Rent Monsters vs. Aliens for Wii
view large frontback

Monsters vs. Aliens

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS, Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
6.3

632 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

My 6 yr old liked it

posted by Drknight (BOWIE, MD) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

According to my 6yr old:

"The game was fun but it was too easy. I easily finished the game in a couple of days. Also, the second player couldn't be anything other than a squirting cockroach. The roach wasn't even effective in killing the bad guys....totally useless."

Overall, it did keep his attention...so it couldn't have been that bad. He ultimately did say he liked the game but it's not as good as Mario Galaxy, or the Lego game (Star Wars, BatMan etc)...we decided to mail it back instead of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good effort, but gets old very quick

posted by turnstep (PHOENIXVILLE, PA) May 10, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A lot of attention has gone into this game, and it is fun .. up to a point. You alternate between three different characters, each a different style of play - first person racing, 2D platform, and 3D platforming. Each character has its own quirks and enjoyable ways to play, but it gets very old, very quick. Even when you finally "win" a stage, and hope that the characters might do something different, they don't - more of the same. After a while, it's just a boring combination of "kill the bad guys / solve the mini-puzzles" with an occasional touch of "annoying platform jumper". On the plus side, the lack of death (you simply restart with slightly less points) plus the constant chatter between the characters might make this an enjoyable game for young kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Monsters Vs. Aliens: A Winning Contest

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

What's this? A game based on a hit movie that isn't there just to draw more money out of the customer?
I say it's true; Monsters Vs. Aliens is one movie-based game that I found a lot of fun to play because the game makers took the time to put in inventive game ideas and levels.
In this game, you play several levels. In each level, you play as one of three main characters of the film, Susan, B.O.B. or the Missing Link. Each character has a different challenge (sort of).
When you play as Susan, you are on roller cars (or alien ships in the last levels), skating through an obstacle course. You have to dodge, jump, duck or smash your way through the obstacles.
In the other two - the Missing Link and B.O.B., you play a 3D platformer. But there are some great ideas.
For instance, B.O.B. can cling onto walls and ceilings. At certain parts of the level, he gets on a small platform and blasts enemies with (for lack of a better phrase) explosive loogies.
As for the Missing Link, he can take out large guns and bolts when you wave the Wiimote in the fashion shown on screen. He can also pick up enemies and toss one into another.
A second player can join in and blast enemies just like in Super Mario Galaxy. It's a lot of fun.
But not all is paradise for this game; getting B.O.B. to jump onto the wall or ceiling is a hit or miss proposition, grabbing enemies is tougher than it should be, the fixed camera can be a pain, and the main mode will take about six hours to finish - very short for a $50 game.
There's the ususal mini games and extras found in many other games of the genre, but these extras didn't excite me in the least (they should make four player, not single player mini games.)
Still, Monsters Vs. Aliens demolishes many other movie based games (Tale of Desperaux, Coraline, Madagascar Escape 2 Africa come to mind). But the $50 price tag is a bit on the steep side. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

To much vibration

posted by KatMad355 (LARGO, FL) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Monsters vs Aliens is a fun game it is entertaining but has too many cut scenes. You would think the way the controls vibrate that they are going out of style.By the second scene you want to get ride of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

GAME IS BORING

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Apr 3, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

THE GAME IS OK BUT I WILL NEVER BUY IT CAUSE IT IS VERY BORING AFTER ALL ALRIGHT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

has potential

posted by jannanorton (MYRTLE POINT, OR) Sep 5, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

when I recieved this game my son tried to play it but it keeps reading disc error on my wii!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awasome

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game is awsome because of the graipics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's a fun game

posted by JAMIECHAV (HAYWARD, CA) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

I played this with my 7 year old son. He really enjoyed playing the different charactors, especially Ginormica. I wish it was more like the real movie and followed some sort of storyline but it was really all over the place. Some of the levels just seemed like the same thing just a little different. Overall it was pretty fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

monsters vs aliens

posted by squeeky (CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI) May 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This is a great game. Graphics are very good. I really enjoyed playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Monsters are awesome!

posted by susanbob (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game is very awsome! If you like giant girls rollerskating, blobs of goo like jello, and a lizard like man, this is THE GAME FOR YOU!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »