Rent Mushroom Men: Spore Wars for Wii
view large frontback

Mushroom Men: Spore Wars

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

525 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interesting and fresh, definitely worth a rent

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

My brother rented this game because we heard that it was supposed to be quite good and should be a game to have next to Super Mario Galaxy for the Wii. I don't think it's that great but is very fun and intriguing.
The storyline is a little odd, but it is charming and fun playing as a little mushroom guy named Pax who runs about the land finding trash and turning it into very cool and inventive weapons. He uses these weapons against common animals and bugs, like spiders, rabbits, moles, mice, and other common creatures you find all over the place. He then gos about doing different things and funding new items and fighting new animals and other creatures. There is also a kind of multi-player. It is the same as Super Mario Galaxy's in the way that you are only an icon that goes, but in this game you can pick stuff up and throw it at things and you can create help for the first player. Different, but only fun when you can pick something up carry it around everywhere and name it Bob, otherwise it is bland.

Pros: Fresh new gameplay good action, very good weapon selection and enemy types. Creative environments and it is not all just action, there is sometimes occasional times when you have to think before doing, which adds some extra fun.

Cons: Odd storyline, characters could have had more information, that would help with the storyline. Some times it is very hard maneuvering and you have no where to go can drive you crazy. Multi-player could have been a bucket load better.

This game has lots of fresh new gameplay, though the story could be better, you should absolutely worth a rent, you should enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good quirky fun!

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Mar 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Really enjoyed this game. Very open environment with good platforming puzzles & loads of secrets. Very difficult to find them all too! A must if you liked the Rayman style of games! Highly recommended!!!! D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) May 30, 2009

Member since May 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this game was pretty good. the levels were fun because you play as a really tiny musroom so a brick is bigger than your charecter. But as a wii player i know when nintendo runs out of ideas so they put out a game with the most random plot ever, and this is one of those games. but for a game as random as a mushroom warrior collecting meteors, this game wasn't so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Almost a sleeper hit.

posted by TheOgrz (LEWISVILLE, TX) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Sep 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first saw this game I was rather excited, It promised a fun sandbox platformer with a strong combat and weapon creation system. Unfortunately it falls short in almost all areas.
The weapon creation system was something I was most looking forward too, and was probably the worst feature. What was hyped as a method of finding scraps of trash and turning them into fun weapons, was actually a simple fetch quest. There is pre-set weapon 'X' and to make it you need parts 'A', 'B' and 'C'. No actual construction involved, you just have the parts or you don't. Also, instead of collecting the actual parts, the items are all inside little ester egg containers, further destroying the fun of finding the parts.
The Platforming elements were actually a small part of the game, taking a seat behind the horrible combat, which you will be spending most of your time on. What platforming there was, was either stupidly easy or rather short.
The levels varied from straight path linear to open sandbox. Overall the straight path levels will make you just want to turn the game off, but the sand box levels were a treat. If all of the levels were sandbox then this would have warranted a much higher score.
Now don't get me wrong, I enjoyed this game. Little things throughout this game were wonderful. I loved how instead of a health bar they simply remove chunks of your head until your whole brain is revealed. And the spoofed real world items were very entertaining.

Bottom line Cons: The game play just does not deliver on what was promised. The combat was repetitive, (enemies have a habit of just pinning you down until you die.) And what platforming there was to be had was either stupidly easy or very short.

Bottom line Pros:Wile the dialog sucks the world is twisted and fun, like saving the now intelligent kudzu from evil rabbits

Overall, if you can get into the world and enjoy it, then this is worth a rental. But this game was unfinished and could have been a lot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mushrooms... Mmmmmm...

posted by DJTomEGun (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty weird. The story didn't make a whole lot of sense from the beginning, and never really did give me any kind of "Ah HA!"... But some elaborate worlds and intriguing game play made up for what the story line seemingly failed at.

!!! THIS IS WHERE I WOULD PUT A SPOILER ALERT... !!!

...except I'm really not sure what I would be spoiling for you. Short and sweet: as best I can tell, you play a mushroom. I think. You might be an alien, I was never really sure about that... Anyhow, you run around, and beat stuff up. You have some neat extra sensory abilities, and as you progress through the game, you make new weapons out of various trash you find... Uhm, seemingly theres a point to all of this, but I'll be damned if I can think of what it is. But not to let you down on the spoiler alert, I believe this game took me around 30-40 hours to beat. I had no idea I was anywhere near the end of the game when it happened, and frankly, it wasn't much of an ending..I think the game literally just put up a screen that said something clever along the lines of "YOU BEAT THE GAME!", and dropped some credits on me.

tl;dr: I rated this game a 7, because it was decently fun to play, but not particularly grasping. I wouldn't really recommend anyone wasting their time on it. Stick it at the bottom of your Game Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The mushrooms are coming!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Apr 10, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Anyone who would think to make a platformer revolving around mutated mushrooms is probably consuming them. But taking a down-to-earth approach with controls and gameplay makes a solid game, no matter how quirky. Mushroom Men: The Spore Wars does just that.
You play Pax, a mushroom on a mission to take down the... evil mushrooms. Okay, it's not Shakespeare, but it's kind of fun. Pax ends up running through a wonderful collection of levels, showing off some real creativity. Leaves, stumps, cans and scrap metal become your stepping stones. Rats, ants, spiders, scorpions and flies become your rivals. You travel from the forest to dark woods and even into a trailer. This kind of creative design is one of the highlights of the game.
The other notable highlight is the weapon system. As you explore Pax's world, you'll find scrap items. If you collect the necessary items, you can build new and better weapons. You get slashing, bashing and thrusting weapons with some very innovative art design. You also get some special weapons that require ammunition. This is well worth exploring the landscape.
The problem with Mushroom Men is that, besides those notable aspects, it's a pretty basic platformer. This doesn't represent the platforming bliss of Mario Galaxy. It's also pretty short, taking about six hours to complete. Some presentation elements come off as average, such as the text blocks used for dialogue and the static backgrounds.
Considering it's short length and average presentation, the glimmers of innovation don't elevate it above the crowd. The concept works well, so it could be worth playing for the platformer-starved gamers out there. But if it doesn't sound interesting to you, feel free to pass on these mushrooms.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as good as expected

posted by SlikChik (HERNDON, VA) Feb 11, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I will very briefly go over the pros and cons of this game.
1. The camera is always at a bad angle, the up side, you can control the camera.
2. There were a lot of bugs. In the first 5 min of playing I got stuck and had to shut down.
3. This game was beaten in just a few hours. And has very little replay value.
4. Some of the environments were pretty cool, since your a tiny mushroom.

this would be a good game to waste a few hours on but that's about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mushroom Men Spore Wars

posted by thebeatle (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 2, 2010

Member since May 2010

this game isn't as good as peopel say very easy and short five hours tops. not what you would think the people from Ghost Buster to make.

good for little kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

little people, big world

posted by thefrabs (JAMESTOWN, NY) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

this game is interesting enough to warrant half an hour or so. the plot is thin. the way the game handles, especially the camera, is atrocious. the sound and video can get out of sync, and you spend an awful lot of time wandering around thinking about what you're supposed to be doing. the only saving grace in my opinion is the endearing art design. the levels and characters are fearfully and wonderfully created. it's just too bad they play the way they do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awsome game

posted by DillonDS (SPRING, TX) May 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

i heard that this was going to be like super mario galexy. it was and it was awsome, i hope they make a sequel thats like a commanding armies of mushrooms or a good multiplayer (4 player) attack force to destroy the aminitias

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad Mushrooms

posted by bolonge (LAWRENCE, KS) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Another stinky Wii game, bad graphics, poor gameplay, and a redicilously cutesy control scheme. Even with Les Claypool buffing up the soundtrack, this game is a poor excuse for a next generation console. If only gamefly would send me more Xbox games and not waste my time with the Wii. I can't recall the last time I played a Wii game for over an hour. The system is lame and I wish to sell it. Any buyers?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

???

posted by agrunt (WESTERVILLE, OH) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

how is this two player?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »