Rent My Horse & Me for Wii
view large frontback

My Horse & Me

Not Rentable
Also on:DS
GF Rating
3.6

245 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

A "Good" Step Forward But Needs Work! Not Rentable

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Feb 11, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I gave it this score because I hope Atari makes a second!

I rented this and "Petz Horses" for my mom because she likes them. Petz was a disaster and My Horse and Me is close to perfect. The graphics and interface is outstanding in the sim genre; and the concept is good the only thing that makes it not rentable is that you can't move/control your horse! This defeats the purpose of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very close to the real thing!

posted by QHhorselvr (MONTGOMERY, AL) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I ride horses each tuesday and I have done that for about two years now, and I have gotten very good. I rented this game thinking it would be fun. It was EXACTLY like riding a real horse! You move your left hand if you want to turn left, like in real life, and the horse does the jumping, not you, like real life too! For people who ride, or would like to ride, this is the game for you. At the beginning, the menu was kind of hard to work, but it was easy once I got ahold of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

My Horse and Me

posted by amyclarkDE (LEWES, DE) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was so FRUSTRATING! I am new to the world of video gaming, and my family just got a Wii last month. I figured that riding a horse with the Wii remote should be fairly simple - turn right to go right, left for left, lift remote to jump (like in Wii Play's cattle jumping!). Well, it wasn't simple. I returned the game back to it's sleeve and into the mailbox within 48 hours. Thank you, Gamefly, for saving me 37 bucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

my horse and me

posted by chasinfire (LA PORTE, IN) Mar 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my 7 year old niece, who is into horses and 4H, to try. It was too difficult for her, so I tried it. The controls are good in theory, but never really worked right for us. She has been playing it for three weeks, and it never got ant easier for her. I thought this would be a perfect game for her to enjoy, i was wrong this is to hard for me, let alone my niece. Hopefully they will come out with a kids game that is easy to work, so they can enjoy the Wii, and all you can do with the controls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Controls too hard for young girls

posted by thesmith (STAFFORD, TX) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The controls were way too hard for my young girl (6). She was interested, but the menu was impossible for her to navigate, and the controls frustrated her quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Horse and me review

posted by Dragons (SANDY, UT) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

I gave it this rate because some of the instructions in the game were not clear to me, so I didn't get it at first. Then I figured it out and had fun.
Well, I rented this game and completely loved it! One of my lifetime wishes since I was 3 years old was to have horse riding lessons. This game gave me a taste of riding. You get to ride you horse, brush it, do jumping lessons. It is even 2 player! My sisters and I had a lot of fun playing this game, and it was really detailed. Everything was life-like, even the mini-games! The only part I found frustrating was the menu and how to control your horse, but once you figure that out it is really easy! From walking your horse around a stable to doing elite jumping competitions, you really learn how to ride a horse. I hope you enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Review from an 11 year old.

posted by vivian11 (NORTH KINGSTOWN, RI) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game is a waste of time. I love horses and this was so boring. They do not give directions and My parents could not even understand it. I did not enjoy it. Thew horse did not do what you want them to and it does not tell you how to move the horse. DO NOT GET IT TRUST ME IT IS HORIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Horse & Me

posted by HoofSessed (SANGER, CA) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I'm a horse owner and avid rider who loves games. I was looking for a fun game and I found it in My Horse & Me.

Many lovely courses to train and compete on with beautiful graphics. The mini games are ok...not all that fun but they will help you learn to control your horse better.

Controls are a little challenging but if you take some time to do the practice levels you'll get the hang of it soon enough.

Using the A button to increase gait/speed is much easier than flicking the remote forward/down.

Try to keep your "rein" movements small and smooth.

I give the game a 9 overall...would of given a 10 if the controls responded better. I'm really looking forward to My Horse & Me: Riding for Gold! :)

Recommend to anyone who loves horses...other gamers may not be as interested.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

My Horse & Me

posted by Sarcel (MANASSAS, VA) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game actually made my daughter cry it was so bad! The controls for the Wii and this game are horrible! She tried the game for about 15 minutes before telling me to send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it was okay...

posted by wdog14 (FRANKFORT, KY) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

okay it was a petty good game but the controls are REALLY annoying well i like to turn on a new game and be able to PLAY it not spend 2 hours trying to learn how to steer the horse...but then again i don't like to spend time running into walls becuz of the controls but if you go over the gameplay controls and spend a good 1 or 2 hours trying to learn them then go ahead and rent it...i'm not saying its a bad game it's just the controls are really hard...i give it a 5

hope i helped!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

controls too hard

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Dec 31, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

I finally figured out how to get the horse to move left and right. Riding exercisese tell you how to do this I found out after the fact. When you compete in show jumping you just can't get your horse to turn tight enough to make short cuts or even follow the course. I was able to unlock some stuff on the riding exercises which was cool plus the jumping exercises too. I didn't even come close to bronze medal time on the show jumping part. My horse wouldn't turn quick enough and I'd kept having to back up so I wouldn't get disqualified for going over the wrong fence. I soon grew very bored with it after spending more time with it. It makes my upper back sore plus I pulled a shoulder muscle the first day playing it by realling having to yank on the controls sometimes usually stop & back to get the horse where I wanted to go. I hope they've fixed this when the next My Horse and Me game comes out next year. I didn't find it fun after all and once you're in an exercise simulation thing you can stop it unless you get out of the game completely. Also pushing B will take you back into the game's menu. I had to figure this one out and it was by pure accident that I discovered this. Overall this game isn't fun and it's too hard for kids as us adults can barely get a hang of the controls. Don't waste your time renting this one try another horse game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

If you can't use the controls, what's the purpose?

posted by mhmmorgan (MOUNT PLEASANT, NC) Dec 13, 2008

Member since May 2007

Basically, this game is horrible. The grooming is extremely unrealistic. The controls are a good idea, but virtually impossible to control. I have Petz Horsez 2, and I MUCH MUCH MUCH prefer it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible game

posted by jrmnatr (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Aug 29, 2008

Member since May 2007

This game redefines bad. The controls do not react well in the game thus making your horse often go out of control like it just ate too many sugar cubes!! I would not recommend this game to anyone. I recommend Petz Horsez 2 if you want a really good equestrian game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Scratches...

posted by ajahennes (OXFORD, IA) Aug 5, 2008

Member since May 2008

We were unable to play this game at all. It was due to all of the scratches that it had when we received it in the mail. My daughters were disapointed!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad

posted by dnrreed (Elmore City, OK) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I am usually a game wizard.. lol. But this game is very hard to learn. The controls are awful and you can't get the darn horse to do anything but run along the fence. At least I didn't buy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

My Horse and Me

posted by NevadaDad (ELY, NV) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Warning - Second Hand Review

I rented this title for my girls (8 and 6). I spoke to my wife the day after we recieved this game (I travel extensively). She told me that both the girls and her had tried several times to command the horse in arena(training)mode and found it maddeningly frustrating to the point of impossibility.
My wife said that it appeared that the game was a PC port(a program originally made for the PC and revamped for the WII).She also said that although the controls were somewhat realistic(pull nunchuk up to turn left, WIImote up to turn right, both to stop, etc.) they were unrealistic in the amount of movement needed.For example, to stop the horse my wife had to pull both the chuk and the Wiimote all the way up over her head.
Also, apparently the horse will get "stuck" in a corner necessitating a reboot of the WII.
Although the graphics are apparently nice and taking care of the horse is easy, the riding remains too hard for young people.
I cannot recommend this title for anyone but the most die hard horse fanatic with an abundance of patience.

NevadaDad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

My Horse and Me

posted by meltdown33 (BOTHELL, WA) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

My 10 yr old daughter (target audience)found this game to be EXTREMELY frustrating. She had a difficult time controlling her horse during tutorials. Sent it back after 3 days. It wasn't worth the tears for us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not fun enough

posted by skindnef (BROOKFIELD, WI) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Rented the game for my 9 year old daughter's birthday sleep-over and the response was "not fun enough".She hopes for a better thought out version in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible Game

posted by Konekodemo (EDEN, NC) Jun 20, 2008

Member since May 2008

This is a terrible game. The horse won't move the way I'm pointing it towrads. Plus there isn't hardy any stuff to start off with. The controls are too hard to figure out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Frustrating

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) May 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

Couldnt they put this on the PS2 or PS3 or XBox and let me use an analog stick to steer the horse? When I tried to go left, the horse backed up and other troubles. They tried to simulate using reins to steer the horse, which was a good idea. But I dont think they actually tested it!
The graphics are beautiful and they drew lovely horses, but the controls keep me from playing. Rent PS2 `Equestrian Challenge` or `Riding Star` instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hard to control

posted by danfwii (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) May 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

My 5 year old daughter enjoyed the game; washing the horse, changing the colors, etc. She was unable to play the events however. The controls are difficult to learn. I had to compete in the events for her while she watched, which she did enjoy as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hobbling Horses?!?

posted by games4mii (BELLE MEAD, NJ) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Let's start put by saying that this game is PURE EVIL!!! It has unresponsive controls, it is impossible to complete missions and as an added bonus there is a very annoying talking lady-announcer who says something with pretty much everything you do! I got this game for my little sister and she played it once and never played it again! I couldn't wait to send it back. And (despite the cover) you can't really care for your horses besides brushing it and changing its coat and mane color. Talk about boring. It is all riding. That's okay but, it's really hard! With that being said, I hope you think before renting this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »