Rent MySims Kingdom for Wii
view large frontback

MySims Kingdom

Not Rentable
Also on:DS
GF Rating
7.0

1380 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EXCELLENT!!! Perfect for kids and adults!

posted by stephieb29 (CLEARFIELD, UT) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game for my seven year old daughter hoping she would find a game that would be more than just little mini games. A friend had told me about this one and since I myself adore Sims on my computer (and she enjoys watching me) I figured we would give this one a try. And...she ADORED it! Absolutely her all time favorite game. And I have to admit, I have fun playing it too. Very cute. As soon as she finishes this one, I am definately going to look at getting her the other sims games. But that probably won't be for a while. There is just SO MUCH to do in this game! Excellent game! Make MORE LIKE THIS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than the original

posted by ecase629 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

27 out of 32 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

The first MySims was a mess, fun, but still a mess. The loading times alone made me so frustrated I stopped playing. When I did play, it was fun. Designing homes for your sims, placing objects inside them and making custom items was fun, it just took forever. MySims kingdom is all that minus the annoying loading times.
Ostin7900 commented on how all you do in build pipelines, but there's actually alot more. You still collect essences, but this time you use them unlock future tasks or items. I feel it works better because it gives everything a reason. In the original, there was no reason to interact with objects other than to watch your character mess with it. In Kingdom, it rewards you with different essences for interaction with objects and people.
They also have you building homes for people, designing detailed custom objects and yes, sometimes making a pipeline.
They're kept all the "mini-games", but made the controls tighter and again more of an objective this time instead of just collecting to collect. For example, you'll need 10 sapphire essences for a task, so you'll do the metal detector mini-game. I feel this works better than the original.
It's islands this time, so the whole different lands thing works better with bodies of water separating different themes as apposed to a cowboy ranch next to scientist's lab like in the original. They don't give you your own house, but that was never needed in MySims, it was just for decoration and had no use. You use a boat to sail from island to island and use this to change clothes if you want. It all works well with the storyline and again, gets rid of pointless interaction of the original.
Overall, it's a great game. Over 7 hours into it and not nearly finished with 4 islands yet to discovery, maybe more? If you like part one, give this one a chance. At first it might not seem like it's better, but it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love This Game, But It's WAYY Too Easy!

posted by DebLee (ALBERTSON, NY) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

MySims Kingdom is the newest MySims game, and it follows the format of the previous games. In this game, you are bestowed a magical wand from the King, and it gives you the power to create houses, furniture, etc. Your character is very customizable, and you must go around the world helping other Sims with their 'issues.' Some of these 'issues' are funnier than others (such as, a girl who runs around thinking she's a frog).

What I like about this game:

- Bigger world. More space to build things.
- No more glitches. In the first MySims game for the Wii, it was extremely glitchy, especially as you got deeper into the game. No so in Kingdom, this game seems to be fully polished.
- You don't have to build the individual furniture pieces, which I found tedious after a while in the first MySims. The furniture is preset, but you can still paint different colors on most pieces.
- More costumes! Yay!
- New essences.
- New abilities - you can hook up a computer to a generator outside and it will work! Or set up a hot tub in the backyard, as long as you hook up all the pipes to a water pump, you can do whatever you want.

What I don't like about this game:

- I beat it in like two days. Since you spend less time constructing individual furniture pieces, you can accomplish a lot, and do it faster.
- You get upgrades after you complete a certain amount of King Points. After you complete the first tasks for 5 islands, a new set of tasks unlocks on all the islands. Unfortunately for me, I started on the new tasks before even visiting all the remaining three islands - and unwittingly beat the game by accident, before I had even seen all the islands! Luckily you can continue to play after you beat the game (to try and get all the collectibles, etc.).
- Mana is what powers your wand. If you run out, you can't build anything. You can trade in essences for mana, but then your using up your essences.

Overall this game is great and definitely worth a rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute & Clever

posted by jogre1 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was a lot more impressed with this game than I thought I would be. The graphics are very good, easy to play, nice character development, some funny/clever dialogue that will give you a chuckle. On the downside the game does not offer much of a challenge after a few days of playing. I found the tasks becoming repetitive in nature. Some parts of the story really engage you, but others are so-so. I guess you can always skip the parts that you don't like. Definitely would recommend to younger gamers that like a "walking around" type of game. It is a well-crafted game with only a few flaws. I just wish it had a little more depth to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

My kingdom for some Sims

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) May 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you're familiar with the Sims... well, it won't really matter when you start playing MySims Kingdom, because it's a whole different game.
This is a game less about social interaction and more about adventure puzzle-solving. Of course, when I say "puzzle-solving" what I really mean is that the game gives you tasks to complete that allow you to continue. These really aren't puzzles, mostly because you're led through them and it's mostly straight-forward otherwise.
The story puts you in the shoes of a royal wandolier, appointed by a king who... needs you to do... stuff. Anyway, doing this stuff requires you to visit a bunch of islands with interesting themes. One island looks like the old west, one resembles a space station, there's a cemetery, academy, playhouse, etc. Suitably wacky characters pop up in each world and require your help to improve their little simulated lives. Doing so will unlock more islands, give you new outfits and unlock new parts.
Speaking of parts, building is a big part of the gameplay. Some of the tasks ask you to set up water or electric lines, but many are about decor. Much of this is free-form, which actually makes the game nicely accessible for younger players, but engaging enough for the seasoned gamer. Oh sure, none of this is all that difficult, you can't die and depth is minimal, but it's an enjoyable experience.
Some problems remain. Environments tend to be too cluttered, leaving your camera angle in constant trouble. Dialogue boxes are mostly just exercises in how fast you can press the A button. The motion-sensor controls can be jerky when placing items on the screen.
It's limited appeal and gameplay might turn some off, but it's a pleasant experience for kids and your inner child.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i have my own island. best game ever

posted by jacobblast (BELLE VERNON, PA) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

my name is jacob i am 10. i beat the game. it is awasome have my own island i bilt my own castal. it has figurs all over.i evan has a roal chair. i have dance party each month. realy i like to try my sim and my sim party. i realy like to go to uncharted island i am realy in to dinosars i like the dinosar when i saw it in the cage i came to the recue imeditly . sopkean i left on the first step i like yuke. you know [bite on the face!] well bie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Wii game out there!!!!!!!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off let me say that if you do not own this game you have to buy it right now. This is the game everyone has been waiting to come out on the Wii. I know not many people will read this because it is late, but everyone else says the same thing, so it does not much matter
I would love to give this game a ten, but there are a few things that are annoying. For instance, character customization could be better, and the camera angle is not very good. But at the flop side, everything else about this game is totally awesome. The characters are hilarious, the tasks are really fun to do, the powers for your wand are pretty cool. The storyline is not perfect, but decent enough.

Pros: Hilarious characters and voices, tasks are really fun, graphics are nice, it is fun to find new tasks and to travel new places. Overall, the finest Wii game yet.

Cons: Camera sinks, storyline could be better, and a few characters can be annoying, and character customization.

This game is pure gold and every Wii owner must own it. If you're a fan of LittleBig Planet or Boom Blox, this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lacking, But Fun and Easy to Play

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Nov 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

MySims Kingdom is not your average Sims title. In fact, it’s nowhere close. This spinoff does carry with it abilities and attributes its predecessors made leaps and bounds in, but on a much smaller scale. It’s “Sims Jr.”, if you will. Everything has been condensed to make it a little more user friendly to the newer gamers now entering the market. The area of play is smaller; the building areas are smaller; there are fewer animations, fewer items used to build structures, etc. I think you get the picture. Pair those problems with a few potentially game ending glitches and fairly moronic AI and MySims Kingdom can become a MySims Nightmare.

However, it does have one thing that may outshine all that - accessibility. Sure, you may not have the freedom to create as once was granted, but the game is easy to manage and easy to enjoy. You won’t be overwhelmed with hundreds of building options or confusing menus to navigate here; it’s all simple and to the point.

Strangely enough, I’m still having a good time playing the game, even with these objections. The game is extremely easy to get into and enjoy. The time consuming aspect older Sims titles require is hardly a bother here. I can simply pick up and play the game at my convenience and not worry if my town was destroyed. The missions are easy and rewarding; I can perform a quick task, get new abilities, and go back to creating. Most menus are easy to navigate and understand and the few portions of the game that require a motion are done with ease.

Aside from the drawbacks some older Sims players may take note of, the game does deliver on its intentions. MySims Kingdom is not meant to be a highly sophisticated, time consuming beast; it’s simply a short and sweet jaunt into the genre. Fans of the old formula will probably be a bit disappointed, but those who don’t wish to invest hours upon end on a game will be delighted.

I would consider myself a fairly big gamer, and I think MySims Kingdom is one Sim-sational game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!!! A must play for any 'SIMS' fan.

posted by Rezzie (RENTON, WA) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I had a very good time playing this alongside my 5 year old, He did the fishing and the treasure hunting and I did the building and such. GREAT game to play with your little one :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Larger world than the original, but dumbed down

posted by weregamer (SUNNYVALE, CA) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I'm sure that some or even most of the kids who played and enjoyed the original MySims will find this sequel even more fun. For me as an adult and as future father looking for games that would actually stimulate my children's brains, it was a terrible disappointment and I put it down after a couple of hours, never to return, and extremely glad I'd got it on GameFly instead of buying it.

On the good side, the game world is larger and the gameplay is much more directed with stronger storylines. There is a minor "puzzle" element with the addition of mechanisms where the player must construct mechanical linkages from power sources to machines, but these "puzzles" are no challenge and uninteresting because there is insufficient freedom in solving them - there is one obvious solution and not much room for further experimentation.

But for children and adults who enjoyed the original for the chance to build things on their own and choose their own activities, this is a big disappointment.

There is no longer a workshop and there are no blueprints. Furniture items are atomic units with specific costs in materials and essences (which are no longer distinct categories). Character requests are specific ("Needs a house with three points of "structure", two of "domestic", and one of "fun"), not open-ended preferences.

The essence gathering parts of the game have been tweaked in some ways, and the wiimote is used in most of them for basic gestures. But with the most creative time consuming activity in the game gone, most of the game play consists of tediously gathering materials.

My overall impression is that EA listened to a massive chorus of parents saying "This game is too intellectually stimulating for my little TV consumer. A proper brain-dead child can't be expected to explore, experiment, or design, let alone to choose their own goals given lots of choices. Please just spoon-feed them with what they should do like all the other games I give them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MySims Kingdom

posted by jubadub (WEIRTON, WV) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is actually a very enjoyable game. It improves upon last years title in almost every single way, most notably with load times. There are a lot of cut-scenes in the beginning; setting up the story and giving a brief overview of the controls, but once you complete that, the game is fairly smooth paced. It is a very nice, relaxed title. A great game to get for your girlfriend/wife. I doubt that there is any sort of replay-ability, but a title like this is not necessarily something that is focused on replay. Very fun, a terrific rent, but I would hold on purchase of this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Kinda Sucked

posted by ostin7900 (TONKAWA, OK) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The reason i rated it so low is because it got real old real fast. I really enjoyed to original my sims where you could choose who lived in your town and help them by building certain items they needed. This game seems to be mostly building pipelines and not so much about the fun of collecting the itmes needed to decorate the furniture. i was pretty disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great My Sims Game

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Jun 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

This is a great game, much better than my sims. My sims was extremely glitchy, and it takes a long time to load, but on my sims kingdom there is no more loading!
I also like ho the objects are prebuilt, so you don't have to make them piece-by-piece. You can also color the objects too. But there are annoying things too.

I LIKE THE OPEN WORLD, BUT HERDING COWS, AND NO PC VERSION, CAN'T GO WITH THAT!!!

I wish they had a pc version, but I'm not really a PC gamer. But I like a pc game now and then.
Other than those complaints, it is a great game!

P.S. MAKE ANOTHER MY SIMS AGENTS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great for kids, but not much else!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) May 15, 2013

Member since May 2010

This game is obviously not for people of MY age group!
So that being said it can be described like a surger waffer, being all sweetness and light with no REAL substance! This doesn't compare to the industriousness of the Harvest moon series, and it doesn't have the thrill and danger of either skyrim or wind waker! Wind waker has more charm than this, but if you are looking for a game for tykes and young children then by all means give it a rent! Try out the other mysims games too while you are at it! Expect fetch quests and collect-a-thons galore in this game, and none of it is to be taken seriously! If you want thrills and excitement look elsewhere! I was never really a sim fan to begin with, and no, this game didn't convert me, but to each their own! Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOMELY EPIC!

posted by coremberlynn (MILLERSVILLE, MD) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

So, this was the first My Sims game I ever played, and it got me hooked! You have to solve problems and mysteries and build things to solve them! But mana is what lets you build, so if you run out, you cant build! I know this sounds lame, but believe me. I'm 10 and I LOVE My Sims. And my siblings do too (8 & 5)! But it requires you to read to have efficient gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun and entertaining

posted by Rjw91011 (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I have heard of the game and decided to try it
it was REALLY fun and bought it had a nice storyline but it did get boring at some parts to me but of course its a good game and i recomend it to anyone who likes creative games with quests or a storyline

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

My sims kingdom

posted by canthelpbutwait (SANTA MARIA, CA) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

At first wen I started playing it was fun but after awhile it just got very boring nd very slow. There are plenty of levels to play but each level almost takes like an hour nd so that's why wen I was playing it I just got really tired of it. To some people it might be fun but for others not so much. It's not worth buying this game but it was fun to rent it thats why I give it a 6 out of 10:)))

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game!

posted by HarukaSuzumiya (BLUE ASH, OH) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

Very fun game- this is the first Mysims game I've ever played. It's good for pretty much all ages. If you liked Mysims Agents, this game is just as fun, with a similar concept but a different plot line. No matter what age you are, and no matter what kind of games you normally play and enjoy, I DEFINITELY recommend renting this game- I kept it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Perfect for everyone!

posted by laineybug24 (LONGMONT, CO) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I bought this game hoping that it would be good for my 7 year old son. He loves all the Lego games but I wanted him to have something that didn't include fighting and this was perfect. He loves it and so does the rest of my family. Even my 4 year old daughter plays sometimes with help from us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by swingy33 (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

My Sims Kingdom is an amazing and fun game. You start by making your avatar however you like and then go on a long quest. I would recomend this game to anyone with a big imagination and designing qualities. If you do not have the qualities listed above Don't write this game off, still try this game because it's lots of fun for the entire family. It's also funny at parts and romantic for your friends in the game. I'm sure that anyone who tries this game will like it because it's just so much fun and I'm absolutely and positively sure that you will love this game and will have a lot of fun playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Make a Kingdom!!!

posted by Exxo22 (PONCA CITY, OK) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

If your ever bored with real life just pick up Mysims Kingdom.This fun inovated game will turn your head if you liked Mysims brace yourself. A fun mix of the good old Mysims puzzle-action kith kingdom vibe.If your reading this review your making a big mistake.Because your not renting Mysims Kingdom!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

an improvement

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Oct 11, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

This one is way better then the original for sure. My fiance enjoyed it so much that we decided to keep it. The use of the wand gives you more space to work on things. However the original still has it's merrits.

Play them both if you can, but if you can only play one, play this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sims kingdom

posted by dretia (BUFFALO, NY) Aug 30, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I hate this game i'm glad i had the choose to rent it frist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it wont work for my wii

posted by samm815 (LEXINGTON, SC) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

it wont work for my wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

makes me sort of sick

posted by gamekarma1 (DALLAS, TX) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

It was very diffrent from the original mysims and that was to many changes already but at least you could do more on mysims than this um horrible excuse for a sims game. I think this is the worst sims game ever though some would like itthats my opion still i did like the customization but the original's was better and gave you more freedom but its up to you if you like this game or not i just think they should make it a little better thats all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse