Rent Murdered: Soul Suspect for PS4
view large frontback

Murdered: Soul Suspect

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $24.99

GF Rating
6.0

956 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Will take a specific type of gamer

posted by JackTRich14 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Jun 7, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying first that i love many different types of gameplay, as long as there is a decent story to go with it. I love games like GTA and, more recently, Watch Dogs and Wolfenstein. I also love even more, games that take initiative such as Beyond: Two Souls (anything by Quantic Dream actually), Telltales the walking dead and the wolf among us, and other games that enjoy telling an interactive and engaging story rather than making sure you're taking shots at ever turn. Murdered tends to fall in the middle of that. This is a game that begins, as many others have said, where a game usually ends. With the protagonist, Ronan O'Connor, meeting his end by a serial killer plaguing the town of Salem, home to the famous Salem Witch Trials. Ronan finds after his death that he cannot leave this world until he finishes whatever is still holding him, which is finding his killer. While definitely a story based game, the demons, which i found rather annoying but not overly so by the games end, try to sort of blend some elements of sneaking/action games. While it does serve a purpose, i never really felt it was done properly. So while it's nice to have a change of pace every once in awhile, and its not too often the demons appear, it just feels unnecessary sometimes. Now to the true purpose of the game and thats being a ghost and discovering a mystery. While the story will not leave you jumping out of your seat, it is definitely one well worth experiencing. Plenty of interesting twists occur in this story and will leave you guessing until the very last scene. If nothing else it is a completely unique story. A mystery well worth solving, and the two main characters are definitely worth becoming acquainted with. Gameplay is very unique, playing as a ghost has it's advantages, such as possessing others and walking through walls, as well as a few other skills i wont spoil. Ultimately it is a game for specific gamers, one that i enjoyed.
Story 10/10
Graphics 7/10
GP 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Murdered: Soul Suspect PS4 Version Review

posted by HulkGod (CALEDONIA, MN) Jun 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First off you die in the very beginning of the game and become a ghost. You are helped a long the way by certain ghosts and living people.

It's hard to compare this game to any other game out there really, it has many aspects of a lot of games, but no real aspects of any one specific game.

There are aspects of CSI and LA Noir and how the crime fits together. You can look at the clues, you can possess people and eavesdrop to their conversation and sometimes you can influence their memory depending if you collected enough evidence. If it turns green its the right one, if it turns red the wrong one. It's pretty simple.

There are collectables scattered throughout different areas of the game, some in the town, some in the different places you go to. They all unlock a window to a ghost story.

You do receive some special ghost powers but nothing to that really stands out that is awe inspiring. As for enemies in the game, there are pits of souls you have to try to avoid and demons. Demons, I have to say are the worst. While you can kill them. They are not always the easiest to kill. Sometimes its just easier to go around them.

This game is REALLY SHORT I beat in a few hours. The story line is fairly interesting although one NPC says around the 1800's but it was actually around the late 1600's.

It's also really easy to get a lot of trophies in a short amount of time.

My only gripes I had wished the NPC reacted to the poltergeist activity better, NPC had more than 2 lines of dialogue.

While I did enjoy this game. It was really really short. Based on the reviews I read I didn't have real high hopes for it, but I rented anyway. Overall its a RENTAL game. I give a 6.5, but since there is no halves on here. I will give it a 7.

If you like different games from the mainstream and games that make you think and just when you think you know who the killer is, this one will surprise you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Who's the detective here...

posted by Lyniaer (WILLIAMSPORT, PA) Jun 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is like...playing Russian Roulette with blanks.

Murdered starts out with Ronan O'Conner, who's as Irish as you can get without the Leprechaun accent, who after a life of crime turns to police work. He's shot dead at the beginning of the game for trying too hard and you spend the next six hours trying to resolve his issues so he can go to heaven...we assume he simply apologized for his criminal behavior (including murder) and it's all good, now.

Insulting religion aside, this game also enjoys insulting your intelligence. The sometimesokay voice acting of Jason Brooks (of Days of Our Lives or Baywatch fame, depending on your generation) does a great job of flat out telling you all the answers after you wander around a 10x10 foot area picking up all the shinies. After that, you are faced with a simple question (Who killed this girl's Marmet?) and have to take the clues (arranged with utterly contrived sub-titles; such as a torn photograph with the note "pocket change" or some such ridiculousness) and then pick the one that best answers the question. About 90% of the time, it's the obvious one. For the Marmet example it would be the note he found expressly stating "My name is Jim, the Marmet Strangler". The rest are requesting you put the clues in some kind of order. For example "Why are my pants on fire?" You would expect "Lighter Fluid. Match. Panic." as your only three clues to be the correct order. Oh, how mistaken you would be. The owner of said pants Panicked over a bad call in a Football Game and spilled the Lighter Fluid on himself and was set on fire by the ghost of an angry stove. You got it backwards, "Detective" Louse.

All-in-All it's an okay game with an okay storyline with the interactive part just haphazardly thrown in like a hilarious shout-out to the good old CDI days.

I anticipated the heck out of this game, but now my PS4 goes back to collecting dust until September. Bah.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed

posted by Bubbles_QF (BEAVERTON, OR) Jun 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game crashed after like the third mission. And then I couldn't load my saved file because it was corrupt or not found.

I wasn't that far so I restarted it and I couldn't skip some of the cut scenes so it was boring since I'd just seen those same scenes.

I played for a few hours and thought it was okay. I wasn't bored but wasn't super excited about the game play. There is no way to save the game so I waited until the auto save popped up and went away and then I quit to the games main menu before shutting off my ps4. Next time I went to play it can't load my game. It doesn't say there are any issues it just shows the loading screen but never actually loads.

Very disappointed but I'm too far into it to start over again and do it all over for a third time. Especially since I'd be worried it would glitch again.

The town is also very very small which wasn't impressive. Also a mini map would have been nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A very unpolished supernatural story

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Jun 28, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed with Murdered:Soul Suspect. On paper this game seems like a terrific idea... A detective investigating a serial killer in spooky Salem, MASS ends up getting offed by the killer he was trying to find. The detective isn't your run-of-the-mill gumshoe; Ronan has a troubled past being that he was a thief and troublemaker that managed to turn his life around. So Ronan after getting killed doesn't really die, persists as a ghost, and continues his pursuit of the Bell Killer. Trouble is this nifty idea for a game was poorly translated into actual gameplay that is enjoyable. Detective work basically consists of finding a group of objects within a certain area, clicking on them, and putting the clues together to whatever lead Ronan is working on. If you pick the wrong clues, you just guess again until pick the correct ones to solve the puzzle. The other aspect of gameplay consists of "demons" that sometimes spawn that have to be stealth killed from behind. And..that's about all there is to Murdered: Soul Suspect. This amount of content would be good for a game 10 or 15 years ago but these days it just doesn't cut it. A bigger problem I had with the game was the numerous bugs / glitches that make it seem very unpolished. Things like clues not spawning where they are supposed to that makes you restart checkpoints, numerous NPCs with the same character model / voice / dialogue spawning next to each other, and also my mission objective on the pause screen was perma stuck at one of the early missions in the game and never fixed. The game has higher frame rate than many 30 fps games but it's unevenness leads to the worst screen tearing and stuttering when you turn the camera I've seen on the PS4.I managed to finish the game in under 8 hours and all in all I would only suggest this as a rental if you have played all the other PS4 games released thus far.

SuperMcMutant (PSN)
FalloutNewVegaz (Xbox)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Fun

posted by BroncoNate (REDFORD, MI) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This gmae like wow it has a ok story line but other then that i cant stand it played it for about a hour and a half and was still waiting for the fun to happen this game to me is not worth $0.01 dont rent unless you like games like CSI thats about all you can do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Would have been cool...

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 7, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Maybe with some more survival horror elements, or something. This game feels really one-dimensional by modern standards. Kind of a flat set of mechanics. It might have been seen as a really clever game on the PS2. It might have even seemed deep, and intriguing back in the day, ya know?

The game is presented nice enough, but it feels like a game that's ten years old, and has been "remastered" for the current generation. I suppose you could find this super enjoyable if you were looking to play an old-school game that was really cutting edge for its time, on a brand new system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

decent. but with errors

posted by rjhernpg (OCALA, FL) Dec 20, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

The game itself wasnt bad. I dogged the storyline and the dynamics. Just eay too many bugs to be enjoyable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I like the idea, but...

posted by mudixon (GRIMESLAND, NC) Dec 20, 2014

Member since Aug 2004

The story, premise, setting all seemed perfect for the type of game I enjoy. However, once I got into it, I struggled with character movement (what could be moved through, what could not, and the demons that sometimes seem impossible to kill or cause way too much delay in moving the story forward). If this game were more of an open-world game Assassin's Creed-like), I probably would have enjoyed it more. I just couldn't adjust to how the game was played and the limitations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good potential, Too many bugs

posted by Marksman170 (Bronx, NY) Dec 17, 2014

Member since Sep 2011

murdered soul suspect is a great game especially since it offers unique experiences and gameplay, the reason for the low score is buggy gameplay. I've encountered a few bugs that required me to start the chapter over and one bug that was game braking were I couldn't progress unless I started the game over. I really like the puzzle solving adventure game genre... specially the sherlock holmes game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Interesting game

posted by Signal20 (SPRING HILL, FL) Dec 1, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

I wanted a change of pace from the usual FPS, MMO, RPG games and heard some good things about Murdered Soul Suspect. As a trophy hunter, I also heard it wasn't hard to platinum.

The story is interesting and game play isn't bad. I did have to cheat and look up some guides for some of the collectibles. Overall, it was a good game. History buffs and paranormal fans may find extra enjoyment too.

Perfect game to rent, I would never purchase it as I have no interest to replay the story. Got my platinum and onto the next!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Who is Carmen Sandiego

posted by Thecoolr (MESA, AZ) Nov 28, 2014

Member since Jul 2010

I enjoy games of all kinds. Though I play some FPS and RTS I personally love story driven games and look forward to playing games that are not the standard cookie cutter mold of this gaming generation. However, that being said, my honest critique of this game is rather dismal. The graphics sure are pretty but the control scheme is right out of PlayStation 2/ Game Cube era, the story line is rubish, and the main clue segments are like playing Who is Carmen Sandiego on the PC circa 1990.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

If I wanted to watch a movie I'd rent one

posted by cattsurfer (DOUGLASSVILLE, PA) Nov 26, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Seriously boring. . No real choices to make..game to pkay...your just watching a movie with a controller in your hand. ...pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not a fun game

posted by tickdawgrulez1 (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) Nov 19, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

My experience with this game is just dreadful as the story is not very exciting and the gameplay is just flat out boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun and Laid Back (I try not to have spolers)

posted by Anubis833 (OWENSBORO, KY) Nov 9, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

This game was pretty easy. But that doesn't mean it wasn't fun. This games cons in no way makes this game not worth playing, just ways that it could have and should have made it better. Interesting story with some nice background stories if you like history or the salem witch trials. Had some small ways to try to make it kinda survival horror-ish, but you can tell it wasn't really meant to be that kind of game.

Pros:
--Interesting story and backstories
--Interesting powers/abilities
--Laid Back game to sit and enjoy without any stress

Cons:
--Graphics, not that graphics really bother me, but for ps4 I was surprised at how ps2/ps3 they were.
--Linear. There could have been so much more added to this short game.
--Walking through walls, not itself bad, but you are just so used to not being able to do this you forget that you can do it.
--No stress in thinking you might die or if you die all the lost progress, no penalties for incorrect guessing, just do it again.
--Not enough side missions/ghosts to help
--final "fight" or whatever was anticlimactic

Tips:
--If you are doing the collector trophies do not leave the museum the first go without collecting everything in it

Fun game. Not worth the 60 bucks in my opinion. Def worth renting or waiting for a bargain bin. Not really any replay value though and its pretty short. They could have done so much with this game, I am hoping that it was just a test and a sequel or like game with much more will come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

just so so

posted by erockshady (EATON RAPIDS, MI) Nov 5, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

all in all the game wasnt that bad but there were major flaws first off you only fight one type of enemy via sneak attacks and your working to solve a murder case thats was to super natural but i did like the supporting cast and the main character was meh and the game was very short

so id only advise renting this game if u played all the good titles

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not that Bad

posted by Happy1607 (DANVERS, MA) Nov 5, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

For starters I like the game. If you don't like puzzle or problem solving type games than your probably not going to like this. The story is really good, I like how they put it together. I personally wouldn't buy it mostly because it doesn't have any replay value. In all honesty I say It's a good play at least once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very enjoyable game

posted by akrobert (DELTA JUNCTION, AK) Nov 2, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

Very fun and engaging. Definitely worth playing but short. Took about 7 or 8 hours. A good single player. Definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been better

posted by HandicapMan (HURRICANE, WV) Oct 26, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

This game was based on a great idea but it fell short. Constant glitches and errors made it more of a pain to play than it was worth. Tried reloading the game and still about every third time it would go into a save mode it would come up error and would boot me out of the game and when it wasn't doing that, glitches would get you. It constantly read that my current objective was to exit the attic, which is close to the beginning of the game and never changed, when locating items you had to be at just the right spot to find them or they wouldn't show up, you could walk all around something and it not show up until you were at a certain spot. No map at all made it a bit more of a pain too. You had better remember well how to get around or you will get lost a lot. Also when it glitched at times it would erase my progress and make me start that level over again. Despite all of this I also got through the game in about seven hours. All in all this could of been a great game if a bit more thought and effort would have been put into it, to allow you to do more and be an actual ghost. If you can get through it without the glitches and errors its worth playing once. that's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Glitches

posted by birdguy83 (NEW BALTIMORE, MI) Oct 22, 2014

Member since Jan 2012

The story was interesting and finding all of the collectibles added to the lore. The graphics where good except the repetitious faces of the npcs and many of them had the same dialogue.

The main issue I had was the game would crash when loading or saving frequently. Especially in the last sequence of the game. It crashed 7 times in a row while loading.

Other complaints would be the animations arent very smooth and some bad clipping at times.

I would recommend this game for a rent if you are into interesting story lines. If you want action or a AAA type game you may want to skip over this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

nice concept but poor execution

posted by wsolomon4 (DETROIT, MI) Oct 18, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

Graphics are sub par story is lacking game has terrible balance characters are not interesting this games progression feels all over objectives make little sense like the enemies do barely worth a rent I would never buy this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interestingly Bland

posted by Salitin (DICKINSON, ND) Oct 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

Murdered Soul Suspect is a mixed bag. One moment your curious whats going on, the next your tired of it being bland.

--Pros--
Mystery Game. If your a fan of the genre then give it a go, its not the best by any means but it does an okay job at giving you a good mystery thrill.

New Ideas. The fact that you play a ghost the entire game but still are a detective trying to solve not only your murder but the murder of others is rather interesting. The try to push the new idea and it does come through off and on.

--Cons--
Crashes. Now I beat the game in one sitting and I had no problems until the last hour of the game. Each time I failed a section and it had to reload, it just crashed during the load, this was also with the most recent update of the game.

Combat. The game tries hard to give you something else to do then just walk around constantly, this comes in the form of Demons and the game then turns into a cheap stealth game. If one finds you, you have to hide and bounce between these ghost portals to stay hidden. This is a con for me because of how often I would go to execute one and it would hear me, even when the prompt came up to stop it.

The End. The last bit of the game felt off, I can't say much without spoiling it but I never really felt like any of the investigations really had any weight at the end of the game. I felt robbed.

In closing the game is worth a go if you need a quick Mystery fix. The genre has far better mystery games that deserve your attention first however. Sherlock Holmes, Beyond Two Souls, Heavy Rain or even if you still have a ps2 or xbox Indigo Prophecy. It won't blow you away but it also might waste a game Q slot. 4-6 hours if you have time to waste. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth a rent - not a buy!

posted by bradleysux (DAVENPORT, FL) Oct 12, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

Gameplay wise, it's a bunch of walking, talking, and interacting with/observing your surroundings with occasional stealth elements. The story takes the spotlight here. However, it isn't that great. It's rather slow and some parts are predictable. (The ending has a very nice twist to it though!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

lots of bugs, boring game play and story.

posted by plague35 (GLASSBORO, NJ) Oct 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

If you like boring games that rarely work than this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Different

posted by maniacjc (OMAHA, NE) Oct 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

This felt more like an interactive movie. But for the most part kept my attention. Game glitches a lot. I had it crash in numerous places but after restarting it would work again until the next crash anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse