Rent Moon for DS
view large frontback

Moon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

272 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Moon

posted by supermole (NEEDHAM, MA) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is an interesting mix of the first person shooter and adventure genres. I will give you some pro's and cons of the game, to try and help decide if you should rent it.

PROS
-easy controls
-some innovations, (like your little probe robot).
-colorful environments
-good story

CONS
- graphics aren't the best for a DS game
- Most of the enemies are similar, if not the same
- You are kind of slow in this game so it can be a pain to have to run back to the save points.

This is a good game, but it isn't mind-blowing or all that innovative. This is good game to rent, but I wouldn't recommend buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Impressive for its platform, Moon is fun but fair.

posted by Vamphaery (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Aug 27, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Moon is a first person shooter on the Nintendo DS which succeeds - more or less - in providing true, full 3D movement akin to that achieved on a real controller or with a mouse and keyboard, rather than the more limited movement featured in games such as Metroid Prime. This in and of itself, and given that it actually works somewhat well, is quite a respectable accomplishment on the part of Moon's developer.

In Moon, you will use the stylus to aim and look, while using the D-pad to move forward and backward, and to strafe left and right. The L button allows you to shoot. It's a very simple, straightforward interface design which works fairly well, except for the fact that it prevents you from holding the DS with both hands, leading to a tolerable but still irksome degree of awkwardness.

The game's graphics are exceptional for the DS, somewhere between N64 and Playstation 2 quality in my judgment. However, the gameplay content unfortunately fails to live up to the otherwise high standards set by the game.

Gameplay consists entirely of moving from room to room, and battling small, indistinct spheres and other mechanical blobs which shoot at you. Your slow movement speed, combined with their accuracy, presents a fun challenge. However the awkwardness of the controls - tolerable on their own though they may be - combine with the total lack of distinctiveness or memorability in the enemies' designs, to result in a lackluster and, while fun, ultimately forgettable experience in this reviewer's opinion.

With some more character and polish, Moon's developers would have a truly great first person shooter on their hands. At least as it stands, Moon is one of a kind on the Nintendo DS. If the quirks mentioned herein don't sound like they'd bother you, then give it a try. You might find yourself pleasantly surprised even if I didn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not what i expected

posted by ghostman2 (GRAPEVINE, TX) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

moon was a good game and from all the other reviews i've read i wished i didn't put it in my que so i recieved it and i didn't really want to play it at all but i had nothing else to do so i played it and now that i have beat it i glad that i did put it in my que,the things that i liked in the game was the graphics the gameplay and it had a decent story ohh and it has cutseens.
the stuff i didn't like was that you have to back track mutliple times and there really isn't alot of different sucurity bots and only 2 types of aliens one being a boss. and there isn't any multiplayer at all but, Overall rent this game you might like it you might not, it's a game everyone has different tastes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The main problem with Moon is not unique to it.

posted by CheezPants (OAKLAND, CA) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

For first person DS games, why do developers insist on forcing us to use the stylus to look when the ABXY buttons are unused? It's extremely awkward and makes my arm tense up after only a short time. Moon is the latest example of this problem. I don't know if there are people who like this control scheme, but at least give us the option of not using the touch screen! There are so many better uses of the touch screen than as a glorified track pad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bad

posted by legomanchr (MONTE RIO, CA) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

this game is nothing wat i thought it was

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Moon for DS

posted by daggerknight1 (LUFKIN, TX) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This game is the worst shooter I've ever come across. The controls are stupid and the graphics look worse then on the Atari 2600. This thing needs to be melted down for scrap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Moon - Worth A Rent!

posted by Tanooki (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Moon is a pretty amazing FPS, especially considering the fact that it's on the DS. Renegade Kid fixed the problems from their first DS outing (Dementium) and delivered a worthwhile experience for FPS fans. My only real knock against the game is lack of enemy variety. Otherwise, the game delivers tight gameplay, as well as nice graphics and sound. Give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Dissappionting at all.

posted by gameguy14 (WATERTOWN, NY) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

I was a bit surprised by Moon, this has a good story and its pretty easy as far as DS shooters go.
Thats all I have to say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Personally didn't like it

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) May 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

Very weak. I rented this game thinking it would be a good halo shooter type of game. Very wrong I was. Lacked uniqueness and a good plot. Most of the "aliens" were really these stupid lumbering robots that took either forever or one shot. Weapons were lame and they could have had such a great storyline and plot but they just stuck with roming around the moon in a buggy and going underground to shut off alien bases. TOTALLY LAME. Don't even try to rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It looks like a Halo rip off...

posted by steve13 (MILLVALE, PA) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

...with the lighting, pacing, comrades standing around not doing anything.

I got bored after a few minutes. If a game does interest me right away (Halo/Xbox, AVP/Jaguar, DK/DS), I get bored and quit playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Interested environments, annoying audio

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Liked:
-Cool looking environments
-cutscenes rendered well
-impressive graphics for the DS
-intuitive controls

Disliked:
-annoying audio. Someone went crazy with a bit crusher plugin. As much as I love that, it got old
-variety in enemies. Mostly little sentry robots. Nothing really exciting
-even though the controls were intuitive, my hand got tired of using the stylus and L to shoot.

bottom line:
I spent some time with the game, but it couldn't really hold my attention. Not for me, but it might be for others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok but not great

posted by makk18 (TUTTLE, OK) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

i got through half the game and got mad dying so i just got online and got cheats so i skipped the level and just had fun on the rest of the game. But i woun't buy it gets boring after a while so don't get it just rent it and get it over with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

moon is good but...

posted by protptype (HILLSDALE, IL) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

moon is good but it is ez to die and the guns are not very strong

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not perfect i like it

posted by Krismal (MARICOPA, AZ) Jun 4, 2009

Member since May 2009

This game is fun! I love boss fights,and their a challenge,the only problem is the loading,ugh!
anyways the weapons work and its all pretty good heres my pros and cons

PROS:
The game has nice,smooth,controls
Most people say you move slow,its pretty fast paced
Boss fights are decent

CONS:
Enemys are mostly same,and kinda annoying
Saving stations come once a while

Anyways the game was decent and thats why i give it a 7
the probe bots are fun,kinda hard to use if the charecter is in combat and the game is kinda like puzzle gameplay,only because you do alot of thinking and it takes time. but its definetly,somthing to rent,in you guys opinions,and some Moon freaks might be able to buy it.
It has a good story so have a fun time paying attention
You play as a space man on the Moon and aliens happen to have found out how to take it over,instead of the Earth.so enjoy this game and have a good fun time!

7.5 stars maybe :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »