Rent Morrowind: Game of the Year Edition for Xbox
view large frontback

Morrowind: Game of the Year Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

1528 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Amazing!!!

posted by Bostonfan (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 21, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

21 out of 25 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

What isn't perfect about this game......nothing. I've been playing this game going on 6 weeks and i'm still at the beginning. THis game is long but extremely fun. You can go through this game and still not have all of the weapons and spells that are in the game. And the environments i feel as if i am in a real world, its phenomenal. You can meet interesting creatures such as orcs or dunmer(Dark elves). I give this this a perfect 10 for length, difficulty, and graphics. I highly recommend this game. -bostonfan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The greatest RPG ever made. Hands Down.

posted by ChrisRG (FORKS, WA) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

For anyone who enjoyed Oblivion, this game is a must play. The map is roughly 4 times the size of Oblivion's, with even more stuff to explore packed into every square inch of this massive game. The customization is almost excessive, dwarfing oblivion (or any other RPG in history), from the weapons and armor to the spells and enchantments, if you don't put 250 hours into this game you won't see everything it has to offer. One thing I really appreciated that was omitted from Oblivion was the levitate spells, it adds a whole new element to the gameplay and makes you feel like you can do just about anything within the game world. The layout of the map couldn't be better, which makes the towns and the characters within them infinitely memorable. For an original Xbox title, this game holds it's own against anything out there today, and if they were to simply re-make and re-release it on the 360, I would gladly pick my controller up for another 200-300 hours of pure RPG heaven. There will probably never again be a game that is so massive or epic, so experience it while you still can (but just go out and buy it).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's Not Oblivion, But It's Amazing

posted by GingaNinja (BRANDON, MS) Jun 26, 2008

Member since May 2008

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

When I first picked up this game, I honestly didn't think I would enjoy it this much. After all, I got into the Elder Scrolls series with Oblivion, so I figured the predecessor wouldn't be as good. However, the first time I played it, I couldn't put it down.

This game is very different from Oblivion in several ways, but if you give this game a chance, I'll guarantee you'll love it. If not, then you're probably not going to have any fun with any other Western RPG I can think of.

Quests (8/10): The quests are much harder in Morrowind than Oblivion for the most part. There is no quest arrow for you to follow, but I actually enjoy this because I always felt like it was spoon-feeding me on Oblivion. The journal is still there, but it isn't quite as user-friendly as its Oblivion counterpart.

Story (10/10): I can't even begin to describe the depth of this game's story. It is incredibly creative and original, and I can only describe it as a masterpiece.

Graphics (8/10): The graphics for this game are actually quite good for a game this huge on the original Xbox, but they have aged considerably. For me, graphics don't make or break a game.

Voice Acting (5/10): Or better said: lack there of. With the exception of a few cutscenes, the Daedric shrines, and a few other lines of dialogue, the game expects you to read everything. I personally think this is the games only major flaw.

Replay Value (10/10): This is probably Morrowind's best quality. You have to spend at least two-hundred hours to scratch the surface of this game. Even if it is your third or fourth play-through, there is always something you haven't found.

Gameplay (10/10): The most important aspect of any game is that it is fun, and Morrowind simply is. There are tons of glitches, and the whole concept of a "Battlemage" is pointless, but all of that doesn't matter if the game is fun. Period.

In conclusion, if you can get into this game, I guarantee you won't put it back down anytime soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game no matter what you hear.

posted by Denzive (BRADENTON, FL) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game offers experiences that you don't get in any other game. I've played Oblivion, Fallout 3 and Morrowind. And the immersion in the game is as good as the immersion in Fallout 3. The lore is unlike anything you have ever experienced. Like a few hundreds of written books in the game you can read and learn. One of the top most replayable RPG's ever, without a doubt. Amazing customization. People complain on how the graphics suck or whatever, but a part of me thinks that just because the graphics were low quality, it actually enhances the whole like character of the game in a way. I love this game, definately my top 5 favorites. ALSO, you are probably looking at some of these 5 or lower score reviews, and might be agreeing. Honestly, the majority of them, if you pay attention, the reviewer only makes it to like level 2. I don't know what the heck they were thinking by getting this game and being that impatient with it. Hundreds of quests and they were complaining how they didn't level up to level 2? Horrible reviews. The fondest memory I have with this game is backpacking as a thief and moving from city to city for thieve's quests and ransacking a home and make it mine. And unleash my inventory of potions, collectables and more into the home. I remember the rainy and foggy weather I experienced in Sadrith Mora, or whatever it was called. Great game, really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best RPG of it's time

posted by AfterShock (PASO ROBLES, CA) May 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

First off this game isn't for everyone. It takes time for your character to level up, and until they do, the game is extremely hard and frustrating. You can't hit anything with your weapons and you are not skilled enough in magic to succesfully cast spells. Basaically... the game is only good when you are strong enough to go exploring, that's where the beauty lies. When you start exploring temples and mines out in the middle of nowhere you come to appreciate this game a lot more.

I've played this game for about 40 hrs now and I have barely scratched the surface of the story. This game is absolutely HUGE. There is hundreds of miles of land to explore, from islands to mountains to the sea. It's a great game... just don't get turned off by the games beginning... because you could be the most powerful creature in Morrowind if you play your cards right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

perfect!

posted by jawsunleas (DULUTH, GA) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I don't know how to dscribe this game. It is just huge. It is the biggest game I have ever played. I have no idea why the people that rated this game before me gave it such a low score, but frankly, it doesn't deserve such a low score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good but..

posted by co210ya (MURRIETA, CA) Jul 6, 2006

Member since May 2006

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

well first of all this game is big and will take u a long time to complete so if u don't have enough time or something i suggest to not play this game. the good things are that the graphics are pretty good considering its 3 years old, there lots of choices in this game, always something interesting, and has a high replay value. the bad things are that the combat is sort of blah, npc don't talk its all reading(except when u walk around they might say some things), u have to do a lot of useless walking. the bloodmoon and tribunal expansions are good especially if u want to turn into a werewolf or are a high level. it has a transfer thing so u don't have to start a new character. the load times are a little bit longer though due to bloodmoon and tribunal. i suggest that u get this version if u haven't tried the original one. its a great game and deserves a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Frickin' Awesome

posted by mcpalmer (GRANITE FALLS, WA) Aug 9, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Morrowind is one of the greatest games for the Xbox. I rented this a long time ago and then decided that I just had to keep it! You can become a vampire. (!) And a werewolf. (!!) There are three difeerent great houses you can join, which are basically just like guilds except you get to build a stronghold and have a place to hang your hat while not out killing stuff, and there are also four different guilds you can join; The assassins guild, the fighters guild, the mages guild and the thieves guild. And on top of all those you can join the imperial legion (the army), the imperial cult (church) and the tribunal temple (kickass church). So really I whole heartedly recommend this for any gamer that completely wants to immerse themselves in another world, this is the game to do that with. It rocks, it really does.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great, but major flaws mar the experience

posted by Jeremy (RALEIGH, NC) Jun 15, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind, GOTY edition contains the original Morrowind, plus its two expansions, Tribunal, and Bloodmoon. The gameplay is identical between the normal and GOTY versions, as are the graphics. Unfortunately, a few major problems, exist in the game. One of them is that due to the massive scale of Morrowind plus its two expansions causes the game to slow majorly during loading. Also, the game will randomly crash, which is unforgivable in any game. I had a problem with the quest structure, as the Tribunal expansion starts pretty much at the beginning of the game, and may pose problems for starting players. The game gives you the option to convert a non-GOTY save to GOTY, so if you have a high level character in regular Morrowind, you can use it in GOTY. Because of the above flaws, I can't fully recommend this game unless you're a die-hard fan, or have finished the normal Morrowind completely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing..

posted by mmmmmmmmmm (SEMINOLE, FL) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ive been playing this game ever since i was 11 years old and i have to say this game is just incredible there is so much too do beside just the regular story quests, which i might say. it has a wonderful story as well. i thought this game was ahead of its time and much much better then oblivion. Thats where i come to my conclusion, that i dont understand why people hate on this game so much. it was Bethesda's first actual 3D game. If you don't like the graphics or how people walk.. Then.. don't buy or rent the game and definitely don't write a review about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't Listen to them

posted by Sephiroth (DE FOREST, WI) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Morrowind is a game for any RPG fan it is by far one of the most creative video games in history, Huge Environment and highly addictive gameplay, rent this game? oh yeah, but i suggest buying it, and be prepared for a long time in front of the t.v.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best RPG on Xbox right now.

posted by mastergeek (TOOELE, UT) May 11, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I say this is the best RPG on xbox right now there is so much that you can do in this game its a must have for Xbox owners that like RPG's.Theres pretty much nothing that you cant do in this game you can become a criminal you can become a famous warrior you can even just be some stupid peasant that no one even knows about.There are several factions that you can join from the Mage's guild,to the fighters guild,the thieves guild,and this really creepy guild called the Morag tong.I have beaten the game and I dont even think that I have found all the weapons and armor in this game oh and by the way it took me a year to beat this game.This is the must have RPG for Xbox owners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game changed my life

posted by Overated (EDINBURG, TX) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I spent two years trying to finish this game completely and i think im still not finished Honestly. This game is not for the impatient because yes the beginning is difficult since your character has very little experience but mann is this game awesome when you get so powerful. Magical! This game is huge its like your in your own little mid-evil word! I'll be honest again its not for the dumb after all it is an RPG so yea you have to read alot and alot of ppl just don't take the time to see the true quality of this game which is how incredibly deep and how every charcter has their own little agenda and story to themselves. No wonder it was Game of the year. BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok game but Confusing

posted by cutoverSCORPION (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i played the game and i couldnt even get past the first quest its to comfusing and theirs no marker to tell you were to go i didnt like it much the case and the Name makes it look fun but it agrovated me its and ok game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best RPG title I have ever played

posted by Esichs (DELTA JUNCTION, AK) May 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got the game a few months after it first came out. Instantly I was enthralled. The story was easy for me to get into and I fell in love with so many of the characters. It hard when you start out because can barley do anything, but finding some one to train you is easily done in the very first town. Making money is as easy as picking flowers and diving for pearls (or raiding crates and barrels) and selling them to shop keepers that will take the items

The world is huge, and I mean huge. You can go through te entire main quest and only touch a small portion of it. There are no levels, just one big open ended world. And when I say open ended, I mean open ended. If you have the right amount of experience, you can go any where, do almost any thing, and be almost anything.

I have few recommendations for skills by the way. Black smithing: trust me, it helps when you're in the middle of no where and your swords and armor needs immediate repair.

Speech craft: This can really help in a lot of areas that require information gathering, not only that, its kind of enjoyable when most every one likes you. Flatter some one a lot, and you can get it to 90 or 100 easy if you have a speech craft skill of 40 or higher

Restoration: Even if you're not a heavy magic user, trust me on this. Once you start dungeon crawling, being able to restore you strength, speed, and other attributes when they have been damaged is a huge help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing . . . Just amazing

posted by Wilson (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Where can you even start on this game? Every thing about it is just so good, its hard to know where to begin. The game is much more deeper than Oblivion. The story is much longer and deeper than Oblivion's and makes you really care. Instead of just being a bodyguard to the hero of the story, like you are to Martin in Oblivion, you are the hero. You also have a reason to become a vampire, because they have their own quests!

The gameplay is tougher, but much more rewarding. In Oblivion, you can have a suckish fighting skill, but if you have good aim and reflexes, you'll be okay. In Morrowind, if you have a low skill, you won't hit your target. As I said the game is tougher to get into, but when you do start dominating, it feels that much better.

Also, the characters feel better because they aren't voice acted, meaning that everyone has alot to say, just like in real life! In Morrowind most people talk to you, not just the people that have quests for you to do.

Finally, you actually have reasons to dungeon crawl. Lots of the caves in Morrowind have their own stories, or they do have a legendary artifact hidden in them. Oblivion claimed to have that, but they didn't really, for the most part.

Of course, the GoTY edition just adds so much more to do. Two brand new stories, both well done, tons of new items, several new artifacts, and a bunch of new creatures.

Story - 10
Gameplay - 10
Graphics - 6 (good for the era and scale of the game but outdated)
Quests - 10
Replayability - 10

Overall, this game is one of the, like, top 3 for the X-box and one of the best games of all time. Definately worth renting, but if you can, buy it. Its worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Your Kidding, Right?

posted by JohnLM (WESTMINSTER, SC) Feb 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Really, I don't know why people have such a hard time leveling up. I'm 11, I haven't been playing long, and my guys really powerful. Word of advice, have a Breton, customize your class, give him/her good combat skills, get permanent spells like Bound Axe/Soultrap, Summon Dremora, Skeleton, Daedroth/Soultrap. Don't get Atronachs. Hungers are bad too. I think you do control how it turns out. You can become a vampire. You can kill anyone even if it snaps the prophecy. It's better than Fable, KOTOR, KOTOR 2, and all other RPGs, and any other game for that matter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Long wait

posted by kai5640 (BOCA RATON, FL) May 25, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I see that it is a long wait that must mean it's a really good game!!!!i've played it when i was like 9 i wasen't i very good gamer back then so i shuned it i was wrong!!!!also i don't have a x-box 360 so i cant get oblion. my friend made his charecter look like micheal jackson...............any- way i look foward to playing this game when i can with this long wait thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THIS IS A MASTERPICE

posted by ETHAN1991 (SPRINGTOWN, TX) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

THISE GAME IS GRATE SOME PEAPLE DONT LIKE IT BECOUS ITS GOT SOME OF THE SAME ANIMATION IN FIGHTING.THE GAME IS MASSIVE YOU PICK YOUR CLASS GOD BUNCH OF RACES THERE IS ALOUGHT OF SPELLS AND ITIMES TO FINDE OR STEALE THE CITEYS ARE NICE JUST THE RIGHT SISE AFTER YOU RENT IT YOU MOST BY IT IS A CLASICE IF YOU LIKE PLAYING RPGS IN GENARAL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

slow

posted by meecrob (BEAVERDAM, VA) Oct 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

the game play was good and everything like that, but loading saved games and just going places takes forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

morrowidn game of the year edition

posted by dolphins83 (OXFORD, PA) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this is an excellent game in all aspects. the only buggy problem i have found is killing npc before you should. certain quests cannot be completed.

this is a must have for the xbox fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't Believe the Hype

posted by jpmoy99 (BUFFALO, NY) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Incredibly boring. Don't believe the high ratings.

You wander around w/no direction. Combat is HORRIBLE. You use the right trigger to attack and are treated to the same animation over and over again in a button mashing fest. You get NO indication how well you are doing against the enemies as the animation remains the same.
The enemies just rush you and melee right away. No strategy involved.

Magic SUCKS. Spell points run out too quickly and doesn't seem to do any damage.

The plot doesn't make any sense unless you want to read pages and pages of books. People give you quests and don't seem to care about what happens. There is no in-game map to tell you where to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by crackbone (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

dont bother playing its way too confusing and graphics are tedious if you want to play something good play oblivion that game makes more sense then this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GAME OF THE YEAR?????

posted by cheeky (WASHINGTON, DC) Oct 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I found the gameplay to be choppy at best. The fighting is sophmoric and switching between weapon and magic is hit and miss. There are so many better games...How did this EVER get game of the year???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

coulda woulda shoulda....but didn't

posted by Iceycell (SCRANTON, PA) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

This game coulda of been alot better then it was...i know it was made a few years ago but the first thing i noticed that i didn't like was that every person walks around like they have crapped in their pants and they refuse to change them. Second you are given a tiny bit of information in the beginning and your ment to get somewhere and there is no way to speed travel?...i'm glad i rented this instead of buying it like i was planning to. It's good for people who are unlike me and can ignore many bad things and tell themselves in their mind that it's a good thing...unfortunately i'm not one of those people sorry...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse