Rent My Fitness Coach for Wii
view large frontback

My Fitness Coach

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

1171 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Personal trainer at home

posted by braisler (GEORGETOWN, KY) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

65 out of 65 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My wife received this game from her wish list and she loves it. You start the game by entering in your height, weight, body measurements and performance on some athletic challenges. Then it assesses your physical fitness and areas you need work. You can set weight goals and you can use a calendar to set workout goals for every day of the week.

You start with a set number of environments and music to choose from but you can unlock new ones the more you play.

You can tailor what kind of workout you want, lower body, upper body, core, cardio, yoga, and how long you want to work out for, 15min-60min+. This is a great feature because it takes you through an entire workout, warm-up to cool down. It also allows you to input what kind of exercise equipment you have available, fitness ball, heart rate monitor, step, etc., and will incorporate the items you have into your workouts. She's already lost 10 pounds working out everyday.

The only complaint she has, so far, is that when the trainer asks how you're doing during the workout, the reply options boxes are very narrow and it's easy to say "No sweat," when you really mean, "I was working hard!" The workout will get harder, easier or remain the same given how you answer those questions. Fortunately, you can modify the intensity of workout on the fly by clicking the "-" or "+" on the Wii remote.

It really is like having a personal trainer at home. It's great if you don't have time or money to join a big gym or don't like working out with strangers.

In comparison to Wii Fit, my wife prefers the Fitness Coach. She still uses Fit to track her weight and BMI daily but the structure of the workouts in Fitness Coach are much more useful for her.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Low-Cost Alternative to a Personal Trainer! :)

posted by Manna1 (NAPLES, FL) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

32 out of 32 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've completed a few workouts on this program and they certainly work up a sweat!

While it's true that you could completely lie to Maya (your personal trainer) and say you're working hard when you're totally sitting on the couch eating potato chips, what would be the point in that? I bought this game to get a workout, so I only put it in when I want to do just that!

When you start your first workout, you input your vital statistics (height, weight, etc.) and complete a fitness test. The jumping jacks were the hardest...especially on my tile floor! After you've completed the fitness test, you set up a schedule to workout - your commitment to yourself.

I like the way the workout can be tailored a bit to your level & the exercise items you have available. It would be nice if you could have a little more input into the individual aspects of the workout, like eliminating exercises that you are unable to do because of physical restrictions.

I use this game in combination with my WiiFit to get the best workout experience possible. I do a little of each every day. They compliment each other nicely, as they each have something unique to offer that the other doesn't. Where the WiiFit will check your weight and ability to do the exercises correctly, this game offers a continuous workout for a specified amount of time.

This game is definitely worth the rental...perhaps even a purchase! I have no regrets about the money I plunked down on this one! If I could afford a human personal trainer, I would so go for it! But, since I can't, this is a GREAT alternative!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great workout!

posted by Leahzc (LAUREL, MD) Dec 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2008

43 out of 45 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

It's hard to compare this game to Wii Fit; they're different. The Wii Fit has the interactive aspect that tells you when you're shaky or when your form is incorret... this game doesn't... however, My Fitness Coach focuses on consistent, non-stop exercise. The variety of exercises is pretty good. However, I don't jump/hop around because of bad knees, so jumping jacks (like in the initial evaluation) are a no-no. I just walked in place instead.

All things said, an excellent game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Real Work Out!!

posted by Bu22erfly (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great. You actually are doing exercises that help work out every part of your body. It's not like a game. You actually have a trainer to guide you through the routines. So if you are looking for something to say you did it right and score you on it...this is not for you. This is for people who are serious about getting a real workout..so if you want to input that you did the workout and you really didn't..then it's nobody's fault but your own..u still lose because you won't see results, of course the wii board is not needed because you are doing cardio moves, crunches, using hand weights if you have them, a step bench, or the ball. This if for people like me who don't have time to get to a gym...so I'm bringing the gym to me. I did my second workout yesterday and the focus was the core body...i'm feeling it right now...so I know it's working. My body has to get adjusted to doing exercises again, I know in a few weeks I'll feel great!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Useful

posted by Delphaniou (APOPKA, FL) Mar 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've just finished finished my profile and a 15 minute workout, and I'd have to say this is an amazing workout tool. Unlike a workout video, it's custom tailored, and really kept me at a good level. I'm not in the best shape, and certain activities are hard for me, and my heart rate goes up much more quickly than it should, but this was able to scale back to my level and keep me at a good steady rate. Finally something that will help me actually increase my stamina and get me into shape instead of pushing me so hard I give up right away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Fitness Coach

posted by decourcy73 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was looking for something different than Wii Fit, and this is it! It is a great compliment to Wii Fit and is much more intense a work out. This might be my first 'keep it' game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than a REAL Aerobics Class!

posted by leeorg (SUNNY ISLES BEACH, FL) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Wii game may not make use of the controller or the Wii Fitness mat, but don't underestimate its abilities to raise your hear rate, burn calories, and help you lose weight.

My Fitness Coach simulates an aerobics class environment in the comfort of your own home. Put on the sneakers, aerobics clothes, select the amount of time you want to work out (in 15 minute increments) and away you go!

The character is almost realistic, encouraging you to keep moving, guiding you through all the aerobic moves. In my case, she asks me how I'm feeling every so often and if the exercises were easy or hard to do. Using this information she gives me harder or easier exercises. At the end of the session, you're sweating, had a lot of fun, and feel better about yourself. There are also water breaks, stretches, and best of all you can tell when an exercise is going to begin, end, and what's coming up next. You can also incorporate hand weights, exercise ball, heart monitors, etc.

As for cons, some of the preliminary questions are very tedious and I would skip through most of them. The calendar doesn't help either. When keeping the exercises "easy" she does not bring much new exercises in. But it's still a pretty good variation.

Overall, this is a lot better than a work out DVD (does anyone buy those?). And it did get me moving! Don't have enough time? Select the 15 minute work out to do in the morning before showering and going to work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fitness coach

posted by Lovinlife4 (ANTIOCH, CA) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Since i have been married i haven't worked out in 4 years!
I honestly love this game! I have been working out for the past couple weeks!
i feel great about myself and am seeing results!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Major Downgrade from Xbox Version

posted by FryHole (Anchorage, AK) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

On its own, My Fitness Coach isn't a bad game. Maya has a decent personality, and she "remembers" interactions from past workouts so you really get the feeling of two-way communication. Unlike many fitness games, MFC allows you to take credit for other workouts you've done, and Maya actively promotes taking water and rest breaks during longer workouts. The game asks the player to choose and commit to a schedule, and unlockables are based on how well you follow through with that commitment.

Unfortunately for MFC, I saw this version /after/ I had played its Xbox predecessor, Yourself!Fitness, for several months. (MFC is more of a port than a sequel.) I realize that the Wii isn't a graphical powerhouse, but the graphics really took a dive between the Xbox version and the Wii version. Backgrounds and sprites, Maya included, are much more jagged (aliased) here than in the original, and the freely-movable camera in the Xbox game has been replaced with a camera that goes where the machine wants it to, which is almost always an awkwardly long shot that prevents us from clearly seeing Maya's expressions or foot and hand placements. One of the best features about the Xbox game was Maya's realism and "humanity", but that's been almost completely stripped away.

If you have access to an Xbox or 360, I highly recommend Yourself!Fitness. The Wii port, however, has too many shortcomings to be a serious competitor, either against EA Sports Active or against its previous self.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Budget alternative to the Wii Fit

posted by sparkey826 (COCOA, FL) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

If you like the interactive aspect of the Wii Fit, you won't enjoy this title.
However, if you are looking for a coach to help you workout at home with no additional equipment, then this is very good choice.
You can get a good intense workout with just your Wii and a TV, provided you follow Mia's advice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game. Just not for me

posted by Pipatackla (OCALA, FL) Mar 9, 2009

Member since May 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I wasn't a particularly big fan of this game. It's not because it wasn't a good game, it just wasn't my type of game. I already have the Wii Fit and I also jog and walk around my neighborhood. And since I'm only concerned with losing weight and not building muscle right now, I felt like I was dancing for 30 straight minutes, which I didnt enjoy. If you enjoy dance type exercise and constantly moving for 30 straight minutes, this game is for you. If not try the Wii Fit or just plain walking or jogging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good way to organize and track progress

posted by maplebob (MADISON, WI) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

My Fitness Coach seems like a good solid workout program that asks the user for information such as weight, height, and bicep measurements and helps the user to pick a goal and form a way to work out to reach that goal.

By the time I tried this game I have been using the Wii Fit for more than a week and so I had less interest in this title as the Wii Fit was providing me with an enjoyable workout already. This game seems superior to Wii Fit in that there are less interruptions between workouts, however Wii Fit seems superior in learning basic yoga forms because I know I am supposed to mirror the trainer and can change angles and such.

Also the Wii Fit offers more feedback to the user via the balance board and the Wii remote and so Fitness Coach is more like a workout video, albeit one where it is very convenient to log one's progress.

I think more serious fitness enthusiasts or people who need a change of pace from the Wii Fit may enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My Fitness Coach

posted by djcblue (OLYMPIA, WA) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was surprised that this game was so easy to use. I really like the ability to change the types of workouts I want to do every day. The only complaint I have is that the switch between exercises in a set is either too fast or jerky and the trainer doesn't always "get the beat" when performing an exercise. What I really like is that it makes me sweat! So far it's kept me motivated for the last 3 weeks (5 days a week). My aim is to get through all of the types of workouts and so far I have not been disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Get up and go

posted by poole6687 (ELMENDORF AFB, AK) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

My wife wasnt much into exercising until i rented this. Now she does one hour a day and it feeling better about herself. Better than Wii fit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great work out

posted by linz127 (WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

It's fun, it's convenient, it's hard, and it's intuitive. My legs are sore from yesterday, and I can't wait to do it again tomorrow.

I feel like this will really aid to getting in shape, I'm actually debating canceling my gym membership.

Think of this game as a glorified interactive work out video.

When I'm done, I log in my fitness credits on Wii Fit and take my body test. It's really like having a personal trainer in the convenience of my living room.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Program, but needs to be reworked for wii.

posted by tblove (CORONA, CA) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Gives you a good all around workout. 2 weaknesses stand out. 1) the selection areas on the menus are too close together for the wii remote. This results in clicking on unintended selections. 2) the instructor interupts the workout too many times (this requires you to pause and make a selection with the remote. Hopefully ubisoft will do a true wii representation of this program in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok...I guess

posted by sew3521 (BRIDGETON, MO) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is alright... Nothing amazing and I am planning on sending it back tomorrow after receiving it today. It would most likely get the job done, the only problem is I like having the interactive part like the WiiFit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An Okay Game

posted by jayrocko21 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is wonderful if you like fast paced, intense workouts. IF your more of a laid back workout type of person, this game is not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Waste of time

posted by tntsurvey (ELIZABETH, WV) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Nothing more than a work-out video that only plays on your Wii. No interaction using the balance board or Wii controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it's ok nothing to do jumping jacks over

posted by shidowdawg (PORTAGE, IN) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

3 out of 17 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

it's fine but it's nothing like wii fit that actually monitor your form and movements with the help of the wii board and or the wii remote, they measure your weigh how shaky you are how much pressure your putting on one side of your body to tell if your even doing the exercise right. This game don't use nothing it just take you word and calculate the info you put in so if your a cheater this does you no good but in all its ok but nothing to miss I do those exercises be for bed anyway so why should i buy the game or exercises instruction on disk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

its a very weak game

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

im not a big fan of this game. its took me a long time to get the profile done

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not what I expected - wii fit is more fun

posted by clwhite (VANDALIA, OH) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I read a lot of reviews on this "game" and decided to try it because the reviews I read said it was better than wii fit. I disagree.
I got the wii fit because it would be fun and I could get up and moving at the same time. My fitness coach is essentially a customizable workout DVD. There is no "game" element to it. I'm very competitive and like being able to unlock new activities and compete against my previous scores. As far as I can tell, that's not an option here.
I DID break a sweat but I was watching the clock the whole time waiting for it to be over. I'm one of those people that hates to work out so it needs to be fun for me to want to do it. This did not fall under that category.
So bottom line - if you like to work out - go for it. If you like to do fun things like zumba and play sports for your exercise this probably isn't for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not interactive enough

posted by Creecher09 (LAKE CHARLES, LA) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

It's a good workout but I prefer more interacting like Wii Fit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More variety than Wii Fit/Wii Fit Plus

posted by ItsmeMario (ELIZABETH CITY, NC) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

When the game arrived, I immediately did a "walk through" of the exercises and options.

You are given a chance to play as a guest or a user. Music is a bit corny, but it's great if you want to mute the television and play some of your own music.

This game plays like a fitness dvd. I've seen other games that just seem annoying, but this wasn't one of them. The instructor occasionally gives encouragement, but nothing over the top. You can choose your time length, and there are many activities during this time, none lasting too terribly long.

This is a game I can see myself purchasing in the future. It may not have the "fun" games that Wii Fit Plus has, but it definitely has the variety of workouts that Wii Fit Plus does not offer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really good game

posted by dariusa (ESSEX, MD) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This is a great game for anyone who wants to get into shape but can't afford a gym. The game keeps you on course with your own personal goal and rewards you for keeping up with it. The exercises are easy to do and even if there is some confusion, the 3d model demonstrates it nicely. There are different areas for you to work on such as flexibility, core, and lower body. You can workout as many times a day as you like. At the end of a certain amount of workouts, you complete a physical challenge which shows you where you are at now compared to before. Then the game adjusts the difficulty based on this new data. You can also change the difficulty manually so that you are not straining to keep up or getting bored from not being challenged enough. The only real problem that I had with the game (which isn't really significant) is the lack of music choices and workout areas. This game is for people of all ages and sizes. You can also get the family together and do a group workout. So I reccommend this game to everybody. I also reccommend that you buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse