Rent My Horse & Me: Riding for Gold for Wii
view large frontback

My Horse & Me: Riding for Gold

Not Rentable
Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.3

88 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Good!!

posted by harrypottergal (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game but the graphics needed work: the trees are flat, the people are dead-eyed, and the voice over is not that good. Some of the people's voises are muffled and some are not. And it is waaaayyy to short, but over-all it was a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I give it a 5

posted by wolf_gamer (FOUNTAIN CITY, IN) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the graphics were a little horrable and not alot of story to it. If I made game with Equine friends I would have better stories along with great Graphics and none of you can only go here you know? well to girls that really LOVE horses this is kind of the game for you, but if you are into RPGs I would find another game. Thank you for your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, But Needs More

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jun 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The graphics were nice and the gameplay was easy to learn. The downsides were not enough colors for the horse, not enough hairstyles (I have never worn my hair like that. I braid my hair in a single braid behind me so the helmet is comfortable when I ride for real), not enough styles of clothes for the rider (toooo much pink for the females! Not all women/girls like pink!! Sexist!), and story cutscenes that you cannot skip. The stablehand was ugly. Why can't they let me customize him, too? I like men with ponytails. Why are all trainers/coaches old men? Why not a middle-age man? Why not a woman? Hello? And I just hate hate hate hate hate hate jumping anything from a trot. That is what young children do in pony clubs. Pro jumps cannot be jumped at a sissy trot. I doubt the F.E.I. saw the finished game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not great

posted by jbflicka (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jan 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

not much to do. you do some training and you ride and that's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love it

posted by GirlGames (APOLLO BEACH, FL) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game

posted by BubbLes (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Really fun, but very easy to beat. i beat it in like 4 hours. i would reccomend renting it if you enjoy horses, but not buying it since you finish it so fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really fun game!

posted by CrownClown (BENTON HARBOR, MI) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Maybe I'm a little biased, being a long-time Equestrian and beginning Dressage rider, but I really enjoyed this game! I think this is, by far, the best game aimed at horse people that I've ever played. The graphics were the best I've ever seen in a horse game and the horse's gaits were acurate. Being teamed up with FEI made the events and trainning fairly acurate, and I enjoyed the clips of real riders. Being a Dressage rider myself (Intro level) one of the cut scenes actually gave me an idea for something to try with my real horse that I hadn't thought of before! I'm 16 and have been riding for years, but I still got a kick out of this game I rented just because I was curious XD. I only recomend this to horse people, though - anyone else would, naturaly, find it boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

easy to control horse

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) May 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

They listened to us and changed the controls for the horse from their first edition of My Horse and Me. You control the horse with the joystick (nanchuk) which was hard to learn at first but the more you practice the easier it got. I took a chance with it and bought it without renting it first. I LOVE this game. It's fun to play. It took me a while to figure how to change my clothes plus my horse's outfit too. I finished the story line last night so I don't know what else to do with it except try to master some of the mini games which aren't easy for the most part. I'm thinking about going through it again with another horse and rider. As you get more advanced in the game the dressage tests and cross country courses get harder plus the show jumping can be challenging too. I never finished the amateur level for whatever reason so in the professional part the horse still jumped on its own for me. I didn't have to tell where to jump as it did it automatically. If you win a silver or bronze you can repeat the test in competition in order to win the gold. If you mess up in your dressage test and miss a few buttons (colored for different gaits), you can back your horse up, reride around then pick them up without being penalized. Use your wrist to flick the Wii remote to do the different fancy dressage moves instead of pointing the remote and trying to lift it up, down, left, right, etc. You get to feed your horse, pet it, clean up after it (several different options), etc. You have a board to look at so you know what to do to keep your horse happy. It's definitely worth a rent and by far my favorite horse game that I own. The graphics on it are amazing too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

My Horse and Me: Not Good for Gold

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 7, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

It's time to saddle up and take on the track in three different events in My Horse and Me: Riding for Gold.
The three events are: Dressage, Show Jumping and Cross Country.
In Dressage, you have two tasks: In parts of the routine you manever your horse over several dots at the right speed (Green dots for slow, blue for medium, and red for fast.)
Other parts of the routine, you wave the Wiimote up/down/left/right.
You get a point for each dot you cross properly or each Wiimote gesture you perform propely. Most points wins.
The second event is Jumping where you manever your horse through a track filled with fences. When you get to a fence to jump over, you'll see a red arc just before the fence. When your horse enters the arc, it starts turning green. When it's fully green, you flick the Wiimote and Nunchuck up to jump the fence (if it's on easy the game will do it automatically.) Time it wrong, and the horse will knock over part of the fence and you get faults added to your course time. Lowest time wins.
The Cross Country is just like the Show Jumping, except you have a much larger area to cover and more fences to jump. Oh, and misses costs you more faults.
There's a tutorial and you can practice your maneuvers before you take on any challenge. Have problems jumping? Set it on easy.
Problem is, it can get too easy. There's only eight sets of events (eight Dressages, eight Show Jumping and Eight Cross Country) If you get third or better in each set, you unlock the next set.
The game also asks you to care for the horse, but that's done with simple pushes of the A button or wave of the Wiimote. You'll have to go out into a practice field to gather up stars every now and then, but that's no challenge, either.
There's also a group of forgettable mini games on display here.
I say most players can get through My Horse and Me: Riding for Gold in two to two and one half hours. Horse lovers should rent it, but not anyone else. SKIP IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »