Rent MotoGP 09/10 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

MotoGP 09/10

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.9

350 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Better than MotoGP 07 and solidly good

posted by flyboy8498 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

The release of MotoGP 09/10 is far & away better than MotoGP 07. It has its good points, but it also has its detractors too.

There's a disclaimer here: This is not a NASCAR game where you can go pettle to the metal & think you'll win by far. You will end up in the nearest wall or sand pit in the corner by doing so. You must be able to control your speed.

The learning curve on MotoGP 09/10 is steep. It will be especially steep for players not used to motorcycle racing, which is different than NASCAR or Formula 1/IndyCar because of mechanics.

The presentation looked great with the menus, but the functionality of them in career mode left a little to be desired. I had to click back & forth from my "team" menu to the "calender" menu to see if I should add another mechanic or if I had enough researching the item already. That was 3 clicks back & 3 clicks forward each time, which can be frustrating after awhile.

The graphics are... passable. Monumentum manages to inject at least some life into bland surroundings but nothing speciacular. The graphics are not going to blow you off your seat.

The sound is good. I liked the soundtrack to the game which gave it some life during the races. However, all of the bikes sound disappointingly blah. The sound/roar of the bikes left something to be desired.

The gameplay is very solid. There's a tutorial that you go through in career mode to introduce you to the controls, & there's also something like 10 different variations on the controls you can use. The racing is thrilling which is a major plus. The AI is remarkably smart and accurate at each level.

The bottom line: There's a learning curve you must overcome, it's not going to come easy. There are better motorcycle racing games to buy, however if you can overlook the graphics (which is fairly easy when you concentrate on racing) and some minor sound issues MotoGP 09/10 is a solid rent. MotoGP 09/10 should keep you entertained enough to say the game is solidly good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but not great

posted by Brooksy420 (ROBBINSTON, ME) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game had some good points the racing was fun but could be a bit teadous at times. It was good that you could upgrade your bike and it did make a difference that was noticeable the game didnt really have any story line like most racing games unfortunatly. but if you are someone who likes to race bikes then this would be a good game for you to play I did enjoy but I think there will be better bike games out there hopefully sooner rather then later

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing rider physics and AI.

posted by elbobbo (NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA) May 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I came into this game with high hopes, being an avid motorcyclist and long-time fan of realistic racing sims like Forza and Gran Turismo.

I was immediately disappointed with the lack of realistic riding physics, your rider is instead, a rag doll on top of a 2-wheels train...until you fall or are immediately assaulted by the unforgiving AI. In the real world (and other racing sims) the AI avoids you or drafts off of you. I MotoGP 09/10, the AI is more like AUI (read UnIntelligence) and follows the racing line no matter what the path and strike you from all angles.

If you like Acrade sims then this might be for you, but for those looking for a realistic experience, I'd be a little hesitant.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This is about Moto GP

posted by berto149 (VALLEY STREAM, NY) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

Just 4 Words this game really sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Getting better overall every year...

posted by cryptiq (LUTZ, FL) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Overall, this has been my favorite MotoGP game to date. There were a few drawbacks I had to overlook but all in all I enjoyed the game and ended up purchasing it.

Pros: Graphics look better - especially cockpit view. Racing line helps to learn new tracks quickly if you're not looking to devote tons of time to the game. Managing sponsors, press officers, and engineers is kinda fun. The ability to tuck in adds more realism. Much easier to hear your engine over the competitors engine sounds. With vibration on you get pretty good feed back when the bike slides and when it's time to upshift. Personally I turn the music off, but heard it has some good tunes.

Cons: Limited controller settings - you can no longer configure the controller as you prefer, you have to select from 1 of ~10 presets that were less than ideal for me. While some areas of the bike physics were improved this year (ie feeling front end slides) the developers ruined the acceleration physics. Even with traction control completely off, the rear tire will seldom slide under full throttle. No Moto2 bikes - Moto2 class was new to 2010, but game has 250cc class for 2010 - this is understandable considering when the game was developed and released. I would really like to see the developers add the warm up lap - nice to have for times where practice and qualifying are sunny, but race day is rainy, and if for some reason you don't do your qualifying and race on the same day the warm up lap will help you reacquaint to the track.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Race Time

posted by Rickmus66 (TIMBERLAKE, NC) Oct 13, 2010

Member since May 2009

This game is awesome.. It has the feel of a real bike,And having to know when to brake and lean. The conpatition is hard ( even on Rokie) and the tracks arent easy, but once you get the hang of it and build up your bike it gets easier.
The reason I gave it an 8 is because there is no story mode,you pretty much go from race to race. The other is because you get graded on everything you do during a race, and if you bump someone (and you will a lot) it takes points away. That is something that cant be helped.They run into you,point taken away.I had an A on several tracks until the bumping part came into effect.Turned my A into a D. Sometimes I didnt even get a grade lol.
But I would recomend renting this before you buy it.Its not for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time.

posted by ddixon1688 (GILBERT, AZ) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Game play was ok but it look like it should be for snes....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ITS A GOOD CHALLENGE!!

posted by 96ultra (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

VERY FUN AT FIRST,BUT IT DOES GET OLD AFTER 8 HOURS,WORTH THE RENT!! RENT IT BEFORE YOU BUY IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really Bad

posted by WhodaPhunk (CROYDON, PA) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

First of all the Moto GP Bikes didnt even sound like real bikes. The AI completly disregardes you when your in the racing line. What i mean is that they will just slam into you if your not going fast enough. The sim aspect is completly not there at all. The graphics are mediocre at best. All in all I give this game a big thumbs down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by greezy (WACONIA, MN) Jul 5, 2010

Member since May 2007

Mechanics and graphics are worse than 08 but the career mode is much more exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This is Horrible!!!!!!!!!!

posted by DWarrior96 (FAIR OAKS, CA) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

First and foremost, there is only one good thing about this game. that is that the graphics are good. other than that it sucks. some gamers like racing games that are timed. I only like them on arcade games that you find in pizza places.time based racers do not belong on consoles. unless you like them at home.Don't buy the game just try it, then you'll know what i'm talking about. but i don't recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »