Rent Mortal Kombat for PS3
view large frontback

Mortal Kombat

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS Vita
GF Rating
8.2

9172 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

1.05 patch wont install to my ps3

posted by Homeless_Randy (GIG HARBOR, WA) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game would be great if my ps3 could actually install it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful.

posted by lamefly (LOS GATOS, CA) Jul 20, 2011

Member since May 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Why do they still make games like this... I can understand the appeal of older Mortal Kombat/Street Fighter style games, but all of the new ones have been garbage, in my opinion. I am not the best at these games, but the control schemes don't even make sense. The only way you can complete any move outside of standard low/high kick/punch is to buttonmash... even then it's a gamble. In terms of a modern game... it's a joke. The gameplay is the same as it's been since the very first Mortal Kombat. What have they changed? The graphics? COOL, I guess. That'll get one point since I can't give it zero. Everything else is played out.

The best part would have to be the $5 bonus characters... that's five dollars... EACH. Before you even get to any kind of "press start now!" screen they're trying to push them on you. Yeah... no thanks. Bargain bin for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I HATE IT

posted by gdog38338 (KEENE, NH) Jun 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 21 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

IT SUCKS ALOMST AMDE ME CHCU K MY CONTROLLER ACROOS THE ROOM AND I GAV IT A SECOND TRY AND SAME THING HAPPENED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

still not a 2d fan

posted by chemoman (CAMARILLO, CA) Jun 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I'll admit this Mortal Kombat looks better than the rest but that's it. I've never been a 2d fan of fighting games and I've given it lots of chances but when it comes to fighting games I need my side step and 3d action. Tekken has always been the best hand to hand fighting game and Soul Calibur the best weapon fighting game in my opinon. I guess you have to be a die hard fan of 2d action, I'm not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

MORTAL KOMBAT ?

posted by kinggamer19 (WORTHINGTON, IN) May 11, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

I was really hoping this game would be good but ill give you the pros and kons get it kons with a k .. never mind

PROS : great graphics, a game to have 3D tv with , x-ray moves are awesome, good character selection list, and kratos. good challenge tower,and the krypt is back

CONS: the AI is some times unforgiving, challenge tower is too long and the reward at the end of the 300 challenges is really stupid, some characters are way better and stronger than others, story mode that puts you against two characters is sometimes really hard depending on how har they are.

the reason why i gave this a 4 out of 10 is because of the some times really hard AI and the super long challenge tower can sometimes get boring after 150 challenges but if you like mortal kombat this is your game. if not dont get it a rent not worth the $60

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Alright Game

posted by Diesel70 (MINATARE, NE) Jul 15, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

The game is alright. The graphics could be better. I would not recommend it unless you like very bloody games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game sucks the life out of what it once was

posted by Zennshi (AUGUSTA, GA) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

This is all I really have to say about it, this game is trying to be soul calibur and fails horribly. Bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

mortal kombat

posted by bmx (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

It could have been a lot better 4 a game in 2011.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

TERRIBLE

posted by D0CT0R (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the MK series, however their latest game seems WAY too complicated with all of the extra stuff they added like team kombat, and power moves. I was hoping for a more straight forward fighting game that's more true to the older MK games. However the worst part of the game by FAR is the online Multiplayer... You have to pay $10 for every account you want to activate MP functions on... If I owned it and wanted to let a friend barrow it, he would have to wither use my PSNID or pay $10 on a game you don't even own. I can not give ANY game that does that kind of stuff a rating any higher than "BAD" which is a 3/10. SHAME ON WB!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

dont not work poperty

posted by blkman24 (WEST COVINA, CA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this game did not work at all froze up on me a alot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by Roamingrufus (HANCEVILLE, AL) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I have been a huge fan of mortal kombat from the first time I witnessed a guy using Raiden to pit fatality scorpion. From that point on it just kept getting better with each game release, until mortal kombat vs. D.C.. That was just poor kombat. One of the worst. Even though MK9 is better, it was like playing the most annoying mediocre opponent (arcade days) that only jumped and every move literally every move was one of their specials. Awful combos,long for the umk3. I think it was better when in mkda. Sad. Although the fatalities were so close to past moves, they were pretty fun to watch. Still love MK!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

very boring

posted by sajuggalo (CANASERAGA, NY) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

game is the same as all the others very boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

no online??

posted by DanthemanPS3wii (CHICAGO HEIGHTS, IL) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Yeah i play online in most of my games and with this you have to buy the game and get some code to activate online play.. The only problem was that, otherwise its a good game but i was looking forward to playing against people not just the CPU. So if you were trying to play online with this game, then don't get it. Doesn't work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cool Game

posted by rlcrenshaw (YORK, PA) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

im not a person that kept up with this game over the years so i can't realy say yeh nor ney.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

mortal komeback?

posted by NinjaPat (BEDFORD, OH) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i thought the game wasnt that bad at first but the more you start playing it, the more annoying it gets..one thing that annoyed me is that right when FIGHT disappeared off screen, i was already getting hit by specials and combos left and right but when i tried doing a combo or special, the computer can immediately read everything and block everything and whats worse is when you are crouched and blocked, they can sweep kick you like 2 feet away..and the story mode wasnt bad but it was REALLY drug on..when you think you've done won, you dont..you have to complete two tournaments and then defend earthrealm and each character has a chapter and each of those chapters consisted of 4 battles and there are 16 chapters and so you are basically facing the same people over and over and over again then once you switch characters, you gotta face the characters you played as well..the game has some good aspects to it though..i liked how they brought back the krypt and how they brought back the "test your...."'s but i didnt like how you have to unlock them all doing the challenge tower which consists of you fighting the same people over and over but you gotta do special things where the ai really has the advantage..i stopped playing the challenge tower at like level 47 and then my friend played about a hundred or so more and i played a few more..basically we stopped playing at level 198 cause it gets boring and ridiculously annoying with all the things you gotta do all over again..this game isnt that bad but i used to play mortal kombat all the time on ps1 and ps2 and this one is just so different cause the ai is ridiculously good..this is the first mortal kombat where the whole time i felt like throwing my controller at the tv and i've even played that god awful mortal kombat vs. dc universe..id say if you like mortal kombat, give this a try but if you get annoyed easily, dont bother cause with the constant blocking the computer does, it'll probably frustrate you..i give it a 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Icon turned to average

posted by knine86 (HAMILTON, OH) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

When i first heard about the ultimate prize at the end of the challeng tower (melina's third costume) i was severly disapointed that they could take one of the most iconic games of all time, and in my personal opinion, best fighting game of all time, and simply turn it from competitive fighting and skill to nudity. I decided to put my personal opinions aside and give the game a try. After being disapointed in Deception, disgusted with Armagendon, and then not really having a good game since Trilogy. I can not help but feel some disapointment. The combo system is shoddy at best. The story was not up to snuff with the originals. How ever i will credit where its due. I did enjoy seeing human cyrax and sector. However the AI was insanely difficult even on easy (yes i play on easy). When i mortal kombat long time fan not even get a combo in, you are targeting the wrong audience. Instead of pandering to the fighting game champs who will play it and pawn it, maybe you should go back to your roots and give something back to the fans that stuck by you through the garbage like MK4...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

MK review

posted by joeydbme (MORGANTOWN, PA) Mar 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Predictable, but fun story mode. Love the fatality improvements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mortal Kombat Online?

posted by DaPirate (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Rented this just because growing up it was the coolest, bloodiest game out. Used to go to the arcade and stand in line for 30 minutes or more. Only to have my butt whooped in seconds by some Asian kid. Practiced all the combos and fatality's for hours. Even named my son Raiden cuz he was my favorite. This game is alright in that it keeps the oldschool feel and look to it, but its missing the laugh and you suck voice I love so much. Also I wasn't able to connect or figure out how to play online which is the only way I like to play. All in all its gory, addictive and cheezy. I give it a 5 out of 10 only because online didn't work. If your an oldschool fan you will enjoy it and hate it all at once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

MK fans will like, but.....

posted by cardon (PRESTONSBURG, KY) Dec 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

I've always found the MK games to be choppy and klunky (<- notice klever pun), but I figured, "Hey, it's the first major MK release for a next-gen console. Has to be good, right?" WRONG. I'm a Tekken/Soul Caliber fan, and I've been spoiled by the smooth, fluent gameplay that Namco delivers. No other fighter (MK, Street fighter, Marvel Vs Capcom) has been able to achieve the level of smoothness or the astounding number of moves per character.

The reason I give this game a 5 is for the decent graphics and of course, the classic characters that all fighter fans have to love (whether they love the gameplay or not).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

mortal kombat

posted by freak420 (AURORA, CO) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

the game has awsone grafixs but they make tha thing almost impossible to beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mortal Kombat 2011

posted by MKWARLOK (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This game is one of the best fighting games I have ever played. The characters, moves, costumes, options, and sceneries are great. The button inputs must be fast and precise in order to execute high damage combos. This game has 2 major flaws though: 1. Online gameplay and 2. Unbalanced characters. Online gameplay has been plagued by bad netcodes, constant desynchronizations, button input lag/delay and screen freezups since its release in May 2011. Some of the characters that are not bosses are just as powerful and as fast thus making the match nearly one-sided with certain character matchups. NeatherRealm Studios seems not to be to concerned about these problems with online gameplay in correcting the problems, which in my oppinion is not right. Offline gameplay however is nearly perfect,where this game seems to most geared for. Great game for offline play with friends or even just by yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Leads to dissapointment

posted by brinkcivic (GREELEY, CO) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

At first, I thought this game was topping all of the other mortal Kombats'. Then i went through the story mode. It was awesome all the way up to the end. Shao Kahn is practically unbeatable. The fight design is so poor and unfair. That fight literally ruined the game for me. I was considering buying the game until i experienced the pathetic excuse for game mechanics that is the Shao Kahn fight in story mode. After about an hour and a half of getting completely slaughtered by this guy, I will never play it again. Sent it back before i threw my controller through the TV. Would be good as a 2 player game. But if you want to play a game that is not near impossible to play, i would look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

PS3 look with a PSone feel....

posted by BigTwin (Ridgewood, NY) May 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Dont get me wrong I was excited for this title and was hoping to have a good ol' nostalgic blast, but it got old pretty quickly. It may be that I'm just over Mortal Kombat and the old platform just wasnt so exciting anymore, or that the title is just having a tough time finding its niche in the present gaming world. But the game was just not that fun after a few spins....

The game is a flash back with old levels completely reanimated and enhanced. The combat is fast pace and simple, a character's entire move list can be memorized in 15 minutes. The game play is overall fun, but I just couldnt get anyone to play with me more than an hour. After a few spins it feels like the same ol' same ol' especially after a lifetime of already playing it. There are tons of minigames and challenges, but for the most part they suck and quickly become tedious. The fatalities are cool at first, but after a while you dont care to see them.

I guess if you really like the gameplay it could be worth it if you buy the game and play online.... but as a rental its kind of a quickie...

OVERALL: Its fun if you have Mortal Kombat fanatics to play it with, if not, the single player gets old fast and the challenges, mini-games and extra fluff gets annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mortal Kombat

posted by ElitePongChamp (NOBLE, OK) May 13, 2011

Member since May 2011

Without the PSN I couldnt get a full review, but as for the story mode it wasnt bad but most certainly wasnt great. The game content is pretty well the same as the early 90's version for PS. I will buy when its cheaper but not until then.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse