Rent Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.5

15273 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MDK & DC Masters of Steel & Kryptonite

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Dec 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

87 out of 108 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I received this game today & I've been playing it for hours now. The collaboration of MDK & DC Universe, works so smoothly, & effectively. I'm happy to say, even tho that there's not a huge range of characters, its the combat system/special moves that really shine here. It's true, it is a button masher, but also it's so addictive fun wise! I'm very pleased to see Midway coming out & developed such a piece of 2 complete opposites, and make it work so wonderfully! From the off-the-wall and into the air smash attacks that each superhero can do, Flash's Test Your Strength in Story Mode. Now that is something to see! Mash your buttons constantly to achieve an insane amount of hit points.

The graphics are jaw dropping and I'm extremely impressed with the visuals themselves. The primary setback is 2 minor flaws. For 1.the amount of the same combat moves being used for the DC Universe characters. It does get quite tiresome, but like I said before, it's addictive. Your constantly training your fingers & thumbs for hand/eye coordination too. It's a challenge, but the pay off is quite large.

The other minor flaw would be 2. The voice acting wasn't all that impressive. I heard Superman's voice-over & it just didn't fit his character. Along with voice of Flash, Green Lantern & even Batman. I think Darkseid's voice actor was done well & Lex Luthor as well. Those 2 minor flaws, I take off half point each, bringing the review to a well deserved 9 out of 10.

I will suggest this game for all Mortal Kombat fans, fighting gamers & even the casual gamer. It's a must rent & if you enjoy it enough, I suggest getting yourself a copy. Thank you for reading my review. Enjoy Gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nothing Really New To The Genre: Still Great!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

32 out of 47 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

The characters move fluidly, the enviroments are beutifully textured and interactive. The combos are great and its a great freshness to the franchise. If you are tired of playing DOA 4 or Virtua Fighter 5 then this is worth buying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great concept, but the execution is flawed

posted by Kunimitsu (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2005

29 out of 43 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The graphics are excellent (character models, lighting etc.) Decent voice acting, but this title seems to be all style and little substance. If you take out the DC and Mortal Kombat characters you are left with a mediocre generic fighter. It's still the same engine they've been using since MK: Deadly Alliance. The same button mashing dial-a-combo system. I wish the animations were more fluid and the Martial Arts "styles" were authentic, like Tekken and Soul Calibur. (Did they do any research when they did the motion-capture?) The character move around like stiff plastic mannequins flailing their arms and legs around. Some characters seem imbalanced and others have really cheap moves, as if they developers gave their favorite characters better powers and made others intentionally weak. (I know Scorpion is a personal favorite of Ed Boon's, Scorpion always has souped-up powers in every MK game) which I think is unfair. What happened to the music?!? Why didn't they use Dan "Toasty" Forden to compose the music because this one had the worse background music I ever heard in an MK game. Why is there no theater mode that lets you view the cutscenes? Especially since this is the first MK game that has FMVs inbetween fights and not screens and screens of text. On the positive side, it is so awesome to see all my favorite characters together in the same game I'm pleasantly surprised that they were able to get the licensing/permissions to use all these characters. I look forward to a MK vs. DC 2, but they need to totally revise and update the fighting engine. Add more gameplay modes; I miss the tutorials from Deadly Alliance and Deception where the characters guide you through each step and the unlockabes in the "Krypt". Here's the breakdown:

pros:
DC and Mortal Kombat characters
good graphics
good voice acting

cons:
stiff-moving generic fighting
button mashing
weak story
short
not enough modes of play
terrible background music
no Dan Forden
A.I.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth my time

posted by Dragon5150 (GLOVERSVILLE, NY) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have played just about every MK game there is and the fighting style that was the same in previous games just repeats.... It's quite annoying, I played a total of 30 minutes of it and i shut it off to play Batman Arkham Asylum.. this game was a waste of time and money for me. i was hoping for more specials and less button mashing. there were far too many unblockable moves, and too many moves you cant dodge. I'm an offensive fighter and when i was going against flash it was almost un beatable. there is more movies and clips in this game than there is actual fighting..... i think out of the 30 minutes of play my kombat time was maybe 10 minutes. Unreal did a horrible job with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mortal Kombat vc DC Universe Review

posted by Cleveland (MEDINA, OH) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

17 out of 26 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I was pumped up to finally play a MK game on the Xbox 360. To make things even better, DC characters were also involved which makes this game a dream come true for some.

Sorry to say, I was very dissapointed. There are only about 8-10 characters for each franchise. Many famous MK warriors are missing. The story mode is very bad. Before you start story mode- you choose which side you want to be on. Each side has its own very badly written storyline but they BOTH have the same awful ending.

The fighting in the game is 5/10. Arcade mode is the classic MK format. You fight one warrior/hero at a time until you reach the top boss.

One of the most dissapointing aspects about the fighting is the Fatalities/Brutalities/Fi- nishers. They are very bland and childish. There is no gory, brutal, eye-popping finishers. This is why the game was rated T for Teen instead of the normal M for mature rating MK games usually get.

Another feature in the game is Kombo Challenge. This is where you pick a warrior/hero and attempt to perform 10 fighting combos that are presented on the screen. I found these to be nearly impossible to achieve.

Overall, I rate this game a 4 for Weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

coulda been better

posted by duggyzoola (CHILLICOTHE, OH) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

an okay fighter, but as a mortal kombat game, i find it to be kinda weak. due to the inclusion of dc characters, many fatalities and such had to be scaled back, thus making it essentially just a fighting game. the controls are okay, but in the time i played it, i found it to get boring quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lamesauce...

posted by 1337gam3r (BOULDER, CO) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Yet another letdown from both the MK series and from the Unreal engine. The game is very clunky, controls are very repetitive and not very technical. MK2 had a more fluid fighting system. I was really looking forward to battling Shao Kahn with The Green Lantern, or Lui Kang-ing some on the internet, but alas, this game sucks just as much as all of the other stupid new MK games. The storyline was utterly pathetic and the graphics are meh...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Expect a step back.

posted by midmichguy (LANSING, MI) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

21 out of 36 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

First off, this is a Mortal Kombat "licensed" game, it is a passable fighting game though with some flaws (will get into that below), but anyone who was a fan of getting morbidly entertained by seeing the hightened violence from previous versions in the series will be seriously disappointed.

I'm a fan of both comics in general and a Mortal Kombat fan from back in the day on the green tinted screen of the original Gameboy. My expectations were a little low once I started to read up on the issue of the Teen Rating that was for some reason affixed to the new MK game because of the DC involvement and then all the denied entries for this rating by the ESRB, but I still popped in the disc with a bit of fanboy anticipation of seeing Scorpion versus Batman.

Once playing the game I found myself wishing the characters would move faster. Most characters will make any seasoned fighting game fan feel as if they are moving at a sluggish pace. Granted this is done from what I've read online to make the game more accessible to fans of both Mortal Kombat and the DC comics, but for a game thats in a genre based on reflexes and being able to counter opponents moves, a delay for an action can be the difference between winning or losing a match.

Play mechanics aside, the story is fair. Granted it's a little cheesy at times, but it just adds to the DC meets MK feel.

This truely is just one of those games you have to be happy it even exists if your a fan, even if it's final form is very lacking of classic pushing the envelope of dark humor/Kill Bill violence that MK is known for. A passable filler in hopes of waiting for a new next generation MK to get back to the true series trademark gameplay. Definite rental in my opinion and pick up once it's budget priced.

Played through the games story mode both DC & MK sides, as well as arcade mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

My Review of Mortal Kombat Vs. DC Universe

posted by LadyD37 (SARASOTA, FL) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I really did not care for this version of mortal kombat, it did not live up to the other mortal kombats, the characters were harder to control and the game ran a bit slower.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mortal Kombat is Dead

posted by SamRi13 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Worst mortal kombat game I've ever play, the controls were slow and unresponsive, graphics were below par, and the worst part was the voice acting. i got this game had it for a full 3 hours and then drove to the postal office to mail it back, the only enjoyment i had from this game was listening to All That Remains on the drive to the post office. Save yourself some time and do not rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gimmicks don't make a game

posted by Ienvincibl (NORTH LAUDERDALE, FL) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

When Mortal Kombat first landed in arcades people thought it was amazing. Kids left street fighter cabinets in drove to play the fighting game with blood. 10 years ago when Marvel Vs. Capcom came out kids went crazy again, their favorite comic book characters fighting street fighter characters. this game looks OK, same concept and even an intriguing story. But with all the technology for 3d animation. For the characters to still be moving with the same stiff walks, leg sweeps and repetitious button mashing punches I only played this game for a few hours before I gave up. I saw all the shiny little extras. You can knock people through walls and there are nice mini-games, but if the game itself isn't very good then what does it matter? If you are already a fan of mortal Kombat pick it up but if you aren't then leave it on the shelf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MK vs DC Universe

posted by Phickauro (LA MESA, CA) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This game is yet another unsuccsessful iteration of Mortal Kombat at its worst. The difficulty is extremely unbalanced, even a game started at the easiest difficulty becomes a button mashing festival until the final match, which is much harder than any setting available. This game is not worth trying unless you're hankering for the good old button mashing days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

too short of a game

posted by teegod1 (WESTBURY, NY) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i was upset in the short way the game ends with both the dc mortal combat endings and how easy it was to use lesser characters to be superman and other heavy weight characters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game wouldnt play

posted by bigedd (LAKE STATION, IN) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was not even allowing me to play it on my xbox 360, i tried it on my buddies....and it still didnt work, what a waste of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Puts the 'Hor' in Horrible!!!

posted by Perfec7 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Just another attempt to exploit characters and games you grew up with. This game adds nothing you haven't seen already, in fact there is far less in this game then any other. You get about 8 characters per side and two lame unlockables (Darksied and Lame Kahn from the 2nd MK movie).
Additional reasons this game is terrible:
No Alternate Costumes
Not Even a Second Costume (The other player looks just like your character only darker).
Ridiculous Achievements (5 points for mastering 10 combos for each character)

Can't blame me if you waste your time on this one, you've been warned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT.

posted by DEAAATH (CRANSTON, RI) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

BAD IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT. EVEN THE FATALITIES ARE COLORED OUTSIDE THE LINES. TERRIBLE GAME


MK people... you should be ashamed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same thing!

posted by SnazzyJamm (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought i would order this game cuz it looked cool cuz there were new characters and stuff like that. but this game is just like all the other fighting games. nothing too much new about it. but i will let u decide....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I'd thought somthing like this could ever happen!?

posted by tidusguy99 (SHOW LOW, AZ) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Based on the cover you might think WHAT THE?
The storyline does a pretty good job combining the two unirverses together, kind of. The combat is same as any other mortal komabt game, maybe just a few differences. The new mid-air combat and close range were kind of confusing at first, they still are actually. The graphics are a nice upgrade fo the MK francise.

Graphics: 8/10
Storyline: 6/10
Music 7/10
Gameplay: 6/10
New Ideas: 6.3/10

can't wait for the new MK game to come out whenever that might be!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

worlds collide

posted by lcpl4man (Capistrano Beach, CA) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

9 out of 22 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

I bough the Kollector's addition and i love it its a great game if u like mk or dc at all especially if u like both and , the characters look great, have great moves, and all game play is fun and great only thing that irritates me is if u select the combo challenge i think thats super hard but the rest of the game is a great play, watch, difficulty and story. The little changes to the DC characters like batman,flash, wonderwoman is cool. Finally Sonya and kitana got a nice , new look. But i dont think it could be any better unless they added Marvel with the dc and mk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

another disappointment

posted by bata219 (WINNETKA, CA) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

this is the third game i got from gamefly that does not play ... what a waste of time waiting for their slow shipping and when it finally arrived, it does not play ... so frustrating

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

mk vs dc

posted by yodderjedi (NORWOOD, MO) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

this game is brillinat but i do wish they would explore the dc and mk character but other than that this game was the best mk game i have played i love how they all have something diffrent and the fatality and heroic brutallitys were like the mk games i like it i do hope they make a sequel to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Gameplay & Storyline

posted by RickyleeTv (BALTIMORE, MD) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

When I first rented MK vs DC, my initial thought on the game was that it wouldn't be something I would enjoy (seeing as I rented it for my girlfriend), but after playing it I found that the game is great. Wonderful graphic and the characters are awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terribad

posted by Zmaxwell (GRANGER, IN) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The designs for characters were great, that's about all I can say in it's favor. Gameplay was repetitive, I got bored far too quickly. If you want to play a great next-gen fighting game, get the new soul caliber. SOOOO much better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game was damaged

posted by amanda (VAN NUYS, CA) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

what a waste of time!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What might have been...

posted by Superwho (MESQUITE, TX) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I just played through both stories and messed with every character and the sad thing is the funnest person to use was The Joker. I just kept getting bored and the moves were so lame. The fatalities were a joke. The MK characters were great as usual, but the DC characters really made this game suck, and that's coming from a huge DC fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse