Rent My Word Coach for Wii
view large frontback

My Word Coach

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
5.7

389 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Even those with exceptional vocabulary will learn

posted by Tracey (MIAMI, FL) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I admit it; I'm a word nerd. At first I was frustrated by the low level of vocabulary in the program--I wanted to be stretched. But after playing for a little while (okay, a long while), the vocabulary and difficulty level of the challenge games rose. Now I'm reviewing my more elevated vocabulary and learning new words. Another plus is if you miss a word, the program reviews the missed word several times in future training programs. It results in mastery.

Best for other vocabulary enthusiasts, people reviewing for the SAT or GRE, and anyone who wants to improve their vocabulary.

Negatives are the difficulty using the controller, the spray paint feature may misread the letter repeatedly, and the multiplayer games don't review the vocabulary.

Worth a rental if not a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Is It As Good As Big Brain? Read To Find Out!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 13, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Comes Close! I was hoping to buy this but it needs more work. I like the presentation but it would be better if it was like Big Brain. It does get your brain going to find word definitions and spellings. However the controls could be a little finicky when playing "Word Cereal" and Word Shuffle", a lot of times it does not register when you type an "o" (it counts a "d"; or it counts an "I" as an L. It is nice how you can see all the definitions. Also putting the right word with the right definition is easy but when your done it runs the clock and you lose points. After reaching your words for the day it gets mad when you play on.
All in all Ubisoft did a very good job; I suggest renting it first. Big Brain is a buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

GOOD RENT

posted by str8moneyB (TROY, NY) Feb 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is ok. A few glitches with letter recognition, but other than that its fun. Its great for a kid that needs help in english class, because its fun and you learn a lot of new words. I'm 27 and I'd like to think I'm above average intelligence, and I found some words in here I didn't know. The vs. could have more games and on line ability would be cool. If you rent it you'll probably keep it 3-4 weeks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i learned some new words!

posted by selfshethr (EL CAJON, CA) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

but the clumsy controls make me think this would be a title better suited for the ds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Borders on Educational Software

posted by Methods (DEVILLE, LA) Dec 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok, I'm sure you've seen the commercials. Looks fun doesn't it? Well, if you liked English in school, this game's for you. For the rest of us, its just that same old vocabulary test on friday that you spend 5 minutes cramming for. It's fun for fun sake, but when you get down to it, its the exact opposite of what you want to use your gaming time for, english tests.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

You Want to Learn, This Won't Help You

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

You've come across this game, and you're actually about to press the "rent" button. Don't press it. Skip over this game.

My Word Coach actually seemed like a pretty good game to me. Even though technically not a game, it seemed like I wanted to try this out, and not feel so guilty when I gamed for hours with it. When I got it, the game was surprisingly addicting, but after playing for an hour, I realized that that was enough.

You start off the game by taking a series of tests, so that the game knows what words is should teach you. After my initial test, I started to learn new words. Only problem, I wasn't learning them.

See, the words that were appearing on the screen were actually pretty complicated to me. But, when you get them wrong, you only get a short, vague definition about what the word means. After finishing that test, I checked to see if there was anything that could keep track of the words I had learned. There wasn't, which was a huge disappointment to me.

I know you want to feel like you're learning while gaming. Just something to say: This game won't make you do that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good for what it is

posted by metaspiral (ASHEVILLE, NC) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

i'm definitely not blown away by ubisoft's my word coach. i got it yesterday and will be returning it tomorrow. with that said, it is definitely worth a rental if you're into this type of thing.

i've tried big brain academy and i agree with other reviewer who said it's better than this software. i've also got ubisoft's my fitness coach and it's also a better product than word coach. it's not that word coach really seems any less polished, but i just don't care for its presentation.

my word coach delivers what it advertises, and i have actually learned at least a half dozen new words (i'm an avid reader, so my vocabulary is decent anyway) in less than two hours of play time. if you were considering a rental, go ahead and get word coach; it's worth renting. it's just probably not a buy for many people.

5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

my word coach

posted by Deanrose (PORT JEFFERSON STATION, NY) Jun 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

As far as educational games go this is a fantastic game. I like the characters(teachers), and the type of games you play. I wanted to give this game a better rating but the letter recognizer is very annoying and way to fast even on a normal setting. Although it may be easier when synched with the DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

slightly better than smarty pants

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) May 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

Word coach has some good challenges and will teach you a few new words but the overall game gets very old very fast and isn't very imaginative. I found it to be silly when I was filling in missing letters on different words. It felt more like graffiti than anything else. I would rather play this game as a board game. When will someone make a challenging educational game that will make use of video game technology? or put it into a format where you do more than answer questions? For the most part I have found these game like Brain academy and smarty pants to be non-inspirational.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rent Big Brain Academy Instead!!!!

posted by dkbladez (NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA) May 14, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I was not pleased with this game. It was not what I expected. It is hard to use the controller with this game and the movements are very tricky!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good buy

posted by joebrannon (KENT, WA) Mar 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

I really liked this game. It might not be a good rental but would make an excellent game to buy. The idea way to use this game is for short periods of time several times a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game

posted by DocsLadee (KENAI, AK) Dec 31, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

This game is very fun and entertaining. As you learn more words you get more games. My husband and I love to do the word power games in Reader's Digest and this game is just as fun. This game is a must play if you love crossword puzzles or any type of word games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better on the DS

posted by Jagguar (PASADENA, CA) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

Having played both versions, its safe to say that the DS version is much better. I first wanted to play the Wii version because of its innovative DS connectivity. But the capability is for one short session in the game. The innovation wore off quickly. Using your stylus in the DS version is more intuitive. You can use it as you would when writing with a pen. Its very awkward in the Wii version to use the wiimote as a pen. You end up writing big letters in "missing letters game." I really liked the multiplayer capability of this game. So I gave it a 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »