Rent MySims Racing for Wii
view large frontback

MySims Racing

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.1

636 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not "A Cheap Imitation of Mario Kart Wii.&

posted by Emmanuel (REVERE, MA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My sims racing is not a cheap imitation of mario kart wii, it may have its simalarities but it's different. up-grades actually help alot unless you're not smart engough to use then to their fullest. most people are right it may lower a stats but it wont matter if you're actually good. it's true that my sims racing did imatate mario kart but the multi player mode it's just the best. unlike mario kart theres actually obstacles and things that arn't oil that make you slip, theres also cars you can buy to look cooler, without rearanging your upgrades.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Acceptable

posted by Xanadu2000 (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I like the Sims. I like Mario Kart Wii. I thought I'd really like MySims Racing. But, to be honest, it doesn't seem to do either exceptionally well. This is a fine, acceptable game, but we feel like we exhausted its possibilities pretty quick. Certainly not one to keep around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as Mario's

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jun 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Mario Kart for every system is absolutely amazing. Including the Wii version. But since then people have tried to match their great making of racing games. And recently there has been a huge abundance of Sims games for the Wii. But not too many of them have been very good. This game has its good parts. It has a story mode. It has multiplayer, but its only on one screen and no online. The graphics are pretty good for this game. But with no online this game really falls short. And this games controls could be better, considering that Mario Karts controls are really easy to learn. So overall this game isnt terrible, but its not as good as Mario Kart either. If you havnt tried Mario Kart, play that. If you have then try this out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Cheap Imitation of Mario Kart Wii

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 12, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Whenever a really hot game comes out, there are many game developers who try to copy the formula that made that game great.
In this case, the hot game is Mario Kart Wii, selling millions of copies to racing fanatics everywhere.
Now MySims tries to get a slice of the profit pie by making their own version of Mario Kart Wii, MySims Racing. They try to mix it up by giving players the ability to adjust thier cars with different enginges, suspensions, tires, steering, and many, many accessories.
In order to get the goodies, you have to beat several challenges in Story Mode to get the blueprints. As you do, you'll have to collect a bunch of colored things called essences to build and install the parts.
But these upgrades don't make any sense to me. Most of them will reduce some of your car's attributes (Handling, Weight, Top Speed or Acceleration) almost to zero. Sure, I have a car that has a great top speed, and will push other cars around, but it's acceleration and handling are both awful. What kind of improvement is this?
When you do get your car on the track, it plays out like Mario Kart Wii, with the powerups and the three lap race.
Which means the problems in Mario Kart Wii are found here; the powerups are too easily abused - namly the flying saucer one. I'd lose many races because of a cheap shot by the AI or the AI zooming out in front with that flying saucer power up. It can get annoying.
Besides, the story in Story Mode isn't that exciting; you have to help some uncle of yours get his racing company back on line, and there's some unkown group of guys out to stop you. I've seen this story in other sports games.
Outside of Story Mode, you can play Single Race against the AI or go multiplayer in Multiplayer Mode. But Mario Kart Wii does these modes better, so why bother with this game?
MySims Racing could've been a good game - if it weren't for the confusing car modification system or the frustrating powerups. SKIP IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my first and best game i have so far

posted by sk8ter (GALT, CA) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

as i got my sims games i saw this game and i got it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

mario kart wannabe

posted by tuma1701 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

if your a fan of the my sims titles, you'll probably enjoy the story mode, if you want a good racing game, look elseware

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

nice game

posted by hi123456 (SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I liked this game but really all you kind of do is tasks. I know that all the other games make you do tasks but their was to many. I got to the eight level. And trust me the levels and cars were extremely creative. But the tasks are funny like picking up pizzas to chasing the abomnible snowman.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So much fun!

posted by kaelynXD (HAVERHILL, MA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game is great! I could not stop playing, it's so fun! It's cool that you can make your own person, and design your car.
I love this game, it's worth the rent! :]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

PG stands for pretty good...

posted by ninjaforce (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Well it's a pretty good but after a while it get's pretty lame. Personally I think none of the games based on the original MySims are as good as the original. But they can get as good as about average. But then again that's just my review. I'd recommend it but I wouldn't buy it because it will get lame so don't say I didn't warn you!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

okay

posted by kartkid (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I think it was okay. Great graphics! But sometimes got boring. If you are looking for a good game I would maybe chose this one. It's great for short periods of time ,but then it just gets boring. So chose for short periods,but not long periods.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

its a copy of mario kart

posted by brownguy (FORT IRWIN, CA) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game though is more personal(in the fact that you can create a sim) is nothing but a copy of mario kart.....but lets face it we all enjoyed mario kart and the races in the sims are a little different which is refreshing all and all i give this game a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

mario kart is better

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jun 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

when i played this i thought it would get me right to the coruses but it was boring to learn stuff and stressful. i give mysims racing i won 1st place out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »