Rent MySims for DS
view large frontback

MySims

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
6.4

1066 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not your normal sims game!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really like this game! It is fun and easy plus you don't have to take care of the sims (Like in other sim games.) See, this island is soposed to be a vacation spot but it has nothing. You are a sim who comes to the island on a vacation (or something) and you meet a little kid. The kid runs off and you follow it. But you can't catch him. So then you meet the mayor who is the kid's grandmother. After some talking you agree to help the mayor rebuild the island and make other sims visit it! Then you have to play mini-games and meet sims and help them out. It is pretty fun but some mini-games are impossible to do! Once you win the game and make the island great then you just wonder around doing whatever. THEN IT GETS BORING.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My Review of MySims

posted by Vampire777 (PARK CITY, UT) Oct 23, 2007

Member since May 2007

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This game was really good for the first part, but after a while it gets kind of repetitive. The graphics were way good for the DS and I liked going to the Casino on the Entertainment Area. Overall this game was above average but below very good. I hope I helped!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What Are You Talking About!? This Game Is Awesome!

posted by Pet101 (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

12 out of 19 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games I have ever played. I agree it's like Animal Crossing but it's as fun as animal crossing and maybe even better. In the game there are more tasks that you can do and the tasks AREN'T repetitive. They're fun! I'm thinking about keeping the game!!! It takes a lot determination and that's what makes it fun .So far I have played of 5 hours straight!!! I got the game yesterday and IMEDIATLY started playing it. I highly recommend this game to ANYBODY!!! It's worth, it's really worth it. SO RENT IT NOW!!!!!!!!!! Please I beg of you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

HUGE letdown, it's Animal Crossing Jr.

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Oct 1, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

10 out of 21 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

This game wants to be Animal Crossing. No, really, I swear it's a bad copy of Animal Crossing. Here's how it works.

You show up in a new town. You have to help the town grow. You have to do stuff for people so their shops can expand and more people will move in. You can buy stuff for your home and your character. You can find stuff. You also get gifts from people. The point is to make friends and do stuff for people to improve the town and make money.

Sound like Animal Crossing? I'm not done. You can fish, and you turn in those fish to a guy who takes note of their size and catalogs them. That's as far as I got in the game and then I was sick of it. It's not even close to what I expected and seems like much less of a game than the Wii version. It's not fun and all you do is work for people and run fetch quests.

The stuff in the game you can buy is very generic and ugly. It's nothing like Animal Crossing. You don't even communicate with people as well as in AC. You can do sports and tasks to earn cred or something. Unfortunately they are impossible. Like Racquetball, it's incredibly hard to play. I don't know how children are supposed to play this game. You also make leis for people. I can't imagine possibly doing it faster than I did and I can't get better than a bronze. It's impossible.

Don't play this game. Play Animal Crossing instead. Save yourself the trouble. This is just a waste of time. Really, a big waste of time. It's not even fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DS vs. WII, WII wins by a long shot.

posted by ssjjss2 (LEXINGTON, MO) Aug 16, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is an okay game for DS. but the WII has it beat hard core. It dosen't give you much freedom of how you decorate your house and such. if i would have to pick this game compared to the WII one. i would pick WII(DS is too much like Animal Crossing)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cool

posted by RYRO3298 (JAMESTOWN, RI) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Looks like animal crossing and the sims mixed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What!!!!

posted by Metsrule31 (SHIRLEY, NY) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Apr 2003

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game shouldn't be called sims its nothing like sims more like animal crossing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool

posted by dalton2255 (CORSICANA, TX) Sep 23, 2007

Member since May 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

this game is the perfect game for the ds. i htink it will be better 4 the wii though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't buy it, just rent it.

posted by jediliz (LINCOLN, NE) Nov 2, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I am glad I only rented this. I tried it out for a few days and I found that it wasn't really that fun at all. I didn't like that you couldn't have a 'real' conversation with the shop owners or the tourists. And it'd have been nice if the game was set in "real time" instead of the day being in four parts - morning, noon, afternoon and night. You can only have one character. In fact, the characters looked more like lego people with colorful parts than Sims.

The racquetball game was interesting, but very hard. I DID like the game in the flower shop where you could make Leis.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stupid

posted by Hoodlum123 (BRADENTON, FL) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 22 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

All I can really say is that this is sad and stupid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS GREAT!!!

posted by Legoguy (WESTBOROUGH, MA) Oct 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

once you get the cheat code in the casino all you do is sell everything 2 times and you can buy every single thing. You can go fishing, play racket ball, go scuba diving, create your own unique clothing, make flowers thingys, and much much more. You can customize your house. But, however the problem with this game is it's isn't wireless multi player with people around the world. Other than that THIS GAME IS GREAT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun

posted by toristeven (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I really enjoyed this game...though it was a little slow at times. Good for younger ages and older ages alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

KGM Reviews: MySims DS

posted by kinggames9 (ASHBURN, VA) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

A Very fun Sim game has just made it's way to the DS. It is a fun game that is a more cartoon Sim game. It deserves a good 8.5 of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

my sims

posted by mino6000 (FORT GORDON, GA) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

it has weak story line and is dumb

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MySims

posted by Steven64 (BOLIVAR, TN) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I bought this game thinking it would be a corny litttle version of the sims, but boy was I wrong. I played this thing for 5 hours straight. I loved fishing, andI got about a million dollars worth of fish money. I highly recomend this AWESOME game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute game!

posted by samsmomie (WALTON, NY) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is a definitely a cute version of the Sims game. I am a 33 year old mother and I enjoy the game, though it does get a little slow at times. My 9 year old daughter also really enjoys this game. It's not a involved as the regular Sims games so it's easier for the children. I definitely reccommend giving this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game

posted by BritishHob (EDMOND, OK) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

It was okay....but they should of done more stuff for your avatar or whatever you call it....But I thought it was a pretty good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I Heard This Game Was Good .....

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) Feb 16, 2009

Member since May 2006

I heard this game was good ...

But when I played it, I realized this is very stupid and that it sucks. Eggs.

This game is a stupid little kid Sims game. It's for kiddies. The graphics suck. Most of the characters look like LEGO people with giant marshmallows for heads. Normally music in a game won't bother me, but the music in this is as annoying as a day at Chuck E. Cheese. This is very, very easy. The only good thing about this is that it entertained me for a good amount of time. I recommend this to kids only. A terrible choice for anyone else. Don't trust people that say this is good. It sucks eggs. I give it 3 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

For kids

posted by xmonix (RENO, NV) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

I got this game with my ds when buying it used.

I can say that it is definitely for kids. I enjoyed it for about 20 minutes.

The entire town complaining to you gets repetitive and old after that much time.

Not to mention doing the same thing everyday and shopping so much which i don't even like to do in real life.

For kids- I'm sure it would be great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

My Sims

posted by danivania (ATASCADERO, CA) Aug 19, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

My Sims is a very good game if you have lots of time to kill. It's cute and it has neat features and mini-games but it takes forever to get anywhere. Some things were tedious and frustratingly slow-paced, for example: You acquire a fishing rod which allows you to fish anywhere there is water. My first thought was "yay!" until I discovered that if you catch something and want to fish more, or even worse if you don't catch anything and want to try again, you have to select the fishing option, select your fishing rod, and wait for the mini-game to start up again. All the mini-games are kind of like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not as good

posted by filmore310 (DUNLAP, IL) Jul 8, 2008

Member since May 2008

this game is not as good as the wii version

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game.

posted by Pokemonfan (LAKELAND, FL) Apr 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game had me hooked the first time I played it. It starts difficult and a tiny bit boring, but after a while it rules. It is Un-Simish, (unlike other Sims games) but that is OK with me. It does get a little repetitive when talking with people. For example, when you first meet a tourist, that Sim is unhappy, (Here is the repetitive part!) and they will keep saying "I stepped on my favorite sunglasses and broke them!" or "I was walking and suddenly tripped and fell!". Other than that, this game is worth renting for sure. In my opinion, worth
buying, even for 200 (Get in spirit) Simoleons. Just for a DS game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Features of MySims

posted by Zaprincess (RICHMOND, VA) Apr 11, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I enjoyed MySims because I was able to create a forest with trees, flowers and plants for the wild life. I was able to either cause a relationship to sore or have friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not all I thought it was

posted by tennlady79 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

It is ok with the grapics but the object of the game is not all that. It would be a great children's game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sims-esque, but for kids

posted by MattBear (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2004

I'm a really big fan of The Sims games, as well as SimCity. MySims is a good addition to the ever-growing franchise, but it's definitely aimed toward kids. The graphics are early nintendo style, and the gameplay is incredibly easy.

That being said, I still thought it was a good game. It's interesting how little things you do in the game make the city different and make people react to you. The mini-games are fun and make you want to play them again. The storyline is actually not that bad, considering how childish the game comes off.

All in all, I'd say it's a good play, but don't expect to put your brain to work much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse