Rent Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe for PS3
view large frontback

Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.7

8190 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Who'da thought?

posted by Action (RONCEVERTE, WV) Nov 18, 2008

Member since May 2006

45 out of 55 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I was a huge skeptic of this game at first, MK VS DC, it was like combining toothpaste with orange juice...."Ugh"!
But Midway pulled it off. I spent probably 3 hours with the game last night (alas no online yet) and was very pleased.
First off the PS3's controller rocked the house as far as response with the D-pad.
Second; The game itself is FUN, not only do you have the standard arcade "Tower of Power" to climb, this MK throws in a neat story mode with beautiful cut scenes and a unique way to play all the characters.
While playing the game, I never even noticed the fact it was "T" rated, blood still flies, body's and costumes get damaged (you can actually knock off Scorpion's mask), and the fighting is just plain brutal.
There's 3 new gimmicks within the matches Close Kombat, Free Fall Kombat, and Test Your Might, which add some flair to the matches.
Free Fall is cool as heck.
Fatalities are here, and even toned down, they look great. I reduced Wonder Woman to skeletal remains with a "Lava Bath" the burned Captain Marvel to a crisp with "Hellfire" both courtesy of Scorpion.
Even blade happy Barraka has cool Fatalities, my favorite is the "Impale", where he knocks an opponent on his back, jumps on top of him, punches him in the chest, then fires his blades into the victim.
Looks awesome, not gory, but looks awesome.
There is going to be a learning curve to take advantage of the combos, and the game can kick your butt even on easy.
All in all this looks and feels like an MK game without a doubt, and definite improvement over all the MK games since MKIII.
I would like to see MK return to it's "M" rated roots, but I'll sacrifice a little gore over game play any day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I was pleasantly surprised!

posted by ViperSRT10 (OAK RIDGE, NJ) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

21 out of 28 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The day I brought this game up to the counter for purchase the salesman began telling me to rethink my purchase because he thought it "Sucked." I was in a bad mood and wanted to beat up some computer models so I pretty much said "You're entitled to your opinion but I'd like to try it anyway." I'm glad I did.

What I like:
-I like the fighting mechanic of the game. It's relatively smooth and the moves are pretty true to character(For the most part)
-All my favorite MK and DC guys are in this game
-The story, while not exceedingly deep, is interesting and done well. I like how they divide the story into chapters where you play as different characters.
-It keeps in step with the mortal kombat feel minus the excessive violence.
-Free fall kombat is very fun.

Improvements that could have been made:
-A little more interactivity online. I'd like to tell my opponent "Good game" or something rather than being sterile. Then again this also prevents the immature crowd from saying "Noob."
-A tag team mode would have been nice like in tekken tag. I mean who wouldn't want to grab a buddy and raise hel-l in the MK universe as Superman and Batman?
-More basic kombat moves for each character would have been nice.

These are just things that come off the top of my head. If you like fighting games and are looking for a fun game with a decent story, I'd recommend giving this one a try. If you're looking for ripping out spines then I'd say check out MK:A or Deception.

Good Gaming,

ViperSRT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT FUSSION!!!B+

posted by ezdamenace (OAKLAND, CA) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

i got to say the adaptation of two games it was absolutely great .to bad it need more characters to make it more unique , but if you like challenge you'll find this game very good with different ending for every character! i'll say is B. or
8 out 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

EhHh..

posted by DAtruem0 (BAYONNE, NJ) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is fun, but falls VERY short. The graphics of the game is pretty good and the story line is not bad as well. However, the gameplay seems to be very plain and boring and the rule DC implemented regarding reduced gore to make it "kid friendly" has really messed with the game. Other flaws were the very basic punch, kick and jab motions were the essential moves of the game which is lame. You had to press like 50 buttons to perform a fatality and the game just didnt come through according to my standards. Even though with a group of friends just messing around this game can be pretty fun.. but so can any other fighting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

interesting story

posted by soloboy52 (HONOLULU, HI) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

graphics 7
story 8
controls 8
sound 8

I was really excited about the game when I found out midway was doing a cross brand fight which they are developing. It is not a MK game that much at all.
It has battle damages on your characters as you see through out your battle, theres blood, bone crushing attacks, and still maintain their fatalities from the MK side. It is not gory at all, but you will still see scorpian doing his signature skull flame fatalities and his spear hooks. The DCU side has their own brand of finishings called brutalitys which acts more of a heroic finish rather than having say superman ripping subzero in half.
The controls are very simple, characters only have their own style, not like how the last previous MK game which gave you options to change your fighting style. the controls are really straight forward, it is kinda like soul caliber with 70% less combos to memorize, special moves are just "down,up + square" etc. so anybody could pretty much pick it up and play.
The story is original and very interesting, you pick a side you want, you play through chapters which uses a specific heroe for each one, so you have to play all of them, and progress on. No twists here, and bends there, midway kept it simple to try this game out.
The sounds is ok, voice acting is not bad from actors. The graphics is very detailed on the character, nice job on that, but the environment could use some more attention.

So to conclusion the game is not bad, MK fans will be alittle disapointed alittle because of how shallow the game play is and that of the fatalities turned down a huge knotch, but its not bad, each company is trying to respect each other, varities is pretty much story and online, there is no kombat kart, kombat chess, etc. each character has a small ending to unlock but pretty much thats it, this game dosen't seem like it has a long lasting appeal to it, but it is gaurentee worth as a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MK vs. DC Universe

posted by zman123 (VINELAND, NJ) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is good but it gets boring very fast. Both campaigns are good but I wish they would of been longer. Dodging is very easy in this game. NOT DIFFICULT AT ALL. But I havent tried out the multiplayer much. I only played one round and its very smooth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mortal Kombat vs DC

posted by mvampy (OCOEE, FL) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love this game. The graphics are amazing. The game is very challanging. The only complaint I have is the finishers are a little difficult to pull off and the combo moves are hard to remember the button combos to excute them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by timman (PASADENA, TX) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

13 out of 22 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

this game is so cool. i love it and will never trade it in for nothing. buy this game today and if your playing on the ps3 add me as a friend and lets play my name is timman. just send me a message and let me know you read my review on game fly. the story mode is great aND FUN TO WATCH....when you play the story mode it will feel like you just watch a episode of justice league vs mortal kombat...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mortal Kombat vs DC

posted by McFerce (LA CROSSE, WI) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

All characters are well balanced. Almost everything that made the Mortal Kombat series great was taken away. The DC character selection is alright but not the best. If you are a diehard MK fan, this will be a disapointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What i think

posted by violentj01 (LAKELAND, FL) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Geat game but way to easy and short i beat it 8 times the day i got it 4 times on each side lol : )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Shockingly good, but I understand the bad reviews

posted by KllrDave (EDGEWATER, NJ) Nov 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I was very skeptical when this game awas announced, but the early reviews were promising, so I gave it a shot. This game is a pleasant suprise of goodness.

If you want a fun fighter that a friend can pick up eaisly and play a competitive match with you, then this is it. The game is really played as a 2D fighter and feels very much like older versions of MK (I'm flashing back to MKII.)

However, if you are looking for a technical fighter with dozens of moves and multiple fighting styles (like VF5) or a more graphic fighter (like older versions of MK), then this game likely isn't for you.

My one gripe is that given the relatively small number of fighters and moves this game may not be worth the $60 price tag for a new AAA game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MK vs DC

posted by tonez1 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Thus far, Im surprise after all the flops Midway has brought to the table for a couple of years now,they knew what was up when midway created this nice title for the ps3. I wouldn't even have thought that dc would go well with mk at all what so ever.Once I saw the line up of characters, I was determined to go after this game like a kid in a candy store. Graphs are dope, story line is ill, some fatalities need a lil more but other are much better like the jokers blast in tha dome piece.Can't go wrong with this game at all. I would mos def say to buy this game if not just yet..perfect 10 yeyea!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

From a fan

posted by Zennshi (AUGUSTA, GA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've been on board with MK for a while, even though when 1 2 and 3, 3+, 3 ultimate, Trilogy, etc. I was just a button masher who managed to beat the game using high kick and uppercuts. Anyway...

I thought this was a great game, al beit a little bit one sided in who to pick but still good. it almost seemed like the makers of MK got gimped on heroes whereas the DC universe got to make their characters as overpowered as possible. I think Captain Marvel was my personal Favorite because he had one ability for every single distance so he could literally keep you locked down the entire fight if he was good enough, Superman was the same way. So I guess all in all it has all the things that MK has always had, just more characters to pick from so it appeals to the MK lovers and the DC comicboys. The story needs to watch it though, I forsee many problems with the way it came out. Before long we will see movies on youtube where hello kitty island is invaded by unreal tournament people and... hmm... I should get that copyrighted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Made me sad

posted by Sleepercel (SPRINGVILLE, IN) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this after see that it had a decent rating and some pretty good reviews. The graphics are really nothing more then average and to me feel as if they were rushed without much care put into them, and the controls and flow of the fighting are less then average feeling fairly sluggish and like they too were just thrown together so they could slap a price tag on the names. I thought the one saving grace might be the fatality's but I was sadly mistaken, they have been watered down to the point that the word fatality should not be used....very disappointing overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

well they made a weaker mk thanks dc

posted by hippykllr (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

okay, i played it and tried to love it,but mk not rated m is just boring, i like the lil test your might mini game ,and some of the fighting but scorpions combos suck,and the adding of d.c. isnt cool at all. the fatalities(one of the only reasons mk drew fans from its origins bcs it was awesome to kill ur buds fav charecter in front of them) is so toned down its not satisfying to even learn the fatality buttons.deathstrokes and jokers fatalities in the north american version cut out the parts where they shoot the victim in the head....
idk who they tried to appeal too.honestly i dont give 2 (insert) about the dc universe..what were they smoking? the story is weak just "ooo the rage!!!, so im gonna fight u ,u, and u for no reason!"
in the end i beat the story then sent it back out the next day. dont buy this game..Dont really even waste ur time unless u got absolutly nothing esle better to do. midway step it up , i like the new mini games but bring mortal kombat back to a "M" rating and leave the idiots in tights out(may i add they made superman and raiden way to cheap in this game, and the boss "dark khan" is freaking ridiculous..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boon has made better MK games

posted by IvanCEO (BELL GARDENS, CA) Jan 23, 2009

Member since May 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The roster blows. Replay value absent. Extras pointless. And the characters are very sluggish.
The whole game overall feels unfinished. Its embarrassing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game Sucks

posted by EddyGBaby (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

1. You are forced to watch all the cutscenes because if you didn't the story would be done in an hour
2. Bad story mode, doesn't pull my attention
3. Limited # of characters with limited moves
4. All the so-called super moves suck, Soul Calibur is even more interesting than this.
5.The exact rating the game deserves, 5 for being fair and with 2 unlockables who suck just as bad as the others

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What were they thinking

posted by Gamerhater (MOBILE, AL) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Why did anyone make this game, not one person who made this game knows what batman or superman are and it shows, very bad game play, none of the superheroes look or sound right, its like a dc world that's on drugs, even superman looks like He's going to rob me for drug money and how does jax kill superman with a sub-machine gun anyway. Do yourself a solid and dont play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad Story, Same Fighting System.

posted by Nashawn (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I will keep this short. 1) The story is trash, Its just random stuff tossed in there. You just start fighting people who random people. 2) VERY VERY VERY limited moves, Wow there are basically 5 special moves for eveyone. 3) There is only two characters to unlock LAME.

So why did you give it a 5? Because I didn't expect much from it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

thegame

posted by gamecriti118406 (MIAMI, FL) Sep 21, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

it was great bros and sis where like so amazed by it there wanted to keep it longer. But i cant so i had to give it back. BUT when i kept playing when i was playing as a sercert CHARTER YOU CAN PLAY AS ITS GUESS DARKSIDE. werid but batman was like a cheat my bro kept doing the samething that he defeated me by doing the same move that one move never gave me a chance to do my moves and its so hard to jump in the GAME. ANY WAY ITS GREAT AND I RETURNED IT 2 DAYS AGO . ANY WAY LOVE THE GAME (FOR PS3)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Okay...

posted by DarknessAJB (METAIRIE, LA) Sep 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Not that this game is bad but it is a 3D fighter and the combos suck I really like the newer mortal kombat better mk9 best one so far. This one though sucked bad!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great gameplay, shallow package

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

I was a big fan of Mortal Kombat during the "Deadly Alliance" days. As it so happens, I am also a DC Comics fan, so I was over the moon. How could this let me down?

Well, the good news is that it generally doesn't. This is the most refined of the Deadly Alliance games. There are no multiple fighting stances per character anymore, which sounds like a con, but it lets them focus on making sure each character feels right. They're refining things here, which means taking somethings out and adding in new ideas. There's still 3D movement, directional throws, multi-tiered arenas and loads of combos and super moves. They have refined the superbar too here - MK9 uses the system they established here. Two new features they introduce are the Rage mode and "Klose Kombat", which both blow. Rage just tends to unbalance a good fight, whereas KK is just clunky and random. But the core combat is probably the best MK has ever been. This series has generally been clunky, where animations don't flow into each other unless part of a pre-defined, canned combo animation. But MK vs. DC is the most "free-flowing" of them all. It's still far from Dead or Alive, but it's fine.

There's a great lineup of characters here. The DC characters look perfect, using moves and abilities you'd expect them to. While they also make sense as fighting game characters. Wonder Woman, for example, is a good "tricky" character, using her lasso to control opponent's movement. And the Mortal Kombat characters are fine here. Less gore, obviously, but that never defined whether or not MK played well.

The big letdown here is the lack of modes. Any fighting game should be loaded with single player content. And the MK team loaded Deception, Armageddon and MK9 with tons of modes. MK vs. DC lacks all of that - there's a story mode that's strong, an arcade mode, practice, a combo challenge and online/multiplayer. THAT'S IT.

That makes this a great rental though. Wait for Injustice for a fully featured packa

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

reviewperson

posted by reviewperson (COMMERCE TOWNSHIP, MI) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game was fun at first because it was mortal kombat. But it was the same thing over and over. I beat both story modes in 6 hours. To beat darkseid it took three tries and for shao kahn it took four and i am not great at mortal kombat. After that the charcters hav e stupid powers except for superman. Like batman has a baterang, an exploding baterang, and he can block with his cape. Be more creative like maybe a grappling hook and he swings up and kicks the other person. In the previous game you build up x-ray and you see there bones breaking and it was awesome but now you build up rage and you do double damage for 5 seconds but they can still block and they can still hit you. As if that isn't bad enough the finishing moves are stupid like for one guy it gets dark you hear slashing and the lights turn on you see a guy with no head but he's not bleeding at all. Worst game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One Of the Better Cross Overs

posted by Theo456 (BLOOMINGDALE, NJ) Jun 30, 2012

Member since May 2010

i always loved Mortal Kombat ever since trilogy in 1997 and never found a flaw in it this cross over just made it an amazing game plus the Heroic Brutalities added a better fit place for the DC characters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not that bad of a game

posted by daphnedlcrz (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The story mode of the game is the best part. The characters are awesome however I wish that there were more of them. Nevertheless, this game is not that bad for ps3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse