Rent MotorStorm: Pacific Rift for PS3
view large frontback

MotorStorm: Pacific Rift

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

3397 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A True Upgrade from the Original

posted by LordRaoh (BRONX, NY) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What can you say about Pacific Rift?

It Looks better than the original.

It has more and new maps than the original.

It loads faster than the original.

It has more treacherous roads than the original.

If you even mildly enjoyed Motorstorm you must play Pacific Rift. One of my favorite games this holiday season.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better than the first

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

25 out of 26 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

this game is a must own if your an arcade style racing fan. the tracks look amazing, the vehicles look amazing, the enviromental effects on your boost is genius. lava makes your boost overheat faster, water cools it down. the tracks deteriorate over the course of a race, and my personal favorite....MONSTER TRUCKS!!!!! the online racing is solid, the game is overall more polished than the first and the first one was great. i highly recomend buyin the game if your an ARCADE racing fan, i can't stress the fact that this is an ARCADE style game, if your looking for a racing sim go play grand turismo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

what you'd expect out of a proper sequel

posted by thinkbomb (KAYSVILLE, UT) Aug 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Basically, this is a true Motorstorm sequel, more vehicles, more tracks, the lava/water combination is pretty sweet. All in all it's a good game. local multiplayer is a blast, though if you take it online be prepared to be eaten alive (since everyone there knows the tracks by heart and are extremely vicious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Everything is awesome except ...

posted by SpaceMonki (LEXINGTON, NC) May 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. It is beautiful. The soundtrack is very befitting. The control is smooth and easy to use. The game play is very addictive because every time you get a different experience depends on how you run and track. If you love off-road racing and occasional death-experience you will enjoy this game very much.

However this is one disappointing factor I need to mention. Every race has its own limitations on what vehicle you can drive. Almost all races only allow you to choose from 2-3 out of all the vehicle choices. Some only allow you to use 1 type. For example, one time-limit race only allow you to choose the truck (one of the slowest vehicle in game)...

I can understand they made this choice to challenge the player and spice things up, but if you don't really like driving a particular vehicle you will be very frustrated. I wish I can drive whatever car I want for every race however that is not the case. If you don't mind that minor detail then everything else is pretty great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow!

posted by djamp88grd (ANTHEM, AZ) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was one of those sleeper games that I just rented because I kinda liked the first one but did not love it and thought they might Improve. Well, they did and it shows. The splitscreen mode that goes up to 4 players rivals the flatout derby splitscreen for those who have played that. The monster trucks are a nice addition and the races themselves are lots easier than the old one which is good news if you are like me and hated the old game's AI difficulty. This game is a huge improvement on the last one and youl will atleast rate the game 8 or higher.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Plenty of Racing

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Dec 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is worth playing. There is a lot of variety in the races in single player mode and playing online is as fun as it was in the first one. This is not the most visually appealing racing game out there and I really think it can be improved upon. This time around the landscape creates many more obstacles in the races that keep it fresh and exciting each time through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak, Broken, Random, Boring

posted by KintaroOe (YAKIMA, WA) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I did enjoy the first Motorstorm, for the record, but Motorstorm: Pacific Rift left me completely cold. M:PR feels kind of like playing Wipeout after you haven't played it in a long time. You feel like you're hurtling at the speed of light somewhere, and wherever it is, it's vaguely forward. Now imagine if Wipeout's tracks were half a mile wide, and with completely random brick walls scattered throughout. Throw in opponents who would rather kill you than win a race, and that's this game in a nutshell. The graphics are pretty during the intro cinema and pre-race flyovers, but look fairly cluttered during the race. The first game's tracks were a pretty steady shade of brown, which helped you actually tell where they were. Here, you have no idea at any moment whether you're on the track or not, mostly because you're more concerned with a barrier appearing in front of you with a split second notice, or a big rig slamming into you at a 90 degree angle and trashing you instantly. Speaking of the tracks, these levels are really well crafted, and would be perfect if you were playing an adventure game where you explored, and looked for jungle treasures. Unfortunately, this is a racing game, and it would be really nice to know where the heck you're supposed to be going. The camera would also periodically lodge itself INSIDE a vehicle that's behind me, making me invisible. The boost mechanics are really interesting (being near water cools your boost meter, while being near fire makes it cool more slowly), so it's a shame the game as a whole is so irritating. I completely lost interest within an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

unhappy

posted by jerodennis (WEAVERVILLE, CA) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We are having problems playing this game on our play station 3. It will load but my kids can't play it. Very unhappy customer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MOTOR STORM

posted by tbman24 (SANTA YNEZ, CA) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i like this game cause i like personally like to race dirty. and this is the perfect game, short cuts, running over bikers, and crashing other cars, this is the perfect game with no rules.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The game ran so smooth

posted by sgtxslap (GLENDORA, CA) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok first the online is dead don't worry the storyline there is none. What why did he give it a 9 then??? because it was a rush of a racing game, The games festival mode or campaign are race after race that get more difficuit as you level , The mixture of vehicles is nice some you will hate but then again what racing game doesn't. All tracks are unique each track has elements air,water,earth and fire, Sometimes you are gonna hate the track or love depends on the vehicle. The controls now they will have you amazed their perfect no problems at all buttons, sticks were mostly used.

Now for the stuff thats complete garbage let me say that yes theres not that much but whatever, to start us off the AI is great however they catch up so quick your like " DUDE that guy was like a mile back how...did...he catch up" lol thats what i said thats about it thats the only bad thing i found so rent enjoy the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Motorstorm: Pacific Rift

posted by evalruby (JACKSON, MI) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My boys loved this game! Ok my girls enjoyed it as well. It's a great family fun game for all ages. My 3 year old son played it and had a great time doing it:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10

posted by james1966 (CLEVELAND, TN) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

good game to paly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad, but not good either...

posted by Capricorn (ROSELLE, IL) May 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I give this game a 7. It improves on almost everything in the original. I hear some people complain about hitting "invisible rocks", although i didn't see any of that. I did noticed that u would crash 3 feet from a rock, though. This game does get boring after you reach rank 3 in the festival event, and the AI does cheat sometimes. My biggest complaint is with the ATV. "Why?" you ask. in the original, the ATV wasn't great, but you were in 3 feet of mud and constantly shifting dust all the time, ATV suck-age is the be expect. In Pacific Rift, it slides when it shouldn't, flips for ot reason, and throw a few pebbles in it's way, it will lose all control and die on you.

Everything else is really good, like multiplayeror the absolutly AMAZING graphics. If you can get past my problems, you'll be fine and have fun. If you can't, then it's good only for a rental for maybe a week, then you'll return it. This is just MY opinion though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A shock and awe for sure

posted by GameShaker (MARION, OH) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

During this game, there will many instances when your jaw will be on the floor. Your eyes will pop just from what is happening on your television screen. The graphics are top knoch and the AI is up to speed, most of the time. Although this game is great, it is easy to get burned out of it. The tracks are well thought out but the problem is there isn't that many of them. The game trys to make up by making you race the same tracks with harder conditions. After a bit this does get aggitating because unless you are in a large truck, every little bump, groove, and hard surfface is going to ruin your momentum. Some key features that truly drove me up the wall was the horrible method of reseting. You can not reset whenever you want. You have to wait until you're trully in trouble. When the car hits a hard surfface, a cool slowmotion view appears so you can see what kind of carnage you've created. After a while though, you stop caring how many flips your car does if everytime your pole postion drops ten places. Aside from these faults that acutally make the game seem more real, this game is a solid racing game that has broken into a whole other realm of off road racing. This surly isn't a game to miss. My end say. Rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

talk about testing my patience

posted by Rockarolla (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I gave this one three weeks of my time, the racing somehow seems less fluid than the original Motorstorm, which I played the stuffings out of when I first got my Playstation 3. There's pretty amazing scenery, and I found myself enjoying the Photo feature, getting to take snapshots of mostly exploding ATVs and various drivers being catapulted into palm trees, but the difficulty curve once the racing got down to business snuffed my hopes of this game out. Sure you win the first 5 races for each of the arenas (Sky, Earth, Water, Fire courses) and thoroughly enjoyable to try knocking other riders rolling off of a cliff, or to throttle with boost until the engine detonates..

That was at least until I found out you need some insane racing skills at times to even complete a race, or just to keep from smashing face first accordion style into a boulder or trying to keep head above water when going through a deep pond, only to discover its too deep and you can't race underwater. Why Motorstorm.. why this? I could have given this game much more time, but the benefit of the doubt? I'm too OCD with getting all of the achievements in the Trophy Case, and I would have ended up smashing my TV up had I continued playing.

Exactly how the first Motorstorm made me feel. Hmm, come to think of it, seems like almost the exact same experience for both games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by jimmy7006 (REDDING, CA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is not only good it is awesome me and my brother love it love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST

posted by WangsTang (DAVENPORT, IA) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game love it just got it in today the best!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Racing Game! Very fun!

posted by Kruelgor (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

MotorStorm: Pacific Rift is an excellent off-road racing game. The graphics are superb. You can choose from many different kinds of vehicles including motorcycles. There is split-screen so you can play against a friend on the same machine.

The only negative I can find about this game is that there is no online population for multiplayer. It was completely empty when I joined in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this is what i think of moterstorm pacific rift

posted by dcbb1941 (DEER ISLAND, OR) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a cool game and all but it feels like it repeats over and over and over etc.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Motostorm pacific rift.

posted by jenshubby (YAKIMA, WA) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was pretty excited to play this game, The first was pretty good and The addition of new vehicles interested me. The tracks are pretty big and have a lot of different routes to take. The A.I. is pretty smart, At times a little too aggressive. I would rate this game a 9.0 out of 10.
The graphics are top notch and the wrecks are cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by NMoss1 (Selkirk, NY) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like the first MotorStorm your going to love this New addition great graphics More to the game with the whole element thing going on and it has multiplayer w/o being online its fun as h#ll

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun for the whole family and your friends

posted by tomminator (POULSBO, WA) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's nice to see they have finally made this a multi-player offline game. The first was fun but when your friends were over it sat. This alone makes this game worth having if you enjoy arcade style racing.
The graphics were amazing whether your running round the track, getting smashed, smashing, or just watching. Objects do litter the tracks and sometimes you wonder how such small objects can derail you so easily but then again try running into something in real life and see what happens. One thing they could have done was put in a replay of races as sometimes I've hit a rock, shot up in the air, did a full 360 and landed back on my wheels. This I would have like to have seen in replay as I play in 1st person.
The AI can be annoying as they seem to be aiming for you instead of trying to win the race themselves but if you can find the right path they can be avoided. No more winning without good driving skills.
I had to repeat tracks a few times to find where the different routes were as they seem to be harder to find than the first but once you find the groove it's smooth sailing. The fact that Monster Trucks have been added also makes the game more interesting as they will tear up some bridges making your path more treacherous or impossible to navigate.
One thing bad is that if you use a small vehicle it seems as though just being near a large vehicle will cause you to wreck without contact with it. That got annoying quick as this happens alot when the race first starts but after that it was fine if you can avoid them.
Believe me, you will enjoy watching this game as much as you do playing and your friends will be oohing and aahing at the jumps, crashes and stunts that make this one of the funnest racing games I've played.
This one's a keeper!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

pretty good

posted by rockers102 (GRAND ISLAND, NE) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thaught that this game was pretty good beacause it has good graphics,fast cars but I didn't like the rally car because it was sort of wierd,if you use this game for the PS3 it is pretty hard to get trophies if you know what it is.In conclusion this game is pretty good ( if you buy it it's easier to get trophies if you play it alot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Motorstorm: Pacific Rift

posted by JamesMcLe (CAMBRIDGE, MN) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This new Motorstorm title, was a pretty decent game. Other than a few minor glitches, and a unsteady frame rate.

The Good:

- Fun multiplayer
- Amazing graphics
- Split-screen capable
- Sweet crashes

The Bad:

- You never know where to go, when you are cruising at 200mph
- Not enough significant maps
- No solid story line. In fact none whatsoever
- Not enough player customization
Review submitted by: James McLean

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same old game

posted by Gamer7245 (MOUNT PLEASANT, PA) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Right from the start u can tell this game is just as same as the last.
The only thing different they brought to the table was water, lava, and less load times. If you played the last motorstorm there is no reason to play this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse