Rent Murdered: Soul Suspect for PS4
view large frontback

Murdered: Soul Suspect

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.1

744 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Will take a specific type of gamer

posted by JackTRich14 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Jun 7, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying first that i love many different types of gameplay, as long as there is a decent story to go with it. I love games like GTA and, more recently, Watch Dogs and Wolfenstein. I also love even more, games that take initiative such as Beyond: Two Souls (anything by Quantic Dream actually), Telltales the walking dead and the wolf among us, and other games that enjoy telling an interactive and engaging story rather than making sure you're taking shots at ever turn. Murdered tends to fall in the middle of that. This is a game that begins, as many others have said, where a game usually ends. With the protagonist, Ronan O'Connor, meeting his end by a serial killer plaguing the town of Salem, home to the famous Salem Witch Trials. Ronan finds after his death that he cannot leave this world until he finishes whatever is still holding him, which is finding his killer. While definitely a story based game, the demons, which i found rather annoying but not overly so by the games end, try to sort of blend some elements of sneaking/action games. While it does serve a purpose, i never really felt it was done properly. So while it's nice to have a change of pace every once in awhile, and its not too often the demons appear, it just feels unnecessary sometimes. Now to the true purpose of the game and thats being a ghost and discovering a mystery. While the story will not leave you jumping out of your seat, it is definitely one well worth experiencing. Plenty of interesting twists occur in this story and will leave you guessing until the very last scene. If nothing else it is a completely unique story. A mystery well worth solving, and the two main characters are definitely worth becoming acquainted with. Gameplay is very unique, playing as a ghost has it's advantages, such as possessing others and walking through walls, as well as a few other skills i wont spoil. Ultimately it is a game for specific gamers, one that i enjoyed.
Story 10/10
Graphics 7/10
GP 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Murdered: Soul Suspect PS4 Version Review

posted by HulkGod (CALEDONIA, MN) Jun 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off you die in the very beginning of the game and become a ghost. You are helped a long the way by certain ghosts and living people.

It's hard to compare this game to any other game out there really, it has many aspects of a lot of games, but no real aspects of any one specific game.

There are aspects of CSI and LA Noir and how the crime fits together. You can look at the clues, you can possess people and eavesdrop to their conversation and sometimes you can influence their memory depending if you collected enough evidence. If it turns green its the right one, if it turns red the wrong one. It's pretty simple.

There are collectables scattered throughout different areas of the game, some in the town, some in the different places you go to. They all unlock a window to a ghost story.

You do receive some special ghost powers but nothing to that really stands out that is awe inspiring. As for enemies in the game, there are pits of souls you have to try to avoid and demons. Demons, I have to say are the worst. While you can kill them. They are not always the easiest to kill. Sometimes its just easier to go around them.

This game is REALLY SHORT I beat in a few hours. The story line is fairly interesting although one NPC says around the 1800's but it was actually around the late 1600's.

It's also really easy to get a lot of trophies in a short amount of time.

My only gripes I had wished the NPC reacted to the poltergeist activity better, NPC had more than 2 lines of dialogue.

While I did enjoy this game. It was really really short. Based on the reviews I read I didn't have real high hopes for it, but I rented anyway. Overall its a RENTAL game. I give a 6.5, but since there is no halves on here. I will give it a 7.

If you like different games from the mainstream and games that make you think and just when you think you know who the killer is, this one will surprise you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Who's the detective here...

posted by Lyniaer (WILLIAMSPORT, PA) Jun 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is like...playing Russian Roulette with blanks.

Murdered starts out with Ronan O'Conner, who's as Irish as you can get without the Leprechaun accent, who after a life of crime turns to police work. He's shot dead at the beginning of the game for trying too hard and you spend the next six hours trying to resolve his issues so he can go to heaven...we assume he simply apologized for his criminal behavior (including murder) and it's all good, now.

Insulting religion aside, this game also enjoys insulting your intelligence. The sometimesokay voice acting of Jason Brooks (of Days of Our Lives or Baywatch fame, depending on your generation) does a great job of flat out telling you all the answers after you wander around a 10x10 foot area picking up all the shinies. After that, you are faced with a simple question (Who killed this girl's Marmet?) and have to take the clues (arranged with utterly contrived sub-titles; such as a torn photograph with the note "pocket change" or some such ridiculousness) and then pick the one that best answers the question. About 90% of the time, it's the obvious one. For the Marmet example it would be the note he found expressly stating "My name is Jim, the Marmet Strangler". The rest are requesting you put the clues in some kind of order. For example "Why are my pants on fire?" You would expect "Lighter Fluid. Match. Panic." as your only three clues to be the correct order. Oh, how mistaken you would be. The owner of said pants Panicked over a bad call in a Football Game and spilled the Lighter Fluid on himself and was set on fire by the ghost of an angry stove. You got it backwards, "Detective" Louse.

All-in-All it's an okay game with an okay storyline with the interactive part just haphazardly thrown in like a hilarious shout-out to the good old CDI days.

I anticipated the heck out of this game, but now my PS4 goes back to collecting dust until September. Bah.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed

posted by Bubbles_QF (BEAVERTON, OR) Jun 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game crashed after like the third mission. And then I couldn't load my saved file because it was corrupt or not found.

I wasn't that far so I restarted it and I couldn't skip some of the cut scenes so it was boring since I'd just seen those same scenes.

I played for a few hours and thought it was okay. I wasn't bored but wasn't super excited about the game play. There is no way to save the game so I waited until the auto save popped up and went away and then I quit to the games main menu before shutting off my ps4. Next time I went to play it can't load my game. It doesn't say there are any issues it just shows the loading screen but never actually loads.

Very disappointed but I'm too far into it to start over again and do it all over for a third time. Especially since I'd be worried it would glitch again.

The town is also very very small which wasn't impressive. Also a mini map would have been nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A very unpolished supernatural story

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Jun 28, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed with Murdered:Soul Suspect. On paper this game seems like a terrific idea... A detective investigating a serial killer in spooky Salem, MASS ends up getting offed by the killer he was trying to find. The detective isn't your run-of-the-mill gumshoe; Ronan has a troubled past being that he was a thief and troublemaker that managed to turn his life around. So Ronan after getting killed doesn't really die, persists as a ghost, and continues his pursuit of the Bell Killer. Trouble is this nifty idea for a game was poorly translated into actual gameplay that is enjoyable. Detective work basically consists of finding a group of objects within a certain area, clicking on them, and putting the clues together to whatever lead Ronan is working on. If you pick the wrong clues, you just guess again until pick the correct ones to solve the puzzle. The other aspect of gameplay consists of "demons" that sometimes spawn that have to be stealth killed from behind. And..that's about all there is to Murdered: Soul Suspect. This amount of content would be good for a game 10 or 15 years ago but these days it just doesn't cut it. A bigger problem I had with the game was the numerous bugs / glitches that make it seem very unpolished. Things like clues not spawning where they are supposed to that makes you restart checkpoints, numerous NPCs with the same character model / voice / dialogue spawning next to each other, and also my mission objective on the pause screen was perma stuck at one of the early missions in the game and never fixed. The game has higher frame rate than many 30 fps games but it's unevenness leads to the worst screen tearing and stuttering when you turn the camera I've seen on the PS4.I managed to finish the game in under 8 hours and all in all I would only suggest this as a rental if you have played all the other PS4 games released thus far.

SuperMcMutant (PSN)
FalloutNewVegaz (Xbox)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Fun

posted by BroncoNate (REDFORD, MI) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This gmae like wow it has a ok story line but other then that i cant stand it played it for about a hour and a half and was still waiting for the fun to happen this game to me is not worth $0.01 dont rent unless you like games like CSI thats about all you can do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Would have been cool...

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 7, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Maybe with some more survival horror elements, or something. This game feels really one-dimensional by modern standards. Kind of a flat set of mechanics. It might have been seen as a really clever game on the PS2. It might have even seemed deep, and intriguing back in the day, ya know?

The game is presented nice enough, but it feels like a game that's ten years old, and has been "remastered" for the current generation. I suppose you could find this super enjoyable if you were looking to play an old-school game that was really cutting edge for its time, on a brand new system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been better

posted by HandicapMan (HURRICANE, WV) Oct 26, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

This game was based on a great idea but it fell short. Constant glitches and errors made it more of a pain to play than it was worth. Tried reloading the game and still about every third time it would go into a save mode it would come up error and would boot me out of the game and when it wasn't doing that, glitches would get you. It constantly read that my current objective was to exit the attic, which is close to the beginning of the game and never changed, when locating items you had to be at just the right spot to find them or they wouldn't show up, you could walk all around something and it not show up until you were at a certain spot. No map at all made it a bit more of a pain too. You had better remember well how to get around or you will get lost a lot. Also when it glitched at times it would erase my progress and make me start that level over again. Despite all of this I also got through the game in about seven hours. All in all this could of been a great game if a bit more thought and effort would have been put into it, to allow you to do more and be an actual ghost. If you can get through it without the glitches and errors its worth playing once. that's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Glitches

posted by birdguy83 (NEW BALTIMORE, MI) Oct 22, 2014

Member since Jan 2012

The story was interesting and finding all of the collectibles added to the lore. The graphics where good except the repetitious faces of the npcs and many of them had the same dialogue.

The main issue I had was the game would crash when loading or saving frequently. Especially in the last sequence of the game. It crashed 7 times in a row while loading.

Other complaints would be the animations arent very smooth and some bad clipping at times.

I would recommend this game for a rent if you are into interesting story lines. If you want action or a AAA type game you may want to skip over this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

nice concept but poor execution

posted by wsolomon4 (DETROIT, MI) Oct 18, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

Graphics are sub par story is lacking game has terrible balance characters are not interesting this games progression feels all over objectives make little sense like the enemies do barely worth a rent I would never buy this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interestingly Bland

posted by Salitin (DICKINSON, ND) Oct 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

Murdered Soul Suspect is a mixed bag. One moment your curious whats going on, the next your tired of it being bland.

--Pros--
Mystery Game. If your a fan of the genre then give it a go, its not the best by any means but it does an okay job at giving you a good mystery thrill.

New Ideas. The fact that you play a ghost the entire game but still are a detective trying to solve not only your murder but the murder of others is rather interesting. The try to push the new idea and it does come through off and on.

--Cons--
Crashes. Now I beat the game in one sitting and I had no problems until the last hour of the game. Each time I failed a section and it had to reload, it just crashed during the load, this was also with the most recent update of the game.

Combat. The game tries hard to give you something else to do then just walk around constantly, this comes in the form of Demons and the game then turns into a cheap stealth game. If one finds you, you have to hide and bounce between these ghost portals to stay hidden. This is a con for me because of how often I would go to execute one and it would hear me, even when the prompt came up to stop it.

The End. The last bit of the game felt off, I can't say much without spoiling it but I never really felt like any of the investigations really had any weight at the end of the game. I felt robbed.

In closing the game is worth a go if you need a quick Mystery fix. The genre has far better mystery games that deserve your attention first however. Sherlock Holmes, Beyond Two Souls, Heavy Rain or even if you still have a ps2 or xbox Indigo Prophecy. It won't blow you away but it also might waste a game Q slot. 4-6 hours if you have time to waste. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth a rent - not a buy!

posted by bradleysux (DAVENPORT, FL) Oct 12, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

Gameplay wise, it's a bunch of walking, talking, and interacting with/observing your surroundings with occasional stealth elements. The story takes the spotlight here. However, it isn't that great. It's rather slow and some parts are predictable. (The ending has a very nice twist to it though!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

lots of bugs, boring game play and story.

posted by plague35 (GLASSBORO, NJ) Oct 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

If you like boring games that rarely work than this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Different

posted by maniacjc (OMAHA, NE) Oct 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

This felt more like an interactive movie. But for the most part kept my attention. Game glitches a lot. I had it crash in numerous places but after restarting it would work again until the next crash anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Crashes cause loss of progress

posted by Merph (EAST GREENBUSH, NY) Oct 2, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

I enjoyed the premise of the game and spent about two hours playing. During that time, the game crashed 3 times. The last one made me lose about 20 minutes of progress. I decided to give up and just send it back.

I'd wait until they patch whatever's wrong with this game before renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok for a boring weekend.

posted by avyclair (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Oct 1, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone. It certainly wasn't the best game I've ever played but it was short and just good enough to keep my interest till the end. I didn't hate the game play, and it was rather interesting to play as a ghost. The characters were extremely cheesy, and very one dimensional but for the length of the game I guess that's what you would expect. The graphics were decent and the town looked pretty neat but the whole bring parts of the past to blend with the modern day seemed a bit confusing. In buildings it didn't bother me as much but out in the streets it was hard to find your way around at some points.

I dealt with glitches through the whole game, through most of the game I got the objective of "Getting out of the attic" when I completed that objective chapters ago. The game kept freezing on me and at one point I had to completely redo a chapter and I had to restart the game because the chapter kept looping.

I think if you have some time to spare and nothing else to do this is one way to keep yourself entertained but your time however might be better spent on a different game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Soul Suckspect!

posted by SnootHonk (OROVILLE, CA) Oct 1, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

After playing through Soul Suspect, I opine that the game could have been much better than it is. Soul Suspect is a nice diversion from the ubiquitous genres which dominate our gaming experiences, but, even with some noticable flaws, this game can provide a moderate level of entertainment if you're into this niche genre. Granted, it's no L.A. Noir, but if you found enjoyment in said game, Soul Suspect delivers a similar detective motif which is worth renting, but buying the game might prove to be a foolish endeavor. Soul Suspect's visual presentation leaves much to be desired, as the graphics appear predominitaly last-gen. With the relatively poor graphics aside, it is a fun game to some extent, but it involves very little combat and can be surmised as a game in which you collect a seemingly infinite number of clues and collectibles which are used to decipher a handful of cases for NPCs bound to pergatory, which, yield trophies. In fact, simple trophy accumulation is one of this games shining achievements, as the Platinum trophy triumph is essencially handed to you. But basically, all you do is run around Salem and its edifices, collecting items, and solving relatively juvenile mysteries which are literally handed to you with no repucussions for failure, so when you do make a mistake, one can solve virtually any given case via trial and error. There do exist roaming demons which you occasionally encounter and must be dealt with, but they are few and far between, easily dispatched, and never become more challenging as the game progresses. There may be a few redeeming values, but ultimately, Soul Suspect fails on many levels. Sure, it's an atypical game in which some players may find solace in solving, but in many respects I find this game to be in the realm of mediocrity, not to mention containing a handful of minor glitches and game-freezing errors. I figured SquareSoft, with their legacy, could have fine-tuned the game to be better than it has proven. Rent only!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Needs more action and less crashes.

posted by Astronskas (AUBURNDALE, FL) Sep 21, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

I enjoyed the story line of the game and even the character development. The bad part of the game was no action, only an occasional part where you have to sneak up behind a demon and execute a button combination. There were also many times where the game would stop working and cause an error message for no reason. If you like a thinking game where a keen eye is necessary then this might be for you. Beware of frustrating error messages though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Trying too hard - good story, but meh game play

posted by RevPete (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Sep 20, 2014

Member since Dec 2007

Face it, everybody loves a game with a new idea, and Murdered, Soul Suspect was definitely in that camp. It's not that it was a horrible game. The story was decent, the acting was decent, but the game play felt forced and annoying.

I played it all the way through. I think it was written pretty well as a story. But when you find yourself annoyed by having to fight through scenes with demons that are pretty much all the same, and go over the top to try to be frightening with the music and the screams, it breaks the story up and has no need. (I understand why they did it... How else are you going to threaten someone who is already dead...) But it makes for a disjointed story.

The rest of the game play was reasonable, but poorly executed. You struggle to get the right camera angle so that you can inspect certain objects. And your pathways are always blocked with mystery ghostly objects that make very little sense.

Maybe rent it if you like ghosts, witches, and cops, but don't expect it to live up to the hype.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by NINJA_ZERO Sep 13, 2014

I was thinking who is the killer be? I was really shock who was its really awsome END

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Soul driven!

posted by Bacon1 (CARROLLTON, TX) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

The options are high! The church is a 10! Same with X box..1..$

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It Was Straight

posted by SwolPriest (TACOMA, WA) Sep 10, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

The game could have been a little longer. My wife loved it. It was like playing a movie. The graphics were cool. The story line was great. I would recommend if you love solving and fixing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just like L.A. Noire, Needs some work

posted by kblakely92 (KANSAS CITY, KS) Sep 9, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

The amazing story line is what makes this game a good one
However fairly short, it has to be a fairly entertaining story if you are a fan of Salem's history or the book The Crucible. This has many cross references to the book and historical events as such that make this game more effective.

It has an L.A. Noire style, in which you have a small area for solving the mysteries. They are a bit of child's play where the answer to the mystery is obvious. The other problem aside from how short it is the performances of the characters. The voice acting could have been better.

All in all it was decent I loved the storyline mostly and it was a very unique spin on the ghost and Salem stories. I gave it an 8 based solely on storyline if I based it off gameplay and such things it would be a 6 and a half.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

murdered soul

posted by luisgarcia562 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 2, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Bored game nasty not recommended you will waste in your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring

posted by BigEdward (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Sep 2, 2014

Member since Jul 2008

Boring, to me, is a cardinal sin in games. You wander around forever trying to find the clues, just wander around, that pretty much the whole game, just wandering around.

Don't waste your time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse