Rent MySims for Wii
view large frontback

MySims

Not Rentable
Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.5

3885 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

let my People Build the world

posted by brockly (MODESTO, CA) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

40 out of 48 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is a line up of all the Sim's that came out. It's a Easier game to play. I would have to say Sim's meet Lego's. Your Kids will love this game. Your kid's will play it like when you gave them there first box of Lego's. Not say its a kiddie game. But if I put a pile of Lego's in front of you, you can't tell me you would not start putting the bricks together to make something. It fun, it has a good feel to it. You have some fun missions to do. If you like the Sim's. I think you will like to play this game.

Pro's: Easy to play. nice game play. nice controls. well put together game.

Con's: Its a Water down Sims. no WIFI. no Multi-player mode.

All in all: It's a fun little game that you and your Kids will love. this one might be a keeper in your household. but if you looking for Detail or complex. This is not the game your searching for. For a little cookie cutter game it's cover with a frosting that will make you pour a big glass of milk and slide the tray of cookies closer to you.

1 out of 10 : 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Sims Review

posted by jplanet (Lawrence, KS) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the easy going game play of My Sims. It's very similar to Animal Crossing for the Game Cube but with a Sims twist.

Your basic goals are to complete building tasks for members in the town. You gather the required "essence" to apply to the furniture you build and deliver them to the appropriate townie. The reward to building items is your towns star rating and once high enough new areas are unlocked.

I totally got lost in the game play and really enjoyed being a task master. I found that building the furniture was tricky at first, but once I figured out that part you could really go wild with your own flairs and designs. I am a fairly impatient person and hated having to travel all over the map to search and search for the appropriate essence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

MySims -- It's what you would expect: for children

posted by Hoodsie (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

What do you get when you mix Sims 2 and Animal Crossing? MySims! This game was actually more entertaining then I thought it would be. My little brother played it at a friend's house and said it "was the coolest thing ever". So I played it and got what I expected: medeokre gameplay. The controls were excellent, and you were able to do an unlimited amount of creating. You even got to remodel others' houses and build things for them while redecorating their home. The workshop feature was fun for a long time. I loved the different designs you could pick up and put onto your furniture, but that was about all you could do. Interacting with the Sims themselves was pretty boring. The Chef would run around shouting: "My pizza iz the best in town!" When you just wanted to ask how life was. I lost intrest in the game after you couldn't have a decent conversation with any of the characters and I realized there was nothing more to the game than just doing favors for others. That's pretty lame, but overall, I liked the graphics, controls, and soundtrack. This game earned about a 5 with me and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone older than 10, but hey, your five year old little brothers and sisters would love this game. So check it out just for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mixed Bag

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

20 out of 26 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Pros
- If you like building things with building blocks, you will like this game
- Great charming design
- Easy to control

Cons
- Can't really take care of your Sim, not like the other Sim games
- Tedious and uninspiring gameplay (look for resources, build furniture, build houses, repeat)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MySims, a sims game in the right direction.

posted by Selca5 (UPLAND, CA) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

When I read GameInformer and they said it was not a great game, I was surprised. I mean, aren't alot of Sims games good? I decided to try it out anyway. When I got it, I turned it on right away. Was this game good? Well, obviously by the rating I put, it was. The characters are like chibi sims; adorably cute. It does have a nice plot, even though you build with blocks. I found that a little childish. And this might sound kinda weird since I just said it was childish, but some of the tasks you did were hard because they needed ALOT of Essences. Other than that, it's a good game. I highly recommend it. Thanks for taking the time to read this and I hope you find it helpful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mildly Entertaining

posted by ColdFire (HUDSON, NY) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

What can I say? It's not a horrible game but I am very glad I only rented it instead of buying it. It's worth checking out. My biggest problem with it is how SLOW it runs. Everything takes forever to load, this is the first time I've had this problem on the Wii with any game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not impressed.

posted by Agreenholt (YORKVILLE, IL) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Hey-

I love the sims. So i was excited to hear there was another game coming out. When i got the game, i was disappointed. All you do is build furniture. I like to do that but not all the time. I like to take care of them.. I think if you like to build furniture all the time you will like this game....but its not a true sims game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

You must be patient

posted by pkashchy (FAIRFAX, VA) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

MySims was fun....however...a gamer will spend a long period of time, not only building a town, but just waiting for a scene to load. Every time you walk into or out of a building there is approximately a five second delay, because the game statistics need to load. Let me repeat that, every time you walk into or out of a building the game goes into a loading sequence, often wasting a lot of gaming and personal time. All in all, the game is fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My 5 yr old loves this game

posted by GreenCASuz (SARATOGA, CA) Feb 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to admit I am a Sim addict starting with the original SimCity and also a structural engineer so I like the building aspect of these games. So I find this game cute but not challenging. However, I don't think it's meant to be for adults. This is by no means the best Sim game I've played but it's great for the younger Sim generation. It is mostly a game of collecting objects, talking to people and building houses and objects. My son has just been introduced to video game consoles with the Wii at age 5. He gets frustrated with a lot of the other games because he hasn't gotten the hang of the controllers and the other games get away from him and he looses interest. The controls, even though the nun chuck is used, are pretty basic and he can read the on screen instructions, so it keeps his interest and he seems to be getting better with the controllers. If I was a hard core gamer I would give this a much lower score but it's a cute game for kids and their Sim addicted parents ;-).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by monkeyman1 (POWAY, CA) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

i thought this game was gonna bomb but when i started to get into it, it became fun...its kinda boring in the start so just try to get through it fast and there u go u can do anything build anything u want...rearrange anything in the town even other ppls houses..so try the game and go put a juke box in the middle of the road..have fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Game

posted by partyboy (ROCHESTER, MN) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

What I think of this game is THAT IT IS THE BEST!!!! If I could play this all day I would! The best part of the game is that you can have the Sims as friends, you can do tasks, you can make your Sim as you want, and you can build stuff for yourself! My favorite person on the game (so far) is DJ Candy (Hip-Hop Girl, DJ, Fun Girl, or Candy. You get the point.).
Anyways, you should borrow this game. I really enjoyed it and you will too! It is one game I will buy for my collection. GameFly is the best way to try games before you buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Repetitive

posted by GerberC (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I got this game because I liked playing the other sim games. I found this one much more childish and repetitive. I found my self doing the same thing over and over again. Move in a new person build them a house, build stuff for their house, gain a star.

The load time was ridiculously long for such cheap graphics. Using the workshop was very frustrating at times and the controls seemed a bit awkward.

Unless you are ten or younger pass on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Animal Crossing

posted by DebLee (ALBERTSON, NY) Oct 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I think this game is great! True, it's not exactly like the Sims line where you have to show your Sim how to go to the bathroom. This game is actually a lot like Nintendo's Animal Crossing. It's a lot of fun to design everything in the town! I think this game is a lot of good fun, and will tide me over until the new Animal Crossing comes out for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Simple and tedious

posted by NyQuil (PORTAGE, MI) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is not a game worth buying, since you can complete it very quickly. It's very time consuming, and is nothing like any other Sims game.
You can't pick and choose your characters outfit, eye colour, personality, etc. You have pre-made outfits, which are definitely lacking in quantity, and there is no defined gender for your sim. Which has its pros and cons. I love the style of the game, and the idea, but it's lacking in-depth gameplay.

I do like the fact that you can change your sims voice, which is an interesting option, but that's about all. The thing I find most hard to believe is the lack of "actual life" things like eating and sleeping and going to the bathroom. It's like your sim is a superhero; they don't NEED to eat or sleep. I also don't like the fact that the only thing you can do with people is "Talk", "Be nice", "Be mean", or "Give stuff". The lack of social options completely compares this to Animal Crossing, and even the animals said more than the sims in your town!
This is a good rental, kids, or quick-play game, but not a keeper in my opinion. I'll go for my adult-sized, lifelike, "real" sims anyday.
Sool sool...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Buggy - unpolished - sluggish and cut up

posted by yatzin (FORT COLLINS, CO) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

13 out of 25 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

This game still has bugs in it, is often sluggish and choppy, and is poorly designed. Although it is very cute looking, the game lacks and strays far from the sim history.
Lots has been chopped from the Sims were use to. There is no options to pick when interacting with people. It is either talk, be nice, be mean, and give gifts.
Also, the sims have no needs any more. I think they could have left the needs in place, but reduced the time they depleted.
There is no skills to gain here. The game focuses on building. It is like a virtual lego set. It seems to be the only thing that you do. Build build build. I want this, build me that.
They try to spruce it up a little by adding essences which you collect from fruit, fish, people .. just about anything you do gets you an essence.. and you use these to PAINT your objects.. what??!? fruit paints your furniture? smiles paints your furniture?

Do not buy this game. If you must see for yourself, RENT IT. I paid full price for it and the next day I had to sell it on ebay because it stunk so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mysims is cool

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 24, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is so much fun finding, painting and building stuff and making all of the mysims happy. my favorite mysims is buddy, goth boy, vic, sir skullfinder, trevor and dj candy i like how they speak it's funny. mysims gets 4 hot tubes in a sims house out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not what I thought

posted by candyflame (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the game The Sims for the sole reason of creating and designing a house and etc. The problem with this game is any little piece of furniture you want to add to your house you have to build. So if you want to add A chair you have to put it together piece by piece then place it in your house and so on for each piece of furniture

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

My Sims Froze

posted by Gojuryu (CLERMONT, FL) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When playing My Sims, my daughter had a very hard time doing this. She couldn't change her character's appearance, though she could move the hand around on the screen on the Wii. If she clicked on a button, it would make a noise as if the appearance had changed, but didn't show it.

Also, when she tried to create new furniture; as the game is about, it would stay on the same screen when she tried to click over to another set of wooden shapes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Step 1

posted by Pokemonfan (LAKELAND, FL) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Step 1. Open envelope. Step 2. Play for 5 minutes. 3. Mail it back before it makes your Wii puke. I played this on DS and it was very good. So I decided to try it on Wii. I made a mistake. Controls are bad. Building is impossible to do. It was also very buggy. I'm surprised my Wii didn't explode. The only good thing about renting it is that you know you can send it back as fast as it got there. Unless you use Game Stop trading, if you buy it you are sunk. Here's some advice: Get a normal Sims game, get MySims for DS, or don't get one at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This should be under the "kids" category

posted by nbowling (MACKINAW, IL) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game expecting a true Sims title and what I got was a game that could have only captivated a six year old. Rent this one for kids and they will probably like it, but don't expect it to be like other Sims titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MySims

posted by Ross10 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

MySims is a terrible game in the Sim series.After you get 5 stars its not that fun anymore.And why does everyone have cube shaped heads?EA this is your worst Sims game EVER!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Loading...please wait.

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is full of cute graphics, fun ideas, and an easy to use interface. There's also the fun of building the entire town to your liking! But the game has one glaring flaw that dropped what could have been an 8 down to a 4...Load screens!
There is no excuse, in this day and age, for a game that's so light on resource usage, to require this many load screens! Every time you enter a building, exit a building, or create something, you have to sit through a load screen, this is very annoying and breaks up the gameplay! After a while it just got unbearable, in short load screen kills any possible fun you'll have with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS GAME BITES!!!!

posted by VITTIG (O FALLON, MO) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was quite possibly the worst version of a SIMS game I have ever had the misfortune of having sent to my home!!!! The load time is greater than the actuall game play. And half the fun of the SIMS is building your home and making it really sweet...BARF this game was probably a 1 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OH YEAH!

posted by elmodrm (PASADENA, CA) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

16 out of 42 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

MY SIMS IS THE BEST GAME ON THE SIMS.I SOOO LOVE IT YOU SHOULD BUY IT. YOU WILL LOVE IT. OMG its SOO FUN

YOU CAN BUILD EVERYTHING
HOUSES
PEOPLE
ITEMS

everything!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's ok.

posted by Mirage (CORE, WV) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I didn't mind it too much when I first started the game. I did play this game for about 2 hours to try and get a fell of the game.

The graphics aren't all that great but this is a Wii game. That put to aside, there is too much building going on here. I can take the building of house's and a little bit of building of items. But it seems to be a little too much for me.

This isn't for young kids either. The building process is a little complicated for them. My wife had a hard time getting used to the process as well. But she isn't a gamer too much.

But over all, I think that this game is a rental rather than a buy. Play it for a fews hours then you can decided if it is game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse