Rent Mortal Kombat: Shaolin Monks for Xbox
view large frontback

Mortal Kombat: Shaolin Monks

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.4

1582 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow a great MK game that's not a fighter!

posted by Spanky7x60 (DENVER, CO) Jul 7, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well let me start this off by saying that I was shocked that this game was so good. This title plays a lot like "God of War". Kill creatures and get experience orbs. Then use them to level up skills and combos. Very good and accurate story lines. This game is set in between MK1 and MK2. The controls in this title are quite easy to pick up. This game offers a great blend of classic MK moves, i.e. Liu Kang's fire ball, and typical action rpg fighting. If you have any interest in the MK series then you should love this game. Co-op is a cool feature to the game as well, but it makes you use it to complete the game 100%. Which is fine with me, but I could see it annoying others. This game has some length to it as well. That is, if you try to complete it 100%. Loads to unlock and high replay value to this game. This is a solid pick up for anyone looking for a good action game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I was impressed...

posted by Clipped (ONTARIO, CA) Mar 11, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow, I gotta say I thought this game was gonna be a let down, not just because I'm not a fan of this genre (Adventure) of game, but because I thought MK should stay a Fighter (especially after that PS1 & N64 game 'Mortal Kombat Mythologies: Sub-Zero' - man that stunk!), but this one surprised me! It was fun, it had good gameplay (very important to us gamers), the camera could have been a little better (it had good close, normal and far away position but there was no right joystick control to pan around). LOTS of hidden stuff, hours of gametime. The only real complaint I have (seems to be the same complaint everyone has) with this game is 'Shao Khan'; he is so hard to beat it's not even funny. But fun all-in-all. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MK Classic

posted by Bigsauce (PITTSBURGH, PA) May 6, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the game MK fans have been waiting for. The controls in the game are simple enough to pick up for a beginner but go deep enough to where you can pull off more advanced techniques. Sometimes you may find yourself battling with the camera more than you would with an enemy. The graphics are decent with good looking character models and detailed environments. The audio side of the game is the only place where it really lacks effort. On a good note the in-game music provides a good mood for moping the floor with some footsoilder butt. Other than that the voice acting is ok but still sounds scripted in some areas of the game and the constant grunts and growls that the enemy makes whenever you attack just becomes repetitive after a while. The gameplay I would give a two thumbs up on. You get to play as one of your favorite MK characters and go through a guest alone or with a buddy. The fighting engine is perfect for keeping the action going with a good verity of combos and special moves specific for each character from the classic fighting game. This game even adds in the ability to Finish your opponent with your classic Fatality, Brutality, etc. Staying true to its roots this game also offers a Vs. mode so you can go head to head with a freind to see who is the real champion of Mortal Kombat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth it for MK II alone

posted by scaryclown (SAYERVILLEE, NJ) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is a nice little beat em up with Mortal Kombat characters. It will keep you occupied for a little while. But once you build up your character and beat the game, you probably wont want to do it again. You can unlock an arcade perfect version of Mortal Kombat II in this game either by doing tasks or just putting in the cheat code(like I did). This game is worth renting if you havent played MK II in a while and remember how fun it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

whooping barakas tail

posted by mkfreak11 (GAINESVILLE, GA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Okay if your having troubles with baraka whomping on you fear no more. If your lui kang make shure you buy triple fire ball. At first its easy just start hitting him the fist of ruin a.k.a. hardcore punch. Its easier if you dont let him get up. ounce you whomp him enough he'll be a coward and run past the gap. Don't bother chasing he'll then light a monk on fire and throw him at you. Use your projectile attack to kill the monk. He'll throw another do the he same thing. Then he'll jump at you. Beat the crud out of him. Then he'll run over the gap. Your probably thinking again. This time he'll shoot blades at you. Lock on and use your projectile attack and jump when he shoots. Next he'll jump back to you. And a cut scene happens. Use the small sword first. After it does the test your might hit the black button. Then use the big sword. Do the fatality and collect your prize.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good change of pace

posted by Gladman21 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

For years Mortal Kombat has always been about two people standing on a level surface and fighting it out until one dies. With different graphics, characters and moves, it has been the same game over and over...until now!

Pros:
A great variation on the platform type game, SM has a fun story and great playable controls. Enemies are fun and somewhat intelligent, which doesn't matter much anyway since lives are unlimited.
The graphics are decent and the moves are easy to master (except for the team moves which my brother and I never could perform). Also since enemies like to surround the player and take turns attacking, having a two player story mode is fun.

Cons:
For being a platform game, there are too many platforms that cannot be jumped off. While this can prevent death in some cases, it also restrains the player to somewhat linear paths; this has an unrealistic appearance and prevents certain shortcuts. Since the story requires the player to traverse some worlds multiple times, shortcuts would be a big plus.

I also wished some of the unlockable characters were available in the story mode.

MKSM is a fun game and I recommend playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DISGRACE!

posted by bac1551 (TEMECULA, CA) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

IT IS TOTALLY NOT MORTAL KOMBAT! GRAPHICS SUCK! GAMEPLAY SUCKS! STORY SUCKS! AND VOICE OVER SUCK! DON'T BOTHER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Shoalin monks

posted by mikejones (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

This game suck like crazy man it only got 8 people tom play with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rent for a while and return

posted by ronacap (SAN MARCOS, CA) Oct 9, 2006

Member since Nov 2002

This game is short. The graphics are good. The sound and music isn't all that great. As usual with fighting games that I play, I find myself button-mashing most of the time. There is a lot to unlock in this game, which includes unlocking moves and combos. This is definitely one of those games to just rent for a while and return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

i review this cool game it is ok to rent

posted by c3halo (NEW BETHLEHEM, PA) Sep 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

Ok well it is a good game and it has some prety cool moves in it and you can also play cop on it that part is fun to do but it has some dounds in it it is really hard to unlock other players and you get comfused in it o lot than you get lost in it and that is the bad thing it has really good graficks but thats about it well i guss you should rent this game so boo yahh later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not your daddy's MK

posted by saintzFAN (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Sep 5, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

This game is NOT the old/original MK's nearly at all. In a sense it reminded me of Onimusha Warlords. More killings=more experience. Sure MK dipped into a "action/adventure/RPG" before, but not as it's main source of gaming. Now we have a whole game dedicated to an 'action/adventure' feel. It's main gaming is an adventure game in which "test your might", weapons, and even fatalites get showcased at some point in time. You can also play co-op for the first time. You won't hear the familier "FIGHT", tho you will hear "FINISH HIM/HER" at some point. It's all open in a 3D world running around killing the outworld villans. If you're a hardcore/diehard MK fan (or fighting game genre) then you may not take to this game well. But if you don't fall into those catagories you should enjoy it. Keep in mind it's got blood, guts and sliced/ripped limbs, most with fairly good detail. I admit it's more fun to play in co-op if you have someone decent to team up with, but the camera work can get frustrating. Another slight downside is there is not a lot of replayability. There is only a maximum of 4 playable characters for the 'story mode'. So if you beat it in co-op mode, that only makes one more playthru and you're done with new characters. The other small problem is the storyline (which takes, loosely, after MK2 or 3) is exactly the same for all characters used (it only involves Kung Lao and Liu Kang, it can seem pretty silly when you have Sub Zero and/or Scorpion, they their voices ARE Liu's and Kung's). "Versus" will only pit you against another human player (the tournament, one-on-one feel is completely done away with). All in all pretty fun, the replability could be much better and extra characters skill pools could be much deeper too, but all in all a pretty fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MORTAL KOMBAT!!!!! Or not

posted by weirdo892 (SAN LUIS, CO) Aug 30, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

This game is a fun fast paced RPG. It's not what you would expect from a Mortal Kombat Game. It just don't seem like a Mortal Kombat Game. To me a MK game is a brutal, bloody, violent fighting game that makes you say OOH and Ah and this game don't have that. It does have a lot of game play though, I had this game for a while and I still didn't finish it. Not only is it long but it's difficult to pick up. The controls are complex and the Tests are even harder. It is a good game just not one of the best the MK series has to offer. If you want a real Mortal Kombat Game go for MK Deception or wait for Armageddon to hit shelves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good for a few hours

posted by goldone (LYNWOOD, CA) Aug 6, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

this game is fun for about 12 hours only because you get to play through the story mode with four people and the versus mode isn't that great so just rent this game for your own sake

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game was a let down

posted by daywalker (KALAMAZOO, MI) Jul 2, 2006

Member since May 2006

this game is ok but it really ticked me off that it takes like an hour between the save points. I did like the co-op mode but that was about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game rocks!!!

posted by RedWolf (LITTLETON, CO) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

I like this game because of the co-op mode and the gameplay but there one thing I don't like about it. The thing I don't like is that it is not on xbox live I recommend you rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »