Rent MotionSports for Xbox 360
view large frontback

MotionSports

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

GF Rating
3.8

818 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Entertaining, but only for a short while...

posted by ICUPLAYN (CENTRALIA, IL) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

21 out of 24 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I have read the other reviews and have come to an conclusion that this game does not require any simplified controls. The controls are just fine and the instructions are simple to follow. What do you want a learning curve? Did you take right off on your bike the first time you rode it? Please be patient in learning the controls and this game will be just fine for you. The game play is fun depending on what selection you decide. I like the hang gliding the best because it feels like there is a "kinection" with you actually flying in the system. My daughter loves the horseback riding. We both adored the skiing but both got a little winded from the long track, but the controls were right on. This game is truly fun with people, probably not so much alone. Also you must truly immerse yourself to the gameplay because you have to unlock future levels which this may take some time. The menu screen is very quick and responsive to your hand commands. One last thing that kept me and my daughter laughing is that the game records video of you playing and replays it back in fast motion. The game will also put photos of you in the game on billboards. Really this game is not that bad and definitely would not rate it as bad as a "1" like some others just because of controls...maybe try readjusting something!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Motion Sports

posted by TheHeff (Green Bay, WI) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to this game since its announcement and the game defiantly falls short. Now it is a little (and I do mean a little) bit better then others have said it to be but I must stress to try before you buy which as a GameFly member it is something we all do. Lets start with whats good: skiing had to be my favorite with small maneuvers you are able to control your character pretty effectively and I found myself trying to unlock everything skiing had to offer. The long jump all be it simple was very entertaining by yourself and as well with friends. Hang gliding was very enjoyable it puts you in front of your TV hands out holding an imaginary hang glider which doesn't sound as fun as it is. This was one of the other sports I found myself unlocking all it had to offer.

Now most of the disappointment in this game comes from boxing and football witch like most others was what I was looking forward to most out of all the sports in this game. Simply put they just don't work well. No running involved in football and the ducking does not register well at all and if you get up to fast from a duck it registers as a jump even if your feet never leave the ground. Boxing even when moving slow does not register your moves well either. Soccer was just mediocre nothing outstandingly good or bad about it.

Horse back riding deserves honorable mention just for working the way it should witch other events (FOOTBALL) did not but you wont find yourself trying to unlock every event for it seeing as it doesn't do much to keep your interest for very long.

Overall the game has somethings to offer but should only be purchsed if you can get it at no more then half the retail price.

Last but far from least in my opinion NO ONLINE PLAY!?

What could of been one of the best Kinect launch titles finds its way to the bottom of the pile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really Bad

posted by AngryBeav8 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I got this thinking it would be as good or maybe even better than Kinect Sports but after playing the game it is just boring, you never have to use that much movement and the motion tracking i poor. Boxing is fun for the first match then you notice that it doesnt do exactly what you want. Football was a complete waste of time, Soccer was poor, you might want to hit the far right corner and you will end up missing the entire net on the far bottom right. This game needs a lot of improvement and also need more movement into the game, stepping from side to side or simply just kicking the ball is not that fun when you are looking for a kinect game that will get you feeling like your in the game. If you want to try a new game for a day rent this then send it back. DONT BUY THE GAME! That will be a waste of your money. A rent would be sufficent enough if your looking to just try a new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I like it and probably will keep it!!!

posted by Magowin (BRIDGEWATER, NJ) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I recommend you rent this game just because there is so many bad reviews here but I honestly had no problems playing everything. I wonder if the users with bad reviews have an old style Xbox. I initially had a white Xbox but shortly after getting the Kinect it crapped out on me with lockups and RROD so I had to get a new Slim. Ever since I got the new Xbox every Kinect game I own plays alot better so I'm wondering if accuracy issues are due to the original Xbox having to use the power adapter. I did have 9 games prior to getting the new Xbox so I did have quite a few games to see a accuracy difference on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow... Had High hopes too!

posted by rightarm26 (AVONDALE, AZ) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I recently tried this title, with very high hopes. This game spent a total of 1 hour in my Xbox, then was quickly thrown back into the mail box. This game featured the worst kinect controls of all games released me so far in my opinion. Here are a few reasons why you should avoid this title.

1- Facial Recognition will hang you up! - A facial recognition feature was put into the game, which in theory should have been pretty cool, and when it did work, was... However getting it to work is the major flaw. Guest without pictures can't login in, and then when you select a guest profile, it tries to recognize that persons face again, then you select guest, then it tries to recognize that persons face again... you get the point.

2- Games are extremely juvenile! - There is no challenge to most of the games that you will play in this collection. Football has you jumping, ducking, and stiff arming, but running is unnecessary, which caused it to lose it's appeal with me rather quickly. Horse racing is boring and loses it's appeal after the first event, soccer boxing and downhill skiing are laughable

3- Why all the bullet time? - Every game features some sort of bullet time sequence in most games (Didn't seem to see one in horse racing) which only showcased to me how inaccurate this game truly is. Blocking soccer goal results in a slow motion bullet time, dodging a would be tackler results in bullet time, dodging a punch results in bullet time... Why? How am I suppose to get better at something if everything is going to be slowed down to a snails pace. and then on top of that your actions will not happen as you preform them because the game is clearly designed to use pre-determined animations to perform actions, which in other sports titles with controllers is acceptable, however in a motion game, your motions should dictate the movements on screen.

I suggest to stay away from this game, or rent it from here, play for an hour and put it back in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by agraceffo (NORTHFIELD, OH) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
One of the worst games I have ever played.
So much potential with what the Kinect can do, but this game is garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Games

posted by adrianne12 (DETROIT, MI) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I never recieved my other games after a week i was furious

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Some Problems

posted by jesey89 (COWARD, SC) May 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

The game it's self was OK but my toddler couldn't play. He was to short to play and he is almost 3 ft tall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Returned within an hour

posted by sizzle (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This didn't really live up to my expectations in a sports game. So far, Kinect Sports Season 2 is my favorite.

The kinect ability in this one just isn't great. Didn't do well registering you. Menus were clunky, things were painfully slow to load. And it just wasn't very fun. Wouldn't bother renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Is there anything left to say.......

posted by notnewtoxbox (FAIRMOUNT, IL) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

That not everyone else has? The game play stinks, the controls are horrible and overall I hate that I have to play every mini game to unlock the next level. Why not add a feature like play all? I have a new Xbox Slim with a new Kinect so I know it's not because of the "older" white xbox and the power adapter that someone else eluded too. All in all, I say this game was a great drink coaster (I didn't use it as that, even though I'd probably would have gotten more enjoyment) rather than a game. Even my kid said this game is horrible, and he is 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

motion sports slow

posted by mickeyminnie197 (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

only works for skinny ppl if u live in apt.which stinks cause all other kinetic games work just fine for us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awefully bad !!!

posted by roudra (PLANO, TX) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

this game takes a lot of time to comeup... and the gameplay is not good...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad after patch

posted by gamegimp (LOGANSPORT, IN) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2005

if you have x box live they send a patch thru to update the game controls, they are are not as perfect as kinect sports but they are still good enough that you dont notice very often, the only game i had some trouble with controls is the soccer but i didnt play it very much to see if it was the controls or me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If I could do -10 It would get it.

posted by thomasrobison (GREELEY, CO) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Boring, slow and no cool games. Hated it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Motion Sports

posted by SirTalkAlot (CINNAMINSON, NJ) May 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is deffinantly not what i expected it to be. when i saw it I thought it would be a game that would accually get your hard pumpin a little. It doesn't at all. Don't even try it. Gamefly should deffinantly just drop this game from its selection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

....

posted by siermine (WINTER PARK, FL) May 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

absolute Garbage. looked good when i started playing it but was just awful. no incentive to give it a second chance. waste of a game Q spot. wowow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is lame

posted by silentninja9588 (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

do not buy this game. its not even really worth renting. the sensor has too much troble picking up your actions. the motions are too basic. totally not worth it. dont rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

dont buy or rent this game

posted by dom1985 (PETERSBURG, WV) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this was the dumbest game ever!!!! EVER!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad CD - Don't get it.

posted by cohiba780 (CHINO HILLS, CA) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

this is the first kinect game, that I have gotten that did not work right.
not very good, games compared to the other sports games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool but makes me bored

posted by Snowdog (GOLDEN, CO) Mar 20, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I think the game play is wicked awesome! But the loading time is really lame and takes forever. also i have had problems with it scanning your face.. very irritating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its an okay game.

posted by mallory (HIXTON, WI) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Different cool games, the controls seem touchy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

...

posted by skillgamer (MOSELEY, VA) Mar 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

didnt expect it to come. i got the wrong game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!

posted by letitia (WESTERVILLE, OH) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

By far the worst game I've ever played! You can't even play a real game of football like the game cover implies....when you try to duck the avatar jumps and when you leap there is a lag. I read bad reviews about this but decided to try it, trust me not even worth the wait to rent this and DEFINITELY don't waste your money buying this horrible game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG

posted by GRIMLOC (PINELLAS PARK, FL) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

what is this garbage. we have had the kinect for a few weeks and love it. we just got this game on monday and im sending it back on tuesday. it doesn't register your movements right, it jumps when you crouch, the game selection is lacking, and the boxing is stupid. my son tried the boxing and he had to swing his arms wildly to throw punches. if you want a sports game try kinect sports my neighbor has that and we borrowed it. it's fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by ElDukeOh (BELLEFONTE, PA) Feb 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

The game wasn't too bad, but I didn't care to play it more than one day. The hang glider game has some potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse