Rent Mortal Kombat: Armageddon for Wii
view large frontback

Mortal Kombat: Armageddon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, PS2
GF Rating
6.6

2234 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent title, steep learning curve

posted by waltflanag (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

26 out of 28 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I was nervous, I admit, when I read some of the other reviews here that people had a hard time with the Wii remote not working.

This was quickly laid to rest once I got my hands on the game. It took, all told, about an hour to really learn how to play the game, but once I figured out how everything worked and how to implement it into the actual fighting, the game became an amazing title.

The fighting mechanics take a little getting used to, between the motion controls and the mapping of punches and kicks to the D-pad, but all works in the end. Konquest mode is very in-depth and engaging, the best Konquest mode as of yet. Motor Kombat left something to be desired.

Kreate a Fighter mode was also excellent, as it provided various levels of depth in creating the character and gave the player an extra reason to play Konquest - almost all of the clothes, items, moves, etc have to be purchased with the Koins collected in Konquest mode and in Arcade mode.

A superb title. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not the best but not the worse either

posted by ninja11347 (MANTECA, CA) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game has many characters to be i love the motor kombat mode where you can race in cars however though the motor kombat mode needs more race tracks and characters you can use the classic controller, the wii remote with nunchuck, and the gamecube controller. the konquest mode is a little hard when you have to get through the traps but still fun. if you are a fan of mortal kombat then i reccomend this game to you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I had fun with this one

posted by 123434 (LOVELAND, OH) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of fighting games then this may be the game you have been waiting for. I personally did not get to play Mortal Kombat Armageddon when it was originally released for the xbox and the ps2. Therefore this game was totally new to me and i will not criticize it for being last gen. Now on to the review...

Mortal Kombat is a quick and dirty fighting game that i found you could jump into and have a fight with a friend with no prior knowledge of the controls. However much like ssbb you can master the games controls. The game has gotten a lot of criticism for its controls but i actually found them to be very responsive. You perform gestures for special moves which becomes a game all its own. Unfortunately when it comes time to perform a fatality the wii controls didn't seem to work at all. Considering there is no tutorial for fatalities this becomes a major disappointment. In summation RENT THIS GAME. I can almost guarantee you will get a least one day of fun out of it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good

posted by wii360user (MERCHANTVILLE, NJ) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now I have been a MK fan since way back in the sega days, so I had high expectations for this game. The Game play is cool. It is taking me some time to get use to the controls using the wii remote and nunchuck, but you can always use the classic controller or the gamecube controller. The create a fighter is pretty cool and the "motor kombat" is fun to play with others. Its an overall well developed MK game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mortal Kombat: Armageddon for Wii

posted by cnwarren (TARZANA, CA) Jan 9, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

wasn't impressed with this game. i thought it was going to be awesome, but it fell flat. the fighters are not easy to control and the moves are not definite. you'll do a move and it will come out fine then a few seconds later you'll try it again and it doesn't work. i wanted it to be better, really. i hope they make a street fighter for wii, and they better not screw that up! also the quest mode of this game was LAME, along with the racing mode. SUPER LAME. i'd say try it for yourself if you're a diehard kombat fan. that's what i like about gamefly, you can try before you buy so you don't throw your money away on a game like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

a little fun at first, but gets old fast

posted by killakam (ROCKLIN, CA) Sep 29, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its a fair game. i played all the little side-missions and games, but it just didnt spark my intrest.

i felt like the kombat racing and the single player campaign was all really corny.

the graphics are awesome, but the controls can be a little clumsy during fights, and the 2 player mode wasnt all i thought it would be either.

A LOT of guys to choose from tho...and the special moves are pretty awesome, but its all pretty simple.
the game has a typical "save the world" storyline and got old a little fast for me.

i had this game for a few days and returned it. it just requires too much button mashing. but if that is your kinda thing, then go for it! its not a BAD game overall, it just didnt keep my interest long.

-KK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Par for the course, but that's not a bad thing.

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Jul 4, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I did have higher expectations for this game, and while they weren't exactly met, I wasn't all that disappointed either. With it's kreate-a-kombatant feature you can make a fighter that looks exactly the way you it too, granted you have to unlock the parts you want to make it with via playing the arcade mode, endurance, or the fun Konquest mode.
I did find Konquest disappointing in that you can use your own fighter, that would have made it more fun, the controls are a little tricky to get the hang of, as are fatalities, but they really allow you to be creative in that department. The Wiimote gestures are used to pull of special moves, and fatality combos. The graphics are good, as is the music, plus the stage fatalities feel pretty rewarding. All in all not a bad game, but it fell short of being fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Works, but not the best sensing ever

posted by TuxBobble (EDISON, NJ) Jun 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There is no reason to buy this game if you have another version of it. It is definitely a solid game, but the Wii Remote motion sensitive controls are lacking.

When they work, they are intuitive (enough) and easy to remember, for the most part. There are different move sets for different characters--which there are plenty of--and different types of moves use similar motion gestures, typically. For example, teleport moves mostly use one up-down or down-up motion, regardless of which character you're playing as. This means adjustment between characters is a bit simpler, because for the new or casual gamer, the motion controls are easier to perform than typical button sequences and combinations.

I would recommend trying this to fans of the franchise, but because of inconsistent performance of motion gestures, I would probably recommend another version before it, because it would be cheaper and on par with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but only for MK fans

posted by smalowman (ACTON, MA) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really good. The controls are tight but take some getting used to but pulling off special moves will be easy once you play for a little bit. The game offers every single MK fighter EVER! This is good but if you don't know alot about the fighters its hard to know each ones abilities and if you should play as that character or not. There are alot of unlock-ables but are only able to be unlocked by playing through a very dull adventure mode. There is also a create a fighter mode but once again unless you know alot about MK you wont know which moves you should equip to your fighter. There is also a mario kart rip-off called kart kombat. This is just a distraction to the real mode and is not very fun. The graphics have the look of the PS2 version but are not horribly bad. I recomend this game to anyone familiar with the franchise but if you are looking for a fighter and are new to MK than pass on this one. I give it a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A review from a MK fan

posted by ZachFromMN (HIBBING, MN) Jun 24, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty good but lacked some of the things I would of wanted in a new MK title. The arcade mode was good but could of been longer and more challenging where the story could have been a little less frustrating and alot more fun.

Pros: Storyline was a creative thought, graphics weren't bad, many fighters to choose from, able to create a fighter, and new moves

Cons: Short arcade mode, new fatality system, story mode was frustrating and boring.

All in all though, if you are a MK fan, it may be worth checking out but definitely not buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Try it out for yourself!

posted by nv13003 (TOLEDO, OH) Jun 12, 2007

Member since May 2007

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

When I saw the videos for Mortal Kombat: Armageddon, I was very excited to play this game. I read the bad reviews here on Gamefly, but still decided to try it out for myself. I am very happy that I did! I have been able to execute the moves with a little bit of practice. I found that the moves are done best with a quick motion and release of the B button. I realized that if you hold onto the B button, that the move will usually not work correctly. However, I have messed up when trying to execute a move that uses the up/down motion by doing the half circle. It is hard for me to determine whether or not it is my fault or the video game. Nevertheless, I am very satisfied with the game (even though the AI is actually pretty tough at times!). I plan on keeping the game to continue to perfect it and the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I dont get the reviewers...

posted by amirinayea (OAK PARK, CA) Jun 6, 2007

Member since May 2007

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

It could easily be that you all did not master the training of the Wiimote or watch the videos. Or learn the moves! This makes special moves, and fatalities so much easier. This game is amazing.

For some reason my girlfriend cannot execute the moves on the wiimote, so she uses the classic controller.

For some reason I can execute them all the time! By simply holding "B" and moving your wiimote in the direction the move is placed, you execute a special move. Say Sub-Zero for instance: His freeze ball is USUALLY Down,Right,Punch. In the wiimote controls, you will hold B, then move your wiimote down, then curve to the right. It's easy. Sometimes it will mistake my wiimote moves and do another special move, but most of the time it works. I recommend having your sensor bar positioned above your TV with the setting "Above TV" in the Wii Settings menu.

You're not getting much different than the ps2 and xbox versions, but you can tell the differences. Chameleon now has Khameleon, the girl version. The wii version does not contain UMK3, as this will be a release on the Wii's virtual console.

I recommend this game to any MK fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rather Enjoyable

posted by Draconic (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

MK Armageddon for the Wii was great though the new Wiimote controls started off a bit sluggish after adjusting the sensitivity for my sensor bar all is working as intended. If you have enough patience to give the new Wiimote controls a chance it is a great way to play the game. My only real complaint is the Fatality system because of its simple yet complex functionality it gets really boring seeing the same finishers from every character. I would definatly recommend this game just don't try to play it with the GC remote or the classic remote it just gets too annoying. All in All 7 is what i rate this game. Due to minor changes that were made such as the Fatalities being removed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun

posted by twix (TURLOCK, CA) May 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

great game wish i could keep it longer but I like to try different games out all the time it was fun though check it out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mortal Kombat Armageddon...

posted by spidy3 (JOHNSON CITY, NY) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off this game isnt really for the Wii the way they made it. When in the fighting mode you use the D-pad on the Wiimote to punch and kick and use the nunchuk to move around. So if your into actually getting into the game like most people do when playing a game on the Wii then this isnt for you.
The game itself isnt too bad. There are alot of characters to choose from and is pretty good if you use the classic controller but I would have rather rented it for the Xbox360 so I'd atleast get better graphics. There is a little game called "motor kombat" which is kind of like Mario Kart thats kind of fun. All in all the game was decent but if you have a system besides the Wii I suggest you rent it on that instead since you'll probably end up playing it with the classic controller anyways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fail disurves a FATALITY

posted by Tekken1 (BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

There is no such thing as fail in this game. I once played Mortal Kombat for the SNES and if you think that was kool, this game that I played for the Wii is WAY better! you are just going to love it when you launch your oponient to the death traps so you see all the blood all over the screen! My favorate part of the game is when you kreate your karecter any whay you want!

I made Paul Phoenix

And if you make your moves on the game, you will really get a lot of koins!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mortal Kombat Armageddon

posted by TheJet (HENRICO, VA) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First off I am not a fighter fan nor a mortal kombat fan.

Saying that, I think this game's great. No the graphics aren't perfect. And the wii remote sucks. But with a gamecube remote and like 30 characters to choose from all the problems are solved.

Also the best part of the whole game is the build your own section. Its amazingly in depth. best create a character I've seen on any type of game.

I didnt like fighter's or MK before this game. and now I am picking up soul calibur today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dont Judge a Book by its Cover

posted by Optix73 (TUSCALOOSA, AL) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Alot Of people say "The controls suck" they do. at first but once u get the feel of it...its even easier than a original control scheme. Then you have those stubborn players....and even for them there is the Game cube controller or Classic Controller. Also the game features one new character Khameleon(Blend of the Female Ninjas) And a new Endurance mode to see how long u can last

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

My review of Mortal Kombat for the Wii

posted by markopolo (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Jun 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

16 out of 32 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let's get straight to the point. You want to know whether or not to add this game to your Que? That's why you're here reading this, correct? You have doubts on how well the Wii's unique controls can improve on a solid fighting game engine. Well maybe you don't think that last part.

Ok, I'll make this quick.

The controls are terrible. I really wanted to like it, and I rented this game solely on the videos I've seen on how the wiimote is used to do special moves. I thought that was a great idea... on paper. In practice, though, it either performs the wrong move or just does nothing at all. Very frustrating.

That's not to mention the poor quality graphics and cinemas. Plain and simple, this game looks better on the ORIGINAL Xbox.

It's actually a good choice if you have an Xbox. If you don't, just wait for a better fighting game. Or rent another type of game. This Mortal Kombat was rushed onto the Wii with poor transition. Don't say I didn't warn you!

If you're still reading, thank you. I hope this review helps make your decision... "No."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Marzface (PHARR, TX) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is an awsome game. Why the bad reviews, I don't know. I think people(kids) were writing them. This is a mature rated game. You should be able to sit or stand up and learn the moves and motions for the game with in a few hours. It is all about muscle memory. The moves are universal. My favorite is the create a character mode. You pick your own moves and everything. Very cool. I would give it a 10 but, I think with this game out. There will be better ones like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is great!

posted by Pinecone34 (GEORGETOWN, TX) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved this game alot and how it had all the characters from the old mortal kombat and now has some new ones. You can also now create a character so you can do fatalitys while looking like arnould!!! Well this game is pretty amazing and stuff but there is one flaw. Of cource. The lags. Now the lags in this game arent to bad but useally its just you and your remote you banged 100 times while playin medal of houner heroes 2.

Results: Highly reccomend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very fun

posted by lilspidy (CHILLICOTHE, OH) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the most gorest/bloodthirstyest (if that is a word) game ever.IS NOT MADE FOR KIDS THAT GET SCARED EASY OR IS UNDER 10. Don't you dare rent if you are under 10 if you do then you better play with a parent or brother or friend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just like PS2

posted by spoore04 (MOUNT AYR, IA) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played with classic controller and it was identical to the PS2 game that came out a LONG time ago. Graphics ok for 2007.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mortal Kombat Armageddon rules.

posted by bruceettan (GRANTS PASS, OR) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly what I expected. Of course, the last one of the MK series I played was the original, so I'm coming from a somewhat dated perspective. But still, tons of cool moves and fatalities, lots of game play modes, build a fighter.. fun all the way around. The wii controller maneuvers are a little hard to get used to, but I eventually got the hang of it. And one can always just switch to the "classic" controller for the old school fee.

I dug it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The game loses the wii idea...

posted by AskStyle (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i found that this game could be way better if they had introduced better playability... What's the idea of the wii if it isn't to get into the game more than in other console? Here the wii sensor is used for special skills pointing around doing shapes... why not punch or kick or throw with it?this could very well be in another console besides wii and it would have any problem

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse