Rent Mugen Souls for PS3
view large frontback

Mugen Souls

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

288 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

enjoyable game but combat system is confusing

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Sep 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is nice and I loved the characters, plot and story.

the combat system has a lot to it and it overwhelmed me a bit but overall I enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too quirky for its own good

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of NIS America, they publish niche Japanese games that no other publisher would touch. They have some great series (Disgaea, Atelier) and also some major bombs (Cross Edge, Planet Neptunia). Mugen Souls falls somewhere in between. It has some good ideas, but also some major flaws. In tries too hard to being quirky, and loses focuses on the core gameply.

Positives: Nice artwork, lots to do, unique story, Voicework is good for the genre, colorful visuals, anime vibe, occasional laughs

Negatives: Convoluted and needlessly complicated gameplay, weird framerate issues, dialogue can border on perverse, too much grinding

Overall: Mugen Souls tries too hard to be different and quirky. There is an intersting battle system somewhere, but its buried deep. Dialogue is often very lame. Complicated, but non-rewarding gameplay. If you are a fan of NIS America's games and you know what you are getting into, you might want to try this, otherwise, there are much better JRPGs out there on the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A waste of time

posted by MrDude (BURTCHVILLE, MI) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Upfront analysis: Good Humor & Gameplay, Bad Graphics and Theme.

To be frank, this game is just a let down from NIS America. They retain much of their original humor and introduce a new gameplay style that is a nice change of pace from the original grid-based system, allowing free movement within a circular distance. Although, A major issue that punched me in the face the first time I pressed start was the overwhelming amount of Japanese "fun" tat slapped me in the intro. I didn't know what to make of it other than it had to be some joke they were making... it wasn't. I drowned in rainbows and supposedly cute rabbits. The way that the main character is supposed to complete their goal is something I would expect in a low-class dating game from Japan as well.

Normally, all of this would lead me to only make it a 6/10 (not pleasant but good enough to play), but there is one thing I REFUSE to take in from this game: Graphics!

Note: I rented a PS3 copy. I refuse to believe that this was originally intended for the PS3 or any other modern console. The graphics are the equivalent of PS1 era. Blurry, lacking detail an overall just bad. I would have seen better graphics from most of any PS2 game there ever was!

Overview

Graphics: 0/10
Story: 4/10
Gameplay: 8/10
Soundtrack: 6/10
Artwork: 8/10
Tacky: 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Keepers

posted by EpicRho (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Just as good as any disgaea game a game any true disaea fan would want t own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Overwhelming disappointment!!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Nov 13, 2012

Member since May 2010

Mugen souls is a game that doesn't do enough in some areas, and tries to hard in others.. The game does not reward the efforts you put in in areas of skill building.. This game is a game where combat becomes boring by being endlessly repetitive... Special abilites either are not earned through combat or they take a insane amount of effort of grinding to get to, because after 8-10 hours of non-stop fighting endless waves of enemies I had as yet to earn a single weapon skill... The game gives you no indication of how many skill points you need for a given weapon skill... In fact, I am beginning to wonder if you can't get skills in this game for classes or weapons... If you do get skills via grinding then count me out, if not neither the game or the web will give you the awnser.. To date there is no understanding as to how to obtain skills in either weapons or classes... Clothing for characters is insanely overpriced, so if you have any new custom characters you will have to be happy with them running around in their underwear for quite a while before you can buy clothing(Come on! 15000 gold just to wear a pair of pants)?!.. The game has two language modes, one is japanese and the other is english, but only the Japanese offers voice acting for custom characters... English speaking players will have to settle for mute characters, but this may be a good thing since all the battles get repetitive.. In truth, I also think the game would be better without the annoying combo system; as seeing the "pinball" catapult, or the "slots" spinner combo for the one millionth time is overkill... In the end, the game proves that it was in serious need to be play tested before it was released.. I am just glad we have game fly, so we have a way of knowing which games are worth our time, and which ones aren't! Try before you buy! You are warned!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mediocre fun

posted by JaminGamenJim (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

One short sentence summary:
You play as an egotistic, bi-polar, terse, clumsy, sadistic, masochists, and graceful female that can turn anything to become her minions.

3 main Cons -
- Skipping the story lines is a hassle because it doesn't actually skip but fast forward instead.
- Story is alright but it really gets boring in after chapter 3
- Combat system lags frequently.
3 main Pros -
- If you like to grind then this game is the most easiest game to grind once you reach up to the dimensional portal (maybe 2 and a 1/2 hours in) that makes you keep fighting monsters.
- Creative battle system but somewhat get a bit boring.
- Resembles a tiny bit like the game Disgaea that I loved playing.

Overall: Boring, very boring game that the only addicting part was the grinding but honestly, after grinding game becomes extremely easy. I only believe that these kinds of games can be fun for certain gamers if they like the story but I for one did not like it at all. However, there are a lot of scenes where they are in a sauna and partially naked. My Jamin Gamen score is 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very awesome jrpg

posted by Karasu (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Nov 7, 2012

Member since May 2009

I've been waiting for this game to come out and i wasn't disappointed. The story isn't much to write home about but it's okay. You're an undisputed god taking over the world(7 places. 3 continents each) And you do so by making the hero and demon lord of each world your peon. There are some twist to the story but i wont spoil it. The dialogue is great. I love the characters. They each have their own unique personality and look. The sound track is pretty good as well. It matches well with the art/style of the game. The game play is really easy and you can easily manipulate how you're rewarded in battles. There is a thing in this game called Mugen Field( Think of it as a item world-ish sort of thing from disgaea) In it you can get TONS of experience and gold/mugen points(other currency in game used for character upgrading). It's 100 levels and you can make bets to make it easier or harder. Its onebattle per level and it's very fun. There is several very useful free dlc you can get before you start the game as well if you want to be a bit over powered at the start. All this being said it's a niche game and not for everyone. You need to like really eccentric unique characters and gameplay that may seem confusing but really isn't. You can spend HOURS playing this game even after you've beat it. Also one more thing. There are 2 endings to this game and you don't need to make a ng+ to see both endings which can save you 6+ hours of going through the game again. Also this game is not for the VERY VERY easily offended since there are some panty shots in this game. But i think i've said everything. Go try this game out if you're interested in trying a funny, fun and new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »