Rent Mortal Kombat: Unchained for PSP Games
view large frontback

Mortal Kombat: Unchained

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

569 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

The Mortal Kombat Review Kliche'

posted by mishipsp (EL PASO, TX) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mortal Kombat makes it way to the psp for the first time, and while it's a nice fighter, it falls short of the psp's other fighting games. My biggest issue with Mortal Komabt Unchained is it's graphics. Characters look blurred,this most noticeable when the camera zooms in. They clearly didnt push the psp to it's graphical potential, especially when compared to Tekken and Defjam. If you're a fan of the series everything is here, 2 fatalities per character, Hara Kiris, 30 plus characters, Konquest, and the krypt. MK is worth a rental, i just wished that they would've pushed the graphics more, and cut the number of load screens

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MK:Unchained

posted by Soldier2k3 (SPRING HILL, FL) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

MK: Unchained was a good Mortal Kombat game, especially since it is for the PSP. There is a smaller selection of characters and you can't create your own fighter or fatality as in Armageddon. Otherwise it is a very entertaining game and is perfect when you need that extra little bit of limb dismemberment when you are on the move.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by pspgamer12 (STANFORD, KY) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a great addition the the mortal combat franchise. it has the classic arcade mode, and the new endurance and chess modes that are very uniqe and addicting. if u have a psp and the time buy or rent the game. it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great story but disappointing ending.

posted by bigzig06 (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The arcade mode on this game was traditional and great. The story mode was great. The little guy you use during the story was great. But you do not use him enough. You have to keep using more than one guy and remember too many different combos. The ending was overall disappointing though. :( But overall the game was great.

Yours Truely

BigZig06

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Weak!!!

posted by Navarre (WEST SPRINGFIELD, MA) Dec 9, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very Very Weak. I was bored after about five minutes. After 30 I was ready to commit sepuku. I saw this game and thought back to when I first became master of Mortal Combat and had to give up two losses just to get people to play me. This version is no were near as fun and addictive. I do not recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MORTAL KOMBAT UNCHAINED

posted by hinata (ARNOLD, MD) Nov 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 22 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

to me i love any mortal kombat game but this game is by far one of the best since it is a portable M K game you can play any whereto my apoplexy i would play M K all day but i like naruto better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ehhh...

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Oct 2006

the fatalitys were un creative (with a few exceptions) the ez mode was not ez, right at the last level. the adventure mode was kind of tedius. and it was dissapinting they should bring back the cheats like in number 3. ifinate health one button fatalitys. and what would have realy made it great would be a stylish mode like in blaze blue, with those adjustments the game could have been a ten

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok game

posted by Luigizkrib (SAINT PAUL, MN) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

the game falls short of some of the other psp fighting games ive played. first of all the graphics make the people blurry and when you zoom in its kinda bad. also i think it is just a remake of the mk deception game with the difference of 6 new playable characters i think if your a hardcore mk fan you will like it but if you play mk once in a while i wouldnt recommend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mortal Combat Unchained

posted by tbones (CHESTER, PA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Man, I thought I was going to get something nice. You know growing up playing this great game and I was hurt deeply. The game is just to slow on the down loads, and really could have been made better. Even-still, i would recommend for one to order this game from Gamefly first, to check it out before purchasing it from the game store, ect. tbones

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

IT COMPLETLY SUCKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by johncene (MARBLE FALLS, TX) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

this game is so stupid. all you do is kill people "oh look at me i can kill people with a ice ball for subzero OOOOOOOOOOOOO" it sucked hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game sucks

posted by Jarell (LANCASTER, CA) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Do not rent this game it has poor graphics horrible voice acting..You also cant make ur own person like u can in armageddon and its kind a confusing on what u have you have to do also dont have to work to unlock characters and there is no game sharing on it...so overall this game is week if ur a mortal combat fan than this game will be a disappointment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun, but not enough content

posted by dizzay (RIVERSIDE, CA) May 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

this game is fun the fighting styles, good graphics fun fighting styles, it was fun for the first few days, but after a while it was boring, not enough content but for a short time very entertaining

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MORTAL KOMBAT UNCHAINED

posted by XXXXXX (Madison, WI) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

CONTROLS DONT ALWAYS RESPOND WITCH MADE IT IMPOSIBLE TO PROGRES IN CONQEST MODE WITCH REALY MAKES ME VERY ANGRY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Decent

posted by rickromero (WATERBURY, CT) Aug 14, 2007

Member since May 2007

This Mortal Combat had everything it needed for you to be entertained for a good while. If you just wanted to have some fun, you have the arcrade mode, and if you are the RPG type you have the quest mode to beat. The only downside I think it was that there were only 2 fatalities for each character, even though the fatalities were great, i felt it could've had more. In overall, this is a game that you must definitly rent, and a great game to keep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, with a capital K.

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

This is a very good port of MK on the psp. The graphics are solid, the Kharacter selection is pretty big - the sounds are what you'd expect, and the bonuses are incredibly great. "Tetris" is fun, so is Konquest mode (an rpg-fighting-type-side game). So why no 10? Load times. The 20 second load times between fights, or anything else, gets a little old - but even that Kan't stop this title from being the great game that it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mortal Kombat: Unchained

posted by Krazyboy (DETROIT, MI) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Mortal Kombat: Unchained is your average Mortal Kombat game. There are approximately 30 characters and basically, the same functions as Deception. However, Konquest mode is better than both Deception and Deadly Alliance. You play as young Shujinko who is gathering ancient artifacts for Onaga, who has lead him to believe that he (onaga) is an Elder God.
Since its a run-off of Deception, it has the same weaknesses. However, in my my opinion it is better for a few reasons. As I already said, Konquest is better. Plus, there are more characters which make Chess Kombat better. However, after you beat Konquest, it gets incredibly boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game ever

posted by josiah (RENO, NV) Jan 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

Mortal kombat is the most awsome game i've ever played you get to play as gorro,shaokahn,baraka,to name a few its amazing how midway captures the gore and weapons.also midway took all ofthe original fighting techniques and fits them to certain characters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not what i expected

posted by kudos9 (HEMET, CA) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

the only reason i gave this game a 6 is because i've been a big mk fan since i was a kid. the graphics sucks pretty bad but the good thing is it didnt lose any fun in the gameplay (fighting mode) and you dont really notice it untill the match ends and see the character after winning. the other thing that irritates me is the loading time.... its too darn long! and the game does that quite often! like it would load after talking to a character (konquest) or after winning a match. but i would still recomend this game to all mk fans... just dont expect too much!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

unchained and unimpressed

posted by Rob78259 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 1, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

I thought with the release of teken on the psp midway would have at least followed suit with online play....but no! I have had this game in my Que for almost a year (when it was first announced) only to find when it gets here NO ONLINE FIGHTING! Are you serious midway? it's almost 2007! Even games that come from much smaller game development houses include online gaming..The rest of the game is...I have to admit better than your average fighter..especially with all the extras and there is a bunch...many many hours to spend by yourself if thats is what your looking for then this is your fighter game..but if you yearn to give someone a fatality that is on the other side of the world than this will not satisfy your thirst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »