in this game, they belong in the Nextel Cup as a crew chief.

#2 The graphics are cartoonish.

#3 It sucks don't buy it. As long people buy it and EA gets their cut, they won't put any effort towards this game series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad tester

posted by Casino45s (HUBBARDSTON, MA) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Well, I don't know why I am surprised to get what could be a great game and have it filled with major flaws. Thanks EA. The cars don't drive strait unless you adjust you settings, which you cannot do I the license challenges. The AI controls during pit stops, drives all the cars into a 43 car pile up on pit lane. Now for the online problems. During yellow flags the AI will smash the cars into each other, if you get one person who want to crash the whole time on ranked matches the whole race will be under caution. The collision detection needs some work as well.
Now with all that said the game looks and sounds good. All of the issues could have been easily fixed though testing and I'm hoping the online issues get fixed, because the game could be sweet with a little work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A TRUE Racing Game

posted by Labracadab (GENEVA, IL) Aug 4, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is THE racing game to end all racing games. I'll admit that the controls are VERY DIFFICULT at first but if you can manage to get the hang of it (holding the stick forward and turning instead of just left and right is a great method) the real fun in this game comes out. I can't just play a "quick game" with this one. It will always be 3-4 hours before I know it. The realism of the physics in this game are unbelievable and the wrecks are breathtaking. This is not your easy "smash your way to victory" racing game. That type of strategy will only hurt you here, instead you ACTUALLY have you try VERY HARD to win. Just like the real thing it's one wrong move, and kiss victory goodbye. In my opinion that is what makes this game the KING. Excellent replay value. A MUST RENT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't Listen to the Non Nascar Fans!

posted by xJonxBoyx (SOUTH POINT, OH) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all my expectations were really high for this game. I have to say at first I was dissapointed in the way the car handled while I was racing with my controller. But after you realize this isnt like all the other EA nascar games. You actually have to adjust your tire pressure, wedge, rear wing (for the COT) and everything else from fender flare to track bar adjustments! once you practice on a track for about 20-30 laps tinkering with your car, you will be able to glide around the track with a steady thumb on the analog stick. You may have to take the sensitivity down in options to adjust to your driving style as well.

Graphics wise, this game is top notch, the whole experience is like watching the race on sunday. The online mode is fantastic, unless you race with over 10 people then the game does lag alot, unless the host has an outstanding connection, but dont bet on it. You can also upload and trade setups online with your friends. As for the offline career mode, I cant really comment on that because I've mostly raced online. Well, thats about all I have to say on Nascar '08, if your a Nascar fan and know how to tinker with the cars this game is a must! If your just another kid who wants to race, maybe sticking to Forza or Need for Speed would be best for you.

See ya on the track!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by Shaw0213 (BERGENFIELD, NJ) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've bought this game like 2 weeks ago. Its very fun. Heres why:

- grafix
- able to modify the cars
- sound track
- Controls (just adjust to 90/75 in the settings for steering wheel

People who rate this game as like 2 or 1, suck. You guys just cant drive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Bad

posted by Ratone (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The online part of this game is full of glitches. Almost unplayable. I am another person who really looked forward to the games release. I hope EA adds an update soon!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dawgs Thoughts

posted by dawgpound (WOOSTER, OH) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Well seems like nobody likes this game, and I don't understand why. Maybe its cause I have a 60in HD flat screen TV, and the HD wires, what amazing graphics, a least in my opinion. I also have a Mad-Kat steering wheel and peddles, and that makes the game even better, I have never played the game with the regular control, and I never plan on it. All those who are complaining about the game, get a steering wheel and play the game, then tell me your opinion, I would bet it changes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FUN IF YOU KNOW NASCAR

posted by inferno4 (GLENDALE, AZ) Jul 30, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

nascar 08 is fun if you r smart about nascar. it can sometimes be hard . there r great graphics. no career mode but fun season mode.race now is the best part. this game is so realistic it is amazing. every crash is unique. overall i think it is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

EA's On-line Strategy is as Frustrating as Ever

posted by ToxicMarln (WEST BLOOMFIELD, MI) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If you are buying this for the on-line racing, be prepared to be frustrated.

The EA servers are as bad as ever. It took be almost an hour to find a race that I could join and race to completion last night. At one point, EA’s servers just went off line completely for around a half an hour.

Once the race is complete, instead of returning everyone to the pre-race lobby to race again, everyone gets dumped to the on-line menu. This leaves everyone to scramble to try and rejoin the same room.

These are problems that EA has had since they first came to Xbox Live. It’s inexcusable to still be dealing with this problem four years later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Steering problems

posted by justgot360 (DOVER, DE) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

from the start you notice steering is really really sensitive so you adjust the sensitivity and turn on all driving assists and you still finish 20th. Welcome to NASCAR 2008. Pros: awesome graphics, had every driver i knew of and their current team, solid menu and saving, and adjust ability options. Cons: the steering sensitivity, NO CARL EDWARDS, no career mode, and the badge objectives are pointless and are impossible. and also did i mention that if you wreck like 3 people consecutively then you get black flagged pushing you to the back of the pack, or if you dont obey u finish last. the controls sucked making the game not worth playing for longer than an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's nascar...

posted by Mindmerge (SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

My son and I got bored of this one PDQ. We prefer the scenery rich rally sport style racing to the monotonous oval & pit... if you like the oval and enjoy wrecking other cars... you'll enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

challenging but ok

posted by racer4 (SOUTH BEND, IN) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

well after reading some of the reviews i decided to rent this game bcuz i am a huge nascar fan and im up to playing any nascar game..ive played every game from nascar 2003 thunder to nascar 09 except the 2004 one. now after playing this game for a few hours i found out that the car wanting to turn left down the straightaways isnt as bad as i thought it would be. but one problem is that the car is very loose and hard to adjust with out loosing speed. which brings me to another thing is that even tho i try to get as much speed as possible out of my car and hit my marks i still quailfy bad. but once the race starts it isnt very hard to get my car up the pack and take the lead. i also think that the grapics are good on some of the tracks but not others. although the track graphics may not be great the car graphics are amazing even tho on the cot there is no manufacture name and they all look the same besides the paint scheam and number and sponsers. another part to this game that is good and bad is the damage to the cars, its cool to look at the car when its beat up but wats bad about it is that the littlest bump frm behind will cause big damage. and that brings me to the AI which is alittle annoying bcuz they always beat on you but nascar 08 is still a game i am enjoying and having fun how to perfect the tracks, setups, and stratageys

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst NASCAR game made to date/

posted by Tifus1988 (LOCKPORT, NY) Apr 16, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

The only good thing about this game is that it has Mike Wallace in it. there is no Fight to the top mode for the 360 version. and the ps2 version is bad, you sign half year contracts and after you move up to the next level, such as moving from mod to truck. you cant sign contracts for mod teams anymore, you alson cant buy your own team. the one thing that erked me the most is the handling is terrible. I would be going through the tunr at Martinsville and the car would flip over and barol roll down the entire lenght of the straight... AT MARTINSVILLE!!!! THATS IMPOSSIBLE!!!! WHAT THE HECK??? it you want a GOOD nascar game with (in my opinion) the GREATEST carrier mode, get NASCAR Thunder 2002. you actually have to hire pit crew workers and build and repair your engines, chassies, and body work. NASCAR 08 is Terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse