Rent Mortal Kombat for PS Vita
view large frontback

Mortal Kombat

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.9

308 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

love this game

posted by TUBBS1971 (BEACON, NY) May 12, 2012

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is all you can hope for in a mk title and its on the vita?i love how you can input fatalities with the touchscreen only.all the dlc from the consols are present and the new vita challenges are here too.i personally love the story as well 9.0 out of 10 for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like having a handheld PS3

posted by banky74 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) May 3, 2012

Member since May 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This will be a short review since I suspect most of you that are interested in this game have already played the console version.

This is a near-perfect port of the console version. The visuals are almost perfect (with a slight flaw I'll mention in a moment) and the game runs consistently at 60 frames per second.

This is the first fighting game for handheld that you can truly play like the console versions thanks to the Vita's full layout of analog sticks and buttons.

The ONLY complaint I can make is that the 3d character models look rough when viewed up close at the beginning of matches. The models are very aliased and apparently they were paying by the polygon because they certainly didn't use any extras.

It's a very minor complaint though. The game as a whole is tremendous and if you loved the console version, you'll love the Vita version every bit as much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awsome

posted by shidowdawg (PORTAGE, IN) May 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you played the Xbox or ps3 version of the game, then you know what inspect.
The game play, graphic,sounds and tight controls are all still there.
The reason for the 8 is because its a good fighting game now Killer instinct on the vita would be perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Fighting Game So Far

posted by VitaPs4Review (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 27, 2013

Member since May 2013

This game surpassed my expectations.
First off, I am not a fighting game type person because I have a hard time getting them down but this game was just right. The only flaw I found in this game was the close up graphics. I have seen games so far that have shown off what the PS VITA is capable of and this game seems to have sacrificed this. The background graphics on the other hand were really cool and I loved the throwback type back grounds they had on some levels.

The gameplay was top notch. I absolutely loved this game. In a modern world where you have to know every single move to have any type of chance, this MK found a way to dumb it down to the non rocket science fighting gamer. For each character that I used, I knew the basic combos and 2 or 3 special moves and found out where to use them and got through the game with ease. The online gameplay was a tad bit frustrating but fun at the same time. I did not like the fact that it had me going up against people who had put in 1000+ matches and I was sitting there with 2. They destroyed me and I felt like it was a waste of both of our time. I think there needs to be a more intelligent decision for the online matches and let me work my way up to that level. When I found an opponent that was close to my record we had nail biting matches that ended in great heartbreak or great triumph and made it worth it.

The story line was awesome. I loved it. It gave me a chance to experience and fight with a bunch of different fighters. It was interesting and basic but at the same time fast paced. I got through it with just a few hours of game play and the final few fights with Raiden were VERY HARD but after grinding and grinding I got through them. It also seemed that it has some intelligence factor to it in some fights. It seemed as if when you had lost a few fights in the row, it made the fight easier for the sake of moving forward in the story which I felt was REALLY cool for gamers like me who care mo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great to buy...Bad to rent

posted by SkaVeNgeR (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2005

One of the things I liked most about this game was its MK to go. After receiving the game and starting it up I was given the notification that unless I was the first person to play this, I won't receive any trophies. MAJOR bummer! It looks great, plays great and really is MK to go but earning trophies is one thing that keeps me playing. I gotta complete it all. If you haven't played and aren't obsessed with unlockables and showing off that you can accomplish the unaccomplishable, then you'll love this title. Its a great MK game and has plenty of modes to keep u busy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best GAme on PS VITA

posted by Wanako571 (MANASSAS, VA) Dec 8, 2012

Member since May 2012

This is by far the best fighting game on vita

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bull sht

posted by CrzyChris718 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

great game until you get to chapter 11 and you get do sht with getting past on guy. dont waste your time with the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

sorry and thank you

posted by psvitaboy (EAGLE MOUNTAIN, UT) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

can you please send me a envalope because i acidently sent back a game i bought[resistance burning skies ] i would like to know if you can send me it back so i can get it back and send back mortal kombat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game, unforgiving ai

posted by xrgamer (INDIO, CA) Aug 19, 2012

Member since May 2012

this a great game has most of your favorites its back to that classic feel personaly i liked the full 3d walk around and multiple weapons but nonetheless the story mode is alright it has a really smooth flow.to say you dont like this game would come from the unforgiving ai that sometimes pulls that extra block after a mid air attack or comboing its quick kombos :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

B freakin A!!!

posted by BrakeUDown (NAMPA, ID) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Love the MK series this one beats out the PS3 version anyday with all of its cheesy extra features.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, just like the console version

posted by obichobi77 (LA PINE, OR) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2004

Overall the game is a great experience, it is the same game as the PS3 version other than look; but still has the same solid frame rate, no real slow down. I give this game an 8/10 based on the following:

Overall game-play: 9/10
Controls: 8.5/10
Graphics: 7/10
Sound: 8/10
Replay value: 8/10
Fun factor: 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

mortal kombat vita

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Jul 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

basically the same as the ps3,ported over to the vita,u have your fatalities,your krypt where u buy extras,what not..everyone knows mortal kombat,a big fight gore fest,has online,with voice built in of course..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice!!!

posted by vlace11 (CEDAR HILL, TX) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This is a very cool game i had it on the playstation 3 and decided to rent it on the vita & I'm very pleased with it very cool indeed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Revives the franchise!

posted by nitehawk (NORTH BILLERICA, MA) Jun 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

I loved MK3 back in the day and thought MK vs DC was a decent game. The PS3 Mortal Kombat fell flat for me, however this is better IMO. I find it easier to use the dpad on the Vita with enjoyment vs the dualshock 3. The minigames and different modes are intriguing too! I am playing through the story and so far it's exciting!

I didn't play the story or side games in the PS3 version, but I played the arcade demo just to give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great gameplay, poor character models

posted by SoonerJay (TECUMSEH, OK) May 31, 2012

Member since May 2012

The backgrounds look great. There is a ton of game play, including all of the DLC characters from the console versions as well as extra content exclusive to the Vita version.

The game play is smooth and responsive. In full motion, it looks almost identical to the console versions minus a few background animations.

My only complaint is in regards to the character models and how poor they look. In full motion, it's not noticeable. But when the game transitions from cutscenes to actual game play, the poor graphics are apparent.

Uncharted showed us that the Vita is capable of producing near console quality graphics. In terms of graphics, Mortal Kombat is a huge step backwards. The Vita MK character models are only slightly better than the character models from Final Fantasy 7 Crisis Core.

In terms of game play, you can't ask for much more. But I believe more work should've been spent on graphics. Graphics do not make a great game in itself. But if you've played the console versions, you can't help but notice them because they stick out like a sore thumb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »