Rent MotorStorm: Apocalypse for PS3
view large frontback

MotorStorm: Apocalypse

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

1926 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

I love this game BUT.....

posted by USAIRCAV (ISSAQUAH, WA) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For a race game this has it all...almost. The customizations, the graphics, not to mention the tracks. The in race action is second to none. Now the elephant in the corner with the bag of chips. After you have played the 3 story lines, earned trophy after trophy, medal after medal you still have not unlocked any parts or cars. You have to play multiplayer to do so. For those of us who live in remote areas, that is where the game stops. There is no choice but to look at the locked yellow outlines of the vehicle and parts you CAN'T have. Great marketing technique to insure their multiplayer is successful, poor planning for those of us who can't play online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dissapointing

posted by Lord_Darkstorm (WESTMINSTER, MD) Oct 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played all the MotorStorm games, and have enjoyed them all, up till this one. While it still has impressive graphics, and the racing is fun, the addition of a storyline means the removal of the things that made it more enjoyable. You can't customize your vehicles in the single player mode, and for some reason you never get to play in the big vehicles, only get run over by them. The only part I think they did well on is the track destruction as you race, that made it somewhat more interesting.

I'm not into multiplayer, even if I could have gotten it to connect to the server so I could see if that would have been enjoyable.

Maybe they will drop the storyline for the next one and just go back to what they do well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What's up with this game

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What's up with this game ! The online is trash ... Who the 'bleep' said "Yeah lets give perks" That way new comers will lose every race even if they never crash . I was placing last 1:00 minute from first ! Getting knocked into walls by bikes ! being passed even though I was racing fast without crashing ! Matchmaking lol ! Am I missing something here .... What a waste of money . Guess I will go back to GT5 and Dirt3 .

PS I don't mind losing but this game feels wrong . Single player took 2 hours ........... Online is rubbish ...... Sure I could play more to get these fast perks but no thanks the race tracks alone give me a headace .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too arcade-ish - built for the kiddies

posted by Operator7 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jul 5, 2011

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Another reviewer said it best, when he/she referred to how you can't even see what is coming, so you don't know if you are going the right way, or in a good direction..... and also, with the things unfolding to make the roads breakup etc, it makes many crashes unavoidable.... and this all leads to one things - WAY TOO MANY CRASHES!!!

That's my beef. I want a game that allows for skill, not some mindless kids game that no matter how brainless or smart you are, the outcome is almost always going to be the same.

You will crash and crash, and crash some more, and then somehow in the last lap, you are able to catch up and pass everyone, and have a shot at 1st place. Typical arcade gaming, at it's worst.

The action and scenery and ideas are all great, and there is a TON of potential..... but whoever thinks it's a good idea to WASTE all of this on the child-like silliness that the game amounts to should be fired - immediately.

And the AI has been bad through the whole series.... all the other racers will focus on YOU, and attempt to make you crash, even if it's suicidal for them. Now that might seem "radical" if you are a nine year old, who doesn't know any better, but what kind of logic is it for every other racer to be making suicide runs at you, to try to take you out?

The game has a ton of great things, but they all are wasted by the foolishness that continues throughout the series of MS games.

What a waste!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good as the previous titles.

posted by Troglodyte (SALINAS, CA) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the second one the most. This game kinda got boring in the story mode. The graphics were amazing as usual but again, I liked just racing without a unecessary storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but...

posted by generalhbk (EVANS, CO) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All the past motorstorms have been great games and this one took it to a new level, it put in track changers which made online and story allot more interesting. It brought things from tornadoes to earthquakes to buildings failing to storms, but the same thing happens every time you replay a race map so it kinda takes the thrill out of it. 8 out of 10 for another good racing game and a nice world ending try..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay Racing Game

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overview
===================
This game is an arcade racer that sports track deformation (ala Split Second) during the race. For me it felt all too similar to something I've played before and not really done any better. I think it is a worthwhile game if you like arcade racers (rent or buy). There just wasn't enough wow for me.

Pros
===============
1) graphics are pretty good (not stellar, but alright)
2) decent number of modes and customization options

Cons
===============
1) nothing new - felt like I've played this game before
2) story is weak (although not much is expected in this genre)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not great

posted by johnnywebb (YELM, WA) May 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked this game, but to keep it short, the graphics are lacking, the story is meh, and the online play didn't connect at all. The soundtrack is horrid, but since you can play your own music, it's a non-issue. However, the Split/Second like destruction is great, with buildings falling as you're racing on top of them, airplanes crashing into the course, and at one point a full-on tornado completely obliterates the course while you're driving through it. Definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth Playing But Something is Lacking

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) May 10, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a fan of racing games, this game just left me feeling like it was "just ok" and worth playing. The clunky feel of the cars and the inability to feel like you have accomplished something leave me wanting more out of this game. The story is ridiculous, I don't even know why you have one. Since the PSN has been down the only thing I think that can save this game would be the online play which I haven't been able to try. This one is a renter at best. If you are getting it for the destruction I would suggest Split Second over this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its not the Apcoaylpse, but it is really Awesome!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) May 4, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

The Motorstorm games are known for their crazy tracks, violent, arcade style racing designed to be played with friends, and lots, and lots of caffeine. And the new addition, MotorStorm: Apocalypse is exactly that. The story, (if you can call it that) sucks. Hard. The cut scenes are nearly unbearable, but occasionally mildly, mildly amusing, barely though. But that's not what this game is about, its about adrenaline fueled racing. And there's plenty of that. The tracks are wildly varied and never feel boring or repetitive. The designers did a great job gauging the destruction of races so each lap is as exciting as the last, and still gives thrills galore. The cars handle like they always do, a bit wonky in corners, but after a race or two you get the hang of it. There's TONS of tracks and vehicles, and although the cars handle similarly, there's enough variety to keep it interesting. The graphics are good, but not great. Cars look good, but not great either. But the pedestrians on tracks, (which are a very nice touch) act great and the destruction looks SICK!!

Pros: Great track variety, nearly every track feels like an adrenaline rush. Destruction looks and feels great in action. Good controls, opponent AI is good, at times amazing. Split-screen is always a major plus. 3 campaigns guarantee lots of playtime; and the difficulty is good based on each track.

Cons: Terrible, terrible cut scenes and characters. They shouldn't be there. Graphics are good, but nothing special. The soundtrack sounds like its from a 007 movie. There isn't much variety in car handling, bikes still feel wonky.

Overall, MotorStorm: Apocalypse is a great racing game. Its what Split/Second wanted to be. But MotorStorm avoids what bogged Split/Second down, and that's variety in tracks and thrills. Which are aplenty here. Defiantly a rent if you like adrenaline racing games, but don't expect Gran Tourismo, or even Burnout. This is arcade racing with added steroids. Give it a try for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as good as hyped

posted by buppyb (MOUNTAIN CITY, TN) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

MSA is a good racing game, but is nowhere as good as it was hyped up to be, the graphics can be stunning and cheap looking as the sametime, sound effects are LAME, the crash scenes are childish looking, One user said in a review it was what Split/Second wanted to be........Split/Second is a better game, but i do wish it had more tracks
MSA online gameplay can be a real problem, people are always being disconnected or dropped from gameplay......and EVO does not seem to care no patches or updates yet..........
I paid $59.99 for MSA and after playing it I felt like it would have been worth $19.99

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best MotorStorm in the Series??

posted by rrk246 (RALEIGH, NC) May 4, 2011

Member since May 2007

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Graphics: The graphics in this games are just superb. They are by no means the best , but when entering all the factors in; steady framrates, constantly deforming terrain, and relentless AI the game just can blow u away sometimes.
Sound: Another great part of this game (not to mention with all MotorStorm's) is the incredible soundtrack, the heavy dubset music just drives the gameplay to another level. U feel pumped and ready to race the heck out of the game. The sound design is just right (nothing scarier then hearing a big-rig or monster truck barreling at from behind).
Presentation/Gameplay: Well i think they have definitely nailed the gameplay. All the cars feel well balanced, and vary different from each other at the same time. No one is, more overpowed then the other, and it makes for some nail biting races. That being said the game also has a dark side, and by that i mean sometimes u will want to through the controller. Later on into the Festival mode u will encounter more aggressive AI and this in tern means u need to drive perfect. If u so happen to F up right before the end be prepared to grit yr teeth. But with that being said it should not deter anyone from picking this up if your a fan of MotorStorm or any Arcade racer.

Yes its an extremely fun racer , and you will not be disappointed with the game. Some levels you will find to be a challenge but that just the way MotorStorm is and the satisfaction of crossing the finish line 1st is just awesome. I would equate this game to being on a roller coaster on speed with you holding yr breath the whole time and thinking yr gona fly off the rails at any moment! Then and only then u finally take a breath and its only because u have finished the race! All i have to say is whats better and more intense then racing around a beach strewn with debris and a tornado headed right at u!

(I did not include an online review because of the network being down , but from what i have heard the online mode is a great addition)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

lots to look at!

posted by jmml914 (TAUNTON, MA) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I liked this racer a lot! there is so much going on in the screen you see different things every time you play the same track. It takes some getting used to at first but doesn't take long. looks great on an hd tv.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What did they do to Motorstorm?!?

posted by Kodros (SEATTLE, WA) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is basically only Motorstorm by name. All of the gameplay that makes MS great has been removed and replaced by terrible design decisions.

As soon as you start the game up, you immediately know that something is wrong. The opening cut scene plays out like a spy movie with music as equally as bad. It's not the awesome opening like the last two where it shows the Stormers arriving on the island in CGI goodness. The cut scenes through out the game look like comic book art, which is fine, but it's not Motorstorm. The story is a dud and is completely anti-climatic.

So, let's talk about the gameplay. Evolution Studios could have gotten this to work. It is possible to have the Festival in a busted up city but they made many bad design decisions. The worst design is the scripted events that occur during the racing. Having a building or something crash which opens up another path is great, I can live with that. But having these events cause you to crash is an absolutely terrible idea. Racing down the street and having the pavement break open so that it makes it impossible for me to avoid a crash is such a bad design in a racing game. I can't even count how many times the game would throw something at me that was impossible to avoid.

On to the next terrible decision, the tracks. The tracks are so cluttered that you will crash countless times from hitting something you can't see. The path that you are suppose to take on these tracks are so hard to distinguish that will wonder if you are going the right way a lot.

The music was mediocre. There isn't a wide selection of music like the previous two games. It's like 3 DJ's and that's it.

I was incredibly disappointed. The game was easy (4 hours to beat). Motorstorm always had this feeling that you were barely in control of your car. MS:A has it also but it's artificially added via the scripted events and it's nowhere near as satisfying. If you liked Split Second, you'll like this game...sad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sick of noobs

posted by xCyCoBaCk (DOWNINGTOWN, PA) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Motorstorm is an awesome game, Not perfect but awesome. I read through these reviews and most of you are crying because you were terrible at the game. mad cause you crash to much. LEARN TO DRIVE. all n all short n to the point the game is def. worth jumping into. I personally thought the graphics and physics of the game were great. But what are good graphics anyway? Games are about fun, enjoying yourself or with your buddies just to have a good time. act like you could make better graphics. Fellow Gfly members, Please stop bashing games because you were terrible at them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short and sweet

posted by thisiswar (HIGHLAND, NY) May 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Motorstorm: Apocalypse is a great racing title. Sometimes breathtaking graphics, AMAZING level design, and a wide array of different vehicles to choose from.
-The story mode was a pleasent surprise; decent story line, with likable characters that actually made you enjoy playing through until the end. I was kind of surprised by how easy some of the later (hardest) levels were, but next to the suicidal AI in Pacific Rift, I won't complain.
-The vehicle's this time around are completly customizable; Want new wheels? A decent paint/livery editor? or what about just changing bumpers? You can do it. The game isn't Need For Speed Underground in terms of customization, but I found it very satisfying all the same.
- I could fill this entire box up with how amazing the level design is, but I'll try to keep it short: The levels in this game, and the way they change, cannot be beaten in ANY other arcade title. Split/Second had its fun diversions, but this is so far beyond. Entire overpasses will collapse with you on top of them, buildings will crumble and fall over top of you, and by far one of the craziest racing game levels allows you to drive not through, but ON TOP OF skyscrapers. Truly brilliant.

If I were to have ANY complaints, it would be due to lack of modes. There's story mode, "Wreckreation" which is essentially single race mode in other titles, and bonus missions, which may consist time trials, to racing the same tracks with more advanced AI, and of course, Multiplayer. As of this post, Multi seemed to be rather troublesome, with matchmaking issues , and server instability, but that may not be the case for all.

This game is a couple days of great fun, but don't look at this as your replacement to other racing titles such as Dirt 3 or Gran Turismo 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehh

posted by WonderWeirdo (CHICAGO, IL) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This isn't what it was hyped to be. The graphics in comparison to other driving games aren't that eye catching. The challenge isn't quite the the best either. Racing through a Post Apocalyptic city scape sounds cools but they didn't exactly pull it off. The way I see it, you have to engage the player right away or you've lost them. Lots of games do this but MotorStorm: Apocalypse doesn't make the cut. The problem is that when I play other driving games, even Mod Racing, I don't see anything special about it. It's a good concept that failed. Also the storyline mode is kind of stupid, I wasn't engaged or interested.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

MOTORSTORM: APOCALYPSE = BOOO!!!

posted by TODDER (WESTMINSTER, CO) Jun 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My first ever experience with the PS3 was the in store display/demo. I waited for ever to get my first turn at the original MotorStorm................Well I was hooked, both on the PS3 and MOTORSTORM. Pacific Rift is still one of my faves. So I was waiting night and day for Apocalypse to release. Luckily for me I cound not find a copy in stock locally, so I joined Gamefly.

Apocalypse arrived two days later. IT WAS SUCH A LET DOWN !!!!!
I am so thankfull that i did not waste $60 on buying it. 1 day in and I completed all the game play. Not enough courses, no challenging RACING. All u do is dodge explosions and falling buildings.

I am now hoping that MotorStorm will find its way back to super awesome adrenaline filled OFF ROAD racing !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kind of fun until you get through the game

posted by hillbilly2 (RED OAK, TX) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game seems repetitive at times and can become confusing on the tracks. Then after a few tracks it becomes boring graphics are not that great and the tracks are not impressive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad but not perfect

posted by jason11 (DAVENPORT, FL) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Motorstorm: Apocolypse is like racing in an enviorment similiar to that of the new blockbuster movie 2012.

The good: Does not lag even with over the top action (huge eartchquakes, tsunamis, etc.), great courses, good customization, and a variety of cars.

The bad: The story line is shallow, annoying and stupid cartoons describing story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nothing Revolutionary, but still very fun

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jul 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've played every motorstorm game and I thought that the first one was the best one. We've seen Motorstorm 1, pacific rift, and arctic edge. The final installment to the series has finally arrived , Apocalypse. Does evolution's new entry to motorstorm revolutionize the franchise or is it just more of the same.

Motorstorm Apocalypse is a great game. If you love motorstorm you'll be right at home here. Apocalypse takes place in san francisco which is practically turning to rubble. The game certainly has a great setting and I think it's the best setting of the series. Another amazing thing is the amount of things the game throws on the screen at once. There may be a sky scraper collapsing or a buckling bridge and rubble flying all around you, the framerat eremains smooth even with all this happening. Sadly the game doe nothing new in terms of racing. Same physics, same everything, but that's not really a bad thing. Graphically it's bit rough here and there but it does look good. Overall this game is the same motorstorm we know and love. The last game in the franchise sure is a good one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game rocks im just telling you that!

posted by jak5362005 (TWIN FALLS, ID) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is cool I did not try online yet but I did try motorstorm apocalypse multiplayer demo it was cool but people were droping out and stuff you should rent this game im just telling you that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

MotorStorm: Apocalypse

posted by heart3259 (CALCIUM, NY) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

its not a bad race game the one thing i didn,t like is the way they set up the tracks on the races ever thing other then that was cool i,m just not a race person i like rpg games alot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Why MotorStorm apocalypse are not good?

posted by Needs6 (MADISON, WI) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Because the graphic is even worse than MotorStorm Pacific Rift and their ability of agility is weird, for example big rig move like it is race car plus i have hard time to outrun them even on easy mode i cant get first place easily and i have lot experience with racing from off road to street racing to professional race but that game is worst i have ever. Soon as you playing that game first thing come to your mind is fake, everything about it is fake no matter much how you try to cover it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

6 out of 10

posted by natalie (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok so the game looks nice but is the same as the prevews ones, the bikes are still goofy and so are a lot of the other cars nothing new except that the music was replaced from the original game that had some nice Rock song to some techno that sounds like the 80's, and onestly if it was on Xbox well no preblem cause you can just chage the in game music to what ever you like, in my case i love classical music and these game with the requem mass form Mozart or vivali's 4 seasons would have been nice . These is why i will not buy these game on ps3 just can't go back to the slow and old tech ps3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse