Rent MySims SkyHeroes for PS3
view large frontback

MySims SkyHeroes

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.2

213 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Sort of great, mostly not

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Apr 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a fan of flight action games. I loved Crimson Skies, Star Fox and Panzer Dragoon Orta. Yes, some of those are on-rails, but whatever:) If it involves flying, I'm AT LEAST going to rent it (like Sky Crawlers for Wii). So even though this is targeted at kids, I was game to give it a shot. After all, I love charm and style and color usage with my games too. This should've been a slam dunk...

First the good news. The core game for MySims is pretty great actually. The planes control REALLY well, and the design of the game - splitting up the levels into free-roam stages and more focused flight racing stages (a la Diddy Kong Racing) is genius. The power ups are decent, if not original. And the MySims atmosphere is kicking at 100% charm:) You can customize the look of your character and planes too - always welcome.

The big hit to the whole thing is that none of the stages, as far as I can tell, feature Elimination-style rounds. Everything is delivered by points. Even if a mission involves, say, killing two enemies. What this means is you'll fight two opponents...again and again, as they constantly keep respawning. There's a huge disconnect between what they tell you, and how they actually measure success - through an arcane point system that is done entirely behind-the-scenes. When you can succeed at a mission, but come in second (of two teams in the level), something is wrong. Also, there are no life powerups, unless you kill opponents. So you constantly just get chewed up with no way to build yourself back up. You'll just die and respawn, which devalues any success you would get by flying skillfully. Everything in SkyHeroes is designed in a way to turn what works here into a mess.

The story mode is really weak too. Not that a MySims games needs to be amazing, but it's done in a weird, cheap first person. What's the point of customizing your character if you can't see them? Why no free-roam.

There's a good core here. But too much goes wrong to create a great game:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Targeted for kids, but not a lock-on

posted by KosmoCrisis (LINCOLN, CA) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have kids, and not just any kids. I have gamer kids. My daughter has advanced gaming skills. I had the choice of piano lessons or gaming and I went with gaming.

She's great at platformers and the like, but MySims Sky Heroes is not for young kids. The controls and varied weaponry are better suited for ages 8 to 31. I call it more of a Mario Kart in the air which makes it more difficult. Navigating 3D space, maneuvering around tight structures and completing objectives in a short amount of time are not gameplay elements most 8 year olds can navigate.

Be that as it may, I give it a 7 out of 10 for actually bringing somewhat of a challenging and fun kiddie styled flight fragfest to PS3 where there is nearly nothing for it to dogfight with right now. There are quite a few kart games on PS3; ModNation Racers, Sonic and Sega Allstarts, Madagascar Karts. The airspace is clear. No bogies in sight. Give it a rent, its pretty tight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

so annoying

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i hated the voices gave me a headache it ruined my brian so so sad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WORST mysims game EVER!!!!!!!!!!

posted by RuBeX (PARKER, CO) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

dont get me rong i like the mysims series but this game is B.A.D badly made. a terable idea. damageing to the series . it has ok controls great costumabilty and a good sound track after that it falls of the grand canyon into a boiling coldren of suckatood and despair it allmost was desant but then came the point sestum i hate the point stm it is the worst feture in any game I have ever played EVER!!:( basicly u and a aliy fight respowning enemis and u have to get 1st 2nt or 3rd or u loose and u basicly loose any way cuz u get beter gear the higher u get so u get a little stuff if u get 3rd sum stuff if u get 2nd and lots of stuff if u get 1st that dosent sound so bad but u have to compeet with aliys to and thers no health anywhere u have to shoot down enemis to get bloody health so yer aliys keep giting points while u respown and dont evan get me started on the bloody raceing if u catch my meening sry but this game is not werth your time and mony the only way u coold injoy it is if u r a diehard fan of mysims u r parshuly brain dead or u enjoy punishing yourself or all of the abuve bottemline its Not!!! worth a buy but if u r any of the preveis things than possebly a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This Is Bad...

posted by SordidAffaire (SULPHUR SPRINGS, TX) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't think this game could suck more. The idea is a decent one, but the gameplay needs a complete overhaul. Starting with a way to move the camera to be able to see your opponent(s). Next would come the weapon array. It works as a theory, but it's impractical in the heat of battle. Young children might enjoy the dogfighting, but my advice to adult gamers would be to pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BAD

posted by lazygamer18 (CLEVELAND, OH) Aug 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I did not like this game because the aim and missle targeting system stink. Also I thought the races were fixed in the opponents favor. Also
the story is slow.

control:1of10
graphics:5of10
storyline:2of10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

jj

posted by jj23456789 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

este guego es sok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »