Rent Mortal Kombat: Armageddon for PS2
view large frontback

Mortal Kombat: Armageddon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox
GF Rating
7.6

1733 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

At least there's a lot to choose from

posted by Takerkain (FAIRFIELD, ME) Nov 1, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

19 out of 19 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mortal Kombat: Armaggedon is a great game in that there are literally over 60 characters to choose from and the gameplay flows smoothly, but the flaws of the game keep the series from once again climbing to the top of the fighting world. Once you open up the game mode and see how many characters there are to choose from, you feel like this game could last you for a long time if you felt the need to play through them all, but to be honest, besides the top ten or so fighters, who cares about all the Scorpion knock-offs the series is infamous for? Once the action starts though, the game does became fairly fun, for a while at least. You do the basic beat eight or nine enemies and watch the ending (which are absolutly horrible and uninspired) and repeat with a different character. What I like is that you can actually see how much harder each enemy is as they show you what percent difficulty each foe is when they fight you. The move list is very impressive as always, including different moves when you're fighting hand to hand or with a weapon. A same problem that has occured throughout the series is that you can still get by just by jump kicking the entire fight (as one of my buddies proved) and the fatalities are difficult to figure out. The computer is fairly cheap as always, keeping you in the air, comboing you for half your life at times on the higher difficulties, causing one to want to throw the tv out the window at times. I enjoyed the kart racing mode they through in. Although it was not a great game by any means, any extra like that is welcome. They even have a quest-type mode but you play as no one from the game and the battles are overly simple. Overall, although it is a very good game, there is nothing new here that hasn't been seen before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by simba00635 (HACKETTSTOWN, NJ) Dec 6, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

wow this was a great game i totally loved it . it was so hard for me to return it . they had characters i never heard of . ever in my live. and blaze its hard to beat. all and all i would suggest if you like blood and fighting then get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Top quality game, only a few things missing

posted by JakeSapir (DEERFIELD, IL) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One thing I believe the Mortal Kombat series has over other fighting game franchises is the number and uniqueness of characters. Compiling every character in the history of the main Mortal Kombat games (excluding Khameleon, who appeared only in the N64 version of Trilogy, but who will be in the Wii version of this game), this game has the widest variety of characters in any fighting game I've ever seen, or at least it's in the top 3 (I do not include Dragon Ball Z games that have 10 versions of the same character). This leads to excellent replay value. The game also offers variety in the form of play modes. While fighting modes are limited to practices and arcade mode, there is also Konquest Mode, essentially an action game of its own. Like other recent games in the series, Armageddon features a tongue-in-cheek minigame; in this case, the Mario Kart-like "Motor Kombat". The minigame won't last you too long, but it is a lot of fun.

Armageddon introduces character creation to the series, providing pieces to make a wide variety of characters in any of the species represented in the game: humans, shokans, dragons, and whatever Baraka is. You also can customize your own move set, picking a name, a stance, and individual attacks. The same goes for your weapon style, and you can choose from a good variety of weapon types (though not all of the existing character's weapons are represented). Unfortunately, customizing your character's face is very limited, and there are not as many clothing options as in Soul Calibur 3. Also, like in SC3, you have to unlock most of the parts, which limits your creativity at first.

The only big problem with this game is the change in the fatality system. Rather than each character having specific fatalities based on his/her background and such, there's a universal fatality system that is just as grusome but not as entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Perfect Mortal Kombat

posted by Lovaman85 (GREENVILLE, TX) Oct 12, 2006

Member since May 2006

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Mortal Kombat Armaggedon is the last version for PS2 and X-Box, but it's only the beginning. When turn on the game you can see the opening scence of the game itself, its very eye watching. When you play the game against the fighters, its a completely updated version of MK:Deception. I love Deception, but this Armaggedon take the cake. Its faster, you can freestyle your Fatality, you can parry an oppenent attack, your can create your own fighter. New death traps on the new and improve stages. There's a new storyline and better graphics on Konquest Mode. Last but not least, there's a Motor Kombat. Motor Kombat is fun because its simple and if you don't feel like dismembering your opponent. You can race against them on deadly stages. There's still playable online, there's over 60 characters, yes I said it over 60 characters on Armaggedon. If you purchase the Kollecters or Premium Edition of MK:Armaggedon, there's a playable Ultimate MK3(which only came out on Arcades and Sega Suturn remember Sega Suturn). So enjoy beating down your opponent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best 3D MK to Date!

posted by IvorySoul (VENTURA, CA) Oct 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is incredible! I bought my copy from Game Crazy 2 days ago (release day) and it's amazing! Don't let the stupid bad reviews hinder you from getting this! Everything is great about this. The Konquest mode is very entertaining and challenging and fun! You can unlock things from the Krypt in Konquest, find currency, and more! You can now fight people in the actuall game a la Shaolin Monks. It's not as deep as SM but it's very simple and fun. The Krpyt now only contains about 300 items or so and the game only uses one type of currency instead of many. The Krypt even tells you what's inside each lock which is nice. This sports 60 characters and 4 are unlockable when you collect a certain amount of relic items in Konquest. There are 2 fighting styles but be glad for this. It makes the game faster and a bit more fun. The aerial combat is awesome and super fast and flashy. The Kreat-a-Fatality system is VERY fun and rewarding yet is very deep. There are set moves you have to do such as Forward Chains then there are Transitions like putting the oppenent on his knees then finishers for that or transitions from that. Each part is a certain combo, and bosses have their own sets. You also have sword combos but only characters with long single bladed swords can do this. Check GameFaqs for a full list of these combos. Lastly, Kreate-a-Fighter is VERY fun and deep and is just so customizable. You can even type up a biography! Motor Kombat is a bit of a let down. The tracks are very short and after a few races it gets boring but it's better with human oppenents. The Premium Edition is what deserves the 9 here because of UMK3 and the whole packaging thing just adds a lot of coolness to it. Bottom line: Get this game it is THE best 3D fighter to date. You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WOW!!! So many characters...

posted by Meekus (ROCKLIN, CA) Oct 23, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

And that's about it. Yup, every playable character in the past is in here (save the female Khameleon). And that's about it. The sound and graphics are the same as DA and Deception. The fighters all lost a fighting style, and style switch combos are all but gone. The Konquest Mode is incredibly too easy. The fatality system is great at first, but after a while, it's all the same. Fatalities used to mean something, representing a character's individuality, and now they're nothing special. The character creator is uninspired. The backgrounds are mostly boring. I'm sorry, but with games like Soul Caliber out there, this game is weak. Sorry Midway, but Quantity does NOT equal Quality.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game!

posted by GameHappy (WARRENTON, OR) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is completely worth renting...well worth buying too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

As Good , And Better

posted by john8700 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jan 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked this game, iv been playing MK since it came out somewhere back in '94 , the only downside to this game, is you have to learn new button combos...everything else is as good as the originals , and better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My Impresions of MK:A on the PS2 Platform

posted by TopReview (DELTONA, FL) Oct 27, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My Impresions:

Having recently picked up the latest instalment of the Mortal Kombat franchise, I was most definetly suprised once I had booted it up to find a decent well thought out game. For the past few games that have come out of the Midway house bearing the MK logo have been far from ideal. But Midway finally improved on the last few instalments, and listened to there community.

The latest games have all shared the same issues, lack of playable characters. While Mortal Kombat: Armaggedon(MK:A) actually does not lack in the category. They managed to ship with a wide cast of the MK franchise characters. Included in that is the all necessary: Sub Zero, Scorpion, Raiden, Reptile. But that is not where it ends they also included many old classic characters including: Sindel, Cyrax and Sektor, and many others from past games. Each character comes equipped with all the moves you would think and know they should have, but also have two different stances in which you can switch between. One being a normal fighting pose such as Tae Kwon Do or Jujitsu but also a weapon stance. Each character has a unique weapon to each of them, such as Raiden has a staff and Scorpion has his sword.

The gameplay has not changed much since the earlier Play Station 2(PS2) releases. Its still takes place in the 3 Dimensional(3D) arena. But included in MK:A are even more enviromental play. The people at Midway did a good job integrating the enviroment even more into the play. There are countless ways to beat your opponent, but whats better then knocking them against a wall, up into a large church bell that then sends them crashing down two floors to there death? Well there actually is a few things, you will have to play to find out what they are though.

In terms of the graphical situation there is no real large improvement. Which was relatively expected. They are not pain stakingly ugly but dont expect some great high defention(HD) Xbox360(x360) experience in this sony title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mortal Kombat just lost a fan.

posted by CTaylo (MACOMB, IL) Nov 11, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I was just like everyone else who's enjoyed Mortal Kombat over the years. I quickly added this game to my list and waited with anticipation. Little did I know that this would be the game that would cause me to walk away from the series for good. Let me just say this. I loved Shaolin Monks. That game was fast-paced and full of all the blood and guts you love. The two player with my friend made it that much better. Some could say that the gameplay for that game was button mashing at best. I pose this question, which is better? Button mashing, or repeatedly entering some variant on the Konami code to get your character to do anything besides punch one time at the speed of smell. That's my feeling on the fighting in this game. It is simply a matter of inputting the Konami code over and over again till you win or lose a fight. Playing Shaolin Monks and then playing this game is like jumping out of a Dodge Viper and into a farm thresher. That's how slow the gameplay feels. Motor Kombat is utterly forgettable. Play it once and you never have to play it again. Create a fatality makes every character feel the same. They do the same thing, so there is honestly no point to play any other character than your absolute favorites because there is no promise of a different fatality from other characters. This version managed to make the story even more convoluted and boring. Maybe they could've cut half the budget of the opening cinematic to make it so that the character endings were worth getting. Konquest is an improvement but it lacks the polish of Shaolin Monks and even worse is that you still have to fight main characters with the Mortal Kombat engine.

Do yourself a favor and do two things instead of playing this game. Go to Gamefaqs where they have a complete text listing of the endings for every character. Believe me this is all you need. The other is go to youtube and search for MK Armageddon fatalities and that's all you need as well.
Mortal Kombat thanks for the memories

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST MK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

posted by Eugenia (POUGHQUAG, NY) Oct 10, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Mortal Kombat Armageddon is byfar the best MK game thats came out.If you are looking for a fighting game that you could be 60 players in mk then this game is for u if you think thats cool theirs more new game play 60 playable characters new story line new make your own charater if this sounds cool then go out and buy this game. Today I waited all day for my dad to take me to the mall and go out and buy this.All tell you write now it was worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MK Armageddon Freakin' Rules!

posted by kEnney (HIGH RIDGE, MO) Oct 10, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This has To be one of the best Mortal Kombats i've ever played, PS2 Virsion has 2 in one games! (UMK)
The Best!

KR

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Learn from Tekken

posted by Totmacher (TUCSON, AZ) Oct 27, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Fatalities suck!!!!! They are all basically the same!!!! Whoppeee eye get to customize my fatality!!!! No not really little jimmy ewe get to memorize up to 40 some button presses just so ewe can "chain" together and ultimate fatality!!! WHOPPEEE!!!! Basically none of them are really character specific which takes all the "uniqueness" (if that's a word) out of each characters ability to kill your defeated opponent. So ewe don't even have to take the tyme to play every character to see them all, so what's the point??

Horrible control , very blocky and chunky controls although they have improved on the special moves being more fluid to use even though ones that should link together don't!

All of the endings are boring since they are only your character doing a boring kata with a narrated text ending, no pix no cinema interludes no reason to play arcade mode!! So if ewe wanna know the endings just go to gamefaqs and read them there ewe get the same amount of enjoyment!

Konquest mode was the best part of this entire game and that lasted maybe 2 nights worth of playing less if ewe are determined, heck it was better than all of Shaolin Monks!

There is no where to look u the back story of the characters for heavens sake there's what 50 some pl in it how am eye supposed to remember all of there boring back stories and the good ones?

As for the "Krypt" no real incentive to unlock it all (which can be done rather easily if ewe are very perceptive and explore every where in Konquest mode)like eye care about unlocking soundtracks from the stupid wanna be mario kart game (which eye didn't even play cause eye would rather get rid of the game and get something better as fast as possible).

So ya don't rent this game it is just a throw every character in it and pl will buy it just so they can play as goro, motaro shao khan ect ect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by gameda (CONCORD, CA) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

i hate this game i wouldn't recomend it. expessialey if u r in to enchaind or shaolin monks (versions) yhen i would neveeeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrr by that STUPID GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!! i really hate it, once u play it u will hate the rest of the seireis ........!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

p.s. let me short'n this speech the retarted game sucksssssssssssssssssssss- sssssssssssssssssssssssss- ssssssssssss egsssssssss and yoak

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i buy this game at the store

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

it awesome but someone in my family move it and i can't find it i know i still have it somewhere but i find it and i beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The 3D MK Trilogy

posted by ivory_soul (VENTURA, CA) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The Good: 60 fighters, tons of content, revamped konquest mode, kreate-a-fighter system adds a lot of replay value, great online mode, custom fatality system is fun

The Bad: rehashed stuff since Deception, short Konquest mode, no Puzzle Kombat or Chess Kombat, could have used a little more polish around the edges

This is incredible! I bought my copy from Game Crazy 2 days ago (release day) and it's amazing! Don't let the stupid bad reviews hinder you from getting this! Everything is great about this. The Konquest mode is very entertaining and challenging and fun! You can unlock things from the Krypt in Konquest, find currency, and more! You can now fight people in the actuall game a la Shaolin Monks. It's not as deep as SM but it's very simple and fun. The Krpyt now only contains about 300 items or so and the game only uses one type of currency instead of many. The Krypt even tells you what's inside each lock which is nice.

This sports 60 characters and 4 are unlockable when you collect a certain amount of relic items in Konquest. There are 2 fighting styles but be glad for this. It makes the game faster and a bit more fun. The aerial combat is awesome and super fast and flashy. The Kreat-a-Fatality system is VERY fun and rewarding yet is very deep. There are set moves you have to do such as Forward Chains then there are Transitions like putting the oppenent on his knees then finishers for that or transitions from that. Each part is a certain combo, and bosses have their own sets. You also have sword combos but only characters with long single bladed swords can do this. Check GameFaqs for a full list of these combos.

Lastly, Kreate-a-Fighter is VERY fun and deep and is just so customizable. You can even type up a biography! Motor Kombat is a bit of a let down. The tracks are very short and after a few races it gets boring but it's better with human oppenents. The Premium Edition is what deserves the 9 here because of UMK3 and the whole packaging thing ju

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

hey

posted by joseph5656 (BOLINGBROOK, IL) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

hey the game is ok but u need to send them faster

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Death is the only way of Mortal Kombat or is it?

posted by m19u31 (WHITTIER, CA) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

Out of all my expierences with the Past Mortal Kombats I'd say this one's the best not just the create-a-fighter but also the gameplay in story mode and all the other modes like the classic arcade mode, motor kombat and practice and also in create-a-fighter you have lots of details for clothes, weapons, and fists also your fighting styles. But about the game the graphics are okay a little blury I'd give it a 7, sound is great and voice acting it deserves a 9, gameplay is a 9.75, and replay value is modernly high also buy instead of renting trust me you'll thank me. So this game gets my rating of a 9.75 it's good but it just needs something else but who cares.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a creation type game

posted by liltre6 (FRESNO, CA) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

MK Armageddon is a new yet classic game with many different play modes like the create player mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good and lacking some

posted by Vidron (STATESBORO, GA) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I thought it would be more spectacular than from its days on the sega genesis (yeah, I haven't played it in that long. Shame on me!). The numerous characters, the practice mode, and the racing game managed to get a small smile from me but it never extended well beyond that. I would recommend it for renting only. If you are going to buy it then you are probably going to be disappointed and wish you haven't wasted your money on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Work

posted by Dexterlb56 (Hamilton, OH) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

The Game I Got did not work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Takes MK to a whole new level

posted by our4kids08 (LINCOLN, NE) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This is by far the best of the series for PS2(cant beat the originals frm SN) with online challenges and a new way to play Konquest, playing this game just gets intensly addicting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mortal Kombat Armageddon

posted by aboston (EAST PALATKA, FL) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This is a really fun game, but you want to put the blood level on medium. Otherwise you will be gushing blood every 10 seconds. Other than that you will really like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by RudeDog (NASHVILLE, MI) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

this game is awesome very gory and is the greatest mortal kombat game i have ever played especially all of the second costumes and alot of 4 armed people.pretty much if you like fighting and very gory games this is the game for you.....ps when u start turn difficulty to easy until u get the hang of it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mortal Kombat Armageddon old school

posted by Sapphire (VANCOUVER, WA) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Well to start I like the older mortal kombat's and this reminds me of the old ones just with a 3d format. ok now for the +s

+ everyone is at the party all the players are playable from the git go that's a big plus.
+ there are so many maps and more to be unlocked you will love the fact there are a quite a few.
+ the Koins are one type making grinding koins easy.
+- the fatality system was changed you may like it may hate it. you make up your own mashing the buttons to rip limbs of or body parts out.(would have been good if they put in the new system with the old style as well.)
+- the custom fighters can some times take work making one is easy but balancing them out right to play like you want them can take some times.(might have been better if you could load a player preset. like using sub-zeros move list insted of making your own.)

ok now the -s

-the moves this may be good or bad but i didn't like it. there are only 30 to 45 moves on the fighters the older MK games like Deception or deadly alliance fighters had over 80 to 110+ moves.
-the styles this came as a shock to me when i first played this game that fighters had one style beside there melee weapon. the last 2 games fighters had 2 fighting styles and 1 melee.

well over all this is a well balanced game plays like a 3d version of the old ones and i didn't touch the konquest mode so sorry for a lack in that area but i may suggest you look at it if you like the older if your looking for a game like deception just with more fighters look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse