Rent Muramasa: The Demon Blade for Wii
view large frontback

Muramasa: The Demon Blade

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

1569 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The 'tea ceremony' of action games

posted by rsteadman (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Muramasa is a strange beast. On one hand, it is a modern take on a side-scrolling action game that would fit perfectly in the SNES library along titles like Hagane and Actraiser, or NES stalwarts Legend of Kage and even River City Ransom with it's RPG elements -- just with the most amazing 2D art and animation ever. On the other, when not in frentic combat -- think modern Ninja Gaiden on a 2D plane -- the game is deliberately paced; almost meditative. You may backtrack through a level and do nothing but hold 'right' for a couple of minutes, but you can soak up and admire all the incredible art and imagination put into the characters and breath-taking environments. You can restore your health by eating at restaurants or making you own food, but rather than be a few quick menu clicks, you're forced spend time with these gorgeous hand-drawn animations that -- like a tea ceremony -- make you take the time to appreciate them.

It's not for everyone, but that's no mark against a sublime take on a genre that's fallen out of fashion. This is easily one of my favorite games of this generation and certainly a top 10 on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST CONSOLE GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!

posted by FLYGAMES (MALONE, NY) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I have played all key games on Playstation1-3, WII, Game cube, N64, SNES, NES, Genesis 1-3, Sega CD, ect.... and to date this is officially the best console game I have ever seen. The good about this game far outweighs the bad and I'll try to explain why.

SUMMARY - Fast paced 2D sidescrolling Japanese style RPG. Hack and slash your way threw this game you will gain experience/level, acquire items and craft swords, etc to make your "assassin" stronger. The game is built around an interesting storyline that unfolds as the game progresses.

This game has the best artwork I have ever seen in a game to date. The game is fast paced and fun. You will be adsorbed by the story and the games true authentic Japanese feel.

---GOOD---
Best graphics ever, the art is simply amazing. Lots attention to detail, bright and vibrant colors and the background consist of multiple layers giving it a 3D like effect that I have never seen before, I LOVED THE ARTWORK!!!!
The game has a true Japanese feel to that makes it exciting, you almost feel like your in Japan.
The story is amazing.
The audio and sound effects are equally as good as the art, game play and story.
The game is fast paced.
The game is easy to play so it will be appealing to both new gamers and hardcore gamers.

---BAD---
A small part of the game is cooking food that is used to heal, this process is slow and repetitive. But don't worry you can buy healing potions from a NPC you will eliminate the need for cooking.

---NEUTRAL---
The game is a button masher, the only attack buttons are A for main attack, and B for special attacks. I normally hate games that are "BUTTON MASHERS". But, due to this games extremely fast pace, Japanese feel, splendid artwork and interesting story the controls worked.
I was irritated by the jump control setup for the first 15-20 min; to jump you press up on the nunchuck's analog stick. But, after getting use to pressing up to jump it worked flawlessly with this game.

BEST GAME I'VE EVER PLAYED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MARUMASA:THE DEMON BLADE

posted by dude77 (FALLON, NV) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

THIS GAME WAS SOOOOOO COOL! YOU COULD GET AN 100 COMBO JUST BY JAMMING A BUTTON!!!! ISNT THAT SIMPLE?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS ASOME!!!

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

the artwork will blow you away. the characters are truely thought out. the stories are solid. this game was all i wanted in a game and more.
the artwork is ansane, all the backrounds and people are hand painted, the weapons are cool with there abilityes and special attacks are asome. im warning you though, spirit is gained though food, i didn't know that and had weak swords almost the whole game, so just warning you.
the guy and girl's stories are totaly different so it is worth playing though with both sides. the game was fun the fighting system was easy and the bosses werent too hard you just had to get into the rythem of what there going to do if they do this or that and then you will servive. I definitly recomend this game to anybody, ESPECIALY people that like anime or artwork. (you do have to do alot of reading because the game is in japaneas but i didnt mind)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Wiis best titles!!

posted by pkrockin (BOONES MILL, VA) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

This is one of the best games i have played for the wii, if not the best! First off the graphics are amazing, and the best part is that they even look flawless on an HD tv, unlike many wii titles. Second, the gameplay is top notch 2d action. There are so many unique swords (each having a unique attack) to collect, after a certain amount of time you can switch swords and attack everyone enemy on the screen with a very stylized slashing attack, and the boss fights are truly epic. The only complaint i have heard about the game is the back tracking, but I did not see this as a problem at all because it only lasts about 2 minutes, and during this time I enjoyed the scenery and the art behind each area. RENT THIS TITLE I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Muramasa is 2d heaven

posted by danielb (Odessa, TX) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I love 2-d sprite art and this game has the most beautiful art I have ever seen in a video game. Every scene is like one beautiful 2-d painting after another.

Also, the combat is much deeper than let on. You can't just mash buttons, you will need to master how to evade, rush, combo, and use things like the sword breaking skill and guarding. It's actually rather deep and enjoyable.

The music is outstanding and I am so happy that they kept the Japanese voices. For a game like this it's the only thing that would have fit.

The thing I felt was most appealing about this game was it's rich reliance on Japanese mythology. It doesn't even try to dumb it down or explain it to you. It just assumes it's common knowledge. Don't know what an Oni or a Kitsune is? Well, better wiki it cause this game isn't going to waste time in explanations. That would be like if an American game or movie took time to explain what a demon or giant is. So, I like how absorbed in the culture the game is.

I highly recommend this title to ANYONE that loves art and especially to those who love 2-d art. Though it's considered a sidescroller I actually think people who enjoy 2-d fighters might be more inclined to this game than people who enjoy sidescrollers. (though I am sure both will love it.)

I plan on buying this game. You should at least rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun

posted by videogamer311 (NEWPORT, OR) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

if u liked odin sphere u will defenitly like this game as well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

7 out of 10

posted by Exgallion (PAYSON, UT) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Muramasa:the Demon Blade is definetly a good game, unfortunatley it could have been much better.

A Negative. Once you beat all 6 endings there is nothing left for you to do other then travel through Japan slaying Yokai (Monsters), the occasional Ninja or Samurai, and take on bosses you've already beaten. Which is fun, but it can get tiring.

A Positive. The story, both Keisuke's and Momohime's, were amazing, deep and moving yet still not too mushy, and you could understand it through out the game. Sometimes a story can be so confusing you don't really understand it until it's too late to enjoy it. But this one was'nt.

A Negative. No scene replay. You can't go back and revisit your favorite scenes whenever you want. You either have to save before and never progress, or start all over. Which would be no problem if your favorite scene was the begining.

A Positive. The graphics are beutiful, perfect for this type and style of game.

A Neutral. The mini dungeons that you unlock through out the story are nice and fun, but only the hardest ones really get you anything good or decent.

Overall, it's a good game. Definitly one you should at least rent, but only buy it if you really love it. Myself, I am hoping for a sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

At the very least, you ought to rent it. 44/50: B+

posted by iplay2day (Saint Paul, MN) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Stregth(s): Excellent art and fights (both bosses and regular adversaries).

Weakness(es): the repetitive cooking/eating sequences, and repetitive gameplay (unless you really enjoy the game).

Acquired taste(s): Need to like Japanese-style games (art, music, voices, story, morals, etc.), 2D sidescrollers, and hack in slash games to really enjoy this title.

Replayability: Additional story content, new swords to use, hardest difficulty, hidden secrets for exploration.

Mature Content: Swearing in a foreign language, violence, a few suggest scenes (steaming pool sequences), nothing any teenager can't handle. In other words, the ESRB got the rating right.

Other Note(s):

There are very few Wii games out their for the traditional gamer (post Wii-Sports fans), so if you consider yourself one, this may be a game for you; unless you're a FPS (1st person shooter) fan. In other words, no swinging of the nunchuck or wiimote is required, and you can even use your old gamecube remote to play; or your neighbor's.

Also, when I mention the Japanese-style game taste is needed, I do not label it as a bad thing; the acquired taste of Japanese-Style games just isn't in everyone-yet; BWAHAHAHAHAHAHA... just kidding.

But seriously, if you don't like Ninja Gaiden, the orginal Super Mario (for whatever reason), or any other sidescrolling/hack-n'-slash adventure game I haven't mentioned, you may find this game to get old after the first two or three bosses for either story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure beauty

posted by XDPsycho (PUYALLUP, WA) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

+ The game is just beautiful, the art direction is simply amazing.

+ Storyline(s) on both characters is done very well.

= It is however odd how I found the boy ninja's story to be noticeably harder. It''s not really a bad thing, it's just kinda weird.

+ The game plays as a Hack and slash RPG and is done beautifuly!

- The game almost feels too simple and to me feels like it should cost $30 & feels like it should be available on the Xbox Live Market Place.

Overall the game is fun and awesome, but personally I would wait for a good sale price.

Do Not Pass This Game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Samurai's and Ninja's on the Wii done right

posted by DaKhDude (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

Muramasa: The Demon Blade is a sidescroller, Action/RPG that knows how to add flare and style to a seemingly rehashed idea of Samurai's and Ninja's. Made in the same art style as Vanillaware's past work, Odin Sphere, there is no shortness of beauty in the presentation, soundtrack, and straight out kick butt action the game wields. And giving you the choice of two different characters with two different story arcs, Muramasa has a lot to offer the Wii hardcore player.

Since it's an Action/RPG you'll be hacking and slashing with style to gain experience, soul, and spirit points. Your XP will be for growing levels and raising your stats, but your Spirits and Souls will be used for a different purpose. In your Forge option in your start screen you'll see a very large grid in which you can use your hard earned souls and spirits to purchase stronger swords. If you've played Final Fantasy X it's a bit reminiscent of the sphere grid, so a wrong turn here may mean you'll spend a bit more time grinding to be able to go back and get a sword you may have wanted earlier.

Now because of this ginormous grid and the countless amount of swords within your reach, there is a ton of replayability in the game, since you're going to want to unlock each and every sword. Why do I say that? Well, each character is given 3 separate and different endings to their side of the story. Without spoiling anything for you, you're going to want every sword in the game to get those endings.

Oh, and I have to mention that there are two controller schemes for you to choose from: the Wiimote and Nunchuk (no motion required) or the Gamecube controller. Both are easy to use and similar, but I went for the Gamecube. I don't know why, but prolonged usage of the Nunchuck make my fingers cramp up a bit.

As with the PS3, the Wii is lacking quality titles this year, so Muramasa is a great game to play - with its sheer beauty, fast paced action, and hours upon hours of replayability. Don't pass this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Muramasa: The Demon Blade of awesome-ness!

posted by acra123 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

if i had too describe this game i one word.... AMAZING! you may be asking your self whats really good about this game? is it the art work? the easy controls? maybe the story? well the awnser my friends is, all of the above! the visuals look amazing! the story is broken up into 2 diffrent charactors, the ninja princess Momohime and amnesia-stricken warrior Kisuke. they both have pretty good storys and this will give you a resone to come back too this game, if not for the art or gameplay. there are hundreds of swords too chose from and many enimies too fight. but the real challenges are the bosses! there big, there tuff and most of all they are very detailed! for a 2d side scroller this is one of the best games on the wii! i give it a 9/10.

good
. artwork
. story

bad
.cost
.contols sometimes confusing

over all

BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by tmg2112 (DETROIT, MI) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

when i played i thought it was just amazing from the art work to the gameplay the only thing that got me was monohimes part ( girls)
but i give it a nine

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Age of 2-D Video Games Has Risen

posted by vg2007 (SUGAR LAND, TX) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

Muramasa: The Demon Blade is the latest 2-D video games released exclusively on the Nintendo Wii, and it is, by far, one of the most beautiful and excellent video game to come out this year!

Muramasa: The Demon Blade has two story arcs where you play either the female kunoichi, Princess Momohime, or the male ninja, Kisuke. Each character has its own deep storyline that at some moments intertwine with each other.
The only flaw with the storyline for each character is that you'll need some basic knowledge of Japanese mythology because most of the characters that appear in the game are based off of some myths and legends in Japanese history.

<Wii Remote>
Press the A button to perform your standard sword blade attacks. And press the B button to unleash your special attack which varies depending which swords you equipped. Press the C button to switch between blades. You can only equip up to three blades at once.

When using blades, each blade has a meter which can allow you to perform special attacks, auto-defend, etc. When your blade's meter runs out, your blade will break. During that moment, switch the broken blade with another one in your arsenal.
Each blade will repair itself and replenish its own meter when it is placed in its sheath.

The main aspect of the game is the HUGE amount of blades you can collect. There are a total of 100 blades you can collect in the game, and some blades can only be unlocked by completing the other story arc.
There are two types of blades: short and long blades.
Short blades are fast and easy to use. But they lack strength and break easily.
Long blades are powerful and last longer but slow to use.

The design of the game is just breathtaking as if you are watching a Japanese oil painting in motion.
Voice acting is top-notch with emotion and devotion.

Muramasa: The Demon Blade is an excellent game for the Wii. Though it is rather short, you will play hours upon hours, making it a must-have for any Wii owner!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by twztid13 (TYLER, TX) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

this was the 1st time since my initial curiosity (w/ 4 games i own) that i was glad to have a wii. i was upset about no english dialog upon first hearing it would be absent. now after playing for 24 hrs of in-game time & completing the game with both characters, this game is a masterpiece just the way it is (original language & all). i dont play imports & i thought it would only be for that crowd. it still could be, but its certainly a great game all around & i recommend it to anyone that likes action games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More Than Just Eye Candy

posted by GeekyDad (CALHOUN, GA) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Muramasa isn't the deepest game in the world, but the controls and mechanics are excellent, the bosses are both interesting and challenging, not to mention gorgeous to look at, and if you have an appreciation for Japanese mythology and sensibilities, you'll likely fall in love with this game.

If there's anything I could complain about with Muramasa, it's that there's no way to quick travel from one main-map area to another. Other than this relatively minor complaint, however, the game is virtually flawless in terms of mechanics.

If you dig great combat, tough bosses and beautiful 2D visuals, this game is a must-have. The amazing sound effects and authentic Japanese themes only add an extra layer of awesome.

Don't go into this expecting Metroid, however. It's much more straightforward than that, regardless of what you might have read. That being said, it's still a masterpiece in its own right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hellz yes!!

posted by AngelFireX (LOGAN, UT) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

They nailed it with this game. Even if it is 2-D, the graphics were phenomenal. I had a lot of fun with this game, there was a lot of unlockable content and the story was awesome. The speed of the game was intense and the asian artistry was something to behold. I give this an 8 only because it wasn't that long of a game. I would buy this game for sure (even though I've beaten it).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Game

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

Beautiful artwork and addictive gameplay: the two things Muramasa hit spot on. The gameplay is awesome and the beautiful scenery is just stunning and adds something very special to the game.

Notable pros of the game:

1.) Beautiful character, boss, and scenery designs.

2.) Addictive gameplay

3.) Each character has their own set of swords which have different special skills. Each character also has bosses unique to their storyline so the gameplay is not identical for each character.

I only have 3 complaints about the game:

1.) The travel time between areas can get tedius sometimes but this is somewhat similar to an RPG where you get experience points and level as you travel. Not my preference though.

2.) The stories are fairly weak and uninteresting for both characters.

3.) After you beat the game you're encouraged to unlock the 2 addition endings for each character (for a total of 4 additional endings). There is absolutely no additional story line added to the game but they give you different ending scenes. All of the ending scenes are pretty uninteresting and not anything someone couldn't predict so you feel cheated having spent the additional time. I probably would have been happier just stopping at beating the game once.

The cons are minor however and aren't enough to ruin the game. Definitely worth picking up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Dec 31, 2009

Member since May 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed playing this game. The easy version was not too hard. The controls were not overly complicated to learn. The graphics were very nice.

It was a bit like playing a text adventure cave exploration game. You go from screen (cave) to screen (cave) fighting and/or finding things.

My only complaint was the story was a bit confusing or maybe I didn't pay a lot of attention at the beginning to the story.

Overall a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad...

posted by Sayzel (WILMINGTON, NC) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Alright, so I was pretty excited about this game when it was announced, but now that i've played it, i'd say it could have been done a little better. Keep in mind that I haven't played Odin Sphere.

Story: 7
Feh... Typical Japanese folklore. Nothing really new.

Graphics: 10
The visuals for Muramasa are outstanding. Incredibly detailed and vivid hand drawn environments for a 2-D side scroller and attacks and action scenes are also pretty well illustrated.

Sound: 7
Meh... Depends on your taste really. Nothing wrong with the music or the sound in this game, but there wasn't anything that stayed in my head. If you like Japanese voice acting, I think this game was well done in that aspect.

Control: 10 (Gamecube Controller) Didn't use the Wii Remote
I didn't find anything wrong with it. Both characters control relativly the same and there were no problems.

Gameplay: 7
Okay, here's the bread and butter. Muramasa is a tried and true solid action/hack and slash game. There are plenty of enemies to fight when they are on screen, so you won't get bored mowing them down... in the first couple of hours or so. Then it starts to get repetitive. Boss Battles also turn out to get this way and just scream dodge and attack, though that's the general idea with this kind of game.

There isn't much variety between the new blades that you get as the game progresses either. There are normal Blades that are a bit weaker, but attack faster, and then there are Long Blades that are slower, but stronger. Each blade has it's own unique special attack called "Secret Arts", but some of them aren't really that useful and later blades that you get are usually rehashes of ones that you already have, but you'll need them anyway because they're stronger and you have to be able to keep up with progressively stronger enemies.

All and all, Muramasa is a pretty good action title, but it might not be for everyone. The action is solid, but it can get a little old quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by TBlake (FRANKLIN, PA) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game is pretty good and very cheap on amazon think rpg with arcade style you gotta build up your charecter and have differnt game variation to choose from beautiful art work for being wii an non HD fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fresh hack and slash

posted by JustBarr (JONESBORO, AR) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Muramasa is a fresh take on an old classic. The game plays like an old 2d side scroller. The game plays fast, really fast. The game switches from quicky running and jumping through levels Naruto style to slashing everything that moves.

Going right into the meat of the game: the gameplay. Different attacks can be performed by holding the control stick in different positions. There's a nice little tutorial at the start which you can ignore because the combat is so fast you won't have a chance to think about planning attacks. Along with your basic attacks you get special attacks that are different for each blade you own. You can equip three blades at once and switch them on the fly.

The combat is fun, and it better be because you'll be doing a lot of it. Which comes to my main gripe of the game: it gets really repetitive really quickly.

Sure the first time six ninjas show up and you tear them to pieces in a few seconds you feel like an awesome samurai. But after doing this 50 times it gets a little bit trite. On the other hand, the game makes every effort to keep things fresh with a wide array of enemies. The bosses especially are epic and strong. Still, it feels like if the game had added more varied weapons and more gameplay modes the game would have really shown.

Above average: 7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by Dagobert (SHAWSVILLE, VA) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Pros:
-Gorgeous graphics
-Satisfying combat
-Scalable difficulty
-Well-paced, keeps you interested

Cons:
-That same satisfying combat can get repetitive after a while, since enemies are not all that diverse
-No ability to warp until after you've beaten the game. Travel can be tedious in the meantime.
-Stupid control scheme: "Up" on the thumbstick should never be mapped as "jump". I don't know why developers keep insisting on this control scheme, as it wrecks any precision platforming. Also, controls cannot be customized. Boo.

Some notes: The game is basically divided into two distinct halves; where you play one as a female and the other as a male. They advance separately, and you cna switch between the two at any point, and for the most part their adventures are mutually exclusive. It took me 20 hours to beat one half of the game, I anticipate it will take another 20 to beat the other half.

It's a satisfying button-masher, with some depth to the controls as well. Combos and advanced attacks are combinations of "A" and directions on the thumbstick, with special attacks coming from pressing "B" just once.
Fair warning, once again: "Jump" is performed by pressing "Up", which is inexcusable in any game.

All in all a decent game, still debating whether to "keep" this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good looking Game, too much backtracking

posted by Parrapa (GLADEWATER, TX) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2004

As said in the title this game looks absolutely amazing and if you have ever played the gem known as Odin Sphere you know exactly what i'm talking about. Muramasa is a 2D sidescrolling adventure hacknslash with RPG elements...that's a mouthfull and throughout the game you have to earn different swords by destroying the game's plentiful bosses to use said swords to break seals to new areas. This leads to my biggest gripe with the game, the backtracking aspect takes you back to the seals which can be very far away. Some can take up to 10 minutes of just running in one direction through barren roads and forests. The gameplay though is pretty good in my opinion, the swordplay is fast frenetic and most importantly fun and will keep you finding new combos and have you wanting to craft more and more swords. this game is not for everybody so it is a good idea to rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Is that a demon blade in your pocket?

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Nov 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Muramasa: The Demon Blade is a great excuse to slash ninjas with giant swords. It's fun and addictive with lots of content, but problems hold it back from greatness.
Muramasa includes two stories as you play both Kisuke and Momohime who have various issues revolving around swords and demons. You'll collect blades, forge new ones and level up each character in unique storylines with their own bosses. There are also monster lairs to explore and several rewards, like alternative endings and more powerful weapons, for playing through each story a second and third time. It's quite a lot of content, giving you over 20 hours of play in a side-scrolling action title.
I'm actually glad to see 2D side-scrollers making a comeback and Muramasa makes the most out of the format. The art style looks like a silk painting, the battles have style and the action is fast.
However, problems abound. Combat controls revolve around the A button and the analog stick, which makes pulling off maneuvers tricky as the analog also controls your movement and jumping. Aerial combat is even more cumbersome, making it overly difficult to accurately attack flying enemies. The game relies heavily on random battles which are frequent and repetitive. Your blades will break often, leaving you vulnerable and struggling to switch to another. Unfortunately, switching weapons and pulling off special moves is not instantly responsive. There is far too much backtracking in the game, mostly because there are no warps until the first time you finish the game.
Through all these notable flaws, the game remains easy to pick up and play, entertaining in it's execution and deep enough to hold your interest. It's the kind of throwback title that reminds you why the side-scroller should never go extinct.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse