Rent MotorStorm for PS3
view large frontback

MotorStorm

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

3541 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sweet and spicy

posted by poppie (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was interesting, fun, and definately loud. The AI is incredible, graphics are awesome, and the explosions will leave you either laughing or crying, depending on how competitive you are. There were kinks, though. I hated that you could ram through a scrap-heap of metal at the right speed, but you would be sent flying when hitting even the littlest of rocks. That, and the fact that when you go in the mud, you're practically blinded by it. But, that's about it. TIP: blow out your engine with the boost at the end of the race, it will look really cool and you can still get first if you or your car crosses the finish line first, even though you're not intact.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome

posted by gamejumper (SAN MARCOS, CA) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While extremely frustrating at times when your car would explode at the slightest hit a pebble or other such nuisances, the game was definitely great in the end. Great graphics and intensity of the game (while you weren't dying at least...[60% of the time])boosted its performance, and if you are thinking about renting it, i would give it a thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You feel like you're really driving. Its GREAT!!!!

posted by kslim1 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been playing video games for a very long time, probably longer than most of the people reading these reviews have been alive. I have a very acute sense of what a game experience should include such as graphics, sound, game play, realism, intensity, etc. and have to say this title has them all and does it in a superior fashion, due in huge part to the superiority of the PS3's advantageous core and design. This game is very fun and intense. I do agree with many that it is quite difficult and not for everyone, but if you are a slobbering game head like me it is worth the effort for the entertainment satisfaction gained from this racing title. Play on and hail the PS3!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game

posted by shadow3434 (MORRISON, CO) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fast and fun. The online could use some work, like a ranking system of some sort. But if you want a fast, fun racing game that is easy to pick up and play then Motorstorm is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best game on the PS3 since Resistance

posted by AquaticB (Ooltewah, TN) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Motorstorm is an unrealistic arcade style racer, so don't come here if you are looking for a Gran Turismo type of game.

The controls are very simple and easy to use. There are two views for vehicles, one view up close (in cars it is an over the hood view, in bikes/atvs it is a close third person view) and the other view is a farther out third person view.

There are a lot of unlockable vehicles, and each vehicle has 3 different paint jobs you can choose from before you start a race.

There are only 8 tracks, and that hurts this game a lot, because the tracks it does have are all brilliant, and the lack of tracks keeps you wanting more. Maybe they will add new tracks in downloadable content some day?

On every track there are multiple routes you can take. Usually there is one really high route that involves a lot of jumps, that type of route is designed for motorcycles or ATVs. Just as there is usually a high route, there is also usually a low route. The low route will generally get you to the finish line faster than the high route. The low route is best suited for the big vehicles.

The online play supports up to 12 racers on a track, and has good customization options (you can choose what types of vehicles everyone will be racing in, you can change the time of day you are racing, and other small things like that make the customization nice). I haven't experienced any lag online, which is nice. Here's a tip though, you should get a microphone. It makes it a lot more enjoyable for everyone in the room when you all can talk to each other.

To put it simply, the online play saves this game from being a rental. In my opinion, it is a must buy if you own a PS3. Without the online play, the lack of tracks would kill the replay value.

I'm running out of space so I'll finish this up quick.

Gameplay: 9/10 it's very fun

Graphics: 10/10 beautiful mud effects

Sound: 8/10 nothing amazing, but it works

Replay value: 8.5/10 +Good online -Not enough tracks

Overall: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK but a little disappointing

posted by mojeepmike (COLUMBIA, MO) Aug 18, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

My first PS3 title and it's a blast. Graphics are beautiful and it's worth crashing over and over again just to see high definition destruction.

BUT I'm a little let down by the lack of 2 player support and a couple of other things. This game screamed for a classic rock soundtrack and we got annoying trance music and a bunch of tracks that were used in Guitar Hero 2, which I've heard exactly eleven thousand times now.

Load times when choosing a vehicle are ridiculous and I hope are not an indicator of what's to come on the PS3. (There's a hard drive in here developers, use it!)

Other than these annoyances I've had fun with this game but don't see it making it as one of my favorites on the console. Rumble would also be a nice addition to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FINALLY....but

posted by SmileyDude (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

26 out of 39 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

YESSSSSSS!!! it's finally here! motorstorm! yet the game has missing elements. But at least its here! Good is that this game is great, graphics, physics rock, and the vehicles look excellent. Mud and dirt covered cars speeding through and crashing into jagged rocks and pieces flying by as you cross the finish line... in 4th place. Bad is that the game is hard, but that is probably just me. Also, the game doesn't have co-op races, like picking up a controller with a friend and playing. Also, there's not much in terms of a main menu. Just a few buttons to press and you're in, which is good if you like getting into games quickly. Overall, best game out so far, small problems, nothing big that I noticed, definite buy if you like exciting racing games( if you can call it that).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent but not Perfect.

posted by PanzerAce (Brooklyn, NY) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

16 out of 26 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The long awaited PS3 title has finally arrived. Does it live up to the expectations? Yes, it does.

If you love games that are just plainly hardcore then this is the game for you. Whether it might be God of War or Resistance, Motorstorm can be identified as another Hardcore title but only in the racing genre.

People like me have been waiting forever for something like this. I've been waiting to talk smack to someone while destroying him on the track, I've been waiting and my wait definately paid off with Motorstorm. Unbelivable racing game. Please go rent it, NOW.

The reason it's not perfect is because of the amount of tracks (8 tracks) and the complete abolition of the Single player mode. It shouldn't bother you too much if you're just all about online. This game is fantastic online, it has mic support.. so you can talk all the trash you want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OK game

posted by pbrocker (MOULTRIE, GA) Mar 25, 2007

Member since May 2005

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Ill start with the good:
1- Awesome graphics
2- Smart AI
3- Many many cars
4- Damage to cars and tracks
5- Online is fun
Bad:
1- HARD
2- 8 tracks
3- Online games are hard to get into
4- Repetitive
5- The music is annoying (Its not that big of a deal but thought I should mention it)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AMAZING

posted by StatusQuo (GILROY, CA) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Absolutely addicting on line. Beautiful graphics and great single player. There are only 8 courses but what it lacks for in single, which is still awesome, it makes up for in pure amazing fantastic seductive on line play. If you own a ps3 then you should already have this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Smash'em up!

posted by Destiver (TRACY, CA) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I must start by saying I am terrible at racing games. I can never keep the car on the track. However in this game THERE IS NO TRACK! woo hoo! OK :-) so I personally like driving as a "trophy truck" as they call them in the Baja race. I love running over motorcyclists and other cars. This is a great "I had a rough day at work" relaxation game if you ask me, and so much more legal than running over your boss in the parking lot on your way home :-) Not being a "racing game aficionado" I can't really tell you how realistic the game play is. I would say it's less realistic than F1 but MUCH more realistic than Ridge Racer. I kind of liked the "motion sensing" controller option for this game it allowed me to use the controller like a steering wheel, but I went back to button mashing pretty quick. I also noticed that damaged scenery, tire tracks, etc. stay from lap to lap which is a nice bit of realism. When you wreck as a motorcycle driver the body flying has some nice rag doll type dynamics to it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

All that glitters...

posted by Islandkiwi (GARLAND, TX) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Feb 2004

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is the quintessential rental game.

High points: Graphics are great, tracks have different paths depending on your vehicle. Crashes are fun to watch, but distract from the racing.

Low points: No rumble, which I miss particularly with driving games. I didn't get much of a sense of speed with the vehicles. Motion sensing did not make up for this, as I preferred driving with the analog stick. There's also not much of a sense of accomplishment when you win, the A.I. seems to always be right behind you (rubber-band A.I.) And despite the variety of vehicles, this starts to feel old and repetitive pretty quickly.

People that enjoy it seem to prefer multiplayer, but from what I've read on message boards, geting into a multiplayer game can be a tedious process.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the top 5 games of the next gen

posted by ps3isbest (SEVERNA PARK, MD) Mar 9, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Motorstorm is easily in the top two games (along with resistance) in ps3's lineup and is a definite buy for ps3 owners. I place the graphics as a close second best that i've ever seen behind only gears of war (which is a tough comparison because they are totally different). While people complain that the game is difficult, I don't want to play a game that is easy, will beat quickly and then never play anymore. And to those worrying about its lack of other game modes, the online is amazing, and is easily enough to keep me playing this game for months to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WHAM BAM.....

posted by kairav (Atlanta, GA) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This off road racer takes you on a level of racing you have never experienced before. It makes Need for Speed look like a foul child's play.

I agree that lack of tracks may not encourage many people to play this game, but you should try the multiplayer. The graphics and physics are top notch. If you have a PS3 and like to have a great time, then go get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Quality title, excellent graphics

posted by CoupeD (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As with many PS3 games the graphics are stunning. The levels are remarkable, but there are too few of them. Perhaps they could have had variations on the level styles to make it more entertaining.

Controls are above average, but the SixAxis style is horrible and do not feel right at all. Perhaps with practice it can be better?

The physics are ok, but not great. This game should have a little more of an arcade feel to it. The game also gets too bouncy and feels like your driving a 76 Cadillac with bad shocks.

On line play definitely adds to the fun and runs like a charm with a LAN cable. I haven't tried with WiFi yet.

Vehicle selection is good and the variations are enough to make trying different vehicles worth while. Oh yea and how about some headlights!!!

Overall a quality title and definitely worth the rent. If you get into on line play you may want to purchase this title. It came with my PS3 so I will enjoy it as much as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Motostorm

posted by Phinox (DEPEW, NY) Mar 18, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is visually stunning with excellent graphics. The music selection is extensive and some what broad in scope. This game utilizes the motion sensing control of the Six axis if you so desire but it is unfortunate that the controls are poor causing you to crash alot more then you should

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

OVERRATED - do not believe the hype

posted by Operator7 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jul 15, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful


Unless you are a young boy, or have the mental level of someone extremely basic and juvenile, you will find this game highly annoying and stupid.

I write this trying to help you not waste your time like I did..

Don't get me wrong, the game has a great idea, great graphics............

but where this game totally fails is the actual game-play action.

I don't know, perhaps if you are into playing online versus other people, it might have some redeeming value, but if you are just playing solo, it just completely sucks.

I don't mind a game being difficult.............

however, when the game constantly speeds up and slows down the action, to try to make you crash???

This is why I say the only ones who will enjoy this are young boys, or those who aren't very bright.

YOU have no control over certain things that will cause you to crash, and so after a while, you will see this, and the game goes from something potentially really great, to something that is just a headache and a TOTAL waste of your time.

I'm sorry, but me personally? I don't like having my time wasted, by a game that is not fun, just annoying.

Besides the action of the game being corrupted by the speeding up and slowing down of the action, the other part that is completely ridiculous, is how all the other drivers will go out of their way to stop YOU.

This is just DUMB.

Ok in a race, other drivers aren't going to focus on stopping one person, they are trying to win the race....

yet here, the computer has the other drivers doing totally pointless things, just to try to make YOU crash.... and what I'm saying in case you don't get it, is that the other drivers will go totally off course to get you, in which case even if YOU crash, the other driver has made their SELF lose position in the race.

I could see if this was just once in a while, but it is ALL the time.

So basically, each race turns into 14 other drivers, all against YOU, in addition to the action changing speeds to make u crash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Its sure is pretty, but then again so is Britney

posted by theSTUD53 (VANCOUVER, WA) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game came up screaming with it's much hyped demo being available right away. With good reason too, it is gorgeous. It has some of the most detailed and beautiful graphics I have ever seen, as it should being on such a powerful system. That unfortunately is where the greatness of this title dies. If you have played the demo you have played the game. Some fun races to get you going but it is all the same by the fourth race. All you do is unlock some race cars and some new events, but the new events are the same as the old events. This game does have some really nice and fun new features you probably haven't gotten to play with but there just isn't enough to keep you coming back for more. Save yourself some time, just play the demo and know you really have already gotten the full experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Motorstorm is a hit!

posted by secureandy (PENSACOLA, FL) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

AWESOME GAME!!!Well worth the wait.The graphics and gameplay couldnt be better.One of the ps3's best yet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Special

posted by freezebite (DETROIT, MI) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is special and i don't mean in the good way the music makes you want to jump off a bridge, the glitchy driving is so annoying i'm surprised its rating is passed 5.0, don't buy this game unless you lived a good life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Flippin awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!

posted by ANDYman (FENTON, MI) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

awesome game, awesome graphics, awesome everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Like nothing I ever played before,but still good!!

posted by ka_jay78swagg (ELLENWOOD, GA) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

When this first came out, I didn't know nothing about it.When I was looking on Playstation Network,I saw this,downloaded a few videos of the game,rented it and had my fair share of the game,and now......I say...WOW! This game gave a new meaning to the word intense,and that statement can be proven! If your looking for a game with intense,brutal,caotic,off-road raceing,in which you can your not only fighting with the computer AI,your fighting with the envirerment as well.The races get more harder when you procced on with the game.You also get to choose which veichles you want to race in,from bikes,atv's,rally cars,mudpluggers,racing trucks,dune buggys, to the big rigs,the chocies are unlimited.My only problem with motorstorm(which was only one)was that their wasn't that may tracks to race on,not even any mirror tracks(which the promlem is solved in the second one)but none the less,this is a great game and i reccomend buying it if your the off road racing type.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Huge Skill Curve.

posted by evilspiral (MCCLEARY, WA) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

I love this game! Right off the bat its hard and gets harder... I just wish the loading times were not so long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not to bad

posted by questionsanmore (GLOUCESTER, VA) Sep 5, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

its a good game it can get boring really fast and when you get good you cant lose and its not worth the money to go out and get but its worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

motor storm

posted by Legend5000 (MEMPHIS, TN) Jul 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I would love to buy this game it's great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse