Rent Mortimer Beckett & the Secrets of Spooky Manor for Wii
view large frontback

Mortimer Beckett & the Secrets of Spooky Manor

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.9

438 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by goosebumps (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 17, 2009

Member since May 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

my kids enjoyed this game, finding stuff in the rooms. Me and dad kind of got involved too. This is a game im willing to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Classic Search and Find Game

posted by navyrain0 (GRAND JUNCTION, CO) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you've done a lot of the free demos on bigfishgames, then you will enjoy this game. It does get progressively harder as the game progresses and I finished the game in about 4-6 hours. I wouldn't buy it, but I am glad that I rented it. Not really for little kids. Try the Ultimate I Spy if you are looking for a kiddo game. More for the 13 and up crowd. It is great that, as an adult, it is an entertaining game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Adequate

posted by agadams (GALLOWAY, OH) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was adequate for me but then I am not an avid gamer. It was fun to do with my husband instead of watching TV. It would be a great game to do in a group setting or alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I liked the PC version better, but

posted by Momma3ok (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's still a fun enough game. It is not as challenging as the PC version, and the hidden objects are a bit harder to see, but it is still a fun afternoon for fans of Mortimer Beckett. I beat it in about 2 1/2 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great RENTAL game, not one I'd want to own though.

posted by mrswinland (NEWTON FALLS, OH) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a HUGE fan of seek and find/ Hidden object type games and this one looked great. It's an okay game. It would have been great but it was SO hard to see where anything was because the backgrounds are so dark and the items you look for are soo small. Also, I beat it in less than an hour and the other mode's use the small puzzles and hidden objects. It was a GREAT rental, but I would have been disappointed if I had outright bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice Game

posted by Kirkkira (TEWKSBURY, MA) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nice Game. Like "I Spy" My daughter liked the game as we played together. My youngest, 5 year old was a little scared of the ghosts but overall good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

screen detail sucked

posted by yeshuvtali (MONTICELLO, GA) May 29, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just to hard to see

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Hard to See Hidden Pieces

posted by delynn (LA PORTE, TX) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played this game on the computer so I thought it would be fun on a big screen. you have to find the hidden objects that are broken into pieces. It was too hard to find the broken pieces.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

interesting, but frustrating

posted by charlie4 (SUNRISE BEACH, TX) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think this game might be fun for 8 to 10 year olds for a little while. I thought it had possibilities, but it was frustrating. The buttons had to be clicked more than once and the screaming ghost drove me crazy. The mystery part is fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

totally disapointed!!!

posted by grandma1 (ORLANDO, FL) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THE PLUS SIDE IS THAT THE GAME WAS CHALLENGING!!! :) :) :)

THE DOWN SIDE IS THE GAME IS WAY TOO SHORT. :( :(

THE GRAPHICS WERE AVERAGE, NOT CRISP LIKE THEY SHOULD BE ON A HIDDEN OBJECT GAME, I MEAN YA HAVE TO BE ABLE TO SEE THE DARN THINGS!!

AND NOOOOO ITS NOT MY GLASSES OR T.V. !!

IM A YOUNG GRANDMA..

BETTER LUCK NEXT TIME ON THIS STINKER!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but short

posted by floopes (GALAX, VA) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok first off this is a good game....witch its flaws of course. The game was way to short. I got it yesterday and beat it today. It was worth a rent but do not buy this game. Its way to short. overall its a good game but do not buy it rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok

posted by jacbob (TAFT, CA) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It would have been better if there were more levels and each time you played it changed a little.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It Was Acually Entertaining!

posted by bubbazMom (SANDPOINT, ID) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought it was going to be stupid, but it was fun and entertaining!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

spooky manor

posted by hollie (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was good, the resolution could have been a little better, but over all it was just as expected. The only down side is that I finished the game in two hours. The replay factor wasn't great for me since the rooms were all the same, but younger children 5 -8 years old enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

alot of thinking

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 29, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game takes alot of thinking of where the items are in the picture. i'm only going to play it once or twice. i give mortimer beckette and the secrets of spooky manor 3 ghost floating on the screen out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth the rent, not to purchase

posted by AZDesert (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As the title says, this game is worth the rent but not to purchase.

It was mildly entertaining for the 3 hours to took me to complete the story line of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

alright game

posted by tigger23 (Snyder, NE) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

some of the pieces were a little hard to find but other then that it was an easy game to play. There needed to be more to play on it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Little Game But With 1 Problem

posted by ArthurS (PALM HARBOR, FL) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We thought it was a fun little "I Spy" game. Easy to navigate. You can do the entire thing in a few hours. We did have a problem on our Wii system in that the game locked up at the same spot on two different copies of the game. At first we thought we had a bad copy. But when the second copy did EXACTLY the same thing we decided there was a programming issue here. It happens very close to the end of the game in the Attic when you attempt to apply a watering can to a plant. The entire system locks up and you have to unplug the Wii. Anybody else have that problem?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not much to this one

posted by lilgoodi (ALAMEDA, CA) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was very short and there was only one activity through the whole thing. Basically you just put together pieces of objects that have been cut up and scattered about on the image of the room. You don't walk around or interact with the room. It's just a picture of a room that has your cut up pieces scattered about. The images are not that great and it can be difficult to even make out. So it just became a game of pointing and clicking a bunch of times until your cursor lands on a piece. No other activities in the game and didn't really engage the brain like it should have. Could be good for young children except that they'll be squinting at the images or sitting too close to the TV trying to see the image.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Extremely Short

posted by netguru (ALBANY, OR) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was fun...basically an I-spy game. I beat the entire game in 2 1/2 hours. Would be great for younger kids, but some of the pieces were really hard to find even for me. Great rental, but definitely not a keeper. Needed voice acting for intro and finale, you'll have to read all the comic scenes to your younger kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh.

posted by moonstruck (EASTON, MD) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This may be the worst game for the Wii I've ever seen. It's even worse than the Agatha Christie game. All you do is point and click at things on the screen to reassemble lost items and then return them to their proper place. If you click the wrong place too many times, annoying ghosts pop up, further hindering your ability to click in the correct place. I may be an old, ancient woman with failing eyesight, but this game sucked hardcore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A "Manor" that needs more rooms

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Mortimer Beckett and the Secrets of Spooky Manor first showed up a few years ago as a downloadable game on your PC. It's a family friendly "find the hidden object" game where players go from room to room searching for pieces of items.
When they get the items together, they put some of them back in their appropriate places (soap on a soap dish, chess pieces onto a chess board and so on).
Other objects are used to solve simple puzzles (open a lock, turn on a fan, oil a sharpening wheel and so on).
Problem with the PC and Wii versions is they have a very short shelf life. Many players will polish off Spooky Manor in less than two hours. With Co-Op play, the game will fly by much faster.
Also, the story is bland with boring characters and lacks in presentation. The plot's just an excuse to go scavenger hunting.
To try to overcome these problems, the Wii version of Spooky Manor has two mini games.
The first, Scavenger, is a simplified version of the main game; it has three rounds - each round has you searching through one room for pieces of objects. There's a time limit of one minute per round.
The second game, Ghost World, has you and up to three other players looking through a pile of moving objects to find certain ones. It's a best of five with each round lasting thirty seconds.
But these mini games aren't enough; Mortimer Beckett and the Secrets of Spooky Manor just doesn't have enough content to justify a purchase - or rental. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mortimer Beckett and the Secrets of Spooky Manor

posted by Bearcatgal (EXCELSIOR SPRINGS, MO) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I was not able to play this game. It would not work in my wii. After trying about 3 times it finally worked and I was able to play about 5 mins before it said there was an error again. Tried a few more time, same message. Tried another games just to make sure it was not my wii messing up and that game worked perfectly. Tried the GF game again and what do you know, same message. I like these kind of games and was very disappointed that it would not work. I can't say whether or not the game in general is a good game since I was not able to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loves this game

posted by shortcake (GREENSBORO, NC) May 29, 2012

Member since Oct 2007

I loves this game they need to make a another game like this. It is so much fun to play. I recommend anybody to play this game I even finished it to the end...;-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun Game

posted by walkerb (CHEYENNE, WY) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2007

I loved this game, I actually rented it twice and played the game in one day. Graphics are good and I love games that you have to find hidden objects. Fun Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse