Rent Murdered: Soul Suspect for PS4
view large frontback

Murdered: Soul Suspect

Rent

Keep for: $34.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.2

623 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Will take a specific type of gamer

posted by JackTRich14 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Jun 7, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying first that i love many different types of gameplay, as long as there is a decent story to go with it. I love games like GTA and, more recently, Watch Dogs and Wolfenstein. I also love even more, games that take initiative such as Beyond: Two Souls (anything by Quantic Dream actually), Telltales the walking dead and the wolf among us, and other games that enjoy telling an interactive and engaging story rather than making sure you're taking shots at ever turn. Murdered tends to fall in the middle of that. This is a game that begins, as many others have said, where a game usually ends. With the protagonist, Ronan O'Connor, meeting his end by a serial killer plaguing the town of Salem, home to the famous Salem Witch Trials. Ronan finds after his death that he cannot leave this world until he finishes whatever is still holding him, which is finding his killer. While definitely a story based game, the demons, which i found rather annoying but not overly so by the games end, try to sort of blend some elements of sneaking/action games. While it does serve a purpose, i never really felt it was done properly. So while it's nice to have a change of pace every once in awhile, and its not too often the demons appear, it just feels unnecessary sometimes. Now to the true purpose of the game and thats being a ghost and discovering a mystery. While the story will not leave you jumping out of your seat, it is definitely one well worth experiencing. Plenty of interesting twists occur in this story and will leave you guessing until the very last scene. If nothing else it is a completely unique story. A mystery well worth solving, and the two main characters are definitely worth becoming acquainted with. Gameplay is very unique, playing as a ghost has it's advantages, such as possessing others and walking through walls, as well as a few other skills i wont spoil. Ultimately it is a game for specific gamers, one that i enjoyed.
Story 10/10
Graphics 7/10
GP 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Murdered: Soul Suspect PS4 Version Review

posted by HulkGod (CALEDONIA, MN) Jun 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off you die in the very beginning of the game and become a ghost. You are helped a long the way by certain ghosts and living people.

It's hard to compare this game to any other game out there really, it has many aspects of a lot of games, but no real aspects of any one specific game.

There are aspects of CSI and LA Noir and how the crime fits together. You can look at the clues, you can possess people and eavesdrop to their conversation and sometimes you can influence their memory depending if you collected enough evidence. If it turns green its the right one, if it turns red the wrong one. It's pretty simple.

There are collectables scattered throughout different areas of the game, some in the town, some in the different places you go to. They all unlock a window to a ghost story.

You do receive some special ghost powers but nothing to that really stands out that is awe inspiring. As for enemies in the game, there are pits of souls you have to try to avoid and demons. Demons, I have to say are the worst. While you can kill them. They are not always the easiest to kill. Sometimes its just easier to go around them.

This game is REALLY SHORT I beat in a few hours. The story line is fairly interesting although one NPC says around the 1800's but it was actually around the late 1600's.

It's also really easy to get a lot of trophies in a short amount of time.

My only gripes I had wished the NPC reacted to the poltergeist activity better, NPC had more than 2 lines of dialogue.

While I did enjoy this game. It was really really short. Based on the reviews I read I didn't have real high hopes for it, but I rented anyway. Overall its a RENTAL game. I give a 6.5, but since there is no halves on here. I will give it a 7.

If you like different games from the mainstream and games that make you think and just when you think you know who the killer is, this one will surprise you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Who's the detective here...

posted by Lyniaer (WILLIAMSPORT, PA) Jun 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is like...playing Russian Roulette with blanks.

Murdered starts out with Ronan O'Conner, who's as Irish as you can get without the Leprechaun accent, who after a life of crime turns to police work. He's shot dead at the beginning of the game for trying too hard and you spend the next six hours trying to resolve his issues so he can go to heaven...we assume he simply apologized for his criminal behavior (including murder) and it's all good, now.

Insulting religion aside, this game also enjoys insulting your intelligence. The sometimesokay voice acting of Jason Brooks (of Days of Our Lives or Baywatch fame, depending on your generation) does a great job of flat out telling you all the answers after you wander around a 10x10 foot area picking up all the shinies. After that, you are faced with a simple question (Who killed this girl's Marmet?) and have to take the clues (arranged with utterly contrived sub-titles; such as a torn photograph with the note "pocket change" or some such ridiculousness) and then pick the one that best answers the question. About 90% of the time, it's the obvious one. For the Marmet example it would be the note he found expressly stating "My name is Jim, the Marmet Strangler". The rest are requesting you put the clues in some kind of order. For example "Why are my pants on fire?" You would expect "Lighter Fluid. Match. Panic." as your only three clues to be the correct order. Oh, how mistaken you would be. The owner of said pants Panicked over a bad call in a Football Game and spilled the Lighter Fluid on himself and was set on fire by the ghost of an angry stove. You got it backwards, "Detective" Louse.

All-in-All it's an okay game with an okay storyline with the interactive part just haphazardly thrown in like a hilarious shout-out to the good old CDI days.

I anticipated the heck out of this game, but now my PS4 goes back to collecting dust until September. Bah.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed

posted by Bubbles_QF (BEAVERTON, OR) Jun 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game crashed after like the third mission. And then I couldn't load my saved file because it was corrupt or not found.

I wasn't that far so I restarted it and I couldn't skip some of the cut scenes so it was boring since I'd just seen those same scenes.

I played for a few hours and thought it was okay. I wasn't bored but wasn't super excited about the game play. There is no way to save the game so I waited until the auto save popped up and went away and then I quit to the games main menu before shutting off my ps4. Next time I went to play it can't load my game. It doesn't say there are any issues it just shows the loading screen but never actually loads.

Very disappointed but I'm too far into it to start over again and do it all over for a third time. Especially since I'd be worried it would glitch again.

The town is also very very small which wasn't impressive. Also a mini map would have been nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A very unpolished supernatural story

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Jun 28, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed with Murdered:Soul Suspect. On paper this game seems like a terrific idea... A detective investigating a serial killer in spooky Salem, MASS ends up getting offed by the killer he was trying to find. The detective isn't your run-of-the-mill gumshoe; Ronan has a troubled past being that he was a thief and troublemaker that managed to turn his life around. So Ronan after getting killed doesn't really die, persists as a ghost, and continues his pursuit of the Bell Killer. Trouble is this nifty idea for a game was poorly translated into actual gameplay that is enjoyable. Detective work basically consists of finding a group of objects within a certain area, clicking on them, and putting the clues together to whatever lead Ronan is working on. If you pick the wrong clues, you just guess again until pick the correct ones to solve the puzzle. The other aspect of gameplay consists of "demons" that sometimes spawn that have to be stealth killed from behind. And..that's about all there is to Murdered: Soul Suspect. This amount of content would be good for a game 10 or 15 years ago but these days it just doesn't cut it. A bigger problem I had with the game was the numerous bugs / glitches that make it seem very unpolished. Things like clues not spawning where they are supposed to that makes you restart checkpoints, numerous NPCs with the same character model / voice / dialogue spawning next to each other, and also my mission objective on the pause screen was perma stuck at one of the early missions in the game and never fixed. The game has higher frame rate than many 30 fps games but it's unevenness leads to the worst screen tearing and stuttering when you turn the camera I've seen on the PS4.I managed to finish the game in under 8 hours and all in all I would only suggest this as a rental if you have played all the other PS4 games released thus far.

SuperMcMutant (PSN)
FalloutNewVegaz (Xbox)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Fun

posted by BroncoNate (REDFORD, MI) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This gmae like wow it has a ok story line but other then that i cant stand it played it for about a hour and a half and was still waiting for the fun to happen this game to me is not worth $0.01 dont rent unless you like games like CSI thats about all you can do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Would have been cool...

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 7, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Maybe with some more survival horror elements, or something. This game feels really one-dimensional by modern standards. Kind of a flat set of mechanics. It might have been seen as a really clever game on the PS2. It might have even seemed deep, and intriguing back in the day, ya know?

The game is presented nice enough, but it feels like a game that's ten years old, and has been "remastered" for the current generation. I suppose you could find this super enjoyable if you were looking to play an old-school game that was really cutting edge for its time, on a brand new system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad game like no others!!!

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 2, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

Bad Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Soul Suckspect!

posted by SnootHonk (OROVILLE, CA) Oct 1, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

After playing through Soul Suspect, I opine that the game could have been much better than it is. Soul Suspect is a nice diversion from the ubiquitous genres which dominate our gaming experiences, but, even with some noticable flaws, this game can provide a moderate level of entertainment if you're into this niche genre. Granted, it's no L.A. Noir, but if you found enjoyment in said game, Soul Suspect delivers a similar detective motif which is worth renting, but buying the game might prove to be a foolish endeavor. Soul Suspect's visual presentation leaves much to be desired, as the graphics appear predominitaly last-gen. With the relatively poor graphics aside, it is a fun game to some extent, but it involves very little combat and can be surmised as a game in which you collect a seemingly infinite number of clues and collectibles which are used to decipher a handful of cases for NPCs bound to pergatory, which, yield trophies. In fact, simple trophy accumulation is one of this games shining achievements, as the Platinum trophy triumph is essencially handed to you. But basically, all you do is run around Salem and its edifices, collecting items, and solving relatively juvenile mysteries which are literally handed to you with no repucussions for failure, so when you do make a mistake, one can solve virtually any given case via trial and error. There do exist roaming demons which you occasionally encounter and must be dealt with, but they are few and far between, easily dispatched, and never become more challenging as the game progresses. There may be a few redeeming values, but ultimately, Soul Suspect fails on many levels. Sure, it's an atypical game in which some players may find solace in solving, but in many respects I find this game to be in the realm of mediocrity, not to mention containing a handful of minor glitches and game-freezing errors. I figured SquareSoft, with their legacy, could have fine-tuned the game to be better than it has proven. Rent only!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Needs more action and less crashes.

posted by Astronskas (AUBURNDALE, FL) Sep 21, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

I enjoyed the story line of the game and even the character development. The bad part of the game was no action, only an occasional part where you have to sneak up behind a demon and execute a button combination. There were also many times where the game would stop working and cause an error message for no reason. If you like a thinking game where a keen eye is necessary then this might be for you. Beware of frustrating error messages though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Trying too hard - good story, but meh game play

posted by RevPete (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Sep 20, 2014

Member since Dec 2007

Face it, everybody loves a game with a new idea, and Murdered, Soul Suspect was definitely in that camp. It's not that it was a horrible game. The story was decent, the acting was decent, but the game play felt forced and annoying.

I played it all the way through. I think it was written pretty well as a story. But when you find yourself annoyed by having to fight through scenes with demons that are pretty much all the same, and go over the top to try to be frightening with the music and the screams, it breaks the story up and has no need. (I understand why they did it... How else are you going to threaten someone who is already dead...) But it makes for a disjointed story.

The rest of the game play was reasonable, but poorly executed. You struggle to get the right camera angle so that you can inspect certain objects. And your pathways are always blocked with mystery ghostly objects that make very little sense.

Maybe rent it if you like ghosts, witches, and cops, but don't expect it to live up to the hype.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by NINJA_ZERO Sep 13, 2014

I was thinking who is the killer be? I was really shock who was its really awsome END

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Soul driven!

posted by Bacon1 (CARROLLTON, TX) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

The options are high! The church is a 10! Same with X box..1..$

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It Was Straight

posted by SwolPriest (TACOMA, WA) Sep 10, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

The game could have been a little longer. My wife loved it. It was like playing a movie. The graphics were cool. The story line was great. I would recommend if you love solving and fixing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just like L.A. Noire, Needs some work

posted by kblakely92 (KANSAS CITY, KS) Sep 9, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

The amazing story line is what makes this game a good one
However fairly short, it has to be a fairly entertaining story if you are a fan of Salem's history or the book The Crucible. This has many cross references to the book and historical events as such that make this game more effective.

It has an L.A. Noire style, in which you have a small area for solving the mysteries. They are a bit of child's play where the answer to the mystery is obvious. The other problem aside from how short it is the performances of the characters. The voice acting could have been better.

All in all it was decent I loved the storyline mostly and it was a very unique spin on the ghost and Salem stories. I gave it an 8 based solely on storyline if I based it off gameplay and such things it would be a 6 and a half.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

murdered soul

posted by luisgarcia562 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 2, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Bored game nasty not recommended you will waste in your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring

posted by BigEdward (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Sep 2, 2014

Member since Jul 2008

Boring, to me, is a cardinal sin in games. You wander around forever trying to find the clues, just wander around, that pretty much the whole game, just wandering around.

Don't waste your time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Suprisingly interesting game

posted by soli3us (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Aug 28, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

Although it was by no means the most polished of games, Murdered: Soul Suspect was a fun game. I enjoyed the gameplay and the novelty of being a ghost and moving through walls. The detective aspects of the game were sometimes pretty simplistic, but it was still interesting. The story was nothing earth shattering, but the historical connection with the Salem Witch Trials was pretty cool in my opinion. This game may not be for everyone but I'm happy I gave it a chance and played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad

posted by cujo4844 (ROGERSVILLE, TN) Aug 26, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game was alright the story line of it was alsome walking threw walls was great the graphs were fine but they could have put a little effort into it but the freedom of motion what got me all you mainly do is walk around it need movement like in infamous and fighting demons was kinda broaring all their is to it is snicking up behide them zapping them not really hard or exciting and could use more ghost abilities you don't get alot just basic common ones mainly not to many of your own unique ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Would of gave it a 7 but it crashed

posted by drexel975 (SAVANNAH, GA) Aug 22, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Well I kinda liked this game. Not much action but it was interesting. I was going to give it a 7 but about halfway thru the game, after several hours of playing it crashed for no reason.

Then it said my save was corrupted. After a while looking into it on the web it seems that this is a common thing. There have been no patches because the company who created the game went out of business. Geez.

Besides that it was an interesting game. The story is pretty good. The graphics are ok. There is really very little action in this game tho. All the action consists of sneaking up behind demons and hitting a couple diff buttons to kill em. Thats it. The rest of the game is finding clues to solve your murder and the deaths of other ghosts.

But for all the bad things about this game i enjoyed it. Then when i get halfway thru the game to the mental hospital it crashes. Such a waste. I only saw one way to save and that was thru autosave. A few ppl on the web reccomended making your own saves after every chapter and uploading the saves to the PSN cloud. Im not sure how you do this but if you get this game make sure you do it. I really wasnt in the mood to start the game over. Its not that good to me.

So i deducted 4 points because of the crash, the lost of my saved game, and zero support/patches from the designer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great playable story

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Aug 17, 2014

Member since Jan 2010

If you're looking for your typical game, move on. If you look at it in that light, you'll be greatly disappointed. Instead, if you like what was promised (and in my opinion is still lacking) in disks like Beyond Two Souls, Heavy Rain, and Indigo Prophecy, the experience here excels. You won't get much in the lines of Choose Your Own Adventure, but the game makers wanted to tell you a story, and they did a great job of it.

As for the negatives here, it all comes from when the game makers tried to put some aspects of a game here. The combat is bad. We're talking "free with your cell phone bad." As long as you pay attention when the game explains battling demons the first time, it's a breeze, and just a minor distraction to the rest of the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Change of Pace

posted by LadyPashta (BIGFORK, MT) Aug 8, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

This game is fun. I do think the demons are annoying and unnecessary, probably thrown in for the action/horror crowd, but this kept my attention and I think they did a pretty good job with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

True Reviews

posted by StephenKnows (SEYMOUR, TN) Aug 6, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

This game Is quite fun going through a small town it has plenty of spooky stuff in the game. you're not alone u see more ghost in the game as u play. And ur job is to find the killer. and look out for the Demons. and u can help other ghost and find out what happened to them. that's my Review for Murdered soul suspect. and yes its worth a play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not so much a game as interactive movie

posted by DINGLExBERRY (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 29, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

What the title says. There's nothing really great about this game.
CONS:
- The graphics are above par but still just "ok";
- the gameplay is repetitive and somewhat boring with minimal action and the little bit of action that IS there (fighting demons) is more of a nuisance than anything else - it's mostly focused on you walking around and finding things, that's basically >90% of the game;
- plenty of glitches - some ghost characters would not talk (no sound), my "current objective" in the clues menu was stuck at "find the witness" THE ENTIRE GAME;
- at times cheesy;
- very little to do in the game besides the main story;
- overall feels more like an interactive movie (go here, press this, etc.) than a game - absolutely no skill required (except for being smart about how to approach demons from behind).
PROS:
- The story is mediocre overall and fairly emotionless but the ending has more of a "twist" than I expected, which was nice (I expected a twist, but my guess of the end was not entirely correct, it turned out to be much more elaborate - though definitely rushed, not much of a resolution going on);
- the game has a sense of creepiness that could pass it as a horror game - I enjoyed the small ghost stories from side quests (collecting all of the particular items), they were legitimately creepy.

I finished it because I already started playing the game and wanted to know how it would end, but I was really just trying to "hurry up" and finish it, which tells you that the experience is not exactly enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game does not work

posted by ambblahh (GRAND BLANC, MI) Jul 28, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

This game has great graphics and a fun plot. It's so picky about when you can select items though that it make it not enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse