Rent Muramasa: The Demon Blade for Wii
view large frontback

Muramasa: The Demon Blade

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

1560 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Dec 31, 2009

Member since May 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed playing this game. The easy version was not too hard. The controls were not overly complicated to learn. The graphics were very nice.

It was a bit like playing a text adventure cave exploration game. You go from screen (cave) to screen (cave) fighting and/or finding things.

My only complaint was the story was a bit confusing or maybe I didn't pay a lot of attention at the beginning to the story.

Overall a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure beauty

posted by XDPsycho (PUYALLUP, WA) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

+ The game is just beautiful, the art direction is simply amazing.

+ Storyline(s) on both characters is done very well.

= It is however odd how I found the boy ninja's story to be noticeably harder. It''s not really a bad thing, it's just kinda weird.

+ The game plays as a Hack and slash RPG and is done beautifuly!

- The game almost feels too simple and to me feels like it should cost $30 & feels like it should be available on the Xbox Live Market Place.

Overall the game is fun and awesome, but personally I would wait for a good sale price.

Do Not Pass This Game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Samurai's and Ninja's on the Wii done right

posted by DaKhDude (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

Muramasa: The Demon Blade is a sidescroller, Action/RPG that knows how to add flare and style to a seemingly rehashed idea of Samurai's and Ninja's. Made in the same art style as Vanillaware's past work, Odin Sphere, there is no shortness of beauty in the presentation, soundtrack, and straight out kick butt action the game wields. And giving you the choice of two different characters with two different story arcs, Muramasa has a lot to offer the Wii hardcore player.

Since it's an Action/RPG you'll be hacking and slashing with style to gain experience, soul, and spirit points. Your XP will be for growing levels and raising your stats, but your Spirits and Souls will be used for a different purpose. In your Forge option in your start screen you'll see a very large grid in which you can use your hard earned souls and spirits to purchase stronger swords. If you've played Final Fantasy X it's a bit reminiscent of the sphere grid, so a wrong turn here may mean you'll spend a bit more time grinding to be able to go back and get a sword you may have wanted earlier.

Now because of this ginormous grid and the countless amount of swords within your reach, there is a ton of replayability in the game, since you're going to want to unlock each and every sword. Why do I say that? Well, each character is given 3 separate and different endings to their side of the story. Without spoiling anything for you, you're going to want every sword in the game to get those endings.

Oh, and I have to mention that there are two controller schemes for you to choose from: the Wiimote and Nunchuk (no motion required) or the Gamecube controller. Both are easy to use and similar, but I went for the Gamecube. I don't know why, but prolonged usage of the Nunchuck make my fingers cramp up a bit.

As with the PS3, the Wii is lacking quality titles this year, so Muramasa is a great game to play - with its sheer beauty, fast paced action, and hours upon hours of replayability. Don't pass this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Muramasa: The Demon Blade of awesome-ness!

posted by acra123 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

if i had too describe this game i one word.... AMAZING! you may be asking your self whats really good about this game? is it the art work? the easy controls? maybe the story? well the awnser my friends is, all of the above! the visuals look amazing! the story is broken up into 2 diffrent charactors, the ninja princess Momohime and amnesia-stricken warrior Kisuke. they both have pretty good storys and this will give you a resone to come back too this game, if not for the art or gameplay. there are hundreds of swords too chose from and many enimies too fight. but the real challenges are the bosses! there big, there tuff and most of all they are very detailed! for a 2d side scroller this is one of the best games on the wii! i give it a 9/10.

good
. artwork
. story

bad
.cost
.contols sometimes confusing

over all

BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very unique, but not everything I was expecting

posted by nmquinn (ELYRIA, OH) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I did enjoy this game but there just didn't seem like there was enough there. Let me elaborate. The stylized backgrounds and enemies work beautifully together to make this one of the most colorful and wonderous looking games on the wii. The story comes in two parts as two different playable characters and is rather lengthy for an action game like this. Muramasa does deliver an easy to learn combat system and does have RPG elements that let you level up and build upon a tree of swords, but these elements are both flawed in my opinion. First of all the combat system is far too easy and feels more like button mashing. Plus the special move that you get with every sword is very weak and surprisingly not very visually stimulating. Most of the time I found that mashing the A button and changing directions is all I needed to beat every single opponent. For an action RPG I would think the action would be more complicated. Second the RPG elements are weak. Strength and Vitality are the only two attributes you can level up and the only thing that these attributes effect is what sword you can use. Swords very in attack points and one extra element that usually just increases your strength or vitality. So you level up just to be stronger attacking and have more life. I know its an RPG lite but this is a little too lite. Bottom line is that this will only appeal to some. I consider myself a hardcore gamer and I felt that there just wasn't enough substance here to keep me playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS ASOME!!!

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

the artwork will blow you away. the characters are truely thought out. the stories are solid. this game was all i wanted in a game and more.
the artwork is ansane, all the backrounds and people are hand painted, the weapons are cool with there abilityes and special attacks are asome. im warning you though, spirit is gained though food, i didn't know that and had weak swords almost the whole game, so just warning you.
the guy and girl's stories are totaly different so it is worth playing though with both sides. the game was fun the fighting system was easy and the bosses werent too hard you just had to get into the rythem of what there going to do if they do this or that and then you will servive. I definitly recomend this game to anybody, ESPECIALY people that like anime or artwork. (you do have to do alot of reading because the game is in japaneas but i didnt mind)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by tmg2112 (DETROIT, MI) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

when i played i thought it was just amazing from the art work to the gameplay the only thing that got me was monohimes part ( girls)
but i give it a nine

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Wiis best titles!!

posted by pkrockin (BOONES MILL, VA) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

This is one of the best games i have played for the wii, if not the best! First off the graphics are amazing, and the best part is that they even look flawless on an HD tv, unlike many wii titles. Second, the gameplay is top notch 2d action. There are so many unique swords (each having a unique attack) to collect, after a certain amount of time you can switch swords and attack everyone enemy on the screen with a very stylized slashing attack, and the boss fights are truly epic. The only complaint i have heard about the game is the back tracking, but I did not see this as a problem at all because it only lasts about 2 minutes, and during this time I enjoyed the scenery and the art behind each area. RENT THIS TITLE I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Muramasa is 2d heaven

posted by danielb (Odessa, TX) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I love 2-d sprite art and this game has the most beautiful art I have ever seen in a video game. Every scene is like one beautiful 2-d painting after another.

Also, the combat is much deeper than let on. You can't just mash buttons, you will need to master how to evade, rush, combo, and use things like the sword breaking skill and guarding. It's actually rather deep and enjoyable.

The music is outstanding and I am so happy that they kept the Japanese voices. For a game like this it's the only thing that would have fit.

The thing I felt was most appealing about this game was it's rich reliance on Japanese mythology. It doesn't even try to dumb it down or explain it to you. It just assumes it's common knowledge. Don't know what an Oni or a Kitsune is? Well, better wiki it cause this game isn't going to waste time in explanations. That would be like if an American game or movie took time to explain what a demon or giant is. So, I like how absorbed in the culture the game is.

I highly recommend this title to ANYONE that loves art and especially to those who love 2-d art. Though it's considered a sidescroller I actually think people who enjoy 2-d fighters might be more inclined to this game than people who enjoy sidescrollers. (though I am sure both will love it.)

I plan on buying this game. You should at least rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Age of 2-D Video Games Has Risen

posted by vg2007 (SUGAR LAND, TX) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

Muramasa: The Demon Blade is the latest 2-D video games released exclusively on the Nintendo Wii, and it is, by far, one of the most beautiful and excellent video game to come out this year!

Muramasa: The Demon Blade has two story arcs where you play either the female kunoichi, Princess Momohime, or the male ninja, Kisuke. Each character has its own deep storyline that at some moments intertwine with each other.
The only flaw with the storyline for each character is that you'll need some basic knowledge of Japanese mythology because most of the characters that appear in the game are based off of some myths and legends in Japanese history.

<Wii Remote>
Press the A button to perform your standard sword blade attacks. And press the B button to unleash your special attack which varies depending which swords you equipped. Press the C button to switch between blades. You can only equip up to three blades at once.

When using blades, each blade has a meter which can allow you to perform special attacks, auto-defend, etc. When your blade's meter runs out, your blade will break. During that moment, switch the broken blade with another one in your arsenal.
Each blade will repair itself and replenish its own meter when it is placed in its sheath.

The main aspect of the game is the HUGE amount of blades you can collect. There are a total of 100 blades you can collect in the game, and some blades can only be unlocked by completing the other story arc.
There are two types of blades: short and long blades.
Short blades are fast and easy to use. But they lack strength and break easily.
Long blades are powerful and last longer but slow to use.

The design of the game is just breathtaking as if you are watching a Japanese oil painting in motion.
Voice acting is top-notch with emotion and devotion.

Muramasa: The Demon Blade is an excellent game for the Wii. Though it is rather short, you will play hours upon hours, making it a must-have for any Wii owner!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Meh.

posted by oblonglego (RICHLAND, WA) Oct 8, 2009

Member since May 2007

It's fun fighting. It's really pretty. But I get tired of going back and forth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse