Rent Mystery Case Files: The Malgrave Incident for Wii
view large frontback

Mystery Case Files: The Malgrave Incident

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

329 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Great fun..for a week

posted by kmako (LONDONDERRY, VT) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't think this game is worth purchasing, because even with rather sporadic playing, I finished within a week. It was a great little ride though, with a nice twist at the end. Good for spectators as well to participate by helping with puzzles and item searches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!

posted by morwen674 (BRADENTON, FL) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for myself and my hubby. We loved going head-to-head to find the hidden pictures. We haven't laughed so hard at a game! I loved playing the adventure option solo to get the story line. I am going to buy this asap!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a good game to play with the whole family

posted by warrenpeace (WARREN, MI) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A really cool, laid back and interesting game. My 12 year old son and I played this game for about an hour a night for a couple of weeks. Could be played by the whole family and players of all ages and experience could enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mystery Case Files: The Malgrave Incident

posted by Shadowxnight (LONEDELL, MO) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Loved this game. Didn't complete the side quest but you dont have to.
This game was great. A mixure of seek and find and item hunting.
The puzzle where easy and then got harder as the game came to a end. Best part, if u could figure the puzzle out you can just skip it.
worst part, some rooms don't seem like u can explore more then your allowed. I found myself stuck b/c i didn't know there was a back room. So check everything you can possibly thing of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a great mystery game

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jul 5, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

this is so far the best mystery case files for the wii great puzzles, great storyline and great artwork no time limits i give mystery case files malgrave 5 items to use out of 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Intriguing

posted by JamiTM (SPRING, TX) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Malgrave Incident is a great find and seek adventure. We played as a family team which was easier to remember where to place found objects. I enjoyed the no time limit feature.
Some of the puzzles may be difficult for younger players, but you have the option to skip through them. Although we only got stuck a couple of times wondering how to get to the next point, the storyline keeped us moving through the game. Retracing your steps is key.
Many of the screens are too dark to clearly find objects, we often found ourselves randomly clicking to locate something by chance.
I recommend playing and look forward to another mystery file game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

had it 24 hours. Then bought it.

posted by MKmaster (BATON ROUGE, LA) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

This game is so much fun. At times it can be challenging, but if a game is worth owning it must be. Its sort of like a hide and seek game. They give u a big pile of horded up junk. Then u have to search for a the listed items. Malgrave Incident also has a few multi player games making it fun for the whole family. RENT IT BUY IT LOVE IT!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

incident

posted by donsellers (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love it!

posted by daisy1019 (ALTOONA, FL) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Easy to play, but not super simple to solve. If you like the hidden object games typically played on a PC then you will like this game! Hidden objects and mini puzzles you have to figure out to advance :) Love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Didn't Want To Stop Playing! Wish There Were M

posted by MrsDoherty (HURLEYVILLE, NY) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed playing this game, in fact I didn't want to put it down and was disappointed when it was complete. I am a big fan of hidden object games and this one was a beautiful example, that included a good story line and a mix of cool mini games, problem solving and mystery. It was neither too easy nor too hard, hints were available if needed and the map and journal were a great addition. I only wish that there were more of this available for Wii....hopefully sometime in the near future!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mystery Case Files

posted by sassiness3835 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

This is not a bad game if you are into puzzles. It reminds me of this game called "I Spy" its good for the kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Stick to the PC

posted by SayreTX (AUSTIN, TX) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Hidden object games are better on the PC in the following ways - 1) screen resolution (so you don't have to pan and zoom so much), and 2) cursor fidelity (the Wii remote is too sloppy of a pointing device). We admire that they tried, however this solution is not optimized for console realities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

VERY DISAPPOINTING

posted by JCBear (ANDERSON, SC) Jul 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

I was [keyword WAS] looking forward to playing this on my Wii, BUT after only 4 days of playing it, I had had quite enough!!! MUCH harder than it appears, there was no help provided, even the 'walkthroughs' that I found online were of little to no help at all.

I am extremely disappointed in this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An Incident Worth Looking Into

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

Mystery Case Files is a franchise that dates back many years. It first stared off on the PC as a simple hidden object game with a few puzzles thrown in for good measure.
But this version of the series takes the franchise to a whole new level. In the main mode of Malgrave, you are asked by an owner of an island to search and gather up dust hidden all over his island. To do so, you complete hidden object levels.
Completing the hidden object levels will also give you items you need to use to solve puzzles that you will bump into as you wander about in a point and click adventure.
But that is where problems show up. The first problem is one that almost every single point and click adventure has; you have a little idea which objects you can interact with, and it’s easy to over look a critical hot spot which brings the game to a screeching halt.
Another problem is players can get stuck trying to figure out where certain items should go in order to move the story along; this will also drag the game to a stop.
Yet, the story here is intriguing with a thrilling (maybe predicable) twist in it. The hidden object levels are great to look at and play, and the puzzles are very inventive (and you can skip the puzzles if they’re too tough). It took me about 7 hours to finish the main mode.
After that, you can take on up to three other players in Multiplayer Mode. There are three options.
First mini game has you finding more objects from a list than your opponents.
Second mini game has you passing a bomb between players by finding objects from a list. The player with the bomb when time runs out is out. Last one out wins.
Third mini game has you finding one item before your opponents.
Mystery Files: The Malgrave Incident is one game the fans of the series will want to get, but flaws in the point and click adventure can infuriate players. I say it’s worth a rent, and possibly a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »