Rent Moto GP 08 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Moto GP 08

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, Wii, PS3, PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
5.6

385 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Motogp 08

posted by hford1 (SPRINGFIELD, MA) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The heart of motorcycle racing is going into and out of the chicanes and hairpin turns,any one can go full blast doing a straight run.Now the challenge comes in gaming form of being able to immerse the player to get that real sense of feel. I have all previouse versions and this is the one that Finally ive been waiting for. The sense of going into a turn is there with the proper camera angles.Graphics on the rider and bike models are the best ever with no jaggies and realistic look. Yes motogp 07 environments look better as far as more details but come folks adding helicopters flying does not cut riding mechanics. The people at MileStone knows how to make racing game..Excellent game for first time console release..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MotorGP08 is good for those who like ssportbikes

posted by Darkrider (MELBOURNE, FL) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a good game if your into racing motorcycles. It's alot like nascar if your into that kind of stuff or F1 Racing, But a little harder because your on two wheels vers four wheels and you have to lean when turning. Give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Least favorite MotoGP

posted by DirtySouth (KILLEEN, TX) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

On the original Xbox, MotoGP was such a fun game, everything from the music to the handing of the bikes. Learning how to take corners without flying off of the track was half the fun. This game has been watered down so much, it doesn't even look or feel like the same series. I wasn't at all impressed with the graphics, I feel like last years game was better but maybe its just me. MotoGP 2006 was really fun too. The Championship mode is pretty annoying. If you choose to start the race without doing practice laps or qualifying, it starts the race in a pole position mode anyways thus you have to forfeit, go back to the menu, then finally being the actual race. What the heck was the point in that Capcom? You're lucky you're busy with RE4, SF4, and many other amazing games I can't bring myself to be mad at you. This game was so unfulfilling in fact that I had to take my CBR1000 out for a cruise at 1am just to remind myself how awesome motorcycles really are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What happened???

posted by G5Xeon (WOODLAND, CA) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This used to be a good series. This version really dissapoints. Poor control, so so graphics and weak game physics. Not sure who dropped the ball on this one. The earlier Moto GP games are far superior to this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What A Tragedy

posted by UrbanMerc (VICTORVILLE, CA) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by telling you I am a LONG time rider of more than 20 years. Not just putts to work, but TOTALLY illegal canyon riding. I currently have over 30,000 miles on my '06 Kawi ZX-14, which I bought in August of '06. So, as someone who puts on an average of 250 miles each time I straddle my rocket, and has survived the freeways of Southern California for all these years, you can bet your bum I KNOW WHAT REAL RIDING IS. That is why I can honestly tell you, this game simulates NONE of the aspects of riding and racing motorcycles well. To be honest, it is the WORST motorcycle game I have played yet, and I have played quite a few.

Some people would say motorcycle games hit their peak with Superbike 2001, and I would have to agree with that. If you are too young to remember, or even played that game, then you might agree with me when I say MotoGP '06 would be the current gen's best representation. But I still think Superbike 2001 was the best game so far. What I am referring to as 'tragedy' in my title is the fact that the same company that developed that motorcycle masterpiece in 2001 is the same one responsible for this heap of trash. Also, they are the ones responsible for the new release of Superbike World Championship, which released yesterday, and all I can say is that I HOPE that game is MUCH better than this one. What happened here milestone? You know, I am looking for a career change, so if you need a full time technical advisor, I would LOVE the change of scenery??? ;) Guys, as much as I LOVED SBK 2001, this game is utter TRASH. Sorry!

Stay away from this one. It just isn't right. I completely expected more from this title, considering it was being developed by Milestone in Italy. It is almost like none of the guys who worked on this game have EVER ridden a motorcycle. If you really like motorcycle games, stick with MotoGP 06. '07 was just too dumbed down for anyone who has ever ridden a motorcycle. Better luck next year guys!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Multiplayer

posted by pandagirl (PEKIN, IN) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

It stinks not having the capability of playing more than one player. Especially when it states it is a 2 player game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Horrible Arcade and Simulation

posted by KDOG23 (IRVING, TX) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

Read IGN's review of this game and enough is said. I have seen better graphics on a PS1. There are only three styles of racing. Want to win every race? Then you will choose Arcade. If you want a challenge then you will go with Simulation. Simulation is a disgrace. The bike handles nothing as it would in real life, the bike gives no indication something bad is about to happen, and the rider gives no true indication of whether he is leaning forward or not. Avoid this game like the plague. The only people that will enjoy this game are those who find pleasure in so-so arcades and despise simulators. Again, I back up everything IGN says, so please read for full details.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Disapointed

posted by templar69 (JOHNSTOWN, CO) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Over all the graphics were decent and the motion was fairly fluid with pretty good overall handling. But it ends there!!!!!

There was no option to create your own bike rider and or team, you were stuck with a current machine, livery and team rider selection. At least in 06 you had those options.
The music was absolute annoying and the engine sounds left a lot to be desired.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst. Game. Ever.

posted by primer84z (OCEANSIDE, CA) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game has to be the worst racing game ever. Moto GP 06 was way better than this one. If your looking for a motorcycle racing game, pick up 06.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game

posted by NuttZZ (PARKERSBURG, WV) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Great game...great graphics...the only bad thing is it gets old pretty fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent

posted by AcidBath (GARNER, NC) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

It's in okay game, but the fact that there's so many good racing games out this game should have been much better than it is. Since this is my first time playing a motoGP game it's kinda hard for me to give a great description about it. But I CAN say that this game isn't much of a different from start to finish, there's the 150cc, 250cc, and the MotoGP class championships, yet it all seems the same besides a slight boost in speed. If your really into these types of games then it would be a decent rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »