Rent Moto GP '06 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Moto GP '06

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.6

1735 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent for a Sim Player

posted by TheIceman (HANOVER, PA) Jun 16, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

19 out of 21 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Well I got lucky on this rent. I got it the day Gamefly put it out for us. Well I am some what disappointed. Why? Well the gfx are awesome. The game play is awesome. So you ask what's the problem? Well this game is just hard as heck. I just can not get the hang of it. This game is up to par with the best sim racers on the PC. One cool option they put in XBlive mode is spectator mode. When you see the guys that win the races, they are just amazing. Then you look at the guys in the back like me. What a joke.

So bottom line is this. If you want an arcade moto racer, this aint for you. If you want some achievement points easy. Don't think about this game. But if you want a serious challenge with awesome gfx, great sound, and achievements you gotta work for. Then this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Difficult, Beautiful, Solid

posted by mculberson (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 18, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

34 out of 40 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for a easy racing game, this isn't it. This game will actually take some time to master. But if you like the genre of racing, you will love the challenge.

Graphics: 9.0 Very pretty game. This is the first game where I actually enjoy watching the replays because it looks so good.

Presentation: 6.0 This is where this game fails. Outside of the tracks, there's really not much to get to excited to move on or check things out. It's pretty straightforward and dry.

Gameplay: 9.0 Difficult but fun. I play on Pro mode and it's tough but attainable to compete. It's actually very forgiving if you crash because it's actually possible to catch up to the pack. I'm sure on harder levels it gets tough, but it's doable on Pro

Overall: 8.0 Load times are annoying, music must be turned off or use your own custom tracks. I like to just listen to the bikes. This is a good rental for those who want to check out a good-looking next-gen racer, and those that have the patience and the interest to work at getting better could buy this one because there's a lot to master.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Difficulty overrides Fun

posted by Sethman (SANDY, UT) Aug 24, 2006

Member since May 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I almost gave up playing this game after 10 minutes but decided to stick it out. It takes a long time to get used to the controls, but the game starts getting more fun after that. However, I just don't think that the gameplay was fun enough to keep me going, and I felt like I invested enough time to learn the controls that I should have been rewarded with better gameplay. Overall, not a bad game, but could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Moto GP

posted by bama66 (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 3, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I am a fan of simulation and arcade racing titles. After playing the demo on XLA I was sure that this would be a purchase for me.

Thank goodness for Gamelfy because this game is just too hard. I am a fan of careers in racing games, but this game is just too difficult. It might be because you start off with low stats in speed, acceleration, balance (!) and so on.

I admit I have never owned or ridden a motorcycle (because a moped doesn't count). This game is simulating the upper class super bikes and they do not turn near as well as I had imagined they would.

It is a great game for fans of MOTORCYCLE simulation, but I will stick to games that simulate 4-wheeled vehicles. I know how they control and when I want to turn into a corner, I turn the wheel. I seriously tried the first course a dozen times or so and could NEVER get that bike to turn when I wanted it to.

Moto GP not for me (but a beautiful game and I cant argue that).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Moto GP '06, Hardcore Racer Extraordinaire

posted by MajorElric (PLANO, TX) Jun 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Unlike my fellow reviewers I do not agree that Moto GP is a simulator it is just amazingly detailed. It is very close but not a simulation I am a long time racing game fanatic for non-sim. games and can very easily tell the difference the only Moto GP sim. was Moto GP 3 for the Xbox. Moto GP '06 is just as I said before extremely detailed while most fans of the series or the the sport may pick it up may i warn you that this game is much more difficult than the previous games in the series only hardcore enthusiasts are advised to play it. Moto GP '06 is a beatiful game and incredibly realistic as well as an instant classic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hello Moto!!!

posted by Funfactor (Cypress, CA) Jun 23, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Excellent visuals, white knuckle speed and aggressive AI make this an awesome racer. It's easy to pick up and play from the start but difficult to master turns and close corner passing for position. Great career mode with challenges like Gran Turismo. I wish it had more tracks and longer career mode. Frame rate drops a bit at times but the game still looks fantastic overall. Customization menu for your bike, uniform, and helmet can be confusing until you get used to the layout. Once you do, there is a large variety to making your rider and bike unique. A must have for the moto gp fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't bother with this one

posted by JasonDM (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Aug 17, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Unless you've mastered every game out there. The graphics were good but steering is impossible and you spend more time crashing. I'm the type of player that would see this as a challenge and overcome it, but I just couldn't get into this game and gave up quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Simulator, But Great Game?

posted by DudeMan (SWAMPSCOTT, MA) Jun 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It all depends on what games you like. If you're into simulation games like Forza Motorsport you'll probably wet yourself when you get your hands on this amazingly realistic racer. The graphics for MotoGP 06 are average for an Xbox 360 title......which is awesome:) But the physics in this game are whats going to keep you playing and playing and possibly winning. If you're like me and have a short attention span, then you'll probably find yourself just crashing into the other racers so you can watch the brutal takedown in slow motion...from 20 different angles...and make sound effects when your opponent hits the ground...yeeeaaah. So basically if you like simulators RENT IT! If you can't stand them then you should get off the computer and play HALO (or rent another game, I'd recommend Burnout Revenge...but that's just me).

Thanks For Reading My Review,
DudeMan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Realistic, Good Graphics, wat else could it have!

posted by Aviator (ADAMS, TN) Jun 13, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Even though I have only played the demo so far i cant wait to play the actual game. The graphics are awesome , its realistic, and its the best one yet! I hope you can try this game. Even though you might not like motorcycles you should still try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

THIS IS FUN?????

posted by aaron126 (ADRIAN, MI) Aug 1, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is the least amount of fun ive ever had with a controller in my hand, simply put, this game is no where near the game it should have been. it is so frusterating i played the first race maybe 5 times and then sent this lowsy game back. the toturals are completly WORTHLESS, all they do is tell you what to do but not actually HOW to use the controller to do it, so you basically are left to fend for yourself, i couldnt crash less then 10 times a race, ill take any level on halo 2 legedary without dying but i cant win a dang race... i hate this game, it was almost the death of my controler.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game is real, REAL HARD

posted by ThaGreat (DALHART, TX) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nahhh, this games graphics were pretty nice and gameplay i have to say was smooth, BUT THIS GAMES TOO HARD. I play games to chill not to hurt my hands cause im squeezing the controller and my eyes because of trying to get closer to the tv to see what im doing wrong. Hey go ahead rent it you'll see what I mean. To me if you like games like Nascar and all that other Sim junk then this one is for you. But if your more of a Burnout and Need For Speed kinda person this is not for you. I give this game a difficulty of 9.5, just to hard to have fun with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Race Simulation

posted by Kirbinatri (OMAHA, NE) Jun 25, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay, while this game is a fantastic representation of motorcycle racing, it lacks the one necessary particle to any console racing game, arcade originality. What I mean by that is every racing game has some aspect to it that is, not so realistic, be it a boost bar, kudos points, power slide bonuses, or so on, they have something that lets you know you're playing a video game. Beyond that it also had no sense of speed, you feel the same going 220kmph as you do going 80, and, in a curve, that's the difference between 1st and last. Though it is redeemingly good, especially visually, just a graphically stunning game. The game is hard to get the hang of, addicting, and visually great, though it has its pitfalls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The GOAT motorcycle game wise

posted by prorider17 (Gainesville, FL) Jun 14, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I'd have to say, this game just blows me away! Every aspect of it. I own a streetbike and a dirtbike which makes me an avid motorcycle fan, and this game really lived up to my expectations. The graphics, sounds, handling, all the way up to how your rider looks. I bought the game 4 hours ago and had to take a quick break. I definitely recommend this game to anyone into racing, and if you own a motorcycle, get your but out there and get this game. Enjoy the GP!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Moto GP, FAIR

posted by KyOdic (WARRENS, WI) Jul 17, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I will keep this short, the game has great graphics and high speed driving, however, it is very hard to get used to and each race is just like the other. Thought it was fun but got very bored!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Seriously lacking ...

posted by chriswood (DREXEL HILL, PA) Jun 28, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Do not rent this game if you are easily frustrated by poor physics and controls. I rarely find a game that rattles me quite this badly - the last one being TOCA Race Driver for XBox. The bike never seems to go where you want it to go, stop when you want it to stop, or simply stay on the road with any frequency.

Graphics would seem so-so on my Xbox, and are highly out of place on the 360. Music is repetitive and unimaginative - have your MP3 player on standby, or simply use MUTE.

Overall, don't waste your time ... for all the negative reviews given to Tourist Trophy for being a copy of Grand Turismo, at least the physics in that game vaguely represent reality.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

moto gp 06

posted by martin124 (SALINAS, CA) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

after playing the game is seems thay put more into the colors of the riders then in the steering of the bike. I know i am old (37) to be playing this game but if they want fathers and sons to have fun on the same console they should put in a cheat code for those over 30. ( hahaha)

Later,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

moto gp ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by tkdzach1 (DOVER, FL) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is like the best raceing game i have ever played.Its like you are accualy on a bike rideing down a road course in a grang prix race.I reccomend you to buy this game cuz it rocks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"Hello Moto" GP 06

posted by KILFIGER (LAKELAND, FL) Jun 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Yeah... I agree the person who wrote the first review. I too have only played the demo, but from what I can tell this game is shaping up to be an awesome game. The physics are right on and the graphics are unbelievable. If you have Xbox Live then the way to play this game is online. So far I've seen more than 15 people in a room, all racing at the same time, Sweeeeet!!! I can't wait to get my the full copy of the game from Gamefly. Once again, I'll be losing more sleep. "Hello Moto" GP 06 and bye bye life!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Motogp is Wonderful

posted by gamerater (KATY, TX) Jun 14, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Motogp 06 Takes On Great Moments From The Graphics To Its Style.

Pros-
>Great Graphics
>Motogp Style
>Great New Motorcycles
>Xbox Live
>Controls

Cons-
>Needs More Features Like More Unlockables.

Overall Review- 9.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Graphics, Game way to hard...

posted by nick09 (CALABASAS, CA) Jun 22, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing when it comes to graphics and reality... The gameplay is really fun but there is one huge WEAKNESS... The racing is way to hard, if you are one of those gamers that want a challenge then go after this. But for me every time i try to make a turn i fall off. i mean i really want to go fast but in this game u just cant. this game is to hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could be better

posted by bdthom (NORTH PORT, FL) Jun 17, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The game looks good but there are a few things that I didn't care for

first off being able to pull a wheelie doing 180 mph is impossable

the other thing is if you are on a bike and hit soft dirt you are going to fall. not so in this game

I know it's only a game but I do like them to be as realistic as possable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

moto gp 06

posted by ghost89 (BREWSTER, NY) Jul 21, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

this was the wores game i have ever played in my life. to rent this game is a waste of your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't let the Date on This one Fool You!

posted by RKip455 (SOMERVILLE, AL) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2004

Moto GP 06 is the Best Moto GP game ever released for any game format. Yes, it's hard to master, but assist are available.

The graphics are still up to par with todays 360 games; but the game play is far superior to the GP 07, 08, 09/10 and yes, I own every Moto GP game available. since Moto GP (a shame Moto GP 3 has never been updated for 360)

The game offers over 32 independent tracks... the official GP tracks run in 06, and the game offers 17 street tracks for the extreme class... which is simply fantastic. You can also unlock mirrored versions of the tracks and reversed versions, may not seem like much, but Forza 4 and others do not offer this in their games. i.e reversed Mugello is like an entire new track!

Use the thumb controls... right stick for gas/brake... left stick for steering. The game has challenges, time trials, and career modes that are great.

Finally the game offers the greatest years for Rossi on his Yamaha and Colin Edwards in his Prime! No to mention legendary Kenny Roberts!

I highly recommend this game if you like Racing games, Moto GP and Sims. If only the newer Moto GP games were this good Climax was the best developer in this genre!

RKip

BYW: you also get the 05 season with this one!

Folks should not rate because there hard... easier than most shooters! Simple coordination development with two sticks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game I have ever played!!

posted by scoob333 (GRAND LEDGE, MI) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Don't rent this game!!! Horrible controls and no steering. Been out of the envelope for about 10 minutes now all sealed back up and on its way to the post office hopefully I can catch the afternoon pickup.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

hard game with good graphix

posted by cbgb69 (NORTHBRIDGE, MA) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I have to agree with others on this game that it is very difficult to learn. It would be better to have a more forgiving feel to the controls. the graphix are very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse