Rent Moto GP 08 for PS3
view large frontback

Moto GP 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

357 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent for GP Racers

posted by GPRacer (NORWOOD, MA) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game is perfect if you are Grand Prix Racing Fan and if you want to get the real feel of how a bike feels in a race track. It has very good handling of the bike and I like the career mode as well. Definite buy if you are into racing! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

posted by ThirtyPlus (FULLERTON, CA) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have a mixed review of MotoGP08. I ride in the real world, I have played all the MotoGP games, and I have been waiting for this release for months.

With that said, let me get started.

Single player gets old after awhile.

Online mode is absolutely EPIC. Awesome races with real people and great graphics.

The graphics are absolutely SWEET.

The sound is a little off, but a dramatic improvement from the past.

The replay is Horrible. Here's why:

You cannot cycle back and forth between riders, camera angles. In other words, if you like 2 camera angles, and you want to cycle between them, you need to cycle thru all the other camera angles before you get back to the one you like.

Before, you could hit X to cycle forward, and O to cycle backwards. Now, ONLY X WORKS. You can only cycle in one direction? HUH????

You cannot SAVE replays.

So I love the ONLINE mode of this game. Only problem is that this game does not have a large fanbase. When you SEARCH for ANY ONLINE GAME, you are hard pressed to find one.

Online mode is excellent, but no one plays.

I would buy this game if more online players were available to race with... but there are hardly any, if any at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best yet.

posted by bobbykniev (MOCKSVILLE, NC) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best Moto GP to date. I loved the gameplay and graphics. Very smooth. I can't wait for '09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

i just expected more, I guess. . .

posted by racerboy (SCHOFIELD BARRACKS, HI) Oct 31, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

graphics are cool nothing special, AI is good, playability isn't that good. really hard to judge entrance of corners and even find markers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Perfect for a select few....

posted by rnmike (LA MESA, CA) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I really enjoyed this game. Partly because I ride a sport bike and with my 47" LG 1080p LCD-TV I felt like I was hammering down the straights at Donnington or Losail and then hard braking and knee dragging around their hairpins. It was exhilarating and the crashes made my gut spin. I had a great time, the controls were easily learned and with a little effort nearly mastered. The precision of the bikes, types of tyres and the true to life bikes, riders and tracks make this a must play for any Moto GP fan. Being able to smoke Valentino Rossi on his Yamaha M1 with Casey Stoner on a Duc made my night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not what I thought

posted by KEITH6578 (RUTLAND, VT) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

In arcade mode i won every race without trying hard. In the real life mode, I could pass in the turns and move up to 1st-3rd in the turns but crash on the straight stretches. Dont make since to me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WEAK SAUCE!!!

posted by frizzo (OMAHA, NE) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I've played plenty of racing games before but this was terrible!! Don't get me wrong this is a little better than Hang On! but it's only half a step above. This is my personal opinion probably different from yours so don't base your rental off of this. Happy Gaming!!

Rizzo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game glitch

posted by nyricanf15 (SHALIMAR, FL) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

Game has a bad glitch when I started racing and couldn't see half the screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a good game if you are into sport bikes

posted by matt24 (MINDEN, IA) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

good concept, but boringly repetitive. i love gp racing and ride a yamaha r1 sport bike. this game is a lot of fun to sit and play when it is to cold outside to ride you real bike. if you have no experience ridding real bikes you will have a hard time in the beginning controlling the bikes but a good way to remedy this is to not get out in front of the leader but instated to fallow them for a few laps so you know at what speed to take the corners in some you almost have to be stopped to make. which is why i give this game a 8 due to the fact that the handling of the bikes is soo realistic. you may also notice that the game is a little bias casey stoner seems to win all the time when rossi was the best this year. LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Simply Awful

posted by lbz999 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

I cannot describe how horrible the game is. If I paid $60 for this game, I would be so p-ssed!!!! But I rented it, and it was good for no more than the weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

On bike view makes this game stand out.

posted by Sparge (CINCINNATI, OH) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

With so few motorcycle only games out there for PS3 this game is a stand alone. The graphics are great, seamless for the most part. Arcade mode is the best way to start. The controls are paired down so you can just get on a bike and go. With only a little practice you can start winning races and custom upgrade your bike and get a few fancy helmets to boot. A tricked out bike is a must for online play. I raced only a few time online so far and found game play unhindered and exciting. I usually bore quickly of traditional racing games, this game may be an exception. Only criticism is that the graphics on the bikes can not really be customized. All bikes are team colors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Moto GP

posted by narde15 (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

this game is a great distraction if your not currently playing a racing game and need a change of pace. i didnt get to deep into this game but it seemed ok, nothing to spectacular.

customizations were their, a nice variety of bikes, you control pallet can vary from arcade,on the kiddy side to simulation on the other side of the spectrum. i had a bad experience with the online aspect of it, but its was vary close to launch.

i just had to many other games id rather play i may pick it up again in the future.this game would be better if it was released like 3 months ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »