Rent N3II: Ninety-Nine Nights for Xbox 360
view large frontback

N3II: Ninety-Nine Nights

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

2202 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

N3II: Ninety Nine Nights 2

posted by Unkn0wn (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For a game with such an obnoxiously long title, N3II really doesn't pack the punch it should.

Set in a fantasy world like most other hack/slashes N3II has the unique aspect of playing the same story through 5 different perspectives (one for each character.) The storyline is rather simplistic, but there are plenty of cinematic with cutting edge graphics and beautiful women so it more than most games offer in that front.

This would really be a perfect game if not for the difficulty. There is a difference between "hard" and "stupid". Some of you may have learned the difference in "Demon's Souls". While this game is not quite as tough as Demon's Souls, it certainly packs the same frustration when you die and have to start everything all over again. Beginning the game on Normal mode is common sense for experienced gamers. But normal mode in this is like legendary mode in god of war, only, they don't tell you that. So you'll want to start on easy and level up your characters. You can switch over to normal later if you'd like, but I assure you easy is hard enough.

The game plays a bit like a combination of Devil May Cry meets the Dynasty Warriors Franchise with a hint of Gauntlet Legends in there. There is online Co-op available as well. Like Dynasty warriors you will control one guy. or girl, fighting pretty much an entire army. Hoards of enemies on the field at a time, none of whom on their own can really hurt you. Then you've got your larger, less frequent enemies, who can really tear you to shreds if your not careful. There are pots you can break for health, and you'll need to save them for when you really need them because if you die, there are VERY FEW check points and you'll have to start the level all over again retaining nothing. Can you imagine playing a level for 35+ minutes, then dying and having to do it all over again? I'm sure you've had that happen to you before except with N3II, every level is like this. Buy this if you love H/Ss at your own risk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Button masher...nothing more

posted by Ganster (WESTMINSTER, MD) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played the demo and thought the full game might be interesting. It is just another button masher. The story is non-existant and the game play is the same, clear level, rinse, and repeat. After about 30 minutes into the game I realized just how shallow this game really is. The graphics and sound are good, as are the combos. But that alone is not enough to keep you coming back to the game. Look elsewhere for a fun game that will keep your attention for more than an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as good as the first one

posted by TonyC82 (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

27 out of 32 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Some may not agree with me on my review. You should know I was really looking forward to playing this game when it was announced and now that I have played it I am extremely disappointed.

First I thought the game would sport the same style of game play, where the hero fights and controls an army. I was hoping they would strengthen the army so they would be more useful but instead they removed that feature completely.

Next they made the characters overly dramatic, even more so than the first N3. I believe the characters are not as deep and interesting as the first game.

The story is pretty basic, light vs dark, dark needs to be stopped by the light blah blah blah. Same old story different characters.

Lastly the game requires zero skill. Basically you can press two buttons and beat the game if you press them enough times. There are a lot of places where you need a lot of luck to beat them as well. This makes the game almost unplayable to me. The controls aren't fluid enough to allow for skill in some cases. I was so tired of playing the same places over and over again.

The game has some good graphics and well designed character models but that can not make up for the lack of fun that comes from playing the same area over and over hoping to get lucky enough to beat it.

The new customization is nice but shallow and the new special abilities are pretty good.

Maybe worth a rent but I wouldn't recommend buying.

Here's a list of monsters that make the game less fun those cave troll things that punch you around like a rag doll and you basically have to take it just to hit them, the fire balloon guys who burn you even when you are hacking them to pieces, the poison spore things that take a ridiculous amount of damage from you and can't be hit, and the three rock leg things that you have to knock down at the same time repeatably, these are all reasons to not play this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lack of saving ruined this game.

posted by cue138 (LONG ISLAND CITY, NY) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Like everyone else, I ended up getting very frustrated by the games lack of save points. If you don't have 1-2 hours to allocate to each level you'll end up turning quitting without saving any of the progress. I simply don't have the time to sit down for such lengths of time uninterrupted. It's sad because the game has pretty good production values (sans the cut scenes and voice acting). If they would have fixed the saving problem I would have rated it much higher.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Aggravating at the end

posted by sev705 (DIBERVILLE, MS) Nov 26, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

First off. I like games like this. I own several dynasty warriors games. They are fun for me with their mindless and endless button pressing.

Now, this game starts off very similar to dw while still maitaining a different feel. But about halfway through little things that were an annoyance in the begining missions suddenly get multiplied tenfold. I'm talking about a minion that has a knockdown attack. This isn't a bad gameplay design by itself, except for the fact that the developer decides to put about 100 on the screen at once and it has a very quick attack and it flies, which the characters were not really meant to attack enemies in the air. This is just one of many examples.

Now besides that, there are varying degrees of difficulty in a single level. The boss fights were simple but parts of the stage would make you repeat several times. Checkpoints are few and far between and you never really know what trap is around the next corner.

I suggest that you are better off renting one of the DW games as they are less emotionally distressing. I'm not one to get mad while playing, but I couldn't help but cursing the developers for their boneheaded decisions in this game.

Oh, did I mention that I only played on Easy?

+Graphics
-Gameplay
-Story(bland story involving light vs dark)
?Characters(couldn't bring myself to play through as another, so I don't know the differences)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage

posted by Chalkie (NAUGATUCK, CT) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Game came in, 15 minutes later back in the package headed back to Gamefly. Cant really see much on the minimap so your location is unclear. No tutorial to explain tactics on staying alive. Game looks like it was built in a basement. Rather play Dynasty Warriors for PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

3 hours

posted by RabPenguin (BEVERLY HILLS, CA) Oct 14, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

That's all I could play. Thank God I didn't buy this one! Whomever commented on the awful voice overs was 100% correct. Very generic hack and slash with nothing unique. There are so many better games out there!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

N3II: Ninety-Nine Nights

posted by Shrike2001 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game really sucked. It was a monotonous, soul drainging experiance, that made me long to see the wonders of paint drying, if you feel you have to much motivation, hope or happiness in your life this game is for you. If this is not the case steer clear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow, just wow :-(

posted by ReignHavoc (BUENA PARK, CA) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

So the game arrived today and I already have it sealed and ready to send it back. I have always had the policy to play a game for at least 2 hours before moving on and these hour took forever.

First off, the game is super repetitive. I am a fan of the dynasty warrior games but this was button-mashing excessively. Any fun I normally get from killing mass waves of people were taking away from the constant stress of pressing the "X" button. Also, any health or boosts were few and far between. If your health went down, tough luck, you have to finish the level without and low health.

All and all, I was dissappointed. If you have other things on your Gamefly list, get them instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nothing Special

posted by MediOgre1 (WASHINGTON, NJ) Jan 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'm usually a fan of hack-and-slash, but this really has nothing to keep your attention for any length of time.

Positives:
The graphics are pretty good.

The puzzle aspect of the first level (as much as I played) was interesting, though not challenging.

Negatives:
The story is over-dramatized anime fare with a heavy-handed Tolkien-esque influence. The over-dramatized part is what gets old quick.

The fights are completely uninspiring. It's basically burly-brawl-style, button mashing. It's about quantity, not quality or diversity of baddies.

The hack-and-slash is totally boring. There's no variety of moves or combos.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Really!?!?

posted by Holenjd (ARLINGTON, TX) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Just a quick review. The game and story are nice but nothing fancy. You play through each characters story and they intersect with each other at certain points. The voice acting is decent and the hack/slash is really fun. The combos you can get are insane and with the amount of enemies on the screen at once without any slow down is awesome.

My biggest grip about this game is how it can go from easy to inconceivably difficult in one mission. I just don't get it. I was playing a level where I had to keep all enemies away from the tower door and it was just impossible. I spent an hour trying to beat this stage at this one point but just could not. They kept sending 5-6 huge troll creatures and sometimes 4 at once. I couldn't do it and I've been playing games for over 20 years. This was also on NORMAL difficulty. It was just crazy. And yes I could have started over and played it on easy but that's not fair. I just decided to return it and move on instead of breaking a controller.

Did anyone see Gamefly's commercial with the guy screaming, crying and punching a hole in the wall... Well this was the game he was playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Had high hopes.

posted by adaradrian (GILBERTSVILLE, KY) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I loved the first one which was a, lets face it, was a knock off of Kingdom Under Fire. Sadly the second NN was more a knock off of Circle of doom. If I improved the graphics of Dynasty Warriors, removed all the strategy, added overpowered bosses, took away my allies and troops, and wanted to loose my small fan base, then I would have made NN2 into what it is. If you havn't played NN1 then please just rent it. I want people to play a fun and interesting game. Not this fustrating piece of garbage.

I really did look forward to this game for months. However just like with Circle of Doom I am just another disappointed gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

n3 warriors

posted by Axaiver (OREGON CITY, OR) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Well this game was almost a complete bust...well I will be brief. Capcom tried to make a fantasy version of KOEI warriors series, the first game was a complete ripoff almost, but this one they try to make it more story driven, with only 5 characters to play with, an no 2 player mode and what is worst is all the characters are pretty much the same (duel wielders) giving no change between them all, music is the same old fanatasy strings and horns style of sounds.

This game is a complete pass for me and would not think of even trying n3 the 3rd if it comes out, Capcom get yourself together and get Resident evil but to what it was and stop messing with other games types.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

unreconizable.

posted by XXXXXX (Madison, WI) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

insteead of building on what made the first one great they threw it all away in favor of starting all over from scratch and copying dynasty warriors bonehead move i cringe in terror of every one copying them and there never ever being a good sequel ever again because of this thanks allot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

IHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAME

posted by jfralli (SPARKS, NV) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

they ripped off their own game series. worst game ever. the lack of creativity & the bad timing have taken the joy out of it being a game and turned it into an insult to gamers & gamemakers all around. i hate this game with a passion & hope the original designer is stuck in a room playing this game, in total agony from the anger & frustration of playing this soul sucking waste of energy & time.

IHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHIIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMEIHATETHISGAMESGAMEIHATETHISGAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

if you liked N3, don't expect the same

posted by RPGplaya (NIAGARA FALLS, NY) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

my fingers hurt from the repetition and i'm bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Semi-fun, but extremely repetitive

posted by juicedaman (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Nov 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ninety Nights 2 is certainly not a bad game. Mindlessly mashing the BXY buttons is always fun, but it gets extremely repetitive and often boring. The story is semi interesting, but overall the repetitive missions and combat make this game a below average one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Why Konami? Why Did You Even Bother??

posted by Tschmick (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I completely enoyed the first N3, it certainly had it's flaws but all things considered it was still fun to play. I dont know why they even bothered to call this game N3 2, it's NOTHING and I mean NOTHING like the first game. To put it simply it's not fun, the combat gets so old, too fast. Unlike the 1st game there are zero power ups/heath iteams/weapons scattered through out the levels.

I got this in the mail yesterday and I'm sending it back today. I was so excited for this, and now I'm just disappointed, thanks alot Konami

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by bunit703 (WARRENTON, VA) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

the concept of the game is cool but the game is sooooo cheesey. you gotta do long hard missions with no check points, the attacks on you are cheesey, example: the flying bird things will shoot at diff times and they will shoot u into a corner and never leave or stop, just a cheesey game an i got tired of doing long missions and die but then never get to keep the orbs you earned from before when you start over

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Why?

posted by EEllis06 (SPRINGFIELD GARDENS, NY) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

After playing the demo a while back, I was thrilled to come home and did the game on my doorstep during it's initial first week release. It seems I've been receiving a lot of games during a few days after their Tuesday release.

Ok, the graphics remind me of the Dynasty Warrior series. That's not a bad thing to say the least but each environment brings to mind that series. As the game begins you can easily achieve a 3000 hit combo for am achievement, as well as a 1000 hit achievement. You can easily evade 100 times and block 100 times for two more achievements. Point is, in trying to gain every achievement possible in a game and already earning five in less than 10 minutes. I was amped. Well there doesn't seem to be substantial saving points in this game so weirdly, you make it far and somehow die, you begin pretty far from your last point of action. I can't begin to express how upset I was. Having to make it through hundreds of enemies and die to once again repeat the entire process. I mean, come on!

I thought it was perhaps a glitch so I tried multiple different attempts at defeating the enemies and nothing. I checked online and saving seems to be an issue for this series. I don't have time to play games I'm renting that have a lack of save points so I returned Ninety-Nine Nights 2 the very next day. This game could've been awesome but that's something I can't overlook and before you say I'm whining beside it's hard, I play all of my games right off the back on the highest difficulty. I beat God of War 3 to unlock Titan mode. I beat Spliter Cell conviction in about three days on highest difficulty, Ninja Gaiden 2 on the highest difficulty, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

N3II - Good not great

posted by darkfayt20 (LOWELL, MI) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has its up and its downs , lets start with things i dislike about this game,

the guarding, it doesnt activate when you press the button, especially when your fighting the lord of the night the first time
you can only block a certain number of attacks before your guard breaks,

jumping
the jumping system is broken, especially when your trying to jump from platform to platform, you have to be right on the edge and running when you jump, other wise you will fall off and have to start over

lack of health when you need it
this doesn't really bug me, only when im low on health and theres no vases, usually i look for ogres, they usually drop a small health potion

Getting stuck in corners and juggled by ogres

Button pushing (Behemoth fight)
This is totally broken....i dont even suggest using the Y button during this fight, you will instantly mess up even if you do all the buttons and sticks right, and you will lose health and get angry and then throw your controller against the wall

Lack of Combos
I didnt like how there was a shortage of combos, unlike N3

Things i like

Character voices, epecially Galen's, Levv's and the lord of the night's

Challenging trials on LIVE

Different costumes, More achievements

Decent story, it still doesnt make much sense but its more complex than the first N3 story

Skills, passive skills
I like these, they are very helpfull, especially against large numbers (lightning bolt, Void, Radiant sphere ect)

overally its not he best game, but definitely worth buying or renting

7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Most enemies EVER in a video game. Period.

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jul 18, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Never have you in video gaming history seen the amount of enemies this game throws at you! 99 Nights just set a new record for quantity of enemies killed and size of your killing combinations. Konami, for me, hit a home-run with this, because it was a totally under-hyped game that exceeding my expectations. You've never played anything quite like this-- that I guarantee.

This button mashing bloodfest is very fast paced, playing like a typical Konami Japanese arcade style game, like a Ninja Gaiden... Except way better. You run through levels in a linear map and literally kill THOUSANDS of enemies per level. You will not believe the amount of enemies you kill per level, and if you don't progress you can keep it going all day baby.

You will kill tens upon tens of thousands of enemies while playing the campaign. Learn new combos, upgrade your weapons and stats, gain team members, all in the name of slaying endless waves of enemies with your ruthless button mashing combos. Oh yea, this game renames what button mashing really is.

I had a 3600 hit combo 20 minutes into playing the campaign---that's just nasty. Not to mention the 400+ guys I killed during that combo. You will destroy more guys in this game than you have in any other video game you've ever played in your life, combined. Enjoy.

Milt Drucker- gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

My Take on N3II

posted by DuskElezen (PINE BUSH, NY) Jun 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

N3II is unlike its counter-part Dynasty warriors, now we all know Dynasty warriors has been out longer and this is another of the many clones that follow the style of button-masher,
however this game excels at what dynasty warrior doesn't this game gives you a challenging and you are only playing (easy mode) reason to why easy mode is such a pain? well there are
almost 0 healing items per-level now 2 many healing items is bad but dynasty warriors got that right they put some but not enough to make it too easy on (chaos mode), N3II seems to fail
its first game because even in N3 there was enough healing items to get by if you where a skilled button-masher who understood that if u cut the Xbutton mashing half way and linked it with
Ybutton you extend you're combo's now someone in a previous review said you could only hit the Xbutton and never die this is a lie, now this game has its flaws and Pro's i'll list them,
Pro, (challenging) (Near endless enemy) which dynasty warriors lacks number count, (very detailed characters) (great personality for each characters look) the game excels at many things,
Cons, (lack of healing items) (lack of Ulti-special items) which the blue bar fills up slow which in some dynasty games they allowed you to charge it up, see part 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

First game was good this was not

posted by Thesilent (PARIS, AR) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Sadly I can not give you a review after beating the game in fact I can only give a review off of two levels due to broken gameplay. Honestly the 1st level of the second character was that bad. Archers were always a problem in the dynasty warriors series but they could be dealt with these can not. You have a swarm of archers firing on you that if you try to fight will take half of your health leaving you no choice but to run past and then face another swarm of archers and another after that and then you have those flying ranged fighters which to fight you must sacrifice your mobility which is the only thing that kept you alive fighting the normal archers and then get juggled when they hit you in mid air until your health runs dry. Or you can block and sit there for over an hour waiting for the quarter second you have to try to attack (provided they dont flank and ai as bad as this there actually is that possiblity) only to be hit a single time and knocked down. Oh did I mention that any of those 50 arrows flying at you will knock you to the ground. Now I love a challengin game but this is not challenging. Challenging implies that while you may have to master all of the games skills or respawn time after time it actually is possible but with this you can't even dodge the arrows while fighting as the only way you can actually move fast enough to dodge is if you run straight ahead and not roll negating any possibility of fighting back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game...

posted by Falcon68 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is very difficult. I enjoyed it for the most part though, I love a challenge. I ended up beating the game but there was one part where you have to kill 15 giants and 4 giant respawners (its optional). I was determined to beat it. That took me about 30 attempts but I finally beat it. I like a challenge so I thought this game was pretty good, although, it lacks replay value and does not really motivate me to play through the other storylines. The game gets really interesting if you kill the golden warper in the tornado level. You get an ability that drops a sphere that shoots at enemies for you. I leveled that up a bunch and it cleared out almost everything for me except flyers. Flyers can be killed by fire blast though or jumping for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse