Rent NASCAR 08 for PS3
view large frontback

NASCAR 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2
GF Rating
4.5

1069 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

You have to be Hardcore...

posted by BigDuke (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is my first review, but after playing this game I had to express my opinion.

First off the graphics and sounds were great!

Secondly, I liked the different on screen details that let you see the status of your car (i.e. tire damage, body damage, etc.). I felt it was very well done and kept you informed on your car's status.

Thirdly, I personally enjoyed how the game put you directly in "The Chase" and makes you complete certain mini-taks before you can compete in a race, but I can understand how some would not like this since it doesn't give you an option to go straight to racing.

Gameplay: The gameplay is completely impossible and unfair. You cannot keep the car straight for anything on the turns. On the straght-aways it is near impossible to keep straight as well. This would be okay if the track wasn't so unforgiving, meaning that if you go too low into the yellow you are done for and go out of control. If you go to high you are sucked into the wall and go out of control. If you bump another car you go out of control. If you try and avoid the car you go too high or too low and I mentioned what happens when those occur.

I belive this game just exemplifies what's wrong with sports video game programmers. They seem to make games only for hardcore gamers (people who have nothing else to do). Meaning you have to spend so many hours just learning how to play the NEW installment of a game to get any good at it. By the time a normal person, who has a job, family, better yet a LIFE learns it the NEW-NEW installment comes out and the genious video game programmers have totally "REVAMPED" the gameplay. I have a life, so I can't spend a whole week straight in my mother's basement learning how to master some new gameplay.

This is happening in the Madden, NBA Live, NCAA Football dynasty/franchise modes where you have to do way too much to get through a season let alone a career. To an extent, companies not named EA seem to get it a bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NASCAR 08 for PS3

posted by DEGATONA (POINT MARION, PA) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i can only comment on what i know about this game and that is online play...mostly. for some strange reason the game throws you right in to "the chase" as soon as you turn it on with no way to exit dr jerry punch's narrative about the chase, how to draft and other nonsense. once your first drafting lesson begins you can quickly exit the heck out of there and get to the actual game. personally (and as i'm told by the 100's of people i meet in online races) i bought (rented) this game for online play, which i'll get to shortly.
first, the only thing i know about offline play is the "race now" mode and "create a car" feature. "race now" is a good place to tweak and tune your car setups for various tracks and gives you baseline knowledge on how your car reacts around other (AI) cars. any serious gamer will find however that the AI cars don't offer much compitition even in "hard" mode.
the "create a car" mode would be great if you could show off your ride in online play but alas...not. you can't take your creation online so this feature is pretty much useless unless your forte is offline in "the chase' or "career" mode.
now, to the meat of this gamers review...online play. well, let's just say EA fell way short of the mark with this one. yes, once you actually get to complete an entire race with out being kicked from the server and are in a race that you or another host has created where other players are respectful and drive clean it's a pretty intense and competitive experience. it's all about the setup. if you manage to gain a reputation as a clean racer and get in with a certain click of gamers setups are passed around to each other like currency.
that having been said, you can expect a complete race about once every 10 attempts. you're either left hanging in what is jokingly called "the waiting room" where it says "connecting to host".(DON'T BELIEVE IT!) or end up kicked from the server usually during the best part of the race. ENJOY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A true simulator, but too tough to control

posted by JasonDM (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Word of advice, if you don't have a wheel, don't rent this one. It is almost impossible to steer with the controller, even after adjusting the controller settings. It was hard to just drive straight on the straightaways. Think of this game as a true simulator, and you'll need all of the simulation equipment!

Graphically speaking, the game was great, top notch. Very smooth flowing too. The crashes were great too, believe me, I was in enough of them!

FYI, I'm not a big NASCAR fan (never watched a full race), but do enjoy a good racing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Nascar08 Dissapoints....

posted by PS3neXtGen (BLOOMFIELD, NJ) Aug 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

EA Sports really looked liked it was overmatched with this title. AS ESPN is struggling with NASCAR coverege, as to is EA.

I am an avid NASCAR fan and follow the sport closely and have to say this game although detailed and somewhat creative lacks the fundamental aspect of all Racing Sims (Gameplay)

The gameplay is horrific, control of the cars are Extremely hard at best and lead the users to flick their joystick instead of a rolling motion in order to turn around corners. Given it is a SIM but 90% of all game users will have trouble getting used to the controls. Its just too hard to control, worse than Motorstorm.

Next, their isnt a HEAD to HEAD mode. You cant just pick up and race against a buddy. Instead you get a few season modes and other challenges.
Some of them are fun and remind me of Gran Turismo type license challenges. But overall the replay value of this game lies all in the Online Function.

I did not get a chance to play through a full season but from what I saw is very tedious and will leave even the most patient gamers frustrtaed.

Graphics are pretty good. I keep hearing the "Not Next-Gen" line alot over most PS3 games that our out. But compared to PS2 it def screams next gen to me. The damage when bumpin and grinding against the walls are realistic. The drifting is a little over top as they try to emphasize it WAY too much. Reminds me of Maddens Passing Cone when it was introduced.

EA needs to retool this franchise or simply drop the title from its works.

One plus is the extreme detail you can customize your care. From the tire pressure to Engine MAX RPMS. But it is all smoke and mirrors. When you change these it has litte if NOT ANY affect on your stock car.

Overall I give NASCAR 08 an 2\10.

PLEASE DNB-R

DNB-R = Do Not Buy-Rent
BBB= Buy Buy Buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same thing different day

posted by Omen159 (SMITH RIVER, CA) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The Graphics are intense and the music tracks are pretty good, But why cant the controls be better?I have played just about all the Nascar games out there and this one isn't any better when it comes to steering, sure its playable but frustrating when the slightest thumb movement puts you into the wall or another car. 15 minutes into it and back into the envelope it went, Even after changing the default steering sensitivity either its too little or too much. Better luck next year!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Huge Disappointment

posted by OrionPaxx (LAFAYETTE, LA) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The graphics are amazing and audio is much improved. The music selection is slim but you can always add your own tracks. The control is awful. It is near impossible to do anything on easy. half the time all you do is spin out. Now I understand this on harder levels but on the easiest level it had my son almost in tears as he had been waiting for this and couldn't complete 1 task or even compete in a race. I was able to complete a couple tasks but after several hours of swearing and getting frustrated. The easy level should be exactly what it means easy control. The draft is an interesting feature but impairs your vision so bad you hit the wall. There are just too many things going on. I have tried to change the controls but it all feels so sluggish. Maybe better with a steering wheel perhaps. I actually prefer 05 much better than to this monstrosity. Hopefully Madden will get my mind off of Nascar in a couple weeks...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good try not enough though

posted by realplayer (ELK GROVE, CA) Jul 26, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

EA really tried this time but this game gets boring after about 30 mins. Its not that im a bad racer either tha fact that the cars are undrivable and the ai is really bad. rent this game do not buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad but not great

posted by LogKenosha (KENOSHA, WI) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game has a good look to it, but the reason that i gave it a lower rating was because it didn't have enough to keep me interested. i played it for about an hour and decided to send it back. the controls are extremely sensitive which makes it difficult. if u like nascar games, maybe u should give it a try. u might find it more appealing then i did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HARD

posted by DUDE01 (COLONIAL HEIGHTS, VA) Jun 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

CANNOT JUST GO INTO GAME AND PLAY THEY BASICALLY MAKE YOU PLAY CAREER MODE NO MATTER WHAT YOU CAN'T JUST JUMP IN AND RACE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TERRIBLE!!!

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is plain horrible. My hopes weren't too high being a NASCAR game. With nascar not being a real sport and all. Besides my reserves there this game is offal. The worst part, besides the sorry excuses for cut scenes, is the handling. Perhaps this is something that goes along with driving a overweight, torque machine, but it's grossly unpleasant in a video game. Im very good at real driving games like GT so I don't think its a skill issue. The handling is like driving a Buick down the highway at 120. You might as well be driving a boat. You may like this game if you are a nascar driver and enjoy seeing yourself in a video game, otherwise I wouldn't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is no game

posted by gamerjim (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Be warned NASCAR 08 is not a game. A game as defined by me (LOL) is an entertainment medium that is considered both fun and entertaining. Nascar 08 is a bonified Simulator with game elements a simulator is Medium used to train or introduce others to the brand or interest. As in Naval sims flight sims and racing sims.
though these can be entertaining to some they can be very frustrating to most. Dont try this at home is something we have all heard but never seem to listen to. Nascar 08 is fun but it is very frustrating at times. Hey if this game is so real why not allow all sponsors freedom to portray their products hmmm.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not very good...

posted by tdr2009 (CHRISTIANSBURG, VA) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game is NOT very good.
Pros:
Great graphics
Good sound
Good Camera angles (i.e Inside car, behind, Far Behind, etc.)
All the NASCAR drivers
Ability to create cars
Cons:
Horrible Gameplay
Horrible Controls
Cars are always turning itself to the left, maybe trying to "help" you, but mainly making you go out of control.

To start, the game has very good graphics and sound, has good camera angles, has all NASCAR drivers (from 2008), and you can create your own cars (with own Number, color, designs, etc.). On the other hand, it has horrible controls and gameplay. Your car always veers to the left, on curves AND on the straight-away. When it does this, it will most likely make you go out of control. The cars are almost impossible to drive. The steering is VERY sensitive, and I don't know if adjusting sensitivity will help or not, but considering how bad it is right now, it probably won't. If your very experienced with driving games, you may be able to drive correctly, but most people, including me, can't drive it to the best of my knowledge. At least GameFly is here to let you try the game first! Because that is what I recommend, a rental only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nascar 08

posted by dshnurse (GRANBURY, TX) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This game is just stupid how hard it is!! I am 42 & have been a gamer since I whinned & cried my parents into buying me the first pong game in our neiborhood 30 years or more ago & I had a very hard time with this game.My boys who are 14 & 12 lost interest and quit after less than half an hour & these boys are good at most games. The car in this game is impossable to control & the chase mode is just horriable & season mode is not much better. We were not at all impressed with this game. I am so glad we rented it first I would have been furious if I had just bought it for the boys & they quit playing after 30 mins. & never touched it again!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rent before buying

posted by Mikeylikes (SHELBYVILLE, TN) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Although the graphics were good, Ps2 version is much better and easier to drive. The fact that they rushed to put this out shows. If you don't have a steering wheel, stay away from this game. But if you have a lot of time to practice, you might learn to enjoy it more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This wasn't fun at all

posted by theman12 (CLEVELAND, OH) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

sure the game might be fun for extreme hardcore nascar fan boys but most of the fun with cars going 200 mph is crashing other cars. i was extremely disappointed to find myself completely destroyed after trying to pit maneuver cars. then when i actually tried to race just touching another car was like yelling "hail (a certain german leader during WWII)" in a temple. i didn't like it cause it was nowhere close to fun. If you are looking for a fun, easy racing and crashing game then i say you should get Dirt to Daytona for Nintendo's Gamecube.

(i was not allowed to say the leaders name)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NASCAR 08, what was EA Sports thinking

posted by rhutchi72 (MESQUITE, TX) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I'm not sure what (if anything) EA Sports was thinking, one of the worse games I have ever rented. I hope NASCAR 09 is not even close to the set up as '08 is. Yes I watch NASCAR, and like EA sports, but this one was not a good combo. Takes way to long to set your car up, way to long to get into the race, I tried to play the game for 3 days and still could not get into the game......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love it

posted by Landy316 (SCRANTON, PA) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

i see nothing wrong with this game in fact i completed all my laps in online play i love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not horrible, but bad

posted by dumbdumb (WHITEHOUSE, TX) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

I got this game for christmas and i thought it would be really good. But after playing it for about 10 min. I got really frustrated with it so I just quit the race and something else. Do not waste your time on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i don not like it beacause its boring

posted by shahrose (Moses lake, WA) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nascar 08

posted by NormalJoe (BUFORD, GA) Jun 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I enjoyed playing the game to a certain extent. I feel that they almost made it too hard to advance in the game which took some of the fun out of it. Also I was very disappointed that they didn't have two player. So when my friends came over we had to play Nascar 08 on the PS2 and couldn't play on the PS3 which was pretty lame. Hopefully 09 will allow 2 player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nascar08

posted by TrevaT (EASTCHESTER, NY) May 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

O My God this was the worst game in the history of the world. Its almost as bad as watching the real the. All you do in this frickin game is press R2 and move the left anolog stick. AHHHHHHHHH god this is a really really really really bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mildly entertaining

posted by bowlingboy (BEACON FALLS, CT) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

This game is pretty good but i wish for me at least, a non nascar die hard, that they would explain or teach you more on how to make adjustments to your car and guide you through that process. If you put it on the easiest level you can win it all but then it seems like if you put it one up it gets pretty hard to even get top 10's. I like the game overall just wish they might think of the less NASCAR savvy people when they make NASCAR 09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

nascar 08

posted by tbone217 (OREGON, OH) Apr 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

game is good but would be better with 4 or more players

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

purchased game when it came out

posted by hjason (HERNANDO, FL) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

sorry to say but this game has officially been ruined by ea.

this game is so hard it is not even worthy of the nascar name.

i love nascar and the games i have been playing nascar games since nintendo first came out with it.
and i have to say this game is truely not a good game.

if i would have known what i know now i would not have bought it.

so now i am stuck with this game i barely play.

i even wrote ea and told them it would no go straight n the straight aways.
and they wrote back and said they tested it and it went straight and it was my controller or my ps3.
i was like it is all brand new, thanks for runing the game and will not buy another one from you.
they responded well we are sorry to hear this have a nice day.

they should update the game to make it better but they won't because they come out every year and they think everyone will keep buying these games that have progressively gotten really worthless.
like madden 08 that is just an insult to madden.
much like this game is to nascar no matter what setting you use on this game you cannot get it to go straight.

and madden is like going to the arcade hall and playing an arcade game, if i wanted to do that i would go to the no existant arcades.

sorry for the rant but i feel like this company doesn't care about us anymore, by this company i mean ea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big Hopes, Bad Dreams

posted by antelope (GAINESVILLE, FL) Mar 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

New to the gaming world armed with a PS3 40GB, 50" Fflat screen, 600 watts of surround sound, and a high standard of audio/video quality. I opted to rent the NASCAR game before buying. Good thing. I love NASCAR and this game has potential. First the graphics are PS2 quality and game is just about impossible without a steering wheel. It might have been bearable with a wheel but using the analog controls (what no SIXAXIS support... come on)just made me quit....after 4 hours. Secondly, the game did a good job at making it very technical, but also fail to explain what increasing your track bar width by 1/1000th of an inch does to the handling of the car, and the same goes for the other 100 adjustments you can make to your car. The game does get people into racing techniques; drafting, slingshot, best line, and pitting, but fails to help you out with car adjustments. Make these changes and add Carl Edwards to the list of drivers, and this game would be hard NOT to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse