Rent Monsters vs. Aliens for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Monsters vs. Aliens

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii, PS2, DS
GF Rating
6.1

1247 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally a real good game for kids on the 360.

posted by JoeVegas (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm 39 and I like shooter games, and I tried this game because the whole point of renting is to try different games, and I was surprised, this game is really, really good, the graphics are like watching an animated movie, they're a 10, controls are great and easy to learn, this is perfect for 6-12 y/o kids.
My kid is 4 and he plays my 360, but all he knows how to do is pull the trigger, so the controls are to complex for him but if he was a few years older it would be great for him, it's a clean game with a good story (so far), great graphics which make it look like you're watched the animated movie, and the controls are great.
I would give it a 10 if I had played more that 40 minutes and I might just do that once I finish the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

All for the Kids

posted by TellNoL437 (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is designed for the younger kids. The older kids and teens will get bored with this game really fast. With the movie so clean on the animation, I thought the games would be as well. It was a bit disappointing. The story line goes along with the movie. If you haven't seen the movie, don't play the game. It will ruin the movie.

I give it a 8 out of 10 for it is great for the kids. 2 out of 10 for adults.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent romp through movie themed settings

posted by IIDecayII (CEDAR PARK, TX) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

As usual with these animated movies only being around 2 hours long at most, the games tend to be a good opportunity to experience the characters a little bit more. That's probably the best novelty about this game. It's fun that they switched up the gameplay a little bit by having you play as 1 of 3 characters but even with that it does get a little stale once you've completed an objective several times in similar settings for each character. Missing Link smashed and bashed , Bob sticks to surfaces with a kind of stealth feel to his levels until it's plasma turret time, and Ginormica skates while each character's levels have several quick time events that sometimes keep you on your toes. That's pretty much the whole game, but seeing as how I did enjoy the movie and it's characters I didn't mind going through the motions. One odd thing that did kind of get on my nerves was the fact that evertime they spoke to or of "The Missing Link"...they said, "The Missing Like" (Do this the missing link, that way the missing link, oh no the missing link, the missing link! The missing link! {if you fall off the level or something} but it's probably something having to deal with the marketing of the character). Also if you listen to all the dialogue you might notice some of the more adult aimed humor that children won't even notice or understand as funny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very Entertaining but repetitive

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) May 10, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

As with most kids games, everything is just about average, and usually very repetitive. This game has you play as either the blue blob, the giant lady, or the missing link frog lizard guy. You switch off depending what level you're playing. Each character has unique moves & abilities.

You play through 4 chapters, each chapter having maybe 8-10 missions. Some will take only a few minutes to beat, others are longer and will take maybe 20mins to beat. There are little collectibles along the way, coins, power-ups, but not much else and no upgrading moves or weapons.

It's very easy as well, almost any kid should be able to beat this game in under 15 hours. It took me only 6 hours, and it was easy to unlock almost 1000G in a single play through the campaign.

This is a great rent, since you can also play co-op offline, with a buddy. So if you want a break from your kid and his annoying friend at your house, put them in this game and they'll be glued to the tv for hours.

The only bad thing (in my opinion) was the cut scenes every few minutes I thought. Some of which had 3 in a row that you had to load. You can skip them all, which I would highly recommend, but the loading time was annoying. Other than that this game is pretty solid and was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Movie was Better

posted by kjoyner420 (WINDSOR, PA) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

First off..BOO to Dreamworks for allowing this to happen to a movie of their creation. It was really long, heck me and the wife didn't even make it out of the Monster holding facility from the beginning of the movie.
and the Co-op was pitiful. You play Dr. Cockroach, which is in fact a small little triangle shaped cursor that confuses the other player more than help..and in all actuality you don't even really need a second player to play through the game!
Honestly folks, choose another game if your kids (or yourself) really liked the movie, because the game just ruins it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Kid's Game, Not For Adults.

posted by Skittlz (PASCO, WA) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

I Know I'm not a serious gamer by any means, but I have to say that I was a little surprised at how much I found this game both addictive, and repetitive. I found the controls, and the overall plot of each level to be extremely repetitive. The switching of playable characters was refreshing, only until you realized you were doing the same thing...again. I think the only reason I played this was to fill time, and to unlock as much content as possible. I don't think this game has a high capacity for re-play at all. If you have kids that liked the movie, this might be the game for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointed

posted by sandra2466 (MANGUM, OK) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I was very dissapointed with this game. My 7 year old couldn't grasp the concept and the objectives but that could also be from not playing a whole lot of games. I was immediately bored with it. The graphics were great though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

monsters vs aliens for the xbox 360

posted by juggynaut (LOWELL, MA) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Wow this game really did surprise me. It was pretty good for a game based off of a cg animated kids movie. Took me a little less than 10 to complete and it was a little repetitive. But the puzzle levels were fun and there is co-op.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cute game, poor menu system

posted by Bilestoad (HUMBLE, TX) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I enjoyed the mechanics of the game, well enough. Most levels are pretty simple, but fun to play.

What made me lower the score was that the main menu's behavior is simply inexcusable in a modern title. Regardless if you've started up a game or not, the game defaults to "New Game". If you happen to click on new game, it is VERY easy to accident overwrite an existing saved game. I was about 80% through the game and this happened to me. There was no "Are you sure you want to save over this slot" type message. So with one bad selection, I wiped out my saved state and was stuck starting over from the beginning. Or, in my case, just returning the game and not finishing it.

Especially when the game is marketed towards a younger audience, that sort of shoddy menu system is mind boggling.

My recommendation would be to make sure you save your primary game in a lower slot, so you don't accidently overwrite it.

Very poor design in this day and age.

If the menu system was better designed, the actual game was cute and fun. My 6 month of daughter enjoyed watching me play it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

baby game

posted by EmbryonicG (BRONX, NY) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

I knew this was another lame disney pixar game but had no idea how broken and annoying it could get. You lose you go way back to the first checkpoint. LAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining

posted by Cuddles (HAMLIN, NY) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

I was shocked to find a movie based game that played as well as this did.

It does have some flaws and some of the monster missions seem a bit unbalanced ( some very easy and others quite annoying). But all in all- it is a fun game. The graphics are very well done. The monsters are full of humor and "character."

The game has a pretty decent storyline- based on a movie after all.

The game is pretty short, it took me about 9 hours or so to complete everything. But it was fun.

For those who love achievements- most are pretty easy to get just during the normal gameplay.

In my opinion- The game is definitely worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hmmmmm

posted by Xakxiii (LEESBURG, VA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since May 2007

Wasnt that bad of a game but just to let you know that even though this game says 2 players. That just means one person plays the game and the other person moves a cursor around the screen that can shoot anything. It wasnt bad but again it wasnt really good either. Up was better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great kids (7 - 11 yrs.) game

posted by Rollick27 (GARDNER, KS) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Of the games I've rented for my daughter (7 years old), this is the best I've played so far. An hour or two into it the difficult started to get away from her but after she went to bed I ended up forgoing lost oddyssey to play Monsters Vs. Aliens. Hope my friends don't read this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My Kids Love it

posted by RedgeHammr (PENSACOLA, FL) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

My two youngest sons (8,10) are thoroughly enjoying Monsters Vs Aliens. The game provides some good instances of humor, as well as some easy to moderate puzzle solving. Thus far, there have been 5 different kids ages 8-13 that have been playing it, and they all seem enthralled by the game. If laughter and enthusiasm are prerequisites for a fun kids game then MvA engenders plenty of both. If you have kids this is a fun safe game for them to play, and is also enjoyable enough to watch, or play co-op for the the parent(s).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great game for kids

posted by kidstrider (HARVARD, IL) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

This is a great game for kids of almost any age. My four year old loves this game, it's a little advanced for him, so you might have to help the little one over some of the more difficult but it really does a great job of making sure you know what your doing. We went through it pretty fast, but he likes going to the beginning and starting over.

So if you looking for something for the little one to play that doesn't poor the older ones this is a great one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »