Rent Mortal Kombat: Shaolin Monks for PS2
view large frontback

Mortal Kombat: Shaolin Monks

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
7.8

2014 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

mortal kombat shoalin monks

posted by slimkrazy1 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jun 28, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well i would like to say i loved this game it was so fun i loved the adventure mode and everything and style of moves you can perform is awesome and they actually made the ppl look like them and not really all that fantsy like you did in the other series but the reason why i rated it a 9 is cause it should've had regular tournament action that i miss and most ppl loved

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it

posted by thatgirl (SILVER SPRING, MD) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I loved playing this game. You get the butt kicking of Mortal Kombat, but the gameplay of an RPG.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Favorite Adventure game 10/10 :)

posted by Kruelty (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since May 2005

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This game bases off the MK2 story where the Shaolin Monks, Liu Kang and Kung Lao, have to fight their way through enemies with the new multi-directional kombat. The Midway team made a difference and made their new MK adventure game. I've been a fan of the series since MK1 and this game really makes MK2 make sense. They used all the characters, moves, boss fights, and even the jumps look the same from the classics. Everything makes sense and comes into place. The opening sequence was done really well... it's like a SQUARE-ENIX intro and that is really good. Though there are a few glitches and a little bit of repetitive gameplay, this game was really great. The versus mode is not as great as the gameplay in the other Mortal Kombats but the adventure is a whole load of fun. I HIGHLY recommend this game... definately.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A very good Ko-op game

posted by BJ2006 (MORROW, GA) Jun 29, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is much better than Baldur's Gates series. The 2 players mode is a blast. The only down side is that this game is too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love mortal kombat!!!

posted by Nicky24 (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Jun 26, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is full of fun things to for starters you can do smoke missions there are 5 of them they help you unlock the mortal kombat 2 arcade game. the graphics of the game are really good for PS2.the game is very fun when you have a co-op player you can even do team attacks which is pretty asweme.this game almost basicly goes through every fighting stages from mk1 to mortal kombat deception..they make it so you can do quicker kills when there are a lot of ememies.this GAME IS FREAKEN ASWEME..!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

mortal kombat shaolin monks

posted by pianocomm (MCHENRY, IL) Apr 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is what mortal kombat 2 would look like if it sucked the game is a revamp of mortal kombaqt 2 but is a plateformer the game is mainly about the ko-op mode but is a big flop for the game the wack camra is a cause of two players the game has less the good fatalitys and their is problom after problom after problom and so on this game should be destroyed so that good games can live in peace.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Midway's worst game ever!

posted by GameSeeker (YUMA, AZ) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The only purpose this game serves is showing us what happened after the first MK tournament. I admit, the game's aerial fighting is pretty awesome and the free play is cool too, but your fighting styles are severely limited, unlike previous MK games, you only have 7 combos. The graphics really aren't all that great either, in fact, the main upsides are that you can choose from more than one character and that this game provides an extremely tough challenge at the end of the game. Overall, I'm disappointed with Midway for making such a bad game for once, but this will not change how I look at them, as a great video game making company.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rivers of blood.

posted by bf22222 (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Oct 5, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is so bad I prayed to god when it ended!You get a gallon of blood on you when you flick some one!DO NOT BUY THIS STUPID GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ify about it

posted by okayiguess (CLERMONT, FL) Sep 17, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i can kinda agree with all the other ratings about this game but i thout it was way to short and the 2 player mode i thought was horrible because it just keeps going and i felt so restricted in it but dont get me wrong its a good game but after a while it gets old i wouldnt wanna buy it after ive beatin it once

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the melancholy catharsis of a mass murder ballet

posted by spencer (BLOOMINGTON, IN) May 30, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Midway’s MK: Shaolin Monks retains the diabolic, ultra-lethal quality of its pure fighting prequels while transporting its eclectic pantheon into the realm of action-adventure. Boon and his team achieve an arcade-style multi-directional fighting engine that’s brutal, stimulating, and addictive. Coupled with the ability to place the camera at any one of three cinematic angles—panoramic, medium, or close-up—Kung Lau appears like a demi-god unleashing the fury of white lotus in thunderous strings of kombos, kill strikes, and body splits. Enhanced experience and momentum enable you to execute fatalities, of which you can attain ten, each more savage and bloodcurdling than the last. You may cut off the arms of your startled opponent and then saw off his head as he tries to run away. You may invoke the dearly bought brutality and beat the faces off every bad guy in the room. The gravely voice of your patron deity applauds and encourages your creative sadism while the very environment invites misfortune and bad, ugly death. You will face spike-pits, iron maidens, grinding machines, poison gas marshes, and sluggish, titanic terrors that crave flesh and care not whether it’s alive or dead. You will cut a gory path through legions of unlucky to have met you minions before the killing’s through. Oni demon-beasts, toxic blood vomiting zombies, and purple-robed shadow priests stoically chanting ‘aum’ as they strive relentlessly to destroy you number among the blood-drenched blurry of souls you will pitch forth into the dark house they call Hades. The pay-offs are the epic boss battles against the notorious villains Baraka, Scorpion, Kano, and the nearly invincible Shao Khan who’ll self-satisfyingly, and for the pleasure of his fans, crush your skull with his warhammer at least fifteen times before you actually beat him. The result is a thrilling a mass murder ballet action-horror with an inexhaustibly innovative ultra-brutal fight system resting on the bedrock of a strong story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for a Rental Bad for a Purchase

posted by kakarotto (DALLAS, TX) Jun 1, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The Graphics in this game are average ps2 fair and although similar in style to god of war, it pales in comparison.

The Sound is generic and most of it is audio ripped directly from MK2, so don't expect anything to write home about, but nostalgic will appreciate the nod in their direction.

The Control is the one key shinning factor in the game, on the one hand you can button mash your way through or you can be as technical as you like. In either event the controls respond nicely and have no lag.

The Game play is a combination of gauntlet meets dragonball z budakai. You have the massive number of enemies on screen that respawn to nauseim like in gauntlet, and then you have the gaurd, light, heavy, and energy button configuration from the budokai series.

In all there is no need to buy this game as it has zero replay value, the endings are the same for either character w/only one line of dialog change depending on which character is being used.
To further prove that this was a rushed title, this game features a skin swap for scorpion and subzero for the story mode after beating it the first time around and in the cut scenes the dialog and animation still belongs to lui kang or Kung Lao. Not to mention that the developers decided to cheaply extend the gameplay length by forcing you fight shang tsung, kintaro, and shao kahn back to back w/only to small heath refills. Inconcluision MK purists need only apply.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Review

posted by agent1168 (NEWPORT CENTER, VT) Aug 22, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I could not get this game to play on my Playstation2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun action game

posted by slicknick (Brooklyn, NY) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

This game is pretty cool.reminded me of god of war.its pretty easy.the controls arent perfect but its ok.worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

mortal kombat shailon monks was it a good game

posted by ashman99 (GREENVILLE, SC) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Some people do not like this game because does not have certain charters but the reason for this is because there would be to many stories and that would have took longer and it was expected in 2005 so even peopel say its bad game in pernsol thoght it is the best mortal kombat and should have a sequl just to let you know goro is able to be played only on pc meaning can't be played on ps2 or xbox

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sickest MK I've played in a long time

posted by sutadyerk (JAMAICA PLAIN, MA) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This game is totally top notch. The gameplay is excellent and the graphics are so hot. I guess my only complaint is that it's rather easy to defeat enemies or that you may become bored with how easy it is to execute mad combos.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mortal kombat shaolin monks

posted by jerryv (WEST MONROE, LA) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I really enjoyed this game but it was a little bit touch for my kids to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

the problem

posted by austingame (LOUISVILLE, KY) Oct 8, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

ok here is the problem with
this game see
whenever you get to outworld
there is so many portals that
you dont know which one to get to
but when you do go to the right one you have
to find something like when you are about to
fight reptile you have to find hints and all of that
i think they should have jsut let you go ahead and fight
him seriously and there is no arcade what is up with that what mortal kombat game does not have that well if you are going to make another mortal kombat make sure its not to comfusing and people can actually figure out what they are doing on there and make sure there is a acrade or something andtry to make it like mortal kombat armegeddion that game rocked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a pleasant surprise

posted by Squashed (OAKLAND, CA) May 22, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

I didn't expect to like this game as much as I did. The controls were pretty fun, and after a little while I was pulling off 100+ hit combos against multiple enemies.

There's an extra bonus if you're a longtime fan of the MK series. The entire game is based on the plot of MK 2, and every backdrop from that game appears somewhere in this one. Except for a few spots, the game is fairly easy to play. It was much more satisfying to me than say, the Devil May Cry or recent Castlevania games. I'd go as far as to say it's more fun than the last several Mortal Kombat games as well.

The bad: The enemy characters get very repetitive. It seems like you're constantly fighting zombies and barakas. The dialog is pretty dumb, and the designs for the 2 main characters make them look like muscley meatheads. The final 2 battles are much more difficult than the rest of the game, and not particularly fun.

The good: Lots of skills to build up on (though you'll probably have them all before you're 1/3 through the game). You can fatality most enemies without softening them up first. The main characters have about 10 fatalities each. For the most part, the boss battles are excellent reenactments from MK2. There are lots of traps to throw enemies into. There are also oodles of hidden coins and secrets, and you can eventually unlock an arcade version of MK2.

I'd love to see an eventual sequel to this, based on the events of MK3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

wierdo game

posted by gamejunki (MT JACKSON, VA) Apr 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

A couple of things, everybody says its bloody, there wrong. And the other thing it's to confusing, it's not just the conrols it's the whole game. Definintly better games out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

mortal kombate: shaolin monks

posted by megamanxj7 (CAMBRIDGE, WI) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

i thought that the game loading was to long and once the game loaded you had reload it for the story mode that annoyed me. other whys the game was ok great for unlocking skills

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ko-Op Fun!

posted by Caukin (LAWRENCE TOWNSHIP, NJ) Jul 10, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

I must first say that the opening cinema is a reason just to rent the game. I watched that over and over.

Now This was a great Ko-Op game. They need to make more MK games like this. A different approch to a MK game. Rather then fighting in one arena you can move around freely beating everything to a pulp. The Fatalities and Brutalities are great.

The controls are easy to learn. A slight amount of replay value. Could be worth buying but a definfite Rent, especially if looking for a Co-op Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My favorite one yet.

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 30, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

I'm a fan of the Moral Kombat franchise. I just love the gorey violence and everyhing. The gameplay is simple and good. If I could rate the co-op mode I would give it a 10. Other fans are going to love this game more than any other Mortal Kombat game you have. The camera will become a problem and the whole game looks like it came out in 2003. The puzzles are fun surprisingly. The camera is a problem yah but the thing that really kept my score away from 10 are the annoying battle cries. Somtimes I had to mute the tv just to concentrate better. Who ever gave them battle cries can burn in.........well you know where.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »