Rent Mortal Kombat for PS3
view large frontback

Mortal Kombat

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita, Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.2

9147 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brought me Right back!

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Apr 23, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

41 out of 45 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

There is not much too say. This game out does itself in every way. The combos are fantastic, the characters look flawless, the gameplay is as always brutal and satisfying. If you are in the same boat as me, and had the original when you were a kid, MK9 will throw some serious nostalgia your way as well as some new kicks.

The X-ray moves just add salt to the wound of a ridiculously long combo and not only do they hurt the oppositions health bar, but they kind of make the Agressor (you) cringe a bit at what exactly goes down. Top notch Next gen add on mixed with some great old school playability.

I have purchased MK with no regrets and I know it will be an online MONSTER for years too come. Well done! Now if they only could incorporate the PS move with MK, I would strap a few of those puppies to my feet and Get all crazy on ya!! FINISH HIM!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Vonzylla (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

31 out of 37 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

This game really goes back to it's routes, it has all the classic characters, they're all so original and unique, they have the list of fatalities and new X-ray attack features that really get you sucked into the game. Once you really get into the game it's fast paced and the 2d game plane tops it all off to make it amazing. I've got to say that this game is amazing, but, I'm a huge fan of the Mortal Kombat series so the original feel it has makes me feel right at home with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mortal Kombat: Komplete

posted by MidXIII (SPRINGFIELD, PA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of the series, then you will not be disappointed with this game. The story mode is by far the most complete of any fighting game series. They have taken new characters that never existed before (like noob), and not only brought them into the game, but actually gave them a fleshed out story as well.
Each character is a chapter in this epic story, that pretty much takes you through all the mortal kombats. I kid you not, I played for 2+ hours thinking "the story must be over soon". And then got the trophy for having gone through only 50%... 50%!
In a time when fighting games are just becoming about adding new characters and skimping on the stories, this game really does it right.
MK has really gotten back to its roots. You have tons of characters, a great story mode, the challenge tower mode, and arcade mode, giving you multiple ways to enjoy this really solid title. Even more you have a tutorial mode that basically throws different "mission" events at you to have you learn moves and characters in really fun ways.
Additionally the Krypt is back as well. You earn MK coins, and then purchase unlockables in the form of additional fatalities, extra costumes, artwork, etc.

This game is really packed with a lot of stuff to keep you busy for a while. However, its not without its down side.
If you are used to games like Street Fighter, this game feels a little stiff. The animation and graphics are great, but it just isnt as fluid feeling as some other 2d games.
You may find some frustrating times where some moves might not connect when you feel they should have, like an animation gave a character immunity for that split second your jump kick should have connected.
Also some seriously cheap and/or frustrating fights in story mode where 1 vs 2, gets pretty unfair or a few "boss" fights (I'm talking about you Shao Khan!).

All in all story mode gives this game a solid 8, extra modes bump it to a 9, and a few issues and online lag keep it from a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fan. Freakin. Tastic

posted by MVCarcass (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome to put it simply. I'm usually very loyal to gamefly, but I had to own this game the day it came out.

The new x-ray damage visual is great.

The fatalities are original, and a perfect match for all you blood and gore fans.

This game has more than just the game. It has different challenges, mode, and a great storyline.

I enjoyed MK vs. DC, but it wasn't a true mortal kombat game. I love Batman, but I had to trade in MK vs. DC for the real deal.

Hope this review helps.

Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best One yet

posted by Thcman (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Love this game, cant stop playing it even after I've beat it 20 times. A defiant buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but not flawless

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Apr 20, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

"Mortal Kombat" has always been a standout amongst fighting games- it was fun, often funny, gory, and required the dexterity of an octopus to pull off its more amazing moves. This new version of MK has been revamped a bit. Beginners may find it a little easier to pull off the more spectacular combos, and fatalities have been reduced to four or five button presses, usually consisting of four directional buttons and a face button. Good luck trying to remember them in the heat of kombat, however. For fans, this is a definite purchase, but everyone should at least give this one a try. There's quite a bit to do, with several single player fight modes, a robust story mode (complete with good voice acting and cutscenes), a challenge mode, a training mode, and the infamous Krypt makes a return for you to spend your hard won koins in. The Krypt is larger than before, encompassing four areas with close to 300 items to unlock, from artwork to music to alternate costumes. Graphics are fairly good, and the combat works well on the 2D plane. But, alas, this MK is not without its flaws. Button presses don't always work, bosses can be cheap, and the cutscenes can't be skipped in the story mode. Some of these things can be quite frustrating (especially when trying to progress up the challenge tower), but MK has always been this way. Still, it would have been nice to have these flaws fixed instead of sticking with tradition. Thankfully, the game is more fun than frustrating, so it's definitely worth playing. As a bonus, PS3 players get an extra fighter, Kratos, the God of War himself, who fits nicely into the MK universe. If you don't let the flaws frustrate you too much, this game will give you hours and hours of bloody, good fun. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by robotron84 (OAKLAND PARK, FL) Dec 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is a great game and I love the new x-ray feature. I do however wish they had as much characters and Mortal Kombat 3 Ultimate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

TERRIBLE

posted by D0CT0R (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the MK series, however their latest game seems WAY too complicated with all of the extra stuff they added like team kombat, and power moves. I was hoping for a more straight forward fighting game that's more true to the older MK games. However the worst part of the game by FAR is the online Multiplayer... You have to pay $10 for every account you want to activate MP functions on... If I owned it and wanted to let a friend barrow it, he would have to wither use my PSNID or pay $10 on a game you don't even own. I can not give ANY game that does that kind of stuff a rating any higher than "BAD" which is a 3/10. SHAME ON WB!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FINISH HIM!

posted by Kane300 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Apr 19, 2011

Member since May 2008

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

O-M-F-G ok well Not much to say really EXCEPT THIS GAME ROX ! Also the engine is flawless some characters are a lil slow like kratos but thats cuz he is a big beast. He is not bad however. Also Ermac, Reptile, and Raiden are the 3 ppl not from demo that are really good to me. The best character in whole game though I would have to go with my main man Scorpion...TOASTY<3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Oh the loving rage quit :)

posted by yoda386 (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Mortal Kombat. Great game. Theres always the loving screams of rage quitting when someone gets a fantastic combo on you, and you cant do anything about it. :)
Its a great game, but if you've played any of the 360 degrees games, where you can move in a ring, then this game will be hard to get used to, but uts still fun. The fatalities, amazing :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nostalgic with lots of great features

posted by aseapang (TAYLOR, MI) May 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is quite fun. There are lots of stuff here to entertain you here. For starters, “Ladder Mode and “Training Modes” are standard. Then the new additions are the Story Mode, the Tower Challages, Tag Ladder, etc. These definitely add value to the game and are very welcome additions. Other things to keep you playing are the points you get for doing things. You use them to unlock item in the crypt. So there is an RPG element to this. Great gameplay mechanics, Not clunky. Other than that, it’s pretty much Mortal Kombat 3 minus the Run button. The graphics are great, until you start playing the Story Mode. Most of the character models in the cuts scenes look terrible such as Sonya, Johnny Cage, Liu Kang and Radian. On the other hand Jax, Human Sector and Shang Tsung look amazing! In all, there are some great additions but it doesn’t seem like a ground breaking sequel. Just more of the same with bonuses and tweaks.
Not being able to play online did not influence the score, as I assume it would be as fun as playing Super Street Fighter 4 (maybe even more with King of the Hill). I understand it’s not the game makers fault for the PSN being down. Unfortunately, I had 10 dollars put aside for the online pass but couldn’t use it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Year

posted by Smetsys30 (Arverne, NY) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The best Mortal Kombat game I have every player and Ive played them all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mortal Kombat is BACKKK!!!

posted by flexypoo (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

What a game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Granted the best fighter ever

posted by lovemyspoo (WESTHAVEN, CT) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I'm not a fighter genre gamer savvy kind of guy but when i clocked some hors in the game i was hooked. Every characther is totally customised so there isnt any receptiveness. Kratos is my fav fighter and to lurn therir combos is not easy but a fun kind of challenge if u know what im saying. the story mode is alright but i just go for the ladder matches where theres tag team and many other types to choose. Fatalities are amazing, oh and to say kratos was not made into a lag version actually he looks talks and to my knowledge plays with all the cool toys from the game series no info on the multi cuz at this time april 21 the psn was down if u dont remember. most DEF a buy or a rent im going to keep this gem

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game ever

posted by DANTE_ROCKS (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the funnest game i ever played but some times can get diffult so dont underestamate yourself guys and girls and hve a happy 4th of july and happy great gaming

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a game that lives up to the hype its really amazin

posted by warreng210 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

first of all let me start by saying this game is just plain amazing from the charcters to the look and feel of the game its really easy to pick up and play if your not ust to fighting games all moves can be seen and the fatalites now it does take some getting ust to when choosing a fighter you may like because some are slow and powerful like kratos and raiden pretty slow as well but if you know how to use them then its all good the story mode is what really got me i thought it was just going to be a little 10 fight beat the boss type of deal but was i surpised it goes in to detail and when you think its over bam here comes another twist not going to spoil it for you but to me its amazing all the extra game modes battle tag battle test your luck and so on make this game a great BUY so even if you have the slightest itch to pick up i would nice character selection a story mode regular arcade mode and pleanty to unlock they really hit it out of the park on this one cant wait for the next to come out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

PS3 look with a PSone feel....

posted by BigTwin (Ridgewood, NY) May 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Dont get me wrong I was excited for this title and was hoping to have a good ol' nostalgic blast, but it got old pretty quickly. It may be that I'm just over Mortal Kombat and the old platform just wasnt so exciting anymore, or that the title is just having a tough time finding its niche in the present gaming world. But the game was just not that fun after a few spins....

The game is a flash back with old levels completely reanimated and enhanced. The combat is fast pace and simple, a character's entire move list can be memorized in 15 minutes. The game play is overall fun, but I just couldnt get anyone to play with me more than an hour. After a few spins it feels like the same ol' same ol' especially after a lifetime of already playing it. There are tons of minigames and challenges, but for the most part they suck and quickly become tedious. The fatalities are cool at first, but after a while you dont care to see them.

I guess if you really like the gameplay it could be worth it if you buy the game and play online.... but as a rental its kind of a quickie...

OVERALL: Its fun if you have Mortal Kombat fanatics to play it with, if not, the single player gets old fast and the challenges, mini-games and extra fluff gets annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

mortal komeback?

posted by NinjaPat (BEDFORD, OH) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i thought the game wasnt that bad at first but the more you start playing it, the more annoying it gets..one thing that annoyed me is that right when FIGHT disappeared off screen, i was already getting hit by specials and combos left and right but when i tried doing a combo or special, the computer can immediately read everything and block everything and whats worse is when you are crouched and blocked, they can sweep kick you like 2 feet away..and the story mode wasnt bad but it was REALLY drug on..when you think you've done won, you dont..you have to complete two tournaments and then defend earthrealm and each character has a chapter and each of those chapters consisted of 4 battles and there are 16 chapters and so you are basically facing the same people over and over and over again then once you switch characters, you gotta face the characters you played as well..the game has some good aspects to it though..i liked how they brought back the krypt and how they brought back the "test your...."'s but i didnt like how you have to unlock them all doing the challenge tower which consists of you fighting the same people over and over but you gotta do special things where the ai really has the advantage..i stopped playing the challenge tower at like level 47 and then my friend played about a hundred or so more and i played a few more..basically we stopped playing at level 198 cause it gets boring and ridiculously annoying with all the things you gotta do all over again..this game isnt that bad but i used to play mortal kombat all the time on ps1 and ps2 and this one is just so different cause the ai is ridiculously good..this is the first mortal kombat where the whole time i felt like throwing my controller at the tv and i've even played that god awful mortal kombat vs. dc universe..id say if you like mortal kombat, give this a try but if you get annoyed easily, dont bother cause with the constant blocking the computer does, it'll probably frustrate you..i give it a 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful.

posted by lamefly (LOS GATOS, CA) Jul 20, 2011

Member since May 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Why do they still make games like this... I can understand the appeal of older Mortal Kombat/Street Fighter style games, but all of the new ones have been garbage, in my opinion. I am not the best at these games, but the control schemes don't even make sense. The only way you can complete any move outside of standard low/high kick/punch is to buttonmash... even then it's a gamble. In terms of a modern game... it's a joke. The gameplay is the same as it's been since the very first Mortal Kombat. What have they changed? The graphics? COOL, I guess. That'll get one point since I can't give it zero. Everything else is played out.

The best part would have to be the $5 bonus characters... that's five dollars... EACH. Before you even get to any kind of "press start now!" screen they're trying to push them on you. Yeah... no thanks. Bargain bin for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Two words

posted by Chiasm (LOUISVILLE, KY) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 26 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Life changing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

still not a 2d fan

posted by chemoman (CAMARILLO, CA) Jun 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I'll admit this Mortal Kombat looks better than the rest but that's it. I've never been a 2d fan of fighting games and I've given it lots of chances but when it comes to fighting games I need my side step and 3d action. Tekken has always been the best hand to hand fighting game and Soul Calibur the best weapon fighting game in my opinon. I guess you have to be a die hard fan of 2d action, I'm not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

MORTAL KOMBAT ?

posted by kinggamer19 (WORTHINGTON, IN) May 11, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

I was really hoping this game would be good but ill give you the pros and kons get it kons with a k .. never mind

PROS : great graphics, a game to have 3D tv with , x-ray moves are awesome, good character selection list, and kratos. good challenge tower,and the krypt is back

CONS: the AI is some times unforgiving, challenge tower is too long and the reward at the end of the 300 challenges is really stupid, some characters are way better and stronger than others, story mode that puts you against two characters is sometimes really hard depending on how har they are.

the reason why i gave this a 4 out of 10 is because of the some times really hard AI and the super long challenge tower can sometimes get boring after 150 challenges but if you like mortal kombat this is your game. if not dont get it a rent not worth the $60

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I can't wait for mortalkombat to come out tomorrow

posted by Miggy22 (HERNDON, VA) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 30 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I have watch the trailer and seen their fatalies and watch every character moves and combo and Ehance moves now tomorrow after I come back from work I can't wait to try the new mortalkombat games out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

mortal kombat

posted by bmx (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

It could have been a lot better 4 a game in 2011.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun

posted by otie798 (RODEO, CA) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I liked the story's cut scenes and Test your luck. Good game to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse