Rent Mortal Kombat: Armageddon for Xbox
view large frontback

Mortal Kombat: Armageddon

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, Wii
GF Rating
7.8

1112 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The end is near in Mortal Kombat Land. Repent!

posted by MIGGOzero (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 18, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

MKA is fun game that's easy to pick up and play whether or not you're a die-hard fan of the series. The game expands on the last game's engine and has jammed in everyone (almost) that's thrown a punch in a MK game. Here's a quick break-down:

FIGHTING SYSTEM
Very similar to MK:Deception. This time around you have one fighting style and one weapon style and the character's are a bit more balanced as well. Level Death Traps are still prominent and Midway has included a new air battle system that adds an extra "Ooo" factor. Overall, MK isn't as deep as several other fighters out there, but that doesn't hurt the game at all. Anyone can pick this game up and create some impressive combos with the classic characters.

CREATE A FATALITY
Major disappointment. Gone are the character specific fatalities that we've all come to love. It has been replaced with a system that lets you create your own unique fatality through button mashing. It's a neat idea for any other game, but for Mortal Kombat it's a step back.

CREATE A FIGHTER
Great idea that's actually executed well. It is limited, but CAF is fun to play with. Plus there are tons of items that can be used to create Street Fighter characters, superheroes, cartoon stars, or a doppleganger of yourself. Bad thing is that you can only save one fighter per profile. Bad form, Midway.

KONQUEST
Very linear and can be completed in a day. Nowhere near as deep or challenging as Deception's. That could also be taken a good thing too. Use this mode to unlock a majority of items in the Krypt (which is also considerably smaller)

MOTOR KOMBAT
Ha, ha. I love puns. I don't like bad Mario Kart clones though. You will play this once and never look at it again.

The final game is very rushed (no bios/no real endings) and doesn't really come off a complete game, but it's worth a try. MK-Deception is a better game in the end, but then again that one doesn't have Stryker in a X-men uniform now does it?

R.I.P. Puzzle Kombat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

box 360

posted by texasboss (PLANO, TX) Feb 12, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i think mortal kombat is a all around great game period. The game play is off the chain but i just wish they would put it on the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Funner than...

posted by Stanky (SAN JOSE, CA) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Turn the blood off and this game is fun fun fun! more variety than DOA Ultimate. Quest mode is a nice change in gameplay if you don't want to just fight in the ring- but that part's cool 2. It actually feels like an entirely different game! has that nice rpg feel to it. all the money you collect in any game mode goes to your account which is fun to spend in create-a-fighter. i'm still trying to create the perfect fighter(and the prettiest), which is why I keep going back to quest mode to earn more money. very addicting game. i have most of the popular fighting games, but i like this the best- this year at least!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This is how MK says goodbye?!

posted by Clipped (ONTARIO, CA) Nov 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

6 out of 19 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

First, what's with them telling us that EVERY MK character EVER would be in the game? Bull! Where's Un-masked Sub-Zero from MKIII? Let's not forget the un-masked Sub-Zero was the real Sub-Zeros brother (according to the MK storyline) also regular (non-zombie) Liu Kang is not present. Aside from that they screwed up so many of the classic characters: ERMAC, SMOKE, CYRAX & RAIN look lame! Not to mention GORO looks AWFUL! REPTILE looks actually a little better than he did in the last couple of MK's (they finally decided to re-mask him) so he doesn't look like a big dumb alligator wearing a ninja suit. But the worst of all is MONTORO, he is no longer a Centaurs (half-horse-half-demon). They took away his horse half! He still has hoofs, but he now walks on two feet like every other character (boring!) Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't that the whole appeal of MONTORO??! On the other hand (to be fair) some character look better than ever, Sheeva looks great. Scorpion and Sub-Zero always look cool (because these are the only two characters Ed Boon cares about). Now onto the FATALITIES: Oh my God! Horrible! It's like we're back in MK1! No unique fatalities! It doesn't matter who you choose they all do the same fatalities (YAWN). Just the same chained sequences over and over and over! Now onto MOTOR KOMBAT: without Xbox live this has got to be the dumbest mini game the developers of MK ever came up with. It's not challenging or very fun. Now onto KONQUEST: they even managed to screw this one up! It no longer plays like it did in the last two MK games that featured the konquest games. The last two were almost a sandbox style of gameplay (very fun). Now it plays like 'MK Shaolin Monks'. Not as fun at all. The only really cool part of this MK game is the 'CREATE A FIGHTER' feature. Very cool! (I made a character that looks EXACTLY like CHUN LI from Street Fighter. All-in-all (I hate to say it about one of my all time favorite fighting games) this game is a complete let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A lot of characters to play, but same game play

posted by luis1090 (SAN MATEO, CA) Dec 13, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok, lets get down to business, this games is good for fans of the mortal kombat series. If you are one, then this game is a must have. But for any other guy that is just looking for a fighting game, let me tell you, this is not one of the best one. With that being said, is you who decides to rent the games, buy it or just never play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Umm Wow

posted by ETowner (EVANSTON, IL) Oct 15, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Now i no that you read a response and say the game is probley garbage. But no this is cold. It has all the charcters and i love mk so this was a shock IT IS ATHSOME. I promise you i gave you 9 whop cASS kung laos out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love this and I'm a Street Fighter fan

posted by izryell (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is what Chicago needs! Bears, White Sox, Kanye; and now Midway's MK Armageddon is the best fighter in my collection. And I'm a Street Fighter fan (meaning I owned a 3DO for Super SFII and every other systems version.)

The create a fighter mode is addictive, I mean you want to play the game just to get more parts for your fighter. The Konquest mode is enjoyable, heck it is better than Tobal no.1 quest on any day. The only thing missing is the head peaking out of the side saying, "TOASTIES". Everybody to my knowledge is in the game, plus new guys.

My only problems is where are the old fatalities, can I make more than one custom karacter, and this konquest mode could have a little less linear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ARMAGEDDON !!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by deadbeam09 (HACKETTSTOWN, NJ) Oct 13, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 19 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

this game is so freakin awsome !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

mortal kombat:armageddon

posted by spandexhero (SANTA BARBARA, CA) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

I have to say amazing game hands down but just a couple flaws like why isnt there a choise between a fatality made by midway and one by you instead they are all the same puch smash head thats practicly it but i love the kreate a charcter you can make so many things i am suprised its not in mk9 also there is a little something for those people who love mario kart like me that game was so fun, well there is a mortal kombat version of mario kart. konquest mode is like a full out adventure game instead of cutscene fight cutscene fight you know its more like a adventure game as i said and also i am still shocked that all the 50!! people in here there is about 20 in mk9 what about the awsome characters like frost blaze onaga moloch RAIN kenshi those guys would be awsome i hope they are in a dlc if not netherealm studios is getting a punch to the face any way great game get it or rent it you wont regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (XBOX)

posted by Borderland (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

This game is the last version made of the greatest combination of characters. It's got Johnny Cage! The only way Midway could possibly get a better version of this game is to combine it with Street Fighter and have it on XBOX Live. Of course I'd prefer PS3, but that's like asking for a free gift for completing 2 offers. Its not like I'll be filing a W-9 form.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good game

posted by elom4321 (BARRINGTON, RI) Oct 9, 2008

Member since May 2008

this is definately the best mortal kombat game i have ever played great graphics and game play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I would buy it.

posted by Piranha (TURLOCK, CA) Jul 20, 2008

Member since May 2008

I like the combo's and 3D effects. but the fatality combo's are the same for all characters.... I liked it better when you had to master each character and that their fatality was unique, but now you can do the same with all characters. They should of stayed with the same move list for each character since mk1. I love the fact that old characters are back, but several of there moves are different...
Anyway's over all it's a great and fun game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Addicting, Fun, Blood... Who can ask for more

posted by kdd5007 (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Dec 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

I have played many mk games since back in gameboy's time. This is by far the best. Konquest mode is ridiculously additive. The problem is that it only takes about 15-20 hours of gameplay the first time through (a lot shorter the second time). The coolest thing about this mode is that it mixes up many different styles of games. For example, it includes one-on-one arcade like fights, points of strategy, and kill a lot of people mode. Overall, without this mode the game would be a huge bust. The normal arcade mode is fun as well. Kreate-a-Player mode is pretty sweet too. If you like fighting games, I recommend you at least give MK Armageddon a shot. The graphics are pretty good in arcade mode and one-on-one fights in
BTW it seems this is a better renting game than buying game, after you beat twice you don't ever feel like playing anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good and bad parts of Mortal Kombat Armegeddon

posted by Reviewer1 (Frankfort, IL) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

The bad parts were that there were too many characters and I got confused over who is who.The players had nearly the same moves and creating personal characters was very boring. Konquest didn't have any variety and felt like the first Legend of Zelda game. I nearly fell asleep playing Motor Kombat. Every character is exactly the same except for thier powers ( slightly differnt). Ther was very little unlockables and the little there was were very simple to get. Lastly the characters were UGLY! The good parts were that Konquest had a good storyline. arcade was cool you could say but the ending biography was good but odd and if you didn't know, it said why Raiden was corrupted I shall lieve that for you to find out (it is in the later game). That is basicaly all the the good parts but I cannot explain the good parts like the bad but it is higherly intermediate entertainment but in the matter of purchasing it I would get Deception because it much, much better than this I give it a 9.7 (Deception).Those are the only good parts of this game. Parts I want to be in the next game are to have all the extra parts(much better Motar Kombat) with a lot of unlockables and 3 different Konquests as mortal,Shoa Kahn/evil,and a god such as Raiden. That is what I would add to the next game.

THE END

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mortal Kombat Armageddon

posted by elmarko (SAINT PAUL, MN) Oct 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

MK is a good game for people who like to whoop butt and make people bleed a lot or not enough. the conquest mode s challenging and arcade mode is fun if you learn the controls and strategies you can be a champ try it out if you are at least a moderate player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

End of an Era?

posted by adlegion (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Sep 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Since the first Mortal Kombat, the series has always been a second staple to the more popular fighting games out there. The gimmick of heavy violence and fatalities differentiate it from the rest and now, with Armegeddon being the final title on the current gen systems, it goes out with a bang. The Create-a-Fighter feature is a welcome addition to the series. The Create-a-Fatality is a nice idea in theory, but to me, it seems a little generic. I liked it better when the fatalities were character specific instead of practically the same for everyone. The fact that everybody who's ever been in Mortal Kombat is in this game. The sheer number of characters is staggering. Until the next gen versions come out, this is the ultimate version of Mortal Kombat to have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not painful to play for once

posted by DharmaBum (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

There are so many better fighting franchises, I never really got into Mortal Kombat, especially after the games went 3D. The combo system is just so darn awkward and jagged compared to Dead or Alive or Tekken or Virtua Fighter, I only really saw Mortal Kombat being played by the demo at the movie theater. Well, the controls are still very awkward and stink of the mid-90s arcade rhythms, BUT the draw of the franchise, the fatalities, are now user friendly. Now anyone, no matter what skill level, can rip the heart out of their enemy and then kick it back into their body before snapping their neck in three wrong directions and then finally ripping their torso in half. Huzzah!

I played through the Konquest mode, which was a blast, and even enjoyed creating Lara Croft in the Kreate-A-Fighter feature. The endings in the tournament portion of the game doesn't really give the finality I thought we'd get from what was being advertised as "The Last Mortal Kombat game of this generation." But you don't play MK for the story, you play it for the fatalities - and trust me, if you're a noob to the franchise like I was, this one will actually be fun for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst mortal kombat ever

posted by jackthemac (Rohnert Park, CA) May 26, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

i rented this game thinking, "oh cool every mortal kombat character. it must be the ultimate mortal kombat game ever"...i was wrong.
as soon as i put it in my xbox the opening scene blew me away and i was ready to play. i started by picking my favorite character, sub zero and selected just normal kombat, where you battle until you reach the boss. i am not the best at these games but i am not terrible either. i beat the first two people with minimal difficulties but i was troubled by the combo system, or in this case, lack there of. it seemed as no matter which button combo i tried i couldnt seem to link together any attacks that would be efficent.
by the third person i was having sufficent trouble even hitting them. it was frusterating and i ended up just turning off the console out of mere boredom that i couldnt progress any farther.
i would have expect such a great game with the name of mortal kombat to be one of the best fighting games considering they were one of the first. i really enjoyed playing the old school MK 1 2 and 3 but now i cant help but be dissapointed
the konquest mode was the only saving grace. i had fun doing that because it was different fighting system and a differnt feel, but still it wasnt that captivating.

overall i think midway could have done better especially since mortal kombat is a fighting game.

a positive though is the massive amount of playable characters. i enjoyed seeing characters such as kabal, stryker, sheeva, and others. sadly this doesnt save the game

well thats my reveiw, time go to play pokemon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why you should not play this game

posted by WarHog (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

You should only play this game if you like being board. Mortal Kombat Armageddon is the morst Mortal Kombat ever made. The Konquest on it stinks. And the fighters look the same as the last Mortal Kombat games. That is why you should not play Mortal Kombat Armageddon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow mortal combat hasnt lost its touch

posted by dmdg5000 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Feb 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

I actually got impatient and went a rented this game.I was very impressed.This game has evolved into one of the best fighting games from my generation.Wow i really enjoyed the story line.This game gives you a chance to do some real good one on one and at the same time practice on the multi enemy fights.The arcade mode is just better than ever comparing to the beginning.Im looking forward to seeing what will be created for the xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Good, Could Have Been Better

posted by Jeremy (RALEIGH, NC) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

Excellent game, builds on the previous 2 3d Mks, while adding a few new features. The graphics are good, but character models suffer because of the sheer amount of content on the disc. The Kreate-a-Kombatant mode is competent, but not as robust as it is in some other games. The new way of doing Fatalities (Kreate-a-Fatality) is good, but seems to detract from the personality of individual characters, but it's done well enough, so it's a minor gripe. The stages are a highlight, with old favorites like MK3's Subway, and the Soul Chamber returning. Every MK Kombatant ever is back, from Ashra to Sheeva, and even lamers like Stryker (Why??) come back, including bosses like Shao Khan and Goro. Konquest mode returns, and it's hit or miss. If you liked the Konquest mode in Deception, then you'll like it here, as it's pretty much the same thing. The Krypt also returns, along with Koins, though instead of 5-6 different types, there is one type gained throughout most game modes. The one really major gripe I have with Armageddon is the new Kart racing mode, which while playable, isn't exactly worth the disc space it takes up. It would have made more sense to make a 2-disc game, with the Kart game and other extras on a bonus disc, and giving the main game a bit of a graphical bump. Overall, MK:A is a great way to cap off the current generation of MK's, and well worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finish Him!! Armageddon finally arrives on the 360

posted by Action (RONCEVERTE, WV) Jan 9, 2007

Member since May 2006

I have been a Mortal Kombat fan since day one, I even pre-ordered Mortal Kombat: Deception to be delivered to my tent while I was on deployment in Iraq in '04.
Armageddon is the final send-off of the MK franchise on the last gen machines, but due to fan demand, and countless internet petitions, it made it to the 360 B/C list two months
after it's initial release.
Fight!
The meat of every MK game has been the fighting, and here this one doesn't disappoint.
In MK 1 you had 7 characters to choose from, now you have a staggering 62, every character from every game is now playable.
The characters have two fighting styles basic and weapon.
Stage specific Fatalities are back, and they have some great ones, acid, spikes, fan blades, lava, Temple of Doom rock crushers, etc.
My favorite is Kahn's Arena, which has a variety of death traps.
The 360's controller works great with this game, and I use the D-pad with fighters.
Kreating Death
For the first time you create the Fatalities.
From a single blow fatality to a gruesome 10 hit combo fatality, your opponents death is up to you.
Rip off an arm or two, yank out a heart, a brain, a rib cage, break a neck, decapitate, cleave in half, the fun can last for hours.
Konquest
This exploration/adventure game is back, but this time it's a lot less boring, and repetitive.
If you've ever played Shaolin Monks, it's a lot like that.
This mode explains the Armageddon plot(?) and where you find unlockable items.
This is where you get most of your coins, for use in the Krypt, which this time around (thank you Midway) lets you know what you're getting before you buy.
Motor Kombat
This is Mario Cart with MK characters & death traps.
Different and entertaining, I played for a couple hours straight with my friends one night.
Kreate a Character
I've always loved creating my own brawlers in games, and this game takes it to a new level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I wish there was more....

posted by KCWonder (COLUMBIA, SC) Jan 6, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

I'd say this is a very solid game. To start with the positive aspects of the game, the opening movie was absolutely jaw dropping! Character selection was very impressive, as almost every MK character was available to play. I can't recall when I've ever played a game with this huge of a selection of playable characters. The game also very re playable due to it's system of earning money to unlock different aspects of the game. Unfortunately, there were some aspects of the game that gave me mixed feelings...

Earning money was sometimes frustrating for me, on account that you have to play through the game a few times (or do Konquest mode) before you could unlock anything significant. Also, you have to have your profile loaded in order to earn money, and you only get to create one fighter per profile. Another bad thing is the fact that the storyline is so confusing. If you finish Konquest mode, you are left thinking... "What the heck just happened" while the credits are rolling. Why can't the MK series ever put a story together that doesn't have you scratching you head afterward?

Overall, I gave this game a 7 because although the game play is solid, it just leaves too many unanswered questions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ANOTHER MK Game...

posted by sorethumbs (SONORA, CA) Dec 10, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

The cold hard truth about this game... it is a far cry from being a step into the future of the MK series. The play is very good, albeit cumbersum and akward in the konquest mode. An uncooperative camera can make things difficult, especially when it starts off facing you, from in front of the enemy, preventing you from seeing your would be attackers. The game features some very rich graphics, and offers a good feel in the arcade mode. Interesting stage specific death traps and some even more gruesome fatalities make up for the lack of innovation in this game. After all, the whole of the MK genre's appeal is based on how bloody the game gets, and MKA does not dissappoint. The opening cut scene of the game is great, but misleading, expect nothing more than MKDA souped up a little. The one major bonus this game gets... it has just about every freekin' MK character ever dreamed up! Some you may not recognize, unless you have played the less than popular Mythologies, or Special Forces games. The racing mode rocks! Not exactly Gran Tourismo or NFS, but loads of fun. Unless you're a die hard MK fan, this game is not for purchase, let your gameQ do it's thing, and send you this one, so you can send it back. Okay, nuff said, MKA is good but not great, and bleeds profusely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Armageddon

posted by pretyricky (HINESVILLE, GA) Dec 3, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

this game was a big disappointment, compared to past mortals this was slow, the movement of the characters were not so fluent, i just think they tried to do to much with it, and in the end personally it was a bad game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse