Rent Mortal Kombat for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Mortal Kombat

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS Vita
GF Rating
7.9

13348 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally Mortal Kombat is Back!

posted by CanadianVandal (SPRING, TX) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

138 out of 155 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Get over here! If you were born in the 80s you grew up playing Mortal Kombat. Mortal Kombat 1-3 all made in the 90s were amazing games. Remember those days? FINALLY Mortal Kombat is back! It took 15 years but the wait was worth it. This game is sick!

Some people might complain that the environment is 2D rather than 3D. They just don't understand Mortal Kombat, most likely kids that have never played a 2D game in their short life. Mortal Kombat 9 relaunches the series and does the MK name justice! If you grew up on the original MK series you have to play this, the wait is over. Enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addicting

posted by UNpleased49 (GLENWOOD, MD) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Very fun gameplay. I've played a lot of fighters, Tekken, Soul Calibur, and Mortal Kombat. MK 9 is by far the most entertaining. Even getting beaten up is fun to watch with X-ray moves and fatalities. Unforgivingly gruesome, just the way i like it. The story was an amazing surprise, i especially liked how the cut-scenes flowed from kombat to kombat with out a load screen. Very nicely executed fighter. The button layouts make sense for the moves. And the animation flows controllably without getting caught up in random combos. Can't stop playing, killing your friends has never been so rewarding.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mortal Combat - FINISH HIM!!!

posted by AirJordan23 (OXFORD, CT) May 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I have always loved mortal kombat. Ever since I was first introduced with it, my love for the game has increased overtime. When I heard of this new game coming out, I didn't belive it would be this good. The classic gore like finishing moves were stunning along with the characters appearances. It is defidently a great game to play, especially if you are playing with a friend that you keep destroying no matter what character you are. Yes, Mortal Kombat gives you the feeling of triumph and glory when you hear those nastalgic two words. I recommend this title to all who enjoy a good beat em up action game. I wonder what they will have in store in the next Mortal Kombat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice fighter in spirit of original

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) May 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

17 out of 22 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Longtime fans of the MK series will really enjoy this. Newcomers will have plenty to like about it, but the story and appearances by characters from the early games will be lost on them in some places.

The story mode is the best part, I believe. The game gives you a fighter to play for two or three matches each and the story keeps progressing between each match. Then you move on to another fighter. The story does a good job of mimicking events of the eariler games in a fresh way. Some things that were only mentioned in earlier games actually play out for you on screen this time.

Using the Unreal engine has always been a sure-fire win for me in any game, but for the first time I have a few doubts here. As usually, it does do some wonderful things for the environments, weapons, and armor. Unfortunately, the faces and bodies of the fighters (except the ones completely covered in cybernetics or armor) look really freakish. I don't know if it's a limitation in the engine or a limitation in the designers talents, but no man's torso should look like it's made of blocks of cookie dough.

There are many great moves and the 2-D combat in a 3-D world works great. I have never been very good at remembering complex moves in fighting games (back,back,forward,up,A,B!), but I've been able to figure out some cool ones without doing too much research or training before fighting. Controls are pretty easy to master, and in a game like this, that makes a huge difference for the casual fighting fan. With tons of characters from every previous MK game, the replayability will come from trying out different characters and moves. Some are lighting fast but don't do as much damage. A character like Jax, however, is sluggish and frustrating until you realize you just opened a can of whoop-azz with just a few moves.

This games is a must rent, and then for many people, especially if they don't already own a really good fighting game, it may very well need to be a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Most wonderful fighting game EVER!

posted by jgherrin33 (JOHNSTON, SC) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game amazed me so much! I used to never even know what mortal kombat was about. I even thought Jackie Chan was in this game. But, as I saw my cousin play, I got interested. From Scorpion vs. Kitana to Quan Chi vs. Jade, just blew my mind! My sister never plays video games, but this game had attracted her. This game is the best fighting game ever! I don't care what anybody says. The games graphics are superior. The only problem is the controls. The combos are hard to remember, the movement is too sensitive, and sometimes too slow. But other than that, this game beats all. I wouldn't mind playing this game for years. Or, until I think it is repetitive. But it always feels good to beat my sister every once in awhile and pulling off a fatality or babality. So I recommend this game fully!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ahh, the return of a Klassic.

posted by wtfbooom (LYNNWOOD, WA) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

For those who have been playing MK since the first, this game is definately a rent, if not a buy.

Mortal Kombat is back, with all of it's brutal fatalities, amazing gameplay, and klassic k-spelling kraziness.

May I begin by mentioning that we have FINALLY returned to the format that MK was intended for, leaving the god-forsaken realm of 3D fighting games.

The game features twenty-seven characters, if you have a favorite kombatant from past MK games, chances are, they'll be here.

That said, just because this game is returning to it's roots doesn't mean that there's nothing new to be found here.

Several new gameplay elements have been added, such as the "super meter" allowing you to perform enhanced special moves, kombo breakers, and the new, brutal "X-ray moves."

The story mode of this game is one of the best you'll find in any fighting game, spanning a re-told version of the events of the first three Mk games cut up into several chapters, each featuring a different character. The bosses are pretty hard, but that's not a new addition to MK.

As well, the krypt has returned, with more kontent than you can handle, and, maybe, a few secrets?

All in all, a well-exectued reboot of a fantastic franchise.

Let the Kombat Kontinue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Most refreshing fighting game in a long time

posted by Exchrystal (PITTSBURG, CA) May 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Story: 10/10

The story mode for MK is surprisingly well paced and established. Compared to other games that phoned in the story mode such as soul calibur IV, Street Fighter IV, and especially Marvel vs capcom 3, its nice to see a game where they actually put some effort into the story instead of just giving you a 5 round arcade mode and calling it a day. I was very impressed with this mode to say the least.

Audio/Video 9/10

I decided to lump these together since they both had the same rating for me. The graphics are good but nothing that is trying to push the boundaries. However the ex-ray and gore is entertaining to watch. Music is solid for a fight game but nothing i'll be rushing to put in my ipod.

Gameplay 8/10

Gameplay is very solid but not perfect. Blocking will be 2nd nature in this game since certain character's moves can attack from the opposite side of the screen. Yet the balance in this game is surprisingly good. With the exception of about 3 characters you should be able to pick up any character and do decent with them. The battles are not as fast paced as games like MvC3 but its not slow by any means. I also docked a point since the online is a bit laggy but with so much content in the game I can wait a bit before playing online.

Replay 9/10

Lots of different modes to keep you entertained. Also with the story mode being long and the online as well as challenge mode and towers there will be plenty of things to keep you entertained. Its nice to have a fighting game that is actually worth the money even if you never touch the online.

Overall 9/10

This game is very refreshing but not perfect by any means. What I like the most about it is it decided to go with substance over style. I hope other companies (capcom) learn from this game and try and incorperate it into their own titles. If you feel confident in my review then you should buy it for sure. However, if you feel you need more proof feel free to rent. You wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

why such a low ratting??

posted by jm0ney (SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jul 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this games sweet online play A+, vs mode A+ , story mode A+. I don't see where all the hates coming from?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

They finally got it right!

posted by SRFerg (TUCSON, AZ) May 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Graphics, Gameplay, Options, AND THANK YOU FOR GIVING US THE FATALITY CODES! This is great game! They took out all the worthless stuff and got back to basics. The additions are wonderful as well. The practice area for nothing but Fatalities so you can get them right all the time is awesome! There are multiple different games you can play and then you have the added online get your butt kicked by a 12 year old with way to much time on his hands scenario :). The added Xray and extreme moves are fun and they are game equalizers. Even if your down by a round it can help you take half the energy of your opponent. And they are fun as heck(cant use bad words :(... ) to watch. Even if you lose its just cool to see how your bones break in half! Anyways, definitely worth the rent, I went out and bought it because the old lady thought it was fun as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Reliving the Gore

posted by MrTerrbear (COOKEVILLE, TN) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Mortal Kombat was a favorite game I used to play as a kid, Mk1,2, all of them really! They really showed my how badly you could mess people up with blades, ice powers, and chains. Ha ha! This isn't my first time playing MK 9 however, i rented it from a local Redbox and I only had it for 1 day! LAME. I didn't get far into it, but now that i got it from Gamefly, Imma play this bad boy as much as possible. If your a fan of Mortal Kombat as much as me, you should defiantly rent if not BUY it. (Quick thing though, when you rent it, you only get a 2 day trial for Online Battles, thats the only downside though!!!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best mortal kombat to date, an amazing fighter.

posted by JoshC336 (JAMESTOWN, NC) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

If you loved the oldschool mortal kombat games, this game is worth buying for the nostalgia factor alone. It has a very in-depth enjoyable story mode. It has plenty of characters (all the old fan favorites return), and they are all unique and well balanced. There's not much to complain about with this game.

Oh wait... there is ONE thing.

Shao Kahn is the cheapest boss there has ever been in any videogame. You will throw your controller many times trying to beat him.

Other than that, an amazing fighting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mortal Kombat

posted by UALRDYKNO (GLEN MILLS, PA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I'm telling all of you that Mortal Kombat is the best game out on the shelf and it just released yesterday. It takes you back to the original 2D gameplay setting, and even though I was a fan of the 3D side-step in Armageddon, this takes you back to how the game should be played, 2D style. The combinations are better than ever and incorporated with the new X-Ray vision combo's and some new fatalities makes this a must buy. There is also a great story line in Konquest mode which allows you to hone your skills through various characters and they even threw in some new ladder modes with test your might, sight and strike from the original Mortal Kombat days. I didn't stop until after midnight and I bought it at like 4:30 in the afternoon. Def a 20 out 10!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mortal Kombat 9 (2011)

posted by SCOOTERWALRUS (BRADLEY, IL) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

MK9 is great game for those who like action, fighting, and gore. This is the first fighting game I've ever played, and it is my favorite of all games. MK9's storyline is very fun and challenging and recommend playing through it if your new to the MK seris. Its online play is great for challenging friends and other players. The challenge tower is a level after level of challenging objectives (300 in all!). The arcade ladder is also very exciting and could also be played on co-op. The Krypt is were you spend your kombat koins on objects and can unlock character alternative costumes and secondary fatalities. The new season pass allows you to get the DLC charcter Skarlet, Blind Kenshi comes out July 5, Rain is also included and comes out sometime in July, and a mystery warrior who i believe is Meat comes out sometime in August i believe. When you get the season pass you can claim the charcters when they come availible and you get 4 for the price of 3! MK9 also has klassic skins and fatalities availible for certain characters. MK9 is full of suprises from hidden battles to funny babalities and I recommend it to anyone who love to have fun with friends, a challenge, and some extreme gore! This is my first review so yeah its a bit short and might have spelling errors but its the best i can type up and theres plenty more i could've explained but as i said it my first time and also look out for more of my reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

such a good time

posted by tmavis (MANASQUAN, NJ) May 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

for any mortal kombat fan, i strongly recommend getting this title. between a story mode that puts both movies to shame and a challenge mode with tons of missions...the creators really stepped up their game. the one thing i feel that sucks is the button timing for performing combos. i find it extremely hard to pull combos off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Return To Form

posted by CitiRaven (GRAND CANYON, AZ) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Mortal Kombat returns to its gory, violent beginnings in more ways than one. Some would call it a reboot, but if you play the story mode then you realize quickly that is not the case.

The story begins with all the warriors we know dead, except for two: Shao Khan and Raiden. The struggle is entirely one-sided, with Shao Khan tossing the thunder god around like a rag doll. Sensing his death, Raiden sends a warning back to his former self, preparing for the original Mortal Kombat tournament. "He must win." Who it is that must win is unclear, but Raiden keeps getting flashes of the fighters as they progress through the tournament.

The story continues through the course of the original three games, though due to the future Raiden's interference, certain things have changed. For instance, Sub-Zero becomes a cyborg, while Smoke avoids this fate.

With the depth that goes into MK's story mode, it's surprising that there is room for anything else. The Challenge Tower will test your kombat skills, among other things, and is a decent change of pace from the constant barrage of "MURDER KILL MAIM". And speaking of murder, The team at NetherRealm Studios have really taken Fatalities to a new level. Some are as greusome and gory as anyone could possibly hope for, while some are just plain comical. Smoke jabs his fingers into his opponents' eyes, raising the temperature of their blood and cooking them from the inside out, whereas Johnny Cage will karate chop his opponent's head wide open and jam an Oscar into the crevice.

Online multiplayer doesn't seem as refined as, say, Super Street Fighter IV. You enter a room and see a list of names, and then you either wait for a challenge or challenge someone yourself. Then you fight.

Overall, Mortal Kombat is a clear success. While I don't think it can particularly dominate the fighting game scene, it definitely has enough depth and momentum to last until Street Fighter X Tekken comes out next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great Mortal Kombat game

posted by Akeem485 (NEWARK, NJ) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The story mode blew me away how it told the back story of nearly every character in the game in the MK universe for that matter so if this is your first MK game you are given the full history no need to go back and play all the other ones if you played all the other ones this makes them all make sense kinda glue all the mks together gameplay solid. features are great graphics good more than i espected i actuall like some characters i never used previosly like noob and smoke still lovre scorpian my only complaint is kung lao i miss his monk braid he looks lame in this game and some of the voice acting sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by ggtggt (WEST PITTSTON, PA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

nothing not to like at all great fatality's, and stage fatality's. It has the new x ray moves are amazing. Great graphics a good story. Its just amazing. RENT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mortal Kombat

posted by SwaggersNice (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is a great Mortal Kombat edition explaining how almost every character came to be and a new character as well . . as far as fatalities i didnt see any really awesome ones but there is tons of replay value . . what was stupid to me is how the multiplayer is set up and how you cant tag with your friends unless your on the same xbox (DUMB) other then that its entertaining to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

To all the naysayers

posted by lgwyant (TEMECULA, CA) May 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I usually give a review simply based on a games merits, but it seems this time I must skew this review for all those that are erroneously giving the game bad reviews.

1. for all those saying the game doesn't tell you anything : When you press the start button, there is actually a move list selection that spells out all regular and special moves including unlocked fatalities. There is also a fairly comprehensive tutorial mode that teaches you how to do certain moves.

2. For those complaining about online pay to play.... this is a decision of Activision, not the game designers. They do include a free trial period, but after that you have to purchase a pass. The reason for this IS NOT for people stealing the game, it's actually to get money from the resold games. The don't get residuals, so this was a way to squeeze money out of the gamestop style reseller crowd. All the brand new games actually have a free pass code included.

3. There's nothing new in the game : It's true this game has the old school ladder mode, a challenge tower and a story mode. The story mode however encompasses the storylines of Mortal Kombat 1,2, and 3. Moreover it tells the story in such a way that you get to fight with or against the majority of the fighters in the game. It is the best storyline if played in ANY fighter. They also include a new x-ray move that brings back the brutality and gore that was sorely missing from the last installment.

4. Game is too hard : It's true that there can be some frustration at times,as during the story when you have to defeat three fighters with one life bar. The life bar doesn't refill between the one round fights, but the power bar does... but when you do get past it you have a deep feeling of accomplishment. After all this is Mortal Kombat, if the game was easy, it wouldn't be worth playing. If the game is still to challenging you can play the tutorials or as someone suggested, lower the difficulty setting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Fighting Game, Ever.

posted by GamerFaDays (JACKSONVILLE, FL) May 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is the most incredible fighting game i have ever played. The single player story may be a retelling but with the 2011 polish and the fact that I never really played the earlier versions made it amazing. All these people complaining about difficulty and thus giving it a bad review should get a reality check. Get better at the game or turn down the difficulty, then if that still doesn't work then you just suck and shouldn't play the game. If i had the money i would buy the ultimate edition just because the game is that good. Multiplayer is fun especially with friends on king of the hill rooms where we can all laugh and fatality each other till our hears explode or get ripped out. I will definitely be hitting the keep it button.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A message to the buyers and renters of MK 9

posted by Conan14 (GREENSBURG, PA) May 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

People need to stop giving this such a low score because of the online play. Yeah that's a big deal to most, but the game without the multiplayer is still jam packed full of cool unlockables and the best MK story to date.
NOTE: That if you do purchase the game from a game store, they give you a multiplayer code in the case that allows you to play online for free. Many games such as EA sports games are doing this now because they want to prevent the people that steal the game from playing online without paying their dues. That being said I know this does not help the renters of the game but if you want a great game that will keep you busy for at least a week (even without multiplayer) RENT THIS ASAP!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mortal Kombat

posted by Gandostar (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game takes me back to the old days, and i love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hard boss

posted by dkozar (INDEPENDENCE, OH) Jul 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i cant beat shao kahn in the last level

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FANTASTIC!

posted by Shadow55 (FRESNO, CA) May 26, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In my eyes this was the best MK ever made. I love all the characters and all the attacks. I have beaten the final boss over 30 times. At first I was using cheap moves (teleport, kick, teleport, kick over and over) Then I started destroying him without using the port. as much. Great game and love how it plays. Online is fantastic and there is no better fighter game. To contact me for a online battle, tips, or just plain fun, message me at MLGxShadowGod55

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!

posted by caleb102010 (SELAH, WA) Apr 30, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is by far the best mk ever there are no flaws to the game,and the fatalitys are awesome. I stayed up till 2 in the morning playing this game i recomend this for everyone who loves fighting games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse